Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The gobdaw on Irish Times/Matt Cooper who was charged >€800 for a service...

• 03-12-2007 7:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭

Anyone hear this tonight on Matt Cooper? The guy in question also wrote an article in last weeks Times motoring supplement.

Brought car in for a service - usual plate glass affair, marble tiled floor, potted plants etc. He felt he had to bring it back to the stealers for the 'diagnostic equipment' and not to invalidate the warranty. He kept referring to it as a 'new' car even though it was 2 years old:confused:

Anyway, they quoted him €400 for a straight service (basic oil/filter change). Then he got a phone call from the service manager telling him various sundries had to be replaced. I think it ended up close to €800. What made me guffaw - he said he had no problem with the intial quote of €400! I reckon at this stage the service guys knew they had an naive eejit on their hands and sowed it in him.

He wouldn't name the marque or garage in question which is fair enough (I'll keep my guesses to myself). From what I could gather it was not a prestige marque

It it just me or does anyone think some people deserve to be ripped off???

Edit: It was actually closer to €900
    http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/motors/2007/1128/1195682468046.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭kindalen

have bought,insured,taxed AND serviced a k10 micra for that money. its been on the road for a year for less than that.

did that garage have big windows... cause they seen him coming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Buy a Haynes manual and do it yourself, that's the way I see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Hard to know what to say to that. He should have named and shamed though.

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

While the price is high for a service, how many threads are there here askking about buying cars and people go on and on about how to make sure you get a car with a verifyable service history?

So the concensus is that if you buy a new car, service it yourslef, but if you buy 2nd hand, make sure you get a service history. It cant work both ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

But look at it this way, how much money would you really save (if any) if you get it serviced at a garage and get ripped of every time, then sell it, rather than servicing it yourself FAR cheaper, & selling it at a lower price without a FSH?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

I get the absolute essentials done at the main dealer, and the consumables I either do myself if I can or go to Kwik fit or the likes after a bit of shopping around. There is no excuse for paying E95 p/h to have some one change your wiper blades, halfords will do it for free if you can't do it your self.

Depends on the car, I would not buy a car that has been serviced by the owner.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭Avns1s

Victor_M wrote: »
    I get the absolute essentials done at the main dealer, and the consumables I either do myself if I can or go to Kwik fit or the likes after a bit of shopping around. There is no excuse for paying E95 p/h to have some one change your wiper blades, halfords will do it for free if you can't do it your self.

Depends on the car, I would not buy a car that has been serviced by the owner.

Why not?

Is there a bit of a contradiction in your post. Early on you seem to advocate serviceing yourself and then at the end, kick it into touch. Maybe I missed something?

Personally, I would be quite happy to buy a car which has been serviced by the owner if they knew what they were doing and kept a record of it in the service manual and by way of receipts for service parts etc.

Chances are that a car like this has been serviced on time or even more frequently than suggested by the manufacturer.

Avns1s wrote: »
    Why not?

Is there a bit of a contradiction in your post. Early on you seem to advocate serviceing yourself and then at the end, kick it into touch. Maybe I missed something?

Personally, I would be quite happy to buy a car which has been serviced by the owner if they knew what they were doing and kept a record of it in the service manual and by way of receipts for service parts etc.

Chances are that a car like this has been serviced on time or even more frequently than suggested by the manufacturer.

I'm only talking about things like tyres, brake pads wiper blades, bulbs, tbh even thing like brakes and pads I'll shop around and get done at the most competive price, the stealers add on their hefty premium to get others to do all that for them.

I've done the pads before on my car and it's a fair bit of hassle, the likes of Dave Mcann don't really charge that much over the cost of the parts to fit them, but inspections 1 & 2 where you 'allegedly' need to know what you are doing, despite the overwhelming evidence that would suggest most stealers apprentices don't know their arse from their elbows, they do have the correct diagnostic equipment and have had 'training' (pinch of salt) where as you or I don't (well I defo don't). Again it depends on the type and value of the car.

A stamped service history from a dealer is very reassuring to the potential second hand buyer, and can make reselling you car a little easier (even though selling a car privately is still one of the most frustrating things I've ever had to do)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,256 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

pburns wrote: »

Brought car in for a service - usual plate glass affair, marble tiled floor, potted plants etc. He felt he had to bring it back to the stealers for the 'diagnostic equipment' and not to invalidate the warranty. He kept referring to it as a 'new' car even though it was 2 years old:confused:

And if he had called a 2 year old car an "old car", he would be called a plate snob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Max_Damage wrote: »
    But look at it this way, how much money would you really save (if any) if you get it serviced at a garage and get ripped of every time, then sell it, rather than servicing it yourself FAR cheaper, & selling it at a lower price without a FSH?
    You're not gonna save any money. For years I've done all the work on my cars and my wife's (bar timing belts due to specialist equipment), and I've kept meticulous written records including all receipts for parts (which are usually OEM). The longest it has taken me to sell a self-serviced car has been 5 days, and that was my wife's Almera. The buyer even said to me at the time: "fair play to ya.. you sound like you know what you're doing, unlike those monkeys in the garages", or similar.

Main reason I service myself is cos it's a lot quicker and less hassle. Main dealers only service Mon-Fri, and I have to get the car there, arrange a lift home, collect later etc. Or do the whole lot meself in 30 mins in the driveway whenever suits me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭oleras

pburns wrote: »
    Anyone hear this tonight on Matt Cooper? The guy in question also wrote an article in last weeks Times motoring supplement.

Anyway, they quoted him €400 for a straight service (basic oil/filter change). Then he got a phone call from the service manager telling him various sundries had to be replaced. I think it ended up close to €800. What made me guffaw - he said he had no problem with the intial quote of €400! I reckon at this stage the service guys knew they had an naive eejit on their hands and sowed it in him.

He wouldn't name the marque or garage in question which is fair enough (I'll keep my guesses to myself). From what I could gather it was not a prestige marque

It it just me or does anyone think some people deserve to be ripped off???

Edit: It was actually closer to €900
    http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/motors/2007/1128/1195682468046.html

In fairness, noone deserves to be ripped off, just because he is a man ? If a woman wrote that article people would say thats shocking, taking advantage and all that, its a terrible thing but main dealers charge over and above for basic stuff, i doubt very much the mechanics get €95/hour or even a fraction of that.

It all comes down to competition, and in the main dealer market there is none, maybe what it needs is an investigation from the consumer affairs authority to see if there is price fixing going on ? And the customer should query every item on the bill.

As was said in the interview, there was a charge for €10 for sundries, the garage version of " Have one 'urself"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

Arra this is a common occurence .. I had a garage trying to charge me for 4 oil filters once ! ..

You should get a quote first and if unhappy with it, shop around. Specify to the Garage that if any work needs to be done beyond that, that they should call you.

I'd do it all myself tbh, except the timing belt+pump.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭The Machine

I'd agree with "oleras" that no-one deserves to get ripped off like that. There are merits to looking after the car yourself but this option wouldn't suit all people. For people who go to a garage they deserve to know they are getting the correct work done on the car and then paying a fair price for that work. With stories like this the consumer affairs people should look at (if they haven't do so already!) this area of the market to check on price fixing/taking advantage of certain customers etc.

I could be wrong here but I think BMW + Mini seem to have taken a step in the right direction in that you can now buy three years worth of service reasonably cheaply when you buy your car. More dealers should follow this example.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,310 ✭✭✭alias no.9

The thing everybody seems to be getting hung up on regards the reason you 'have to' go to a main dealer is the diagnostic equipment. This is only used when there is a fault. When there is a fault, the engine management light will come on and chances are that this will happen between services rather than just when you need it serviced. I'd wager that that guys car was never hooked up to the diagnostic machine, except maybe to reset the service light.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

A new Golf 1.4 service can be more than €800 from a main dealer. I think I've seen figures closer to €1000 posted here before.

Ford offer fixed menu servicing. Decent value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

alias no.9 wrote: »
    The thing everybody seems to be getting hung up on regards the reason you 'have to' go to a main dealer is the diagnostic equipment. This is only used when there is a fault. When there is a fault, the engine management light will come on and chances are that this will happen between services rather than just when you need it serviced. I'd wager that that guys car was never hooked up to the diagnostic machine, except maybe to reset the service light.

You don't even need to plug it in to turn off the Service Indicator. Theres usually a reset method via the dash controls. However the services are logged on the ECU with VAG cars anyway. If you plug VAG-COM into the car you can see the Garage code and interval etc.

