Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Q + A with Halfbaked ("The Best Live player in Dublin")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Having played PES08 on the 360 vs HJ, I have to say I was terribly disappointed at the standard on show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

it the following situation true . . .

after having agreed to chop the 200 monthly game, where you took slightly more - you said - i dont mind doing this deal, once you recognize that i won it?? (to the guy who finished second)

does it mean that much to you to be so recognized??

do you think you let Jay and rob off, by "not being bothered" to play many live tournies this year, were obv you would have won if you concentrated on it.

Re our convo last night about reggie being broke - can you link me to any conclusive unseen evidence about this?

Top waitress in dublin casino's??

What site do you play on??

what three live cash players would you make sure were sitting on your right, and then the same Q for on your left??

have you ever written notes on live players? if not, why not? surely this would be +++EV

do you ever get amazed when a Degen plays a 200 buy in tournie, obv gets knocked out, and then sits and "rails" one of his buddies (being someone who he barely knows) until 6 in the foookin morning to look for a spot??
    what is the answer to this??

how much are you hating this well??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Having played PES08 on the 360 vs HJ, I have to say I was terribly disappointed at the standard on show.

that was 4 days after it came out!

1 - In general do you prefer AQs or JJ

2 - Which hand would you prefer in your regular live game, KK on the button or AA utg

3 - what % of the effective stack are you happy putting in (ie you think is profitable for you), in the following circumstances in a live game. They are the one doing the raising preflop.

a) 67s vs boring TAG in position
    b) TJs vs not great LAG out of poisiton
    c) 22 vs unknown

4 - Playing 12nl in the emporium with a reasnably good line up of a several unknowns that you assume arent great and only 1 or 2 regulars, what do you think your expectation is per hand.

5 - whats the worst misread you have ever made live, eg call someone down with ace high, they have quads

6 - whats the best read you have ever made live, if it was the elvis one give us another one!

7 - Why is the last mile the hardest mile?

8 - If you had to either beat two children to death with your bare arms or indirectly cause the death of 100 adults you will never meet which would you choose. Assume no consequences other than psychological

Cool thread, and well done on winning the 200 Fo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

8 - If you had to either beat two children to death with your bare arms or indirectly cause the death of 100 adults you will never meet which would you choose. Assume no consequences other than psychological

You just cant resist throwing one of these in there! Why 2 children as opposed to 1 child? Should that sway it one way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Will start answering again later, sorry about the delay. Pretty tired so might have a nap first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

Get out of bed you lazy git

Do you get tapped up by the usual degens much on the live scene? Have you ever been stung with a bad debt by any of them?

Have you managed to sustain any relationship since getting involved in poker? If not do you think you have become emotionally retarded by poker?

I believe an element of obsession is vital to becoming a proficient poker player, opinion? What attribute (aside from intelligence) do you think is most vital to a poker player?

Do you get tapped up by the usual degens much on the live scene? Have you ever been stung with a bad debt by any of them?

Yes, I get asked for a loan of money fairly regularly. Most people give it back to me the next time they see me. I’ve never been stung for a large amount as I’d only give someone a decent loan if I they were a mate. I would never lend one of the usual degens much. Saying that there are people who continue to owe me money. In most instance I just write it off as bad debt and would never lend them anything again.

Have you managed to sustain any relationship since getting involved in poker? If not do you think you have become emotionally retarded by poker?

Not for more than a few months. It’s difficult when you operate on a different body clock than most people. The fact that most of the good live games are at the weekend certainly doesn’t help.

I believe an element of obsession is vital to becoming a proficient poker player, opinion? What attribute (aside from intelligence) do you think is most vital to a poker player?

I think an element of obsession is necessary in becoming good at just about anything. The more passionate / obsessed your are at something the more time you will spend learning and improving. I think people have to be careful though, poker can become an addiction.

Temperament. If you can’t control your emotions and let the little things effect you your never going to be successful in the long term. I know some very good players who suffer badly from this and blow up when they take a beat, even in a small pot. It’s like there’s a switch inside they can’t control.

Samba wrote: »
    What's your most memorable live hand be it for hilarity or a nice scoop?

Did you ever make it to Thailand? ;)

Hope your enjoying if you did.

GL

What's your most memorable live hand be it for hilarity or a nice scoop?

I played a hand in the SE main pot limit game earlier this year which was pretty amusing and profitable. Nearly everyone at the table was playing deep and a few had about 1K in from of them. It’s limped around to Ian who’s UTG+2 and makes it 12 I think. I was sure he had a big hand. It’s called the whole way around to me and I call on the button with 67o. Flop comes a delicious 666. Donk in the sb instantly goes pot, folded to Ian who calls and I call. Immediately Ian looks up at me. He know’s that I know he has a big hand and wouldn’t be calling there without the 6. If I had a big pocket pair I would have 3 bet pre flop. Turn comes a 7 and the sb instantly goes pot again. Ian looks up me and with a disgusted look on his face folds(QQ), I call. River is a 8 I think and the sb once again goes pot. I shove and he calls. He had 99. The whole table was just like wft, pretty much everyone one but the guy knew I had the 6. He turns around and say, “sure I flopped a full house what could I do?”. The pot was about 2K and Ian said (jokingly) I owed him 1K as that pot should have been his. Lol.

Did you ever make it to Thailand?

No, gaff kept me here. I’m off to oz soon. How’s France treating you?

big broad dude with black hair?

No, a slight guy with red hair. Close though.

Conbro wrote: »
    Hi Peter was looking forward to your well and thanks for taking the time

1. Your composure and temperament seem to me to be the attributes that set you apart from most other live players . Were you always so level headed and cool when it came to making crucial decisions or is it something you have worked on and improved on. If so how?

2.What do you personally feel are your biggest strengths and weaknesses as a poker player?

3.Why havnt you played more live big tournaments after your outstanding performance in the Irish Open?

4.What single player, Dublin reg or otherwise, has made you feel most uncomfortable playing at the same table? {I mean this in a pokersense nothing to do with BO etc}

5.Am I the biggest tellbox you know?

Thanks again Peter. Bol

1. Your composure and temperament seem to me to be the attributes that set you apart from most other live players . Were you always so level headed and cool when it came to making crucial decisions or is it something you have worked on and improved on. If so how?

No, it’s something that I’ve had to worked on. I made a conscious effort at the beginning of the year to try and not let situations outside of my control effect me (outdraws etc). Sometimes it’s easier said then done, especially when your on a downswing and seem to lose all the big pots you play. But you have remember that it happens to everyone, it‘s how you deal with it that defines you and how successful you will be at the game. I just try to focus on making the correct decisions in the knowledge that consistently doing this will reflect in the long term.

2.What do you personally feel are your biggest strengths and weaknesses as a poker player?

I’ll give 2 for each.

Strengths

Reading strength / weakness
    Temperament

Weaknesses

Poker theory
    Not being aggressive enough at times

3.Why havnt you played more live big tournaments after your outstanding performance in the Irish Open?

I’m just not that bothered. I don’t like to play larger buy in tourneys unless I going to give it 100%. I remember the last GJP ME, I turned up on the day and knew I didn’t want to play yet still bought in. I then sat at my table and realized straight away that I had absolutely no interest in being there. I didn’t last long and to be honest I was happy enough when I got knocked out. This is not the right attitude and I promised myself from then on I wouldn’t waste money playing something unless I prepared to put the effort in.

4.What single player, Dublin reg or otherwise, has made you feel most uncomfortable playing at the same table? {I mean this in a pokersense nothing to do with BO etc}

Probably Pillow. Eoin is a super player with a great understanding of the game. He’s a very tough opponent and I’m sure anyone who has played against him will agree. He’s also a top bloke.

5.Am I the biggest tellbox you know?

No, that’s Ian.

AKQJ10 wrote: »
    How did you make it to the final 8 in the S.E 200?

Are you ever going to get a non red zip up hoodie?

What was the funniest hand you witnessed during the summer?

What is your range for calling a raise from the SB when im on the button?

Would you comsider yourself lucky/unlucky?

Who gives the worst 'sweat' in Dublin when you raise them?

Whats your biggest losing night?

Who's better, HJ/Ian?

How steamed are you that i asked 9 pointless questions?

How did you make it to the final 8 in the S.E 200?

Winning races at crucial times. Same as pretty much anyone who goes deep in a tounrey.

Are you ever going to get a non red zip up hoodie?

I have about 10 hoodies, only 2 of which are red. What color will then next one be, who knows?

What was the funniest hand you witnessed during the summer?

Probably the hand were Ross had the nut flush on the double paired board and you check raised from the sb on the river after Steve had bet and got 3 callers. Ross then going crazy and ranting about how sick it was how you didn’t have it before folding was hilarious. You obviously did have it. For once!

What is your range for calling a raise from the SB when im on the button?

I can’t be telling you that, it’s wider than most though.

Would you comsider yourself lucky/unlucky?

In a general sense I suppose if I had to pick one it would be lucky. I remember a number of years ago I was walking into the kitchen where my Dad was talking to my mum about me. I can’t remember the context but I do remember him trailing off saying that I was like a cat as I always seem to land on my feet. There might just be something to it mind you, considering some of the stupid / life threatening things I’ve done over the years it’s a miracle I’m still alive. I wonder how many of my 9 lives I have left?

Who gives the worst 'sweat' in Dublin when you raise them?

Probably Mickste, but I haven‘t put much thought into it. He often gives me that look like he thinks I’m at it, mind you I’m not the only one he gives that look to!

Whats your biggest losing night?

Probably about 2K

Who's better, HJ/Ian?

At what? HJ has already given his opinion at pro ev, I’d agree with his reply. If you mean at poker I think Ian would say Daragh. Saying that Ian has come on tremendously in the last year and it’s pretty close imo.

How steamed are you that i asked 9 pointless questions?

Meh.

Flushdraw wrote: »
    You just cant resist throwing one of these in there! Why 2 children as opposed to 1 child? Should that sway it one way?

There is actually a reason but I dont want to talk about it until peter answers it!

semibluff wrote: »
    it the following situation true . . .

after having agreed to chop the 200 monthly game, where you took slightly more - you said - i dont mind doing this deal, once you recognize that i won it?? (to the guy who finished second)

do you think you let Jay and rob off, by "not being bothered" to play many live tournies this year, were obv you would have won if you concentrated on it.

Re our convo last night about reggie being broke - can you link me to any conclusive unseen evidence about this?

what three live cash players would you make sure were sitting on your right, and then the same Q for on your left??

have you ever written notes on live players? if not, why not? surely this would be +++EV

do you ever get amazed when a Degen plays a 200 buy in tournie, obv gets knocked out, and then sits and "rails" one of his buddies (being someone who he barely knows) until 6 in the foookin morning to look for a spot??

how much are you hating this well??

Lol, you were standing there as Peter is a mate of yours. Yes I did, there are tournament points depending on where you place which are used for the tourney league final. It wasn’t something directed at Peter himself. To be honest I don’t know if I have enough to qualify (as I don’t play many) but a few of those that I have I’ve got points. It’s on in a month so if I’m close I will play a few more.

I also like winning. In general I don’t like doing deals but the SE was closing. I enjoy FT’s and like where possible to play them to conclusion. I don’t think I’ve ever offered a deal before (as far as I recall) . Saying that Peter Murphy is a player that has impressed me whenever I have played with him and there was very little in it. I think if we were to have played it to conclusion it would have come down to who flipped better with the blinds left.

Not at all, I’m sure anyone who knows me well would agree that’s not my nature.

Nice of you to say but I don’t know about that. The lads and bomber have all put in great performances this year and are deservedly at the top of the list.

I don’t but at this point I would urge anyone who does to come forward.

Magda who use to work in the SE was great. She knew what I'd want and just brought it over to the table without me even having to ask when she saw me come in. Even more scary was that she knew over the course of the night which drink to I would prefer. I like to mix it up as drinking coffee or water all night can be a bit boring.

Looks wise there’s one that works in the Fitz, she’s a tall blonde from Eastern Europe somewhere (excuse ignorance). No idea what her name is but on one of my rare trips into the fitz she was working. Sweetness.

At the moment I’m playing on GJP.

Pick anyone from the best players list and put them on my right. Same with the bad players and the left. A little bit of a cop out I know.

No, I generally remember what most people play like once I have played with them once/twice so I've never felt the need.

Yes and no, nothing amazes me anymore. These people are normally wasting their time though.

Fecked if I know!

bops wrote: »
    hi peter

gl with this, doing a fine job!

i have no real question...

ok - i got one! if you were to give me one single piece of advice about playing live cash poker, what would it be??

thanks mr P

Patience. Considering you only getting about 25/30 hands an hour in live it can be very tempting to play hands that you shouldn’t. Doing this, especially from early position, will cost you a lot of money over time.

I'll answer the rest of the questions when I wake up tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

hows it going peter,

there is a lot of talk about the summer and the games that used to be goin on, I feel that since the summer my game has suffered/regressed due to a number of reasons that are well documented at this stage, when you were asked has the game improved you said it has in the last year due to boards and the likes, I would agree with you in a way as i feel that during the summer it was one of the most consistently good games ive played in and gradually since people have gotten out of it for one reason or another the level of poker seems to have dropped over the last few months? is that just me or is there less competition now a days.

what has been the toughest game you have ever sat into over the last while, was it the first 2/5 game where everyone seemed to play well even the likes of ravi?that was a sick game

that leads me onto the next question, what was the justification/thinking process for your call with the AK in that game as i still cannot fathom why you would stick so much in with it pre-flop even against me considering how the game was playing, did you think you were ahead?

not trying to be funny with this one but a lot of people have commented on your temperament and how you handle yourself at the table due you think this would be down to being a lot older/wiser in a poker sense than the likes of the younger guys who were playing regularly over the last year or so.

stop lying about the hoodies we all know you have only two the red zip up and the grey zip up thats it.

I think you got the funniest hand question spot on aswell. the whole jumping up shouting oh you're so sick its unreal,you're a sicko, while mark is looking around at the table licking his lips thinking what the fcuk is going on here how is there so many callers for the 100 quid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

kindly detail your sickest and most degenerate poker session please

will you move to Vegas at any point during your travels?

is it true that you sleep in a coffin during the daytime and drink the blood of a young virgin twice a week?

I can confirm the coffin part. He had one specially delivered to the MGM in Vegas. It was almost as uncomfortable looking as Flushdraws cot :P

ianmc38 wrote: »
    I can confirm the coffin part. He had one specially delivered to the MGM in Vegas. It was almost as uncomfortable looking as Flushdraws cot :P

I'll still never forgive you for that excuse for a bed you gave me :mad: I had to use your bed for the hooker, and i didnt clean up ;);)

Hi Pete,

Fair play to you for doing this after being dragged kicking and screaming and thrown head first in!

1. Did you have a eureka moment in your early poker days when you thought, hang on a second, i'm actually pretty handy at this game?

2. If someone was to give you €500k tomorrow on the basis you never play poker again, would you accept it? Or would you refuse it on the basis that a) moeny isn't the driving force behind why you play poker or b) you feel you'll make more than €500k in your poker career?

3. If you were offered a seat on HSP but the only seat available was one with Antonius, Esfandiari, Greenstein on your right and Elezra, Farha and Gold on your left, would you take it?

4. If you were to lose both your arms in an accident would you put it down to bad variance and give up poker or would you find a Stephen Hawkings type way to continue playing?

5. I asked Ian the question in his well and i'll ask you...Michelle in vegas, did you?

Cheers mate, catch you around soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭pete1234

hey pete, looks like a lot of hassle all this writing!!!!! ( i was 2nd to you on saturday nite btw)

1. you said u like to play deep, when playin live do u always try to buy in to cover the table?? or do u consistently buy in wit the same amount??

2. can u ever see yourself not playing poker?? personally i dont think i wud know wat to do wit myself without it!!

3. do u keep detailed records of wins and losses?? do u have a monthly target or guesstimate that u try to stay in around each month??

4. do u think i am easy to read?? i sometimes think people think i am weak and re raise me wit air and i know they think they know that i am weak and sometimes call them down light. (confusing i know)

anyway dont want to ask too many questions,
    well played on saturday by the way!!!

HalfBaked wrote: »

I don’t but at this point I would urge anyone who does to come forward.

I had another quick look today but all I was able to locate was this page.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_Busto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

that's quite funny, me and Mrs S actually had lunch there once

I tried to explain the humour but failed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

lol.

Interesting link, I didn't know el busto was a town in spain. Nice work Peter.

Here's a screenshot from wikipedia. I suspect someone edited it.

reggiemi0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

What makes you uncomfortable at the poker table? Another player having position on you? stack sizes etc?

Who is the most overrated live cash game player in Dublin?

Which live player (other than Mick The Lip) has the biggest lack of self awareness as to their limitations as a poker player?

what aspect of your game would you like to improve?

Did you ever intend to go to Thailand to hook up with Ian? Or were you just leading him on?

Does anything compare to the gut wrenching feeling of exiting a big tourney like say, the IO this year?

One hand that sticks in your mind under each of the following headings (please choose different hands than those detailed earlier)
    - one which you played well/badly and won
    - one which you played well/badly and lost
    - one which you were at the table, didnt play and another dublin reg won/lost having played well/badly.

If it takes 2 men 3 days to walk backwards into eternity then how long does it take 2 men to shovel light into a dark room?

Name a boards poster, other then HJ/Fuzz/Pillow, whose posts you make an effort to read.

Who posts the most tripe despite constantly thinking they are knowledgeable?

thanks for doing this - its been good reading

Ok here are some questions for you, so that I can add something constructive to the thread.

1. Do you think it's possible to win a tournament in spite of being bad at poker?
    2. Do you think Jamie Gold played better than everyone else in the WSOP he won?
    3. Have you ever played cash with a tournament player who has impressed you at the cash table?
    4. Would you say the average tournament player you play against in cash games is good or bad at poker. Also please elaborate on why you think this.
    5. Do you think Tony used the cot in Vegas?
    6. If you were in Tony's position would you have used the cot?
    7. if you had to judge yourself honestly on a degnerate scale from 1-100 where would you put yourself. 100 is the top end of the scale. Please no referring to me as the measure or any references to late night craps sessions. I'll tell you my rating for you once you're replied with an honest assessment.
    8. Tell the story about the time u broke ur leg. I cant remember it, other than it being absolutely horrific, but slightly amusing.
    9. Why wont you admit to eveeryone that it's just the red hoody?
    10. Is there a question that noone has asked yet that you would like to answer? If so go ahead and ask it

Also lol BCB, we all know he was just leading me on. The latest report is there never was an apartment, he just couldn't face not seeing the Emporium (his home from home) for 6 months!

Edit: Well done so far btw. We all knew it would just be a matter of time before you were thrown in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Van Dice

Good thread halfbaked.

What are the main adjustments you make to your preflop play when you play online as opposed to live?

2 - Which hand would you prefer in your regular live game, KK on the button or AA utg

3 - what % of the effective stack are you happy putting in (ie you think is profitable for you), in the following circumstances in a live game. They are the one doing the raising preflop.

c) 22 vs unknown

4 - Playing 12nl in the emporium with a reasnably good line up of a several unknowns that you assume arent great and only 1 or 2 regulars, what do you think your expectation is per hand.

5 - whats the worst misread you have ever made live, eg call someone down with ace high, they have quads

6 - whats the best read you have ever made live, if it was the elvis one give us another one!

AQs

KK on the button.

It really depends on the number of players in the hand. The percentages would obviously go up the more players in the hand.

4%

5%

c) 22 vs unknown

7%

Hmm, good question. Probably about €2 a hand

I’ll come back to this one the question below, will try and think of some good examples.

Because your tired.

Probably the later option. I don’t know if I’d be able to beat 2 children to death so given the option of killing 2 children on the spot and someone pressing a button which kills 100 adults somewhere else I’d probably cop out and go for the easy option.

Thanks Daragh

Trippie wrote: »
    hows it going peter,

there is a lot of talk about the summer and the games that used to be goin on, I feel that since the summer my game has suffered/regressed due to a number of reasons that are well documented at this stage, when you were asked has the game improved you said it has in the last year due to boards and the likes, I would agree with you in a way as i feel that during the summer it was one of the most consistently good games ive played in and gradually since people have gotten out of it for one reason or another the level of poker seems to have dropped over the last few months? is that just me or is there less competition now a days.

what has been the toughest game you have ever sat into over the last while, was it the first 2/5 game where everyone seemed to play well even the likes of ravi?that was a sick game

that leads me onto the next question, what was the justification/thinking process for your call with the AK in that game as i still cannot fathom why you would stick so much in with it pre-flop even against me considering how the game was playing, did you think you were ahead?

not trying to be funny with this one but a lot of people have commented on your temperament and how you handle yourself at the table due you think this would be down to being a lot older/wiser in a poker sense than the likes of the younger guys who were playing regularly over the last year or so.

stop lying about the hoodies we all know you have only two the red zip up and the grey zip up thats it.

I think you got the funniest hand question spot on aswell. the whole jumping up shouting oh you're so sick its unreal,you're a sicko, while mark is looking around at the table licking his lips thinking what the fcuk is going on here how is there so many callers for the 100 quid

I think this is certainly true for the jackpot. Not so much the SE.

Probably a 2/5 game in played in Vegas one day. For the most part the 2/5 games always had plenty of fish, this one didn’t and it was hard going. That game in the jackpot was very tight and there was a good line up, but it wasn‘t overly tough. I was rid card dead and ran badly which made the game a nightmare for me. One of my least enjoyable and unprofitable sessions ever.

I though you were going for the resteal, I figured that you thought I would 3 bet Mark light and you were trying to take it away. It was a good spot for it. I played the hand terribly and let frustration get the better of me. To be honest I also didn’t think you had that much in front of you, I miss counted the number of black (€100) chips you had. It was only when I called that I realized how much it was.

Yes I think that makes a big difference. I think the older you get the more you let the little things in life effect you. You start to realise that there are worse things than having a bad night at the tables and I think it helps you put things into perspective.

Lol, I didn’t lie! Problem is that some of them don’t have zips (5 of them do, including the 2 grey and 2 red) so I don’t wear them when I play poker. It’s easier to have ones that zip up as if you get a little to cold / warm you can just zip / unzip them without having to keep taking them on / off.

I’ve played for more than 24 hours on a number of occasions. Probably the most degenerate session involved me and jbravado. We started playing at about 9pm on Saturday night in the SE and then headed to the Jackpot once the SE closed. We stayed there until about midday on Sunday. From there we went out early to one of JP’s games (the IO qualifier) and started boozing. The game didn’t start until about 3pm I think and we were skulling back the Guinness and shots before hand. We played some HU blind Omaha games for €50 a pop. I managed to win the entrance fee which was about €250 through these. We continued to play for the rest of the day and night whilst still downing the the booze. We left there at about 2am Monday morning and went back to the SE where we were an absolute mess and played until closing time. We caused quite the commotion in the SE and if we weren’t such regulars there I’m sure they a) wouldn’t have let us in b) kicked us out. It took days to recover.

We’re planning to move there and rent an apartment for a few months. Probably be a bit before the world series starts and we’ll stay there for the duration of the that anyways. If we haven’t lost out minds we might stay a bit longer.

For legal reasons I don’t think I can answer that. Virgin blood is apparently illegal in this nanny state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Hi Pete,

Fair play to you for doing this after being dragged kicking and screaming and thrown head first in!

1. Did you have a eureka moment in your early poker days when you thought, hang on a second, i'm actually pretty handy at this game?

2. If someone was to give you €500k tomorrow on the basis you never play poker again, would you accept it? Or would you refuse it on the basis that a) moeny isn't the driving force behind why you play poker or b) you feel you'll make more than €500k in your poker career?

3. If you were offered a seat on HSP but the only seat available was one with Antonius, Esfandiari, Greenstein on your right and Elezra, Farha and Gold on your left, would you take it?

4. If you were to lose both your arms in an accident would you put it down to bad variance and give up poker or would you find a Stephen Hawkings type way to continue playing?

5. I asked Ian the question in his well and i'll ask you...Michelle in vegas, did you?

Cheers mate, catch you around soon

Not really, it was more of a gradual thing. I remember when I started playing live there were some players that I found intimidating to have at the table with me. About 6 months later I felt that not only was I better than them, but in some instances they were actually terrible. As I stated in one of my previous answers it amazes me at the number of people who have been playing for years and have not improved at all.

Wow, I don’t know. It might be pretty hard to turn down 500K in cash.

If someone was going to stake me hell yea.

Initially I’d probably put it down to bad variance, but after that I might look at a way to get back into playing.

No, that was Ian’s Vegas Mrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Thought I might as well chime in with a few Q's.

First off:

Jessica Alba or Cheryl Tweedy?

Now:
    Favourite Album at the moment? Are you a Radiohead fan?

Best gig you've ever been to?

Do you believe in God?

Citroen saxo's while cool when your 19, and as pimped out as yours is they arent the typical car choice of a poker pro? Are u going to get a new car soon? If so, what type/model? Will it be red like everything else you own?

Who is the most annoying person to have at a table with you?

If you had to choose one to sit on your left, who would it be, Ross, Mark or Mickste?

Any chance of sneaking me into the emporium?

Would you consider your game good? Are u happy and comfortable or do you feel there are areas for improvement? If so where?

Zip up hoodies are gay. Everyone knows this. Why do you still wear them?

IF there was one pro who you could punch in the face for no consequences who would it be?

What do you think is the biggest single strength you see in people games in live Dublin Poker? i.e. is there anything that all the regs do well?

Same as above but regarding weakness. I am referring to regulars not players in general.

The Breakfast of Champions. Mine is domino's pizza. What is yours?

If you could have any 4 historical figures at your next birthday party who would they be?

finally,

Would ya give it to the new blondie dealer in the jackpot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

Hi Peter,

Great stuff so far and well done on Saturday.

Why do you not play props any more? Is it because 9deuce is unbeatable or do you feel that it interferes with your game?

How do you rate the NL game in the SE compared to other live games? I found the standard in Waterford to be awful during the festival.

Who is the most erratic player you play with?

Who is the most improved player in the last year?

Who brings the most action to the table?

Is Harrington on Holdem still unread on the back seat of the car?

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Is it safe to make my Live comeback once you finally head off to Aussie?

How does tilt affect you?

Are you really listening to music on your ipod when you play or are you pretending to and taking in the information from all the table talk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭HeeHawsCantona

Hi Peter
    I wanted to ask you about tilt management - I was very impressed with how you handled it after the last hand you played against me. Are you a believer in the tomorrows another day philosophy (in horseracing parlons it'd be - there's never a last race)?

Speak a bit of you will about your tilt management techniques and also if they can be transferred to tournament play.

pete1234 wrote: »
    hey pete, looks like a lot of hassle all this writing!!!!! ( i was 2nd to you on saturday nite btw)

1. you said u like to play deep, when playin live do u always try to buy in to cover the table?? or do u consistently buy in wit the same amount??

2. can u ever see yourself not playing poker?? personally i dont think i wud know wat to do wit myself without it!!

3. do u keep detailed records of wins and losses?? do u have a monthly target or guesstimate that u try to stay in around each month??

4. do u think i am easy to read?? i sometimes think people think i am weak and re raise me wit air and i know they think they know that i am weak and sometimes call them down light. (confusing i know)

I generally buy in for 500 regardless of the other stack sizes (within reason). But if there are a number of large stacks I’ll buy in to cover.

I'm pretty sure I'll play poker at some level for the rest of my life. I'm hooked like everyone else.

I keep and excel spreadsheet where I record all my session and tournament buyins. I don’t really set myself any targets, but if I’m having a slow month I generally try and play more hands / sessions coming to the end of the month.

I wouldn’t say that you’re easy to read, certainly not that I’ve noticed anyway.

Thanks, and same to you. I been impressed with your play the times we’ve been on the same table together and was happy to have you on my right at the ft.

What makes you uncomfortable at the poker table? Another player having position on you? stack sizes etc?

Which live player (other than Mick The Lip) has the biggest lack of self awareness as to their limitations as a poker player?

Did you ever intend to go to Thailand to hook up with Ian? Or were you just leading him on?

Does anything compare to the gut wrenching feeling of exiting a big tourney like say, the IO this year?

One hand that sticks in your mind under each of the following headings (please choose different hands than those detailed earlier)
    - one which you played well/badly and won
    - one which you played well/badly and lost
    - one which you were at the table, didnt play and another dublin reg won/lost having played well/badly.

If it takes 2 men 3 days to walk backwards into eternity then how long does it take 2 men to shovel light into a dark room?

Name a boards poster, other then HJ/Fuzz/Pillow, whose posts you make an effort to read.

thanks for doing this - its been good reading

A good lag having position on me.

Probably me.

Bad Beat Joe

My online game, it’s something I’m starting to put some serious time into now though.

I just suggested travelling to get the degenerate out of the country, it worked. I was never going.

I remember losing the cup semi finals one year when I played football in college. We lost 4-3 in an epic game akin to the famous Newcastle Liverpool premiership match. We really should have won that match and the cup that year.

I decided to go for two hands that I played badly.

- one which you played badly and won

A hand I won and played badly is probably this one.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055168104&highlight=halfbaked+john+JJ+ship

Saying that I was pretty certain I was ahead of the aggro guy and when he shoved I felt that if I called John would fold. I’ve played a lot with both players. Mind you I agree with all the comments regarding the CR and it’s not normally something I would do. In fact it actually humours me sometimes when I play with someone from boards for the first time. The hands that are put up featuring me all seem to be ones where I’m getting a lot of money in with marginal hands. I think people expect me to be some sort of maniac but I think once they’ve played with me they realise that this isn’t the case. These sort of hands are very much exceptions.

- one which you played badly and lost

I played a hand about a month ago in the SE NL which I was very unhappy about after. Reggie had been opening a lot of pots especially in late position. I’m in the straddle and he makes it 20 in the cut off, folded to the BB who then makes it 60. Before I even looked at my cards I though it was a good spot to squeeze as it really looked like the BB had enough and was playing back. I look down and I see KcKh and make it 165, Reggie folds and the bb looks at me, smiles and calls. Flop comes Ah9h3s, he checks and I check behind. Turn is the Qh and he leads for 185. Having previous history with the player I felt he was taking a stab as if he had an AJ / AQ / set he would check the turn and lead the river for value if I check behind on the turn. I was certain that he knew I didn’t have an Ace was trying to take it away. I decided to shove over his turn bet for another 365 instead of just calling. I’m still not sure why I shoved instead of just calling as I was sure I had the best hand and also had the nut flush draw. He though for a while and called with 10cJh (I believe he though his flush draw was live) and hit a K on the river to give him a straight. Whilst losing the pot was v annoying as he was drawing to 2 outs I was probably more annoyed with myself for how I played it. I left the game immediately.

Can’t think of one at the moment, I’ll come back to it.

Probably longer than it should, they’re gonna be pretty tired having walked for 3 days.

Robin, I always find his posts interesting. It’s a shame he doesn’t post that much here anymore.

Reggie obv. Mind you I do enjoy his posts, a lot of them make me laugh.

ianmc38 wrote: »
    Ok here are some questions for you, so that I can add something constructive to the thread.

1. Do you think it's possible to win a tournament in spite of being bad at poker?
    3. Have you ever played cash with a tournament player who has impressed you at the cash table?
    4. Would you say the average tournament player you play against in cash games is good or bad at poker. Also please elaborate on why you think this.
    7. if you had to judge yourself honestly on a degnerate scale from 1-100 where would you put yourself. 100 is the top end of the scale. Please no referring to me as the measure or any references to late night craps sessions. I'll tell you my rating for you once you're replied with an honest assessment.
    8. Tell the story about the time u broke ur leg. I cant remember it, other than it being absolutely horrific, but slightly amusing.
    10. Is there a question that noone has asked yet that you would like to answer? If so go ahead and ask it

Also lol BCB, we all know he was just leading me on. The latest report is there never was an apartment, he just couldn't face not seeing the Emporium (his home from home) for 6 months!

Edit: Well done so far btw. We all knew it would just be a matter of time before you were thrown in.

Definitely, I think anyone can win a tournament on a given day. Luck is such a deciding factor in tournaments and if you run good you will nearly always go deep. Saying that good players will win more tournaments / consistently go deep.

Obviously, he won.:rolleyes:

I think some tourney plays are good at cash but from my experience they are exceptions.

I think in general they‘re bad. They tend to overplay their hands, lose to much when they’re behind and fail to get maximum value when ahead. A lot also seem to struggle with turn and river play due to the large number of blinds still behind.

No.

No, I’d have used your bed.

70%

I went away snowboarding for the first time in Chamonix with some mates. The week consisted of snowboarding during the day and drinking at night. On the final day we went snowboarding as usual but started drinking on the slopes about lunchtime seeing as it was the last day. We continued drinking all day and ended up in a nightclub.

Upon leaving the nightclub we decided that the only thing to do was go back to the chalet bar for some shots before going to bed to get up for the airport at 7am. We arrive back at the chalet drunk out of our minds and precede to down a large bottle of whiskey whilst messing about and fighting with each other. At about 5am I remember think it was probably a good time to go to bed, most had already slipped off and there was just 4 of us left in the chalet bar. Just as I was about to leave for bed someone suggested one last shot, sure how could I refuse. As we were standing at the bar about to do the shots I had reached for mine, 2 of my mates were trying to push each other over. As I downed my shot the two of them came crashing down on my leg, whatever way I was standing my foot just stayed in place as did my upper body and they fell through the my leg.

As soon as it happened I knew something was seriously wrong as I ridiculously drunk and the pain was worst I’d even experienced. I realised straight away that this was not a good thing. They tried to help me up but it was so painfully that I decided I’d rather sleep on the floor of the bar (despite my friends protesting that I should just go up to bed) and deal with everything in the morning. It hurt the most when I tried to move so it seemed like a good idea at the time. They went upstairs and got my duvet and pillow and left a beer beside me for the pain. I crashed out.

A couple of hours later everyone started getting up, I had sobered up a little and realised that I better go to the hospital. I ended up having to stay a few extra days before I could travel home. I was really lucky I had good travel insurance and the company I got it with were great. They paid for an ambulance to come from Switzerland and drive me back there as well as getting me 3 seats on the flight home so I could leave me leg outstretched. I ended up being out of work for nearly 6 months. Which was pretty sweet actually as I was on full pay and got to sit about all day watching tv and playing xbox. It was also during this time that I got into poker.

When you come clean about the ladyboys!

Not really. I’ve enough questions to be answering without creating more for myself.

Van Dice wrote: »
    Good thread halfbaked.

What are the main adjustments you make to your preflop play when you play online as opposed to live?

Online I never open limp and would raise 100% pots I open. I would also play a lot tighter from early position. When playing live I would open limp with weaker hands as I don’t want to create large pots out of position against multiple players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

great read P fair play. I haven't really anything to ask except your speaking about concentrating more online. Will you be playing full ring or six max online . I'd imagine the move from live full ring to online six man games is a huge. Not really a ? just an observation I suppose.

Anyhow best of for the future and I think you should get down to Killarney for early January before you start your travels

Pabloh wrote: »
    Hi Peter,

Why do you not play props any more? Is it because 9deuce is unbeatable or do you feel that it interferes with your game?

How do you rate the NL game in the SE compared to other live games? I found the standard in Waterford to be awful during the festival.

Paul

Hi Peter,

Thanks Paul.

I think we played it everyday during the summer and I just got bored with it. It also becomes distracting when there a too many people playing it at the table. The 27 game creates action and is much more fun, just ask Jay!

It really depends on who’s playing. Some nights the line up can be pretty tough, other times the value is unbelievable.

Probably Gordon (Trippie)

BCB, he’s come on a lot in the last year.

The Chief when he has a tank, he makes the NL game when he’s in full flow. It’s a shame he doesn’t really play it anymore.

Lol, I’m pretty sure it’s made it’s way into the boot.

Thought I might as well chime in with a few Q's.

First off:

Now:
    Favourite Album at the moment? Are you a Radiohead fan?

Do you believe in God?

Citroen saxo's while cool when your 19, and as pimped out as yours is they arent the typical car choice of a poker pro? Are u going to get a new car soon? If so, what type/model? Will it be red like everything else you own?

If you had to choose one to sit on your left, who would it be, Ross, Mark or Mickste?

Would you consider your game good? Are u happy and comfortable or do you feel there are areas for improvement? If so where?

IF there was one pro who you could punch in the face for no consequences who would it be?

What do you think is the biggest single strength you see in people games in live Dublin Poker? i.e. is there anything that all the regs do well?

Same as above but regarding weakness. I am referring to regulars not players in general.

The Breakfast of Champions. Mine is domino's pizza. What is yours?

If you could have any 4 historical figures at your next birthday party who would they be?

finally,

Would ya give it to the new blondie dealer in the jackpot?

Jessica Alba.

Now:
    Favourite Album at the moment?

I downloaded one the other day on Ian’s advise that I’ve been listening to a fair bit. It’s called Oracular Spectacular by MGMT and it’s very good.

Are you a Radiohead fan?

I like their music but I don’t know if I’d consider myself a fan.

Wow, I don't know. I've been to loads that I've enjoyed for different reason. I really enjoyed Ian Brown's gig in Dublin Castle. The weather was terrible and it was lashing rain all day, but it was great.

I’ve a lot of expenses with the new place so it’s not high up on the list priorities, especially as I‘m going travelling. I’m quite fond of my car anyway so I’m in no rush to get a new one.

Someone who talks incessantly at you for the whole night, even when you are in the middle of a hand. I find it hard to watch the action and it’s very distracting, not to mention annoying. They really grind my gears.

Mickste

Can you fit in a bag?

I’ve answer this in a previous replies.

Meh, the day I start taking fashion tips from you will be a dark one!

Depend on whether you consider Gold a pro or some retard who landed a big score. I often feel like he needs a good slap.

I'll finish off Theresa's and the other questions tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

I'll finish off Theresa's and the other questions tomorrow.

lol, got a bit tired half way through answering someones questions.

If you're running badly, would you try and switch to a luckier seat or ask for a deck change?

On a scale of 1-10, how happy are you to be doing a well? 1 being very happy and 10 being out of this world delighted