Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So your The Taoiseach, what would you do for Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Ban SUV's

Take planning permission applications and town planning and centralise them and take the final voting power away from the county councils who have been bribed to the hilt and now we have urban sprawl and housing estates with no amenities

Reduce Politicans slaries and perks.

Get rid of privitasation of public services- have we learned nothing from Eircom! and Englands rail system- It doesn't work!

Hire Monica L as my secretary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

If I was taoiseach first I would come for the communists . . . hehe. Seriously though Mary Harney would be the first to go.

Then in no particular order . . .

Introduce military service for a period of 9 months.

If you want to leave school early then its the army for you.

push through decentralisation (hopefully using the army).

Equip the army & navy and airforce so that we can defend our waters/airspace and also participate in peacekeeping missions in poorer parts of the world etc. This would be our way of giving back to poorer nations -providing security.

A life sentence would mean 'till your dead'.

Abolish the concept of 'suspending' prison sentences.

Make the Public service perform like the private sector. Same performance expectations, same level of benefits and behaviour/accountability.

Have a cull of the lowest performing 5% government and public sector employees each year on january 1.

Make it illegal for anyone in the public sector or involved in the any element of our transport industry to strike. Or even throw a hissy fit or a frowney face.

Fraudulent asylum claimants to be returned. None of this appealing the appeal of the appeal nonsense.

Some form of working immigration control/checks at points of entry.

A health service that worked and didnt cost more than a space programme.

Background checks for all non eu citizens who want residency of Ireland.

Banks open till 10am each night. One person per till and not all on breaks at the same time.

All public sector offices that require members of the public to attend (motor tax/birth cert office etc) are open out of hours and on weekends. Members of the public to be given stun guns to keep em on their toes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I would give out free heroin to all addicts...at a concentration high enough to ensure fatal OD. This would not only reduce the number of heroin addicts in the country by 100% but also substantially decrease crime.

I would substitute life sentances for the death penalty thus freeing up prison spaces and saving on prison officer overtime bills.

Everyone would be presumed guilty until proven useful to me.

I would not increase the cost of cigarettes at all, I would simply lace cigarettes with lethal doses of cyanide, thereby reducing healthcare bills.

I would probably be a complete homicidal nutter judging by the above but hey, I'd save the country loads of cash and have fun while doing it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dwayneburke

Broadband for every home and business in Ireland....then work on increasing the pitiful capacity from what we currently have at the minute and bring ourselves into line with most civilised (and non-civilised) nations in the world!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

ScumLord wrote: »
    But Irish is a European language. I'd just change the way it's thought introduce it into sports, I think it would be an advantage to Irish teams being able to speak a language nobody else has a clue about. It's the schools that are killing the Irish language.

nobody wants to learn irish, we did a questionnaire when i was in 6th year, 80 something percent did not want to do irish/think that irish should be a choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

nobody wants to learn irish, we did a questionnaire when i was in 6th year, 80 something percent did not want to do irish/think that irish should be a choice
    Well that's that then, we should start changing laws based on the questionnaire in school. :p

I hated Irish in school too but now I wish I'd listened I'd love to be able to speak Irish. I think it should be a choice going into the leaving cert but up until then kids should have to learn it. More practical use of the language by going to gealtachts would help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

- I'd grow a pair and stop letting the US Military use Shannon
    - End the practice of allowing Catholic bishops to sit on public school and hospital boards of management. End the link between Church and state
    - Abolish road tax and include the fee in the price of petrol
    - Build more motorways and upgrade the majority of N roads to dual carriageways, or even hard shoulders as necessary. Do the easy, obvious stuff like putting cats eyes on minor roads.
    - Compulsory, sensible driver education from secondary school age.
    - Mandatory minimum sentances for murder, rape, firearms offences
    - Mandatory community service for minor offences
    - Decriminalisation of cannabis
    - Mandatory 10 year driving bans for drink driving or serious breaches of road safety laws
    - Rebuild the HSE from the ground up, abolishing the 2-tier healthcare system
    - Increased standards of ethics in public office and in the legal, finance and construction professions
    - Streamline the Gardai, the HSE, the Courts service, the Tribunals, and consolidate all Motoring related goverment agencies into one department.
    - Strengthen the country's dire privacy/data protection laws.

Well that's that then, we should start changing laws based on the questionnaire in school. :p

I hated Irish in school too but now I wish I'd listened I'd love to be able to speak Irish. I think it should be a choice going into the leaving cert but up until then kids should have to learn it. More practical use of the language by going to gealtachts would help.

Most people have no need for irish and don't want to do it, school should be to teach us what we need to know and thats it

More computer classes, less irish and religion please

cornbb wrote: »

- Decriminalisation of cannabis
    I don't smoke, but i'd say have to disagree, unless it was alright to have it but not deal it

- Mandatory 10 year driving bans for drink driving or serious breaches of road safety laws
    Who decides whats serious? Agree with the drinking part though

^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I'd introduce 3 strikes and your out for scumbags

1st time - prison
    2nd time - chemical castration and prison ( dont want any more scumbags coming out of your loins )
    3rd - bullet to the bag of the head ( Those body parts could be better used in transplants )

I would also give myself a 1 million yoyo payrise - go on the radio and tell everyone they are not pi**ed off about it and retire. ( in Sharon Ni Bheolain's bush )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Get rid of all muslims and there stone age ways,
    and polish and chinese too anything east of the river rhine basically **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Most people have no need for irish and don't want to do it, school should be to teach us what we need to know and thats it

Most people have no need for geography and don't want to do it, that could be said about allot of subjects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,927 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Castration penalty for first-degree sex offenders

Kick Bush out of Shannon (though I get the sneaky suspicion we get a lot of $$$ for that deal)

Freeze the wage of government officials - government isnt about money, its about the good of the country

uphold a non-religious/religion-unbiased education system

Motorway networks: NW-to-SW, W-to-E, NE-to-SE, SE-to-NW, NE-to-SW. And a ring road!

Restoration and addition to rail network for all counties

Emergency Medical Helicopter for every county. A&E care in all counties. Maternity in all counties. Specialist treatment (cancer etc.) in every 2 or better counties.

Renew efficiency of the VEC Grants Scheme.

Re-structure Gardai into Office/Administrative; Urban; Rural; and Traffic. Require car-cams on all vehicles.

Equip and authorize navy with hostile/lethal force against foreign and unmarked vessels.

Increase smoking taxes. Legislate sale of Cannabis. Increase tax on alcohol -> to be spent on Road Safety.

Give the president some 'actual' work to do.

Legalize 'real' porn.

Abolish the TV License.

Mandatory schooling for first provisional license issue.

thats all for now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭halfinch

Only allow a certain amount of immigrants to work within the country for a certain amount of time...also for immigrants to be treated as irish citizens with regards to the law, car reg and tax etc...

Oh and the legalise it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'd open a krispy kreme next door to my house

grant myself free baked goods for life

then step down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

Steyr wrote: »
    So your The Taoiseach, what would you do for Ireland?

I'd introduce a penalty of 10 lashes for incorrect grammar.
    20 for misuse of apostrophes.

Most people have no need for geography and don't want to do it, that could be said about allot of subjects.

yes but irish and religion are the main ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I'd cut scumbag welfare for lazy scumbags and their illegitimate scumbag kids. No flat screen for you Jonno!

I'd make it so that you could get morning after pill over the counter and in secondary school

Make all the schools be run by state and not church

Sorry guys, but I'd have to keep Gaeilge on the syllabus but make it be fun like the way new teachers teach it in Primary schools.

More public transport for other cities like Cork/ Galway/ Limerick Bus service like in Dublin

BIG BIG BIG fines for littering and make litter bugs clean the streets for community service. More emphasis on recycling. Eco friendly power where possible. Tax breaks on electric cars? Ban on SUVs.

Get the water works to stop leaking.

Death penalty for rapists/ murderers by lethal injection

Illegal immigrants; Out you go. Especially criminals.... Feck off to jail in Ballygobackwards-istan.

No children's allowance for the sprogs of Poles etc that are working her but have families in ther own countries that are squillionaires from Irish tax.

Bad drivers = I take your car away and sell it to pay for your fine. That'l learn ya. Mandatory Driver's Ed classes in school.

Legalise and regulate marijuana

Armed gardai and bring in that famous cop who cleaned up NY to crack down on drugs here

Cheaper concert tickets. Service charge? NO!

BONO, you fcuk, can pay your taxes and all you other "artists"

Raise tax on cigarettes and obv. on the now legal hash and lower reguar VAT to 14%

Have Cafe bars to try curb drink culture and more youth clubs etc for teens so they're not in fields drinking. Grants for skate parks that they can graffitti on to save our streets. Abolish teen discos. ESPECIALLY after the Junior Cert. Actually scrap that exam too.

Organsise a mandatory transition year buddy system for inner city school mentoring and spending time with old folks for community links

Scrap the TV licence and Pat Kenny, Ryan Tubridy, Gerry Ryan and Marian Finucan

Regulate bogus "cosmetic surgery clinics"

Increase the number of Ambulances. Put a non voluntary Fire Service in towns like Bray.

Close down Barnardos the fur shop. Make fur trade illegal. And also, more funding for ISPCA, make neutering strays mandatory. Stop pure breeding and selling. Severe punishment for animal cruelty. Enforce over fishing laws.

Decrease number of TDs and jnr. ministers and cut all TD salaries by 25%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Lil Kitten Get's my vote anyways :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,343 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Morlar wrote: »
    Banks open till 10am each night.

So what you're really saying there is that you'd turn time on its head? Impressive. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭KIVES

I'd impose a 100 Euro levy on sexual acts - plus VAT at 21% - 121 Euro for any sexual act which you would have to declare in your VAT 3 Form every 2 months - obviously the definition of giving and receiving might be a tad hazy but I'm working on that element of my election manifesto - I'd hate to think some guy got head 4 times last week and was trying to claim back 84 Euro from the Revenue in his personalised Return - you'll always get a couple of chancers - But, never fear, I am fine tuning my plan and will return with Green Paper shortly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

marcsignal wrote: »
    Lil Kitten Get's my vote anyways :D

Thanks... but it seems I've been banned from the politics forum for insulting Mary Harney. I'll never get to be Taoiseach now :( :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Thanks... but it seems I've been banned from the politics forum for insulting Mary Harney. I'll never get to be Taoiseach now :( :rolleyes:

meh, stage a coup. Or better, challenge harney to a 100metre race for power.

Although if there was cake at the end of the track you'd lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Reintroduce capital punishment for motoring offences only - no seatbelts,drink driving, children jumping around the car, lack of insurance, lack of indicators and any other type of muppetry on the roads. Life in prison for anyone not from this jurisdiction. Speeders shot on sight.:rolleyes:

And on the serious side

Take on and face down the public unions, consultants and any other vested group.

Scrap benchmarking

Restructure the Seanad

Make ministerial positions reviewable and a max of a two year term. Only after such a review could ministers competent enough to continue do so.

Make any breach of ethics legislation , an instant dismissal and an offence.

Introduce public servant contracts. Increments would be based on proper reviews. Contracts should also include the option for dismissal.

Make accumulated land banks subject to capital gains at a special 60% rate.

Stamp duty as per the Opposition suggestion -i.e. at different rates.

Allow real competition on public transport and get Transport 21 finished on time.

Introduce large incentives for those on low tax band to set up pensions.

And then I can get the pay rise I'll be entitled to at that stage.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

I'd make misuse of your and you're to be a criminal offense punishable by death

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,343 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

MooseJam wrote: »
    I'd make misuse of your and you're to be a criminal offense punishable by death

MooseJam for Taoiseach!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

Ok so there is no way any of this would happen ever (unless you took an ice pick to the fookers) but first of all I'd bring every politicans (from county council right up to dail level) wages down to the same level as the industrial wage. Maybe a euro bonus because in eh fact eh I'm da da da taoiseach. :cool:

Next I'd put a weight limit on every TD (Harney and Cowen I'm talking about you growing fat on my tax dollars :mad:) Bin the seanad once and for all, get a proper f*cking job. Then I'd tax all the rich aristocrat f*cks the full 21% or whatever it is for us plebs have to pay. Its all about the equality maaaan.

Now that leaves us with a load of money to fix the health/crime/transport/insert problem system.:cool: throw money at it until it shuts up.

Next in a controversial move (boo hiss) bring in a fair and balanced education class into schools about drugs showing good and bad sides, then in 5 years time legalise everything at cheap bargain prices, cutting out the dealer and the kids will be informed enough to know whether smoking crack really is cool.

Finally i would forever freeze the price of beer and whiskey at €2.50 :D

Sigh. A boy can dream. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

i taught you had enough of computers :D:D

The main problem in Ireland is the Health service

Get rid off Unions and Politicans from the HSE problem solved

Get Micheal O Leary or some sucessfull businessman from the private sector to manage the HSE

A new law stating that beer can not be cheap then water

Set up CannabisEireann to supply and grow by the goverment to fund my projects

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Trojan911 wrote: »
    Dedicated HEMS ( Helicopter Emergency Medical Service ) to operate from Dublin & Cork, so the country is covered...

And whats the flight time from Dublin to Mayo, or Donegal? How would that cover the country?? Sure a local ambulance would have you in the hospital in the same time :rolleyes: