Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you take Cocaine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I've never done any sort of drug, not even weed but I've had to deal with someone who was once very close to me becoming a coke head and I have nothing but hate for it. Even now when I see people in clubs obviously after taking it I get so angry...such a horrible, disgusting, soul destroying drug. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

I'm bad enough on pints, thanks. Also, when I think of the young plumber who was murdered last year I think "how can people still make these pusher scum rich?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,029 ✭✭✭✭fits

I think its going out of fashion actually, especially in the club scene...

*ducks*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    Jeez fair play to ya! Keep up the good work.

I don't mean on a regular basis. Just out of curiosity. I'm glad I've tried the ones that I've tried, to have your perception altered in a way that would have been unimaginable otherwise.

fits wrote: »
    I think its going out of fashion actually, especially in the club scene...

*ducks*

Do I sense sarcasm?? If not I need to start going to the clubs you go to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I put Keith Richards to shame

<sniffs>

Clare Bear wrote: »

No I am being serious.

Coke has been in decline for the last year or so imo in the electronic music club scene (jeez I dunno what to call that without it sounding weird).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

isn't that the stuff that creates lots of little holes in the brains of lab mice? o_O

fits wrote: »
    No I am being serious.

Coke has been in decline for the last year or so imo in the electronic music club scene (jeez I dunno what to call that without it sounding weird).

Okay I can't name the clubs I go to obviously (though I agree with another post on here regarding a certain "celeb" hang out) but I think it's worse than ever. Depends where you go though I'm sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Right, do you ever think where that oner bag is coming from? It's coming from the lowest form of a human a drug dealer! Ya know the people who are making Dublin and the majority of large Irish towns into a warzone, competing with other drug dealers over money and terittory?! And like the most of you who say'd ''Oh dear thats terrible'', when another person gets shot, stabbed murderd, as far as i'm concerned you are just to blame for any person who gets murderd over drugs, because if you we'rent buying they wouldnt have a market to sell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Unbeliveable the amount of naiievety shown by some people on this thread and not to mention the albsolute ****ing stupidity!!

For all you who use Coke on a regular basis, i hope you get a bad bag and end up in hospital, it wouldnt be good enough for the likes of you!! And you can see what you would put your family through, i speak from experence here, a loved one overdosed and ended up in hospital:mad:

If i ever catch any friend or family member going near the stuff or any drug, i shall make my feelings known!

Ah these things are always cyclical anyway.... I think its in decline, but I dont go to a cross section of clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Coke is way to expensive and overrated but it's a good laugh when you're on it I have to admit. Would only take it about 3times a year at the most.

After all the sh*t that happened in Ballybeg this weekend I don't know if I'd ever touch it again.

My sister knows one of the lads that's in a coma. It's so scary because we all go to house sessions like that and that could easily happen to me and my friends. Imagine taking a few lines on a Saturday night(or more than a few in this case) and having your face on the front of every newspaper with tubes sticking out of you and everyone wondering whether you'll wake up...

Scares the sh*t outta me tbh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Only the once when I was in Valencia with the gf (she didn't have anyway, smart) - wasn't impressed with it. Waste of time, money etc

<edit> and yeah, what's with that myth that there's traces if it on nearly every banknote that passes through your hands (maybe exaggerated). BS or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Clare Bear wrote: »

If you are down the country i get your point. Use seems to be falling in Dublin from my experience of parties Id be at. In 05 I doubt id been to a party where it wasnt being done. Its now 07, I havent personally seen coke since the summer, although some of the same parties were full of people on yokes. Its a miracle the stuff ever took off given its quality.

Perhaps the poll should have more options : never took it, have done on occasion, monthly, every weekend, daily. Ive a feeling a large % of those voting that they dont take it merely dont take it currently.

Down the country however its exploded. Was down the sticks not long ago and was struck by the sounds coming from the jacks, and every second person walking out holding their nose.

As for me, first had it in 2004, thought it was pretty cool, noting major. Preferred the pills (in truth Id take them maybe 5-6 times a year, beer is my brother through good and bad, the yips are only for occasion)

Out of curiousity why do some (including posters here) have this "pills are dangerous, coke is safe" approach? Way more people die from coke overdoses than pills.

I dont know why, in this country at least, anyone takes it. Its a strange buzz for me, wouldnt even call it a buzz, more like the type of numbness you might get when the dentist applys his stuff to you. Different strokes etc, ive taken the same amount/bag as mates who are flying around the room and talking sh1te. Just affects some differently?

Where did the media obsession with D4 types doing it come from? Most D4 girls ive met would be appalled if someone took a bag out at a house party. Coke is (or was, as said its disappearing) a skanger drug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Something like 80% of dollars in circulation are reckoned to have cocaine residue in their fibres.
    Snopes can tell you why:
    http://www.snopes.com/business/money/cocaine.asp

Probably the same with euros, although the recent finding at some bank in Dublin kind of drew from a very small sample to be relevant...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭gillyfromlyre

The husband starting taking it again 2 weeks ago to make matters worse for me, all he did was whine about the weather for about 20 minutes, cracked a few jokes, eat a full fecking packet of biscuits and went down to the pub to burn the ears off some poor barfly. Pretty antisocial stuff I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

ScumLord wrote: »
    All blow sold in Ireland is muck, it's not worth buying. I've had proper coke twice and it was class, I can understand why people would become quickly addicted to it.

Not true lad, I have had some crap stuff and some amazing stuff. I took it for about 2-3 years recreationally. Not touched it in a long time though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

I did it quite alot for about 18 months - 2 years. I found it great, but i never took that much in a evening. Maybe 4/5 lines at most. Stopped doing it when i woke up one morning with my face/pillow covered in blood. No interest in doing it again. Never took it by myself though, always did it around friends, not that its makes it any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Volvoboy wrote: »

For all you who use Coke on a regular basis, i hope you get a bad bag and end up in hospital, it wouldnt be good enough for the likes of you!! And you can see what you would put your family through, i speak from experence here, a loved one overdosed and ended up in hospital:mad:

Not having a pop here Volvoboy, but isn't your post extremely hypocritical?
    Your speaking from experience in that a loved one of yours ended up in hospital but you hope anyone else who does drugs does the same?
    And it would be good enough for them? Was it good enough for your loved one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,717 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

/Takes note of all those who have taken coke for use in High Society 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Not a great poll.

I've done coke a few times, certainly don't "use" it. Not really bothered with it though, could be that I found other stuff a lot more enjoyable than the "coke" that floods this country but haven't done it in years anyway fwiw.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    /Takes note of all those who have taken coke for use in High Society 2.

Unlike the book at least you have testimony from users :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Mr.S wrote: »
    why was there blood?

Sometimes when you take coke, the blood vessels in your nose can burst from the pressure of what your putting up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,717 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Unlike the book at least you have testimony from users :)

If you could say something like "Two thumbs up. A rollercoaster ride of thrills and spills", that'd really help sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Im starting to think all the hype whipped up by the media is causing people who'd never do it to become interested.

Eg - never met someone who does pills who wouldn't smoke a spliff but I've met plenty who do coke & wouldn't smoke.

Eh? Im not sure i know anyone who wouldnt smoke a spliff if it was passed around bar four, two of whom are simply repulsed by smoking and two who wouldnt because they are heavy into their football, athletic types.

Funnily enough, 3 of these lads drink like fish, only one (one of the athletic types) neither smokes or drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭Tropheus

I've never been offered cocaine nor have I ever seen it. Maybe I move in the wrong (or right) circles, but I can't understand the hysteria there is around drugs at the moment. If I were to beleive the media, even my mother is on cocaine.

Yes it's a problem, but not as widespread as some would have you believe.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    If you could say something like "Two thumbs up. A rollercoaster ride of thrills and spills", that'd really help sales.

Should I also exaggerate its effect to portray the Irish sugar as being as good as snorting prime uncut off Shakiras arse in the backwoods of Colombia while im at it ;)

Pile of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

ksimpson wrote: »
    Yes it's a problem, but not as widespread as some would have you believe.

Is the fact that the HUGE cocaine trade in the country has contributed to the massive rise is gang-related deaths not widespread enough for you? Or are you one of those people who doesn't believe there's a problem when they haven't actually seen someone being shot dead?

I don't know where you live or who you Socialise with but in my town (North West) coke is everywhere and has been since it got popular around 1999, although became alot more commonplace a few years into this century! If you've been in you're teens or twenties in the 21st century I find it hard to believe you've never come across cocaine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 flippythewarvet

humanji wrote: »
    I'm enough of a pr*ck already.

best. quote. ever.