Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big 4 accounting firms

• 27-11-2007 4:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Hi im graduating this year and have received offers from all 4 to start in october...having trouble picking one does anyone have any advice?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Triple A

I graduated in 1999 and was offered places by some of the big four. I chose to turn them all down and go into a small/medium sized practice where i progressed quicker than some of the people in my class who did go to the Big 4.

I also know from friends that your first year or so is quite boring (i.e. lost of photocopying etc).

This is a personal view but also another option for you to consider.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 missff

thanks for that,
    ive been given that point of view from family who did a simialr thing to you but ive already decided that id prefer to try them anyway...have you heard anything good/bad from the people you know who worked in them about each particular one??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,504 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

This year I remember that some (if not all) of the Big 4 were recruiting extra staff in January or February, do you think they will do this again next year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Triple A

missff wrote: »
    thanks for that,
    ive been given that point of view from family who did a simialr thing to you but ive already decided that id prefer to try them anyway...have you heard anything good/bad from the people you know who worked in them about each particular one??