Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

24 Hour pubs and clubs

• 23-11-2007 8:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭

I know this debate has been done to death but what the hell. I was listening to someone on Newstalk saying he was in Denmark and Sweden recently. Denmark had the 24 hour pubs and it was a much better, more relaxed place.

Just one question, why is there a limit? When was it first introduced and what was the reason? I doubt there has ever been a 24 hour pub in this country but it's only recently we're getting 24 hour anything.

I was over in Cardiff for the match last weekend. We got to our hotel at 1am. Asked what time the pubs shut and he said 24 hour. While I can't remember seeing a 24 hour pub, loads of places shut at 6am. It's just so much better when you're not rushing for last orders and the streets are packed with people at 3am.

It would probably be a bit wild for the first few weeks but we'll get over that. Sure if people want to stay drinking for 2 days straight they'll just go to someones house at 3.30, drink there for 4 or 5 hours and hit an early house. Most places won't stay open 24 hours, they'll shut at some time. I just don't see the need for a limit.

Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

I know this debate has been done to death but what the hell. I was listening to someone on Newstalk saying he was in Denmark and Sweden recently. Denmark had the 24 hour pubs and it was a much better, more relaxed place.

Just one question, why is there a limit? When was it first introduced and what was the reason? I doubt there has ever been a 24 hour pub in this country but it's only recently we're getting 24 hour anything.

I was over in Cardiff for the match last weekend. We got to our hotel at 1am. Asked what time the pubs shut and he said 24 hour. While I can't remember seeing a 24 hour pub, loads of places shut at 6am. It's just so much better when you're not rushing for last orders and the streets are packed with people at 3am.

It would probably be a bit wild for the first few weeks but we'll get over that. Sure if people want to stay drinking for 2 days straight they'll just go to someones house at 3.30, drink there for 4 or 5 hours and hit an early house. Most places won't stay open 24 hours, they'll shut at some time. I just don't see the need for a limit.

I concur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I think the problem is politicians would feel they need a good reason to get rid of the limit. It should be the other way around. They should be asking why it's there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I don't think the Oirish could handle 24 hour pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Daddio wrote: »
    I don't think the Oirish could handle 24 hour pubs.

i'm not sure we could either... I definitly wouldn't allow the clubs to stay open that long, maybe some pubs...

Denmark and the others have a very different drinking culture to ours, ya can't really compare like with like. then again i know the English have it different but has it had a positive impact? my knowledge is limited but the impression i have is that it doesn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

daveirl wrote: »

has their actually been an improvement though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

They dont drink much and go out at midnight and buy maybe 3 drinks all night, in denmark you can pay €14 for a pint in some places.

But you can drink on the streets so spars sell a lot of beer, as people get beer then go pub for one or 2.

kdjac

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

has their actually been an improvement though?

cant remember the source but i do recall the police reported a significant reduction in arrests for anti social behavior when they brought it into scotland. its not really 24 hours but rather a staged shift where each pub decides what opening hours they want to observe. i.e 6am to 6 pm or 6pm to 6am or anything in between. cant say im surprised. look how many gardai are on shift at a major game at croke park and thats just for 80 thousand people. WAY more than that get kicked out of every pub in the country at the same time and the police force is nowhere near that . statistically alone its more likely thered be trouble even without the drink being involved

that said you couldnt pay me to go to a 24hr club. id much rather leave a pub at say 2am. considering how late most people get home from work nowadays the current closing times are ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

apparently it was brought in during world war 1 ti make sure people were up early to help with the war effort*

*probably not true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

24 hours is a way to go.

Thousands of drunk people leaving clubs at the same time - not a good idea, just look at the Temple Bar on Sat night. Also, you can drink slower without the deadline looming, so you won't get locked that fast. Also, how much easier would it be to get a taxi on a night out?

I don't buy the argument that Irish people couldn't take it. If someone is that stupid to be drinking 24/7 he will find the ways now as well.

Most of the people would probably drink till maybe 5, till they get tired, as opposed to being forced out on the streets at their drunkest, because they had to do 5 shots before bar closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Dakeyras

if you so wish you can drink all night. pub > nightclub > early house

though i will grant there is an hour or two where you must go to somewhere like **** ***** but it's there if you so inclined

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

The novelty would wear off. I was in denmark and the streets never get packed, theres no fights or lout behaviour, no danger. Boring really! People go out later and can stay out till they want to instead of filling the streets drunkenly frustrated about leaving before they a) drank enough or b) found someone to take home. Then arguments over taxis, no buses etc. Ireland at night is basically asking for trouble by closing everywhere early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

The novelty would wear off. I was in denmark and the streets never get packed, theres no fights or lout behaviour, no danger. Boring really! People go out later and can stay out till they want to instead of filling the streets drunkenly frustrated about leaving before they a) drank enough or b) found someone to take home. Then arguments over taxis, no buses etc. Ireland at night is basically asking for trouble by closing everywhere early.
    Good summary!

I endorse this product and/or policy.

Did the government say anything about this? They gonna investigate the option of 24 hrs, or just carry on with the current policy? I seem to remember Mick McDowell trying to bring in cafe-bars or somethin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'd like to see it myself, but I don't think it would work.

12.30 closing on Thursday nights, anyone?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

apparently it was brought in during world war 1 ti make sure people were up early to help with the war effort

It's what I've always been told and have read it in several history books for whatever that's worth.

It is AFAIK the truth. Pre-WWI there was no such thing as closing hours and public houses decided their own working hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭ciaran76

They had 24 hour pubs and clubs in Sydney. They workined fine over there in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

It would be crazy for a month max than everything would be cool is my bet. As has been mentioned already its the amount of people all ending up on the street at the same time that causes most issues.

Just because you can drink for 24/7 dosent mean you can afford to ;)

JFI, opening hours changed in 1914 with the The Defence Of The Realm Act. Before then, adults were deemed 'adult' enough to decide when they could and couldn't drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Terry wrote: »
    I'd like to see it myself, but I don't think it would work.

12.30 closing on Thursday nights, anyone?

Yes, bring it back!

I presume it was Herr McDowell that moved it back to 11.30 - can't remember the reason given at the time... :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

'we're fascist bastards, and all the pubs we drink in will stay open later than that if we want, so **** the rest of you mick's'

probably something along those lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Mordeth wrote: »
    'we're fascist bastards, and all the pubs we drink in will stay open later than that if we want, so **** the rest of you mick's'

probably something along those lines

Yeah, thought it was something like that alright :D

Yes, bring it back!

I presume it was Herr McDowell that moved it back to 11.30 - can't remember the reason given at the time... :confused:

I believe he said "I hear Lands Leaving doesn't work on a friday and likes a nice pint of a Thursday evening, I'm going to see to it that he has to be in bed by 12"

Bloody nanny state we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Never gonna happen!!

I think bars/clubs should open earlier, and close later

the average is open at 11, close at 2.30 for a club

10 to 3.30 would be grand

I was in Madrid and the clubs open from 12 til 6am, and its too hard t pace yerself, not to mention how much extra you'd spend on booze a night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Aargh! That would be a nightmare for us hospital workers! As it is, working Thursday to Sunday nights are horrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

I definitely agree that it is a bad idea, the A&E wards would have even more people coming in unable to look after themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

kelle wrote: »
    Aargh! That would be a nightmare for us hospital workers! As it is, working Thursday to Sunday nights are horrible.

i don't agree. FIrst off all drunks would be spread thorought the nght instead of coming all at more or less the same time, and second, thre would be less fights i believe

But it would be far more spread out and I don't believe it would cause more people in hospitals, the same people who end up in that state do it anyway, its nothing to do with drinking times. I think it would be more likely to ease pressure on a&e by having drunk idiots more spaced out since they can drink anytime

unreggd wrote: »

I was in Madrid and the clubs open from 12 til 6am, and its too hard t pace yerself, not to mention how much extra you'd spend on booze a night

And thats only because you were on holidays. I did the same in denmark, but anyone who lives there told me that the novelty totally wears off after a few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Yes, bring it back!

It was because too many people were missing work on friday, or turning up with really bad hangovers.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

It was because too many people were missing work on friday, or turning up with really bad hangovers.

Then make Fridays a national holiday. Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Problem with Paddy is he /she doesn't know when to stop.

I have to chuckle when I read post about people 'having' to get four or five shots into them before the bar closes. You don't 'have ' to sonny.

Problem with Irish drinking culture is that its horse as much as possible into you in the shortest possible time.This 'culture' is supported by the publicans who ensure that bottles /half pints/ wine are priced out of proportion with the pint and spirits.

Wake up and cop yourselves on.Twenty four hor opening in Ireland would be a disaster for huge numbers of people.

Wouldn't natural selection take care of them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

isn't that when people get fired, and have to cop on to themselves and stop drinking when they start their next job? doesn't seem like the governments business at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

interesting development at the weekend. was at me local last night and for the entire of december its open thursday to sunday till 2.30am. well except the sunday which is 2am.

the excuse seems to be live entertainment/DJ though im not sure how good an exemption that gives a pub. still im not complaining and im not naming the place incase some tool trys to get it stopped. the 2am closing things been running for a few months now on the thursday and its great craic. im ususally long gone before its last orders so theres none of that "have ya no homes to go to" crap to put up with when your on your last pint. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

When I am out of the country somewhere with 24 hour drinking I actually drink at a much slower pace then in Ireland as I am not racing against the 2.30 closing time.

I think drink related trouble on the streets would be alot less if we had 24 hour opening.

Why are you racing against the 2.30 closing time????

Is there someone running against you or something??

Because people want to get the desired effect from alcohol (it's a recreational drug, remember?), and if the place is closing at 2.30, then you have to drink faster to get that effect.

yeah Dave I remember and I use it.

Cannot for the life of me understand 'racing' against an 0230 closing..sorry!!

yeah Dave I remember and I use it.

Sorry, but was expecting you to say something about going to the pub to socialise rather than to drink, and was anticipating that by highlighting that it is a drug that is taken for its effects!

I don't race either but some people do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Tbh I think that the trouble it would cause for the first few months before 'the novelty' wears off, if it ever would, is enough to have any politician immediately dismiss the idea.
    And a 24 hour pub would encourage those who do not normally 24hr binge to do so. This country's attitude to drink is quite immature in comparison to other european countries, I doubt it would help matters muchly.

Probably true, and that's cos most TD's love to get locked as much as your average Joe! There's no political will to try and transform the Irish drink culture (as was done with smoking) to a more European one. It's not an impossible task (although it is a large one), there's just no political desire to do it.

There was a political desire...Michael McDowell,remember him????

However the drinks industry/publicans/vitners immediately threw everything into battle to ensure this sensible drinking proposal never got off the ground.

Be that as it may however, as long as one of the worst social 'crimes' in this country is not to buy your round,or try to drink at your own pace,then I can't see much hope for major change.

I am very fond of the drink myself but until we get mature enough to go into a pub have a couple of pints and not be afraid to walk out when it suits you,then the vitners will be rubbing their hands and lining their pockets with your money for beverage which you are basically forcing down.

Grow up people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Bloody nanny state we live in.

In Denmark Red Bull is illegal, so hows that for a nanny state. This 14 euro thing a pint is true for copenhagen only so. I do agree though that having extended opening hours is a better idea. It makes sense not to have everyone pouring onto the streets at the same time. At least there should be some sort of staggered system of closing hours.