Must be for auditing in the event of a Warranty issue

• Registered Users Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

JHMEG wrote: »
    ... do the whole lot meself in 30 mins ..

bah gum, I think you need to call Ross Brawn or Jead Todt and offer your services ! ;):p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Lol!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

oleras wrote: »
    In fairness, noone deserves to be ripped off, just because he is a man ? If a woman wrote that article people would say thats shocking, taking advantage and all that, its a terrible thing but main dealers charge over and above for basic stuff, i doubt very much the mechanics get €95/hour or even a fraction of that.

Well in fairness someone must be paying these prices or the garages wouldn't be getting away with it. I recently did some shopping for a new car (for Jan) and without fail the best quotes were from the garages with smaller, simpler showrooms, a small stock of used cars and salesmen who weren't dressed as if they'd just stepped out of a Hugo Boss advert. Many can supply brand new cars of the same marque just as well as their competitor in a neighbouring county. Most, on anecdotal evidence, have a better name when it comes to customer-service.

I was in the McLaren Technology Centre this year. It was designed by Norman Foster and is an architectural wonder, a vision of control-freak Ron Dennis it was a money-no-object project. They have an area where they display a couple of McLaren F1 road cars as well as the former F1 cars of Senna, Hakkinen etc. I swear to God it is not any more elaborate than some garages selling quite everyday marques I've been in lately.

With a little bit of common sense you can avoid the flash-harrys who are charging you a premium for the huge mortgages on their premises and army of staff. I've no sympathy for a gullible fool who walks in and gets screwed close to a grand for a service - male or female...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Also there can be a big variation in labour rates depending on location. The poster jayok has said here before that he was quoted 160 euros per hour to have his BMW serviced at Joe Duffy's. Whereas AFAIK McKeons in Kells (BMW main dealer) charges 65 euros per hour, a huge difference. If eejits are willing to pay Joe Duffy's prices when there is another garage around an hour's drive away doing it for that much less then it's hard to feel any sympathy.

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Also there can be a big variation in labour rates depending on location. The poster jayok has said here before that he was quoted 160 euros per hour to have his BMW serviced at Joe Duffy's. Whereas AFAIK McKeons in Kells (BMW main dealer) charges 65 euros per hour, a huge difference. If eejits are willing to pay Joe Duffy's prices when there is another garage around an hour's drive away doing it for that much less then it's hard to feel any sympathy.

Not Justifying Joe Duffy's rate in any way, but it's not really a practical solution to drive an hour, get a rental car, hour back, at least 2 hours late for work, an hour back later that afternoon followed by an hour home again.

Nor is it practical to hang out in Kells all day.

A little bit of competition between the stealers in Dublin is needed. Wouldn't take long for the hourly rate to drop if one of them lowered it a bit*

*Never going to happen, I know.

it's not really a practical solution to drive an hour, get a rental car, hour back, at least 2 hours late for work, an hour back later that afternoon followed by an hour home again.

Jeez, more reasons for ppl to get a feckin lesson or two and do it themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

JHMEG wrote: »
    Jeez, more reasons for ppl to get a feckin lesson or two and do it themselves.

X2 i agree, When i was quoted €170 estimate!! for a new backbox on a 95 primera i said forget it. Got the exhaust from breakers primera €30 , Some Holts Firegun €6 and 2 Brass Bolts and washers €4. Saved €130 for a hour or 2's labour.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

TBH honest after reading the article I can see why they where p!ssed, but most main dealers are computerized now and have set charges for each act. Also the person is complaining about having their brakes replaced?? The person just said yes to everything wihout asking how necessary they where, a garage is going to try and fix everything. But the only things they can't let out with are bald tyres and worn out brakes, everything else they can try and change but you can always say NO.

As people have said here main dealers have to charge high rates, for the new showrooms the manufactures are forcing on them, and they will charge for everything.

Friend of mine whenever they are getting their car servived always fills the window washers and washes car before giving it into the service.

I do all my own work, much easier and quicker.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Not Justifying Joe Duffy's rate in any way, but it's not really a practical solution to drive an hour, get a rental car, hour back, at least 2 hours late for work, an hour back later that afternoon followed by an hour home again.

For a saving of 95 euro per hour (assuming my figures for the two garages are correct) I'd find a way of making it practical!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

guys, anybody who thinks they cant service their own car is an idiot. Its not like you have to change distributers (sp?) or points anymore. If you dont want to do it and dont mind paying, thats different.

as said previously timing belts etc need specialised equipment so I dont go near that sort of stuff, but oil, filter,spark plugs, brakes(admittedly rear drