Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone out there for Basketball?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

GingerDave wrote: »
    Now i've just found out i can't make it tomorrow!!

The wife is out so I'm in looking after the little ones.:eek:

How it stands for tomorrow 21st Nov.

YES=Wolfman, Slinkytoo, Findingnemo, mikedragon, Colin (a freind of mine)
    TO CONFIRM = Damo75
    NO= GingerDave, Eoin_s

So you are looking at 6 (assuming Damo is a yes) tomorrow or 8 next week.
    I don't mind booking for tomorrow but you all need to make a call between you and let me know. I reckon we can borrow a ball from the Rec Centre, but will check.

Sorry about that, totally didn't know the wife was out tomorrow (how dare she have a social life)!

Let me know what you want to do.
    Cheers
    Dave

If Damo can't make it, I can probably come along to make it 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Yes, we need to keep firmer control of our wimminses :)

We can still play 2 on 2, 3 on 3 or 2 on 3 with five or six of us and I'm still up for it.

WRT borrowing a ball from the center, assume nothing! I'm not in a position to pick up a ball tomorrow, but if someone wants to get one (I'd recommend a Nike all-surface ball, not a rubber one), I'm sure we can share out the cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭GingerDave

Findingnemo is on for ball still tomorrow.

I don't mind putting some money in for the ball but obviously can't cough up until next weds.

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭W0LFMAN

Ill pick up a new ball tonight...

need anything else?...

Gatorade, cheerleaders, footwear endorsement deal, bling, recording contract...

Old Skool:
    I wish I was little bit taller,
    I wish I was a baller
    I wish I had a girl who looked good
    I would call her
    I wish I had a rabbit in a hat with a bat
    and a '64 Impala

W0LFMAN wrote: »
    Ill pick up a new ball tonight...

need anything else?...

Some medication for Mike by the looks of things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Damo75

Apologies for the delay in getting back on this folks but count me in for tonight. See you all at 8.30.

eoin_s wrote: »
    Some medication for Mike by the looks of things
    Don't you remember Skee-Lo?

You've got no soul...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭SlinkyToo

Freaking ******* like MJ,
    get me on the court and I'm trouble,
    last week messed around and got a triple double.

More basketball themed lyrics

Jeeeus, and i thought i was cool knowing the lyrics to High School Musical.

Just to let you know tonight 8.30pm is booked and paid for under my name. It ended up being €20, €5 for the lights apparently.:confused:

Assuming it all works and every one is on for a weekly thing, i'll be around for next weds 28th Nov. May be one of you could book it after the game?

Have a good one!!

Sounds like a plan. We'll just roll up to the courts and say "Yo! GingerDave hooked us up with some nets, bro"...

€20 is still cheap for an hour.

Looks like the weather might be okay for it too! Can't wait to see Eoin's skillz... :p

Sounds like a plan. We'll just roll up to the courts and say "Yo! GingerDave hooked us up with some nets, bro"...

€20 is still cheap for an hour.

Looks like the weather might be okay for it too! Can't wait to see Eoin's skillz... :p

Brilliant stuff. My skillz are low to non-existent :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭SlinkyToo

will there be oxygen on hand?

Jesus, you all sound like a bunch of old farts...

I'm in the right group then...

Anyways
    I Got the Ball,
    I Got the jump skills of a rhino
    I Got the speed of dead tree frog
    I Got the hands of a small badger
    I have the endurance of the one second mating Flee
    I have the Eyes of a bat
    Have the sence of a turtle

But the heart of a wolf.

See ya all there..

PS, this is the centre near Greystones beach right? down past burnaby mews?

W0LFMAN wrote: »

PS, this is the centre near Greystones beach right? down past burnaby mews?

Mike and I presumed it's the one right beside Jackie Skelly's?

Are we sorted for a ball by the way? Playing with an imaginary one isn't fun (though I do miss less).

Here's what the Ginger Furher said in the OP...
    Just an idea at the moment. I think there is an outside basketball court up at Charlesland Rec Ground.

That's the one by JS.

Great session last night. Five of us appeared and played some 2 on 2 half court with rotating sub. Nemo took us all to school... :(

The court is pretty good, well lit and decent hoops and backboards.

I've booked the court again for the same time next week (under GingerDave's name).

Was great Fun, had a wicked time...

Fresh Air knocked me for six...
    Court was alot better than i expected, but abit to wet.

Was nice to throw some swish's... was impressed by the quality of the game,

I think with a few weeks more experiance we will be different players all together!.

Def a sport that will get the fat off you and the **** out of your lungs...

watching a good 10 minutes from the side line, i could see a hugh learning curve happening with you guys....

Im sure there will me amazing slam Dunks, High Air... and of course loads of dribbling....lol !

wolf

Great fun last night, already looking forward to the next session, even if Nemo made eejits out of us. Excellent rec centre there too.

Edit - well done to GingerDave for organising it, hopefully we can keep it going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Damo75

Yeah really enjoyed it last night .. sorry again for being late .. looking forward to next week even if my lungs aren't!! Is anyone interested in going along to that Tuesday night session?

Damo75 wrote: »
    Yeah really enjoyed it last night .. sorry again for being late .. looking forward to next week even if my lungs aren't!! Is anyone interested in going along to that Tuesday night session?

What was the deal with that again - just turn up and play type thing? I'd give that a go alright

turn up 5 euro.....

normally around 10-12 people there..and a few top players too...

I would go, but need abit more practice i think...

can be brutal if your expected to run around none-stop 45 minutes slam dunking...

Good Stuff. Sounds like ye all had fun!!

The skill level might be a bit high for me! Haven't played in 17years 2 months and a few days. (That's the excuses out of the way early)

I'll be there to give it a go next wed 28th thats for sure, looking forward to it i think:rolleyes:

The skill level might be a bit high for me! Haven't played in 17years 2 months and a few days. (That's the excuses out of the way early)

I don't think the others will mind me saying that with the exception of Nemo, I really doubt the skill level will be too high! Airballs galore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭FindingNemo

eoin_s wrote: »
    I don't think the others will mind me saying that with the exception of Nemo, I really doubt the skill level will be too high! Airballs galore.

lol,
    lads, what's this about nemo been good..lmao...
    gingerdave, I think you'll find it's the Mods that teamed up together and were doing lakers sh1t style passing that made us look like puppets on strings

I think a fair team next week are the two mods against the rest !!

p.s we should really come up with a suitable name for the new team :-)

the wicklow globe trotters !!!!

Im looking forward to it already,

I got the ball might get some sneaky practice in ....

I think I was the only one to throw aiming for the basket managed to throw it ten feet behind the net over the ten foot fence and out the court..am i right?

mmmuuuhhaahahahaha

W0LFMAN* thows an airball

lol,
    lads, what's this about nemo been good..lmao...
    gingerdave, I think you'll find it's the Mods that teamed up together and were doing lakers sh1t style passing that made us look like puppets on strings

I think a fair team next week are the two mods against the rest !!

p.s we should really come up with a suitable name for the new team :-)

the wicklow globe trotters !!!!
    IIRC, for every superfly move we pulled off (two - one reverse pass through traffic and one dribble between legs) there were about 50 mistakes, not counting my shocking display at shooting from outside the key.

It's all Wolf's fault for not pumping the ball up.

Next week, once we've taken Nemo out with a "poorly judged" attempt to block, the MODERATORS WILL RULE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭FindingNemo

Next week, once we've taken Nemo out with a "poorly judged" attempt to block, the MODERATORS WILL RULE!

I believe the term is "stuffed" isn't it, when you block someone ?

wasn't that what I managed to do to you once :-)
    It's awfully embarrassing when that happens, not that I'd know of course

Quote Mike" ....It's all Wolf's fault for not pumping the ball up.

LMAO.....such a Basketball noobie.....

Can't wait to get better...

can you imagion playing basketball with a flat ball....It would be hard to slam dunk a "tea cossie"

Ouch. :(

Just cuz you're a 7.2 freak of nature ;)