Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post something you know most other people don't know [merged]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

Nearly half the population of Monserat are of Irish decent - you will find Irish surnames in the phonebook and it is the only country outside Ireland to officially have a Bank Holiday on St Patricks Day. Oh and if you go there you will have your passport stamped with their emblem which is a green shamrock ! ( A lot of the residents had to leave a few years ago cause of the volcano)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

orestes wrote: »
    You lazy but lucky man!

Haha......my new found knowledge will work great for in the cinema, in a taxi, in a club!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

star-pants wrote: »
    any correlation (to some sort of weird tax) that you know those.. damn what are they called... by ferrero.. but begin with a G or seomthing, you get 4 small in a wee pack..and they're found (according to the ad) "in the biscuit aisle" dispite the fact I'd class them as some sort of chocolate type item

When I was a kid and off chocolate and sweets for lent I could make a really good argument for club milks, kit kats and snacks falling under the biscuit umbrella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Funerals are gonna be the best laugh ever man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭ericl

Women fake orgasm because they think men care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Funerals are gonna be the best laugh ever man!

not for the chap in the coffin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭KIVES

A young ghost is called a gostling...exactly the same as gosling(as in young goose) but with a silent 't'...Strange but true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭KIVES

The saying 'I could eat a horse' is thought to have originated in Flanders, on a farm just outside Hasselt in modern day Belgium - according to the History Books Miles Van Der Leden said to his wife after a hard and hungry day in the field(in Flemish/Dutch) - 'I could eat a horse - she duly took him up on his boast and he dispatched a horse of 16 and a half hands before sundown that evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

James Joyce invented the word "Quark" . It first appeared in Finnegans Wake in the line "Three quarks for Mr Mark". The physicist Murray Gell-Mann who named the quark said he did so because he was strangely struck by Joyces words and believed it was fitting as originally there had only been three sub-atomic particles (quarks).
    Or in other words he just thought it was a cool word that would make physics look even more intimidating to the average person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i have 3.11 in change in my pocket right now, bet yis didnt know that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

3.10 dude; I had to borrow a penny. Oh and by the way, that thing in your other pocket? You have to put that back where you found it or there'll be some really pissed-off people looking for you. WTF were you thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Wilde

That I took my sister's name upon my confirmation, thinking I would look really caring and deep when she died. She is only 1 year older than me :( so I won't get much use out of that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

‘Son of a Gun’ is actually a much worse insult than ‘Son of a b*tch’, if you know what it means. You see, back in the day, when the tall ships would come into harbour, all the lonely sailors would immediately go scouring the docks for prostitutes. If they didn’t have time or money to find a place to take them, they’d bring them back to the ship. So, on the first night after a ship docked, there would frequently be an orgy on the gun-deck. The expression means that you were conceived on the gun-deck, i.e. your father was a sailor and your mother a whore.

There you go. If y’all play your cards right, I might tell where the ‘thumbs-up’ comes from, and maybe even the word ‘POSH’.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Wacker wrote: »

There you go. If y’all play your cards right, I might tell where the ‘thumbs-up’ comes from, and maybe even the word ‘POSH’.

My 6th class teacher always said it was because well heeled people, when travelling on ships wanted a cabin on the port side on the way out and the starboard side on the way home. Producing the phrase Port Out, Starboard Home (POSH). Was she right? I'd love it if she wasn't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Wacker wrote: »
    ‘‘POSH’.

'Portside Out, Starboardside Home'..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I could tell you, but I'd have to kill you. 'Nuff said.

Somthing else..

You know the symbol for your fuel tank on your car dashboard?.. Well the nossle will always be on the same side as your fuel cap.. So you know what side of the car to drive up to the fuel pump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Mairt wrote: »
    'Portside Out, Starboardside Home'..

That is a common myth. There is no evidence for that from Navy or shipping company records.

The term Mad Hatter or "to be as Mad as a hatter" comes from the fact that in many cases hatters used to use harmful chemicals such as Mercury based compounds when preparing and conditioning hats. The chemicals were absorbed through the skin.

Calling an Italian a WOP, mean's WithOut Passport.

Comes from when Italians could enter the USA without a passport.

"The cold could freeze the balls off a brass monkey" ... Another nautical term.. The frames with held cannonballs on the decks of ships were called a 'brass monkey'.. In cold weather a layer of ice would form on the 'brass monkey' and the cannonballs would fall off!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

If you stood in your kitchen or wherever,roarin your head off for 8 years, 7 months and 6 days (roughly), you would have produced enough sound energy to heat one cupán tae.

briantwin wrote: »
    If you stood in your kitchen or wherever,roarin your head off for 8 years, 7 months and 6 days (roughly), you would have produced enough sound energy to heat one cupán tae.

BRB in 8 years ++

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Calling an Italian a WOP, mean's WithOut Passport.

Comes from when Italians could enter the USA without a passport.

"The cold could freeze the balls off a brass monkey" ... Another nautical term.. The frames with held cannonballs on the decks of ships were called a 'brass monkey'.. In cold weather a layer of ice would form on the 'brass monkey' and the cannonballs would fall off!.

All the nautical inaccuracies! Cannonballs were never, never stored on deck! Captains in the Royal Navy always kept their decks as clear as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

I ate my crayon.

All the nautical inaccuracies! Cannonballs were never, never stored on deck! Captains in the Royal Navy always kept their decks as clear as possible.

Of its crew!. Why?... To fool other ships into thinking that the Capts' ship posed no threat. The capt. on attacking the other ship would reveal his ships strength (for boarding).

So when your being honest your being 'above board'!....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

You lazy but lucky man!

Pigs orgasms last for a half an hour apparently
    All humans have anti-pig antibodies.

So mixing these 2 facts could lead to dire consequences:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Im not as smrt as i look

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

cockroachs are afraid of watermelons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

A rhinos horn is made of compacted hair

A woodchuck doesn't really care how much wood it could chuck if it could chuck wood.

l3LoWnA wrote: »
    A rhinos horn is made of compacted hair

So are the clinkers on my arse :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I smelled my mate's girlfriend's knickers last night.

She wasn't wearing them at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭halfinch

crack cocaine is only made of cocain and baking soda and makes a crackling sounds when burned hence why it is called crack

So are the clinkers on my arse :D

Delightful Mairt!

:rolleyes::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

Jigsaw wrote: »
    I smelled my mate's girlfriend's knickers last night.

She wasn't wearing them at the time.

Ah sur, thats fine then.............lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭ike

I know what a tracker mortgage is...

During the female orgasm, endorphines are released, which are powerful painkillers. So headaches are in fact a bad excuse not to have sex.

(Now, it DOES tell you something if she has a head-ache frequently when you're wanting a bit lads - obviously she's also faking orgasms most of the time so therefore it's NOT getting rid of her headaches!)

Did ye know that:-
    • When immersed in liquid, a dead sparrow will make a sound like a crying baby
    • More than 50% of the people in the world have never made or received a telephone call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

In Ethiopian "aye" means "no".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭TheThing!

biko wrote: »
    The Great wall of China is actually not visible from outer space.

False, it is visible from close orbit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Everything is made of water

The human brain uses 20 percent of the total energy consumed, and uses about 20 percent of the total supply of blood

If starved of energy for 10 minutes, the brain will suffer serious irreversible damage

Homo Sapiens have smaller brains than Neandethals had

Einstein's brain was in fact slightly smaller and lighter than the average man's

The brain itself is completely numb, it has no nerves which can actually sense pain, meaning neurosurgeons can opperate on the brain while the patient is awake

All the brains in world added together are still smaller than my dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Hellm0 wrote: »
    Everything is made of water

realy, Whats light made of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭irishfeller

the only fish which has warm blood is the tuna - all other fish are cold blooded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Some birds can walk and keep track of basic maths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭jimmychin

i love this thread, it's so esoteric.

snooker was invented in india

Some birds can walk and keep track of basic maths

Some can even make a nice cup of tea and butter toast at the same time too!. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

One maybe for the contruction lads...

If you are getting your regular morning breakfast roll and you look at the meat in front of you and think "wow that really looks shrivelled up, I think I'd rather a fresher more desirable piece of meat", well look no further dudes! It is illegal for shops, garages, wherever to serve meat which has been cooked over an hour and a half previous.... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

my Auntie Doris has lesbian fantasies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Women blink twice as many times as men do.

3.1415926535897932384626433832795028841971693993751058209749445923078164062862089986280348253421170679.

and just to comment on that...

Pi has been calculated to 2,260,321,363 digits

actually its :
    3.1415926535897932384626433832795028841971693993751058209749445923078164062862089986280348253421170679
    8214808651328230664709384460955058223172535940812848111745028410270193852110555964462294895493038196
    4428810975665933446128475648233786783165271201909145648566923460348610454326648213393607260249141273
    7245870066063155881748815209209628292540917153643678925903600113305305488204665213841469519415116094
    3305727036575959195309218611738193261179310511854807446237996274956735188575272489122793818301194912
    9833673362440656643086021394946395224737190702179860943702770539217176293176752384674818467669405132
    0005681271452635608277857713427577896091736371787214684409012249534301465495853710507922796892589235
    4201995611212902196086403441815981362977477130996051870721134999999837297804995105973173281609631859

Think before you post next time.....

jimbo78 wrote: »
    actually its :
    3.1415926535897932384626433832795028841971693993751058209749445923078164062862089986280348253421170679
    8214808651328230664709384460955058223172535940812848111745028410270193852110555964462294895493038196
    4428810975665933446128475648233786783165271201909145648566923460348610454326648213393607260249141273
    7245870066063155881748815209209628292540917153643678925903600113305305488204665213841469519415116094
    3305727036575959195309218611738193261179310511854807446237996274956735188575272489122793818301194912
    9833673362440656643086021394946395224737190702179860943702770539217176293176752384674818467669405132
    0005681271452635608277857713427577896091736371787214684409012249534301465495853710507922796892589235
    4201995611212902196086403441815981362977477130996051870721134999999837297804995105973173281609631859

Think before you post next time.....

Pi is exactly 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Oman

you know theres a useless information thread here incase there is acually someone with useless info here