Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

EL 2008 transfer/rumours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    I may quit my job to ask how much it is for the "unwaged" tomorrow for the craic.

A tenner, most of Inchicore is "unwaged", they are charging their own fans the same as normal people. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Danny Murphy close to returning to Cork.

Looks like as good a squad ever assembled by Cork City.

I'd make us favourites at this stage.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

anyone got the prices for the league this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

We are €15 again. Possibly €20 for the covered part of the Donie Forde, though I assume thats for home fans only.

gimmick wrote: »
    We are €15 again. Possibly €20 for the covered part of the Donie Forde, though I assume thats for home fans only.

I think he means the books!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭raheny red

DesF wrote: »
    A tenner, most of Inchicore is "unwaged", they are charging their own fans the same as normal people. :D:D

Fiver in for studs. - not bad :cool:

raheny red wrote: »
    Fiver in for studs. - not bad :cool:
    I'm a stud, dammit I should have went. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Sean Prunty has had to take time off from the game due to them finding some problem with his heart. Was feeling unwell at the Drogheda training camp and upon some tests being done they discovered this. Hope he makes a good recovery and doesnt end up having to retire.

At least they found it when they did, could have been another sad story otherwise.

Better off retiring if they can't fix it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

how much into tolka this season lads? gotta get back into goin to a few games

Fifteen sheets, tenner for students/OAPs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

just saw there student season tickets are 100 bills, might be more worth my while.

Danny Murphy re-signs with Cork City today.

Squad is looking very strong at the moment

GK:
    Devine, McNulty

Defenders:
    Horgan, Murray, Lordan, Sullivan, Kelly, Woods, Mulcahy, Danny Murphy, Darren Murphy, Ryan

Midfield:
    Healy, Gamble, O Callaghan, Kearney, Farrelly, O Brien, Meyler *, Softic

Forwards:
    Mooney, Flynn, Behan, Carroll, Kiely

* This guy is only doing his leaving cert, so may not figure too much early on in the season. But he is signed to a full time already. He will make a big impact this season on the right wing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Drogheda United Football Club are happy to announce that the club have signed Senegalese striker Ibrahima Thiam Iyane, pending international clearance.

The centre-forward, who has been on trial with the club for the last few weeks, impressed in the recent friendly defeat to Wisla Krakow at the club's training base in Spain and has been rewarded with a permanent deal.

Thiam is a Senegalese Under 23 international, representing his country in the 2004 Olympic qualifiers. At 6' 6" in height, he provides a different kind of threat to the already terrifying United frontline. But Paul Doolin has stressed that even though he is "a giant", he's not just a big target man. "I was impressed with Ibrahima against Wisla Krakow. He's a giant, but he's very mobile too, and he adds something different to the team."

Ibrahima himself was happy to be signing for the club, saying "Everyone here has been very good, the players are all friendly and it is a good team. I'm looking forward to the new season with Drogheda United."

Ibrahima has officially signed and the club are now awaiting international clearance for the former Paris Saint Germain and Lens star to be available to play.

new man for drogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Danny Murphy re-signs with Cork City today.

delighted he's back. he said on redfm this evening that paul doolin phoned him this morning, but he had to politely decline! said derry, bohs, swindon and leeds all interested too.

a class act on the pitch, and a gent off it. thrilled he's home, the news has made my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

gotta get back into goin to a few games

Good man yourself. We could really do with some more support.;)

Roar wrote: »
    delighted he's back. he said on redfm this evening that paul doolin phoned him this morning, but he had to politely decline! said derry, bohs, swindon and leeds all interested too.

a class act on the pitch, and a gent off it. thrilled he's home, the news has made my day.

Can't wait for the season to start.

What do you think? Is this potentially a better team than '05?

Better squad for definite IMO.

Only weakness maybe cover a centre back

Plenty cover at centre half. There is Mulcahy, Lordan and Kelly.

The squad is better IMO, but our manager will not be able to do a good enough job. He is making nice soundbites, but I cannot see him being successful at City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Plenty cover at centre half. There is Mulcahy, Lordan and Kelly.

The squad is better IMO, but our manager will not be able to do a good enough job. He is making nice soundbites, but I cannot see him being successful at City.

dunno about it being better, in 05 we had kevin doyle the best centre forward in the league, alan bennett, the best centre half in the league, and roy o'donovan, the best winger in the league.

rigth side of midfield is a concern, george won't fancy playing out there and will probably throw a stop if he does. centre half doesnt really bother me, i think cillian lordan can do the business there.

i think mathews will do a good job, but only time will tell

* This guy is only doing his leaving cert, so may not figure too much early on in the season. But he is signed to a full time already. He will make a big impact this season on the right wing.
    Is he that good? Or is this Cork bias?
    rigth side of midfield is a concern, george won't fancy playing out there and will probably throw a stop if he does.

There's no probably about it, imo. If George doesn't get his own way he'll be off.
    i think mathews will do a good job, but only time will tell
    Nah, that's a decent squad, but the only thing Matthews knows is hoofball.

I'm just waiting for the circus when Dolan comes back.

Is he that good? Or is this Cork bias?

Remains to be seen really. He scored in all but 2 of our 7 pre season games. Looks fast, strong and agile. He has been a star in the U21s last season, thats why he has been given a full time deal so early and promoted to the first team squad.

Now the one area where he may fall down is apparently he has an awful attitude. Very cocky, very arrogant. He has gotten himself sent off a lot for the 21s.

I think if he keeps his attitude in check, which will probably forced on him niow that he is no longer the big fish, we will have a fantastic young player here.

He scored in all but 2 of our 7 pre season games.
    He play against us?
    Looks fast, strong and agile. He has been a star in the U21s last season, thats why he has been given a full time deal so early and promoted to the first team squad.
    Was it Matthews or the previous manager who gave him the shot?
    Now the one area where he may fall down is apparently he has an awful attitude. Very cocky, very arrogant.
    You want a list of players who have played for your club who are like this?
    I think if he keeps his attitude in check, which will probably forced on him niow that he is no longer the big fish, we will have a fantastic young player here.
    Nice one. I look forward to seeing him develop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Rogers and Fitzpatrick placed on transfer list. Bohs expected to sign Rogers.

Saint John bosco under 8e1 refuse to sign fitzpatrick after a trial.

kdjac

We want Fitzpatrick back, say he want Fitzpatrick back.:D

What a hero, 2 goals in 4 minutes against Lille in Lansdowne Road in 2004 in the LASHINGS of rain.

We want Fitzpatrick back, say he want Fitzpatrick back.:D

What a hero, 2 goals in 4 minutes against Lille in Lansdowne Road in 2004 in the LASHINGS of rain.

He was offered to you last week, you said you would pay €400 and pats pay the €1000 balance.
    Looking like glentoran gonna take him and rogers to shrewsbury on a free or bohs for a fee.

kdjac

Apparently Scouse rang Shels looking to be taken back too :eek:

wtf, Fitzpatrick is on a grand and ahalf p/w at Pats?

How the fook are yiz keeping inside the 65% Turnover with wages like that for squad players?

What kind of money are the first-teamers on?

Keane on 3, Fahey on 2800, bomber on 1800, ndo 1600 and car etc:

2 have to go to make room for a loan striker from a certain irish EPL side.

No way we inside the 65% wage cap unless special k buying 1000 raffle tickets every week and 9879 large ebottles of bulmers. but looking at our board we have 3 accountants from companies worth millions, obviously very creative ones.

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote: »
    Keane on 3, Fahey on 2800, bomber on 1800, ndo 1600 and car etc:

wtf?

They are way inflated wages for players in the eL.
    2 have to go to make room for a loan striker from a certain irish EPL side.
    Who yiz getting?

O'Donovan? Murphy?

No way we inside the 65% wage cap unless special k buying 1000 raffle tickets every week and 9879 large ebottles of bulmers. but looking at our board we have 3 accountants from companies worth millions, obviously very creative ones.

ffs.

He was offered to you last week, you said you would pay €400 and pats pay the €1000 balance.

:(:( So is he signing for us?

Supposely Davy "crest kisser" Rogers is going on-loan to Sporting Feck All.

New signings for Shels.

Greg O'Halloran (on loan)
    John McGuinness
    Fred Davis Jnr.
    Max Cream
    Kevin Cornwall

The last 4 players mentioned have been on trial with us, the first 2 are keepers and the other 2 are midfielders, with Max being a striker aswell.

Our final squad for the coming season is available here:
    http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=838

wtf?
    Max Cream
    Shíte

Good name though.

Did youhear the story of how he got his trial?
    Kevin Cornwall
    Heh, he was a triallist last night, and I asked Anto Flood who he was before Flood came on, he didn't even know his name.

Looks a better forward than that Cream sham though.

Max cream was on trial with us last week , awful awful player :D awesome name tho.

Rogers gone to fingal as a coach/player/crest kisser till summer when he goes to shrewsbury.

Hope Cornwall is only on loan, looks a decent player.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

John McGuinness
    Fred Davis Jnr.
    Max Cream
    Kevin Cornwall
    where the **** did the €'s magically appear for this lot? Not a chance Galway are paying all of O'Halloran's full-time wages :confused: Greg is a great signing though, Cornwall is decent too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Good name though.

Good pornstar name too.

where the **** did the €'s magically appear for this lot?

Dermot Keely and Fred Davis. Both of them have been going around getting "sponsership" of companies of €60 a month (I think) to pay for wages. Hence how we offered Rutherford when are €7,500 budget was reached. Fair play to Dermot and Fred.

Didn't Max Cream ring Shels for a trial before the Pats game or something like that?:confused:

Apparently, Joe Casey was having his email inbox cleared of Spam. V14gra ads. Enlarge YORE D1ch stuff. He saw this "Max Cream" and though it was another Spam email, but the guy who was helping him clear the inbox clicked it open, and it was this dude, asking for a trial :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,902 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Max Cream?! FFS. Best footballer's name EVER!

oh my God, there is Cream all over the box.... Cream shoots, Cream scores! ;)

"Cream is ice cool"

"Cream on"

"Cream to the Max"

"Shels in Cream-land"

"Cream of the crop"

God I could be here all day.....

Dermot Keely and Fred Davis. Both of them have been going around getting "sponsership" of companies of €60 a month (I think) to pay for wages. Hence how we offered Rutherford when are €7,500 budget was reached. Fair play to Dermot and Fred.
    if this scheme had worked fair play to them, they must have alot of companies on board this. the squad looks far stronger now and should be there and there abouts and the end of the season

Other transfers

Badge Kisser Rogers to Sporting Franchise
    Ger Rowe to Bray
    Clive Delaney to Derry

Xavi6 wrote: »

"Shels in Cream-land"

lol, love that one

It'll go one of two ways for Keely - He'll either look like the cat that got the cream or he'll be left with a sour taste in his mouth!

I'll stop now.

if this scheme had worked fair play to them,

It looks that way.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2918

All docs were sent in the appeal was for the 15k fine.

http://www.stpatsfc.com/main.php

Oh its on!!!

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Ah rats, its only the Blackburn reserves coming over. Was hoping to have a word with Gamst Pederson. The lads form has deserted him this year. I reckon I could have helped him by pointing out a few simple things he's doing wrong. Ah well, it wasn't to be.

• Gunnar Nielsen
    • Anthony Kane
    • Edward Nolan
    • Joshua O'Keefe
    • Dean Winnard
    • Gavin Gunning
    • Aaron Doran
    • Alan Judge
    • Jamie Clarke
    • Raffaele De Vita
    • Jonathan Flynn
    • Maceo Rigters
    • Alexander Marrow
    • Marcus Marshall
    • Kris Paterson

Not too much to get excited about there.

Dundalk doing ok pre-season. Drawing with Bohs, losing narrowly to Rovers and beating Pats. AIB have got on board the Dundalk Glory train and are sponsoring th elilywhites this season. Shrewd move by the bankers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Apologies if its been posted before. So f*cking funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

It never stops being funny ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Pighead wrote: »
    • Gunnar Nielsen
    • Anthony Kane
    • Edward Nolan
    • Joshua O'Keefe
    • Dean Winnard
    Gavin Gunning
    • Aaron Doran
    • Alan Judge
    • Jamie Clarke
    • Raffaele De Vita
    • Jonathan Flynn
    • Maceo Rigters
    • Alexander Marrow
    • Marcus Marshall
    • Kris Paterson

Lad in bold is Irish. Only about seventeen. Played for Crumlin before he went over on the same team as Conor Clifford, who's over with Chelsea now.

SantryRed wrote: »
    Lad in bold is Irish. Only about seventeen. Played for Crumlin before he went over on the same team as Conor Clifford, who's over with Chelsea now.

4 ex bluebell utd players in that squad too, its like a derby :confused:

Any shels fans know if cornwall and corcoran signed perm or on loan?

Seriously dont want to lose them 2 over a contract issue.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

4 ex bluebell utd players in that squad too, its like a derby :confused:

Any shels fans know if cornwall and corcoran signed perm or on loan?

Seriously dont want to lose them 2 over a contract issue.

kdjac

I'm guessing Cornwall is permanent because iin the release on the Shels website it says about Greg O'Halloran and in brackets it says on loan.
    I'd imagine if we had of signed Cornwall on loan it would of said it there too.

Could be wrong though.:confused: