Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How much do you spend on football?

• 12-11-2007 11:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭

This season i have spent (allegedley) €6151 (bitch got excel and noted stuff) on going/watching to football matches.

Sky Sports: €83 a month €996 (movies are free afaik :p)
    Setanta: €18 a month €226
    Season ticket €360
    Bringing kids to every game: €2600
    UEFA Cup 1 game away :D €280
    Champions League: €560 2 games
    EPL: €569 4 games
    Div 1: €250 4 games
    bundesliga: 1 game €310
    la Liga not counted as its in 2 weeks time :D

Sadly im getting married next year :eek: and mrs kdjacl has reminded me how much i spend on football and how that money could be used to finance a wedding.

So we getting married during an off game week in a registry office and honeymoon is based on pats UEFA cup draw. proper order!

recklessone will beat this easily but i hope to be close to him :D

kdjac

More or less? 22 votes

More!
    0% 0 votes
    Less!
    27% 6 votes
    Even so far!
    72% 16 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Is this another post to show you're a better fan than us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,041 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Whoa...!

Hell, be proud of it. That's quite some feat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

KdjaCL wrote: »
    Season ticket €360

That can't be right.
    If by every game you mean every EL game, then surely you can buy a season ticket for them too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Melion wrote: »

Could have not replied but since you did, who gives a ****?

kdjac

micmclo wrote: »
    That can't be right.
    If by every game you mean every EL game, then surely you can buy a season ticket for them too.

you have no clue how much it costs to get 4 kids to match :D Seriously

Bus down is a fiver which i like, taxi home is €14 then theres the hot dogs and sweets and drinks. its actually cheaper to go on my own and go drinking after the match at about €60 for the night.

kdjac

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

35 cent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Does Pro Evolution and Football Manager count?

Unearthly wrote: »
    Does Pro Evolution and Football Manager count?

i was sacked after 3 months in Fm08 as manager of pats and ireland :(

So no doesnt count, have won the CL with pats using an EL option file :D

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

£800 on season ticket, another 500 odd on CL, FA Cup and Carling Cup games , £700 on two away trips to Europe, another few hundred on away tickets and travel.

And £3 on programme each game, 1 new jersey £30, and multiple pints each game.

you still win though, thankfully no kids to be taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

growler wrote: »
    £800 on season ticket, another 500 odd on CL, FA Cup and Carling Cup games , £700 on two away trips to Europe, another few hundred on away tickets and travel.

And £3 on programme each game, 1 new jersey £30, and multiple pints each game.

you still win though, thankfully no kids to be taking.

€100 season ticket
    €50 jersey
    €20 self made flag
    €300 away days
    €100 quid on scarves, programmes etc.
    €200 in lost wages.

€670. Brilliant and well worth it.

You'd spend that on a weekend in Manchester over to see Manchester United. I love the el

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

who's the season ticket for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

You might want to ring up sky if they're actually charging you €83 a month for sky sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

About €4 Billion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Me hazards a guess at Schligo Rovers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

cson wrote: »

yup.. student season ticket,

was actually €90 come to think of it.

best €90 ever spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Hero of the Year Award for Kdjac!

€6k is now the bare minumum to be a real fan.

You might want to ring up sky if they're actually charging you €83 a month for sky sports.

lol noob :p multi room so she can feck off and watch big brother in another room.

guessing you live without wimmenz and have yet to understand the power of football vs relationship :D

kdjac

RE*AC*TOR wrote: »
    Hero of the Year Award for Kdjac!

€6k is now the bare minumum to be a real fan.

wow the useless posts are flying in now.

Tip if a post doesnt interest you or have any relevance to you, dont post a reply it only makes you look petty.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Tip if a post doesnt interest you or have any relevance to you, dont post a reply it only makes you look petty.
    LOL. You should take your own advice some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

kdjac
    Thanks for the tip. The words of wisdom are pouring out of you tonight. Like some kind of wisdom diarrhea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

lol noob :p multi room so she can feck off and watch big brother in another room.

guessing you live without wimmenz and have yet to understand the power of football vs relationship :D

kdjac

Nah I have ntl multiroom. I saves €€€ but the quality is shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

a good bit less id say but have no kids so that cuts the costs but if you include going on a session after the game every friday and the bottles of moet after winning setanta cup and and the league it would be a lot more:)

Nah I have ntl multiroom. I saves €€€ but the quality is shite

Cant get NTL and setanta isnt free, worth it for the games but sky have jamie and setanta have mmammanananananan

2 evils :(

kdjac

• Subscribers Posts: 16,593 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

kdjac

QFT (and irony)

BaZmO* wrote: »
    LOL. You should take your own advice some time.
    RE*AC*TOR wrote: »
    Thanks for the tip. The words of wisdom are pouring out of you tonight. Like some kind of wisdom diarrhea.
    copacetic wrote: »
    QFT (and irony)

Dont get that or bazmos or reactors posts, i pay sky and setanta to watch EPL (technically i got setanta as i missed a pats away game but i have it for the year)

its great its like 5 games a weekend :confused:

Then la liga after it :confused:

As i watch all those teams play i have an opinion on them all :|
    kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Let's see here.

€500 a year on SSDG to keep the club going, among other we payed League Fees last winter. Be the same this winter. Money well spent.

18 Home games X 15
    €270
    Plus two cup games X 15
    €300

Plus programmes.
    €3 each X 20
    €360

Drinks after, say forty quid a night spent in the bar at Tolka, can I count that?
    40 X 20
    €800
    €1100

Say ten away trips. Usually in a car, so that costs nothing.
    Into the game, €15 a game
    €150
    €1250

Jersey/merchandise would bring it up to €1400

I still pay half a Sky sub in the mother's place and go out to watch football come CL time, can I count that?

So, nearly a grand and a half on Shels.

God knows how much going to the pub etc...

I'm better than everyone. So there.

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭fortuneg

Premier League Cards: £1.20 (per pack) x 7,852 = £9,422.40
    Premier League Album: £4.95
    Sensible Soccer: £39.99
    Shoot Magazine: £2.90 x 51 = £147.90
    Shoot Anual: £6.99

= £9,622.23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

cson wrote: »

sorry was asking Growler!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Call_me_al wrote: »

Pretty sure he's a Chelsea fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Doing well mate, reckon last season cost me €7k in total.

Hard to tell exactly, but so far this season:

€480 Sky Sports and Setanta subs (will cost me for entire year)
    €2k home and away season tickets.
    €80 for extra cup tickets.
    €800 for Tel Aviv travel and accommodation.
    €240 for four overnight hotel stays in London.
    €500 for flights to/from London (7 in total)
    €150 for flights missed (Bolton away and Boro in Cup @ WHL)
    €200 public transport in London.
    €150 taxi fares to/from Dublin airport.
    €200 pre-season (Stevanage and St. Pats)

€4800 so far, and trips to London for Aalborg in Wafer and Brum in PL, followed by a trip to Brussels for Anderlecht in Wafer, Pompey away in PL, Goons away in PL, and Reading at home in PL all before new year.

Should be €6k or so by 2008.

I'm taking a break in Jan/Feb cos of a work trip to Paris, but back in saddle for last 32 of Wafer.

5 visits to Tolka Park in the EL season, but spread over 2 UK seasons so not counted.

None of that includes beerage or foodage. Lot of beerage, and £2 for a jumbo sausage roll...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Thats nearly half my yearly wage.

I'd put my Cork City love for the year at around €600.

With indirect cost you could probably treble it!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Melion wrote: »

Bit insecure are we?

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭fortuneg

DSB wrote: »
    Bit insecure are we?

How could he not be with all us uber-fans spending so much money to support our club!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Man Utd matches (x10 a year at an average of €300 each): €3000
    Dundalk matches (x8 a year, €12 each I think): €96
    Ireland matches (x2 this year, €50 and €80 :( ): €130

Total: €3226

That counts for tickets and travel only. On top of all the GAA matches I go to that is quite alot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Not nearly as extravagant as others

€250 season ticket
    Approx €80 spent every home match night (x 16 = €1280)
    2 Trips to Orient €500
    Cobh Ramblers x 6 €72
    Sky Sports per year €240 (thats on top of the basic package)

So conservatively, thats €2342

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Well mine pales in comparison to some of those who've posted. I spend less now I've moved to Oz but here goes -

Broadband internet (I can't get Fox so I stream) - €50 x 12 months = €600
    City jersey home and away - €60 x 2 = €120
    City calendar - €15

I'm also an ebay whore and collect jerseys so I spend a lot of money on there, though the jerseys are cheaper than buying them in the shop. Usually buy one every two months so

€30 x 6 = €180 as opposed to €70 x 6 = €420 (I always get name/number)

Here's my latest purchase that arrived today -

http://www.nikys-sports.com/productcart/pc/catalog/barcelonaaway1_623_general.jpg

Complete with Xavi name and number :D

If I was at home I'd be a regular enough visitor to Tolka. Maybe ten games a season so €15 x 10 = €150

To take in a City game would be around €300 all up.

Not excessive but it keeps me satisfied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Broadband : Free from college (although my fees cost 20,000 grand, so does that count?)
    Match Tickets : On average about 60 quid. I tend to get to about 4-5 a year, so about 300 quid there.
    Supporters Coach: 15 euro return, so by 5 is 75

So in total, I spend 375 quid a year.

That said, in percentage of disposable income, I spend upwards of 50% :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭raheny red

Just a rough guestimate, I reckon something close to 2 grand. Could be very wrong though. Alot of it would be on alcohol mind - it's needed to watch that ****e :D.

For the lads that support a team abroad, how much would you spend roughly?

Should be €6k or so by 2008.

Tbh your season fiscal results should be be parallel to mine, shes readin this , you can make me look good :D

Altho the "bringing the kids to give you a break" excuse is without the greatest ever.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

raheny red wrote: »

For the lads that support a team abroad, how much would you spend roughly?

See mine above.

Also add that things get more expensive towards the end of the season, especially if I want to do away Euro ties (if we survive that long!!!) as the draw occurs very close to the actual games, and getting fights/hotels can be a bastard. Seville in the middle of Semana Sanata last year wasn't fun to organise.

Also, Sky and Setanta can mess up carefully laid plans...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

Call_me_al wrote: »

Chelsea

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

This season i have spent (allegedley) €6151 (bitch got excel and noted stuff) on going/watching to football matches.

Sky Sports: €83 a month €996 (movies are free afaik :p)
    Setanta: €18 a month €226
    Season ticket €360
    UEFA Cup 1 game away :D €280
    Champions League: €560 2 games
    EPL: €569 4 games
    Div 1: €250 4 games
    bundesliga: 1 game €310
    la Liga not counted as its in 2 weeks time :D

Sadly im getting married next year :eek: and mrs kdjacl has reminded me how much i spend on football and how that money could be used to finance a wedding.

So we getting married during an off game week in a registry office and honeymoon is based on pats UEFA cup draw. proper order!

kdjac

So a football addiction.
    A gaming addiction.
    a handfull of kids and nearly a wife.

How do you do it?

How does your other half ALLOW you to do it?

Does she have any sisters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

i was just going to ask the same question as well to be honest i odnt know how he gets away with it thumbs up. im away 2 years now so example for me 3 years ago would be ;

Dundalk Season Ticket 200
    Celtic season ticket 600
    trips / drinking / transports to Glasgow and away games through the season 3000
    trips to dundalk away games Etc 1000+
    Sky sports blah blah blah

E6000 Grand all in i reckon again , a lot depending on how far Celtic got in Europe Etc.

My cock is bigger.

Hey Sarge, do you get to the A-League games at all?

Has the standard improved any since Dwight Yorke raped Sydney FC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,699 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

€100 season ticket
    €50 jersey
    €20 self made flag
    €300 away days
    €100 quid on scarves, programmes etc.
    €200 in lost wages.

€670. Brilliant and well worth it.

You'd spend that on a weekend in Manchester over to see Manchester United. I love the el

Eh? That adds to €770.

So far this year I've spent <€100 *slinks off in shame*

I may go to a few A-League games now that Glory have won a game, are gonna sign Mark Bosnich and have established a link with City where we send over our best young players. Good times ahead!

The away trips are a bitch. :)

DesF wrote: »
    The away trips are a bitch. :)

Ha indeed. Good thing the season's only 5 months long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

DesF wrote: »
    Hey Sarge, do you get to the A-League games at all?

Has the standard improved any since Dwight Yorke raped Sydney FC?

I don't know if im the best judge of deciding if the standard has improved since my team are still in the elephant graveyard of the eircom league , but yeah its a enjoyable level to say the least i was at the recent Melbourne Vs Sydney match it was interesting to say the least have a read here buddy : http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22754601-24218,00.html

Sarge wrote: »
    I don't know if im the best judge of deciding if the standard has improved since my team are still in the elephant graveyard of the eircom league ,
    Have a look in my sig mate. I'm a Shels man.

I can still just about recognise decent quality football though :D
    Sarge wrote: »
    but yeah its a enjoyable level to say the least i was at the recent Melbourne Vs Sydney match it was interesting to say the least have a read here buddy : http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22754601-24218,00.html
    Jesus.

Are you in Sydney or Melbourne?