Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Actual bodily harm witnessed outside Cuba

• 24-11-2007 1:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭

I know a lot of scraps happen around Eyre Square on weekend nights and I'm not squeamish but I just had to highlight this.
    I was out for a drink with my girlfriend last night (Friday 23 Nov) in Cuba bar. At about half 12 I noticed this drunk guy was really annoying the DJ asking for a song. He was shouting at him for about 5 minutes. The DJ was trying to placate him but he wouldn't go away. There wasn't a bouncer in sight the whole time.
    Then at about half 1 we were going home and the same guy was outside and was verbally abusing the bouncers who were ignoring him. We were speaking to a friend who was smoking outside for a moment when all of a sudden there was a scuffle. I think the drunk guy must have swung at one of the bouncers or something but what they did next was deplorable. Two of them punched him a few times and dragged him to the ground and then kicked him a few times too. The guy was curled up on the ground with his hands held down by one bouncer. I then witnessed the other, a tall Polish bouncer viciously knee him into the spine twice. The guy was already motionless and he really did him hard. A number of smokers and people standing outside were shocked and one or two tried to step in and seperate them but another bouncer circled the other two to prevent anyone breaking it up.
    Then they stood him up, with his pants around his ankles, and brought him into the club. We hung around for about 15 minutes more but the guy didn't reappear. One of the bouncers said they had called the cops but we didn't see any arrive in that time. I called them myself and told them what I had seen. We also informed two garda in a squad car as we walked home.
    I woke up today feeling really annoyed about it. I mean bouncers are supposed to be there to de-fuse situations and not to make them much worse. It really was deplorable.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,030 ✭✭✭Lockstep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

OP you should certainly follow this up.Try find out who the guy was etc.Too many meat heads on the doors if you ask me and very little professionalism.
    A few years ago a few bouncers literally threw a guy out the door of GPO and he ended up with serious injuries.Thankfully the idiots got done for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

****ing ridiculous :mad:. Some bouncers think they can do as they please with out any repercussions. Go down to a Garda station and make a statement, you and your girlfriend.

Though I must ask, at what point did his pants fall down?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

OP, go into the Guards this afternoon and make a statement. With any luck someone else will do the same and they'll nail him, and you;ll get some satisfaction after having helped out. Those **** think they are kings of their own doorsteps on Fri/Sat nights, they are pathetic and they need to be taught a lesson.

• Registered Users Posts: 710 ✭✭✭justfortherecor

Agree with the rest of the posts here. If you woke up still feeling that it was a deplorable incident, you should definitely go down to the garda station and get it off your chest.

The way they brought him into the club with no sign of the gaurds coming is a pretty worrying thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Jesus! Follow it up, fair enough the guy was acting a major arsehole but he didnt deserve that, he should have been held down and the Gardai should have been called.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Report to the Gardai not to the internets, the offence you're looking for is Assault Causing Harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

cuba bouncers are grade A w4nkers. I've never had trouble with them myself but ive seen the way they treat people. Power tripping eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

That could've caused some serious damage to the guy. Report it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Any form of unlawful touching is an assault. The people in question clearly went above and beyond their duty. I hope this man received some sort of treatment for his injuries? As you are a witness I would urge you to follow this up. It is very disturbing that this would be perpetrated by those in charge of ensuring customer safety:confused::confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

Next time I'm queuing up there I'm VERY tempted to mention this. "So lads, heard you bet the ****e out of someone last Friday? Hope you get done. Bye now".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

JohnCleary wrote: »
    cuba bouncers are grade A w4nkers. I've never had trouble with them myself but ive seen the way they treat people. Power tripping eejits.

QFT

Op, I would take the advice given so far and make a formal report to the Guards. Fair play to you for ringing them at the time

Now Im sure a lot of people have 1 or 2 storys about the Cuba bouncers.
    (And your going to read mine :p)

Last year, my mate was in Cuba. He was quite drunk, tripped and knocked a table over. Bouncers came over and grabbed him with the intention of throwing him out. They were holding his arms behind his back, while he was telling (Shouting?) at them to let him go and he could walk out himself at which point one of the bouncers punched him in the face.
    Now, I agree that they should have escorted him out, when you start falling over from the drink its time to call it a night, but punching him was unbelievable. His mates witnessed this and called the gardai, they were on the scene fairly quickly and talked to both parties. Bouncer admitted the punch but tried to make out that he was defending himself, His mates then said to check the camera's at which point the bouncer kept very quiet.
    Gardai asked if he wanted to press charges but unfortunatly, he said no as he was to busy between college and work :(

A couple years ago I was out for cig when the bouncers suddenly jumped 2 guys, dragged them inside the front door, held them to the ground and continued to beat the crap out of them (Punching and kicking) while one of the bouncers quickly closed the door. I think the 2 guys were dealing outside the club, but they were def not fighting/starting a fight.

Its not just isolated to Cuba of course, Ive witnessed/heard many instances of bouncers power tripping (and I dont go out that much).
    When Im in club, im not worried about scumbags starting a fight with me, its the bouncers Im watching out for.

Edit: Obviously, they are not all bad! Theres some bouncers in Cuba who are more then gentlemen

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭slickmcvic

The bouncers in Cuba used to be really well trained....when the cellar,kings head living room etc were all in the same group great training programes and policies were in place with the company.I worked there and witnessed it first hand......Standards have slipped big time in all them places since not just with security but overall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

Robbo wrote: »
    Report to the Gardai not to the internets

Agreed. How would you feel if they got away with it this time, and some time later ended up crippling one of your mates? Try to get as many witnesses as you can to add to the report. Even if they don't get prosecuted, it'll hopefully be enough of a deterrent for them to be more careful in future, or for the management to consider firing them. Plus, you never know, they might have previous reports against them and this might be the nail in the coffin.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Next time I'm queuing up there I'm VERY tempted to mention this. "So lads, heard you bet the ****e out of someone last Friday? Hope you get done. Bye now".

Real clever. And you also expect to be admitted when you reach the top of the queue?? :rolleyes:
    Asbad wrote: »
    A couple years ago I was out for cig when the bouncers suddenly jumped 2 guys, dragged them inside the front door, held them to the ground and continued to beat the crap out of them (Punching and kicking) while one of the bouncers quickly closed the door. I think the 2 guys were dealing outside the club, but they were def not fighting/starting a fight.

I had sympathy for all the people above who got beaten up by bouncers, that was wrong. But if these guys were dealing, then they got what they deserved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 6True9

Good enough for him... drunk people are obnoxious morons, they deserve what they get... not like they're gonna remember it

• Registered Users Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Strangely enough, I have only seen one really bad incident involving bouncers in Galway city, and that was at Cuba as well!

In fairness, it was a couple of years ago, so the guy may no longer be working there.

I accept that bouncers can get a lot of hassle, and that it takes a hell of a lot of patience at times ... but d'you know something lads, that's what the job requires, and if you can't keep a lid on it, find another job!

Also, it has to be said that there are a lot of decent bouncers around ... unfortunately, those who act the maggot tar everyone with the same brush. Actually, it surprises me sometimes that the decent ones don't get together and quietly insist to their employers that the troublemakers are let go, especially as they often end up picking up the pieces.

One of the best bouncers I know is about 50 and probably couldn't fight his way out of a paper bag any more (less about his age, more about too many Guinness and takeaways! :D ) ... but he has a remarkable talent for staying cool, getting through to even the drunkest eejit and defusing situations. That's what's needed most of the time, not people who think they're Jackie Chan and Frank Bruno rolled into one. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 whitewitchzita

It would have been a good idea to call the cops there and then, if nothing else it would have stopped the guy getting beaten up.
    In one way I feel sorry for the guy, but maybe he was a complete asshole who has done some pretty deplorable things in his life and Karma was giving him a bite in his arse, or didn't you say it was Cuba?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I was in Cuba last night, I think I was still in Cuba when this happened though, so not sure if that's any help to you.

6True9 wrote: »
    Good enough for him... drunk people are obnoxious morons, they deserve what they get... not like they're gonna remember it
    Anyway..................Even if the guy was acting the pr1ck, there is still no need for the amount of physical violence used, bouncers are meant to there for your safety.By saying that he may have deserved it your giving the right for bouncers to hammer anyone they think is stepping out of line.I don't know about you but i certainly don't want to go to a club where i am more worried about the security than the patrons.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭fifib

About two years ago now a guy i know was in Cuba one night. He wasnt drinking that night and was on the dance floor with all his mates. the dance floor was packed and there was alot of pushing and shoving. this girl...who was a lil bit on the heavy side got pushed into him and basically fell on top of him. he'd fallen with such a bang he'd knocked himself unconscious and the bouncers saw him lying on the floor and reckoned he was drunk. his friends tried to get him to come round and pick him up and explain what happened to the bouncers but they were having none of it. they picked him up by which time he was beginning to come around and basically dragged him down the stairs and f**ked him out onto the street. an ambulance had to be called for him and he ended up with a broken collar bone and alot of bruising after the whole ordeal!

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭padraig71

I had sympathy for all the people above who got beaten up by bouncers, that was wrong. But if these guys were dealing, then they got what they deserved

Are you for real? OK, selling many types of recreational drugs is illegal (not booze, obviously) - the arguable hypocrisy and stupidity of this booming industry's being left in the hands of organised criminals is a can of worms that may be slightly off topic here - but do you really believe that bouncers or other vigilantes should 'punish' criminals by violence rather than the guards and the legal system applying due process of law? I suppose you would you like to see IRA fascists knee-capping kids for selling their mates hash too?! What other crimes do you think should be handled in this way?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭wet-paint

I think the Cuba bouncers are great. Very courteous, and I never have trouble with them, and indeed will pass the time of day with the full timers in there (apparently I had a chat with DK in there for a good while on Saturday night?) and I'd say that in some circumstances people can deserve a hiding. Maybe yer man pulled a screwdriver or a knife or a bloody scud missile.
    If the OP isn't sure what yer man to did to provoke such a reaction, then don't judge the reaction.
    And I think everyone has their own Bouncers Are assh*les story, me included, but I've never ever had a problem with Cuba, it's the one establishment that I've consistantly seen well trained and courteous staff.

wet-paint wrote: »
    I think the Cuba bouncers are great. Very courteous, and I never have trouble with them, and indeed will pass the time of day with the full timers in there (apparently I had a chat with DK in there for a good while on Saturday night?) and I'd say that in some circumstances people can deserve a hiding. Maybe yer man pulled a screwdriver or a knife or a bloody scud missile.
    If the OP isn't sure what yer man to did to provoke such a reaction, then don't judge the reaction.
    And I think everyone has their own Bouncers Are assh*les story, me included, but I've never ever had a problem with Cuba, it's the one establishment that I've consistantly seen well trained and courteous staff.

You think it might have been ok to kick the crap out of the guy and knee him in the spine after he was already curled into a ball and motionless? Thats not on, even if he did pull a knife or whatever. There were enough bouncers there to restrain him til the Guards came, but no, they disappeared into the club with him.

I don't frequent Galway clubs very often, I've only been to Cuba twice (for gigs each time) and found the bouncers to be obnoxious morons each time.

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

I thought the Cuba bouncers were not the worst in town but after what I saw Saturday not anymore.
    After chuckin out time they were gettin hassle from some guy. They had him in a hold wrestling whith him when his girlfriend (or some random girl) approached to help him out. Bang, she gets a haymaker to the face and down like a sack of spuds.
    Maybe it was an instinct reaction but still bang out of order. Problem was, everyone around (me included) were pretty drunk to realise what had just happened.
    It wasn't till the next mornin I realised when my friend asked me ,"do ya remember that bird gettin a smack from the bouncer".

Anyone else hangin around there Saturday night happen to witness it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭wet-paint

cornbb wrote: »
    You think it might have been ok to kick the crap out of the guy and knee him in the spine after he was already curled into a ball and motionless? Thats not on, even if he did pull a knife or whatever. There were enough bouncers there to restrain him til the Guards came, but no, they disappeared into the club with him.

Lets say your sister is after being raped and assaulted by four guys, and it's public knowledge. And this guy comes up to you and says "Good enough for her, the slag." You're going to nail him to the fcuking wall, and your friend's going to hold the nail. And you're not going to call the cops either.
    Howzat?

My point is that nobody knows why he got why he did, and are presuming that he didn't deserve it, so I'm showing that unless you know, don't presume.
    but I'm not the kind of person that will defend them endlessly, it's just my own experiences that I'm referring to, I've never seen anything but minimal force being used.

Lets say your sister is after being raped and assaulted by four guys, and it's public knowledge. And this guy comes up to you and says "Good enough for her, the slag." You're going to nail him to the fcuking wall, and your friend's going to hold the nail. And you're not going to call the cops either.
    Howzat?

My point is that nobody knows why he got why he did, and are presuming that he didn't deserve it, so I'm showing that unless you know, don't presume.
    but I'm not the kind of person that will defend them endlessly, it's just my own experiences that I'm referring to, I've never seen anything but minimal force being used.

WTF sort of analogy is that? In the extremely unlikely event that this drunken asshole was saying something like that to the bouncers, they still had no right to gang up on him and kick the sh*t out of him while he was incapacitated on the ground, in the course of their duties. That would still just make them vigilante assholes with an inflated sense of self importance.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭padraig71

Howzat?

Aside from this lurid scenario's bearing not even the most tenuous connection to the story about the bouncers… why on earth would you not call the police and report such an assault/rape, particularly if it was 'public knowledge'? And as for the random insult from this guy, you could ignore it, walk away, or, indeed, report it to the cops.

Violence is no solution to any of society's ills. A certain unwillingness among some elements of society to trust the legal authorities is doubtless an unfortunate legacy of our colonial history; however, in a modern democracy there is no room for vigilantes. Sadly, we live in a world where violence is rife and morality is routinely ignored by major governments. Nevertheless, that does not lift from our shoulders the duty to behave as rational and ethical human beings and citizens.

Whatever the guy at Cuba might have done, it was not the bouncers' job to beat him up. End of story.

Howzat?

Come on now Wet-Paint, thats a fair amount of rubbish your blowing there.I hope for your own sake that a fight never brakes out around you because its far too easy for bouncers to pick out the wrong people.Even if the guy was acting the pr1ck there is no need for him to be beaten even more, while he is already on the ground unresponsive.Knee's into the spine are extreme, he could have ended up with serious life changing injurys.Any gob****e that strikes someone on the ground is a scumbag.
    As for minimal force, i have yet to see a nightclub in Galway where this takes place.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

padi89 wrote: »
    As for minimal force, i have yet to see a nightclub in Galway where this takes place.
    Begs the question (to everyone, not just padi89) ... why are more complaints not put in to (a) club owner / managers (b) the Gardai? (I mean re: the kind of serious incident described above)

If people only complain on the internet, this kind of thing will continue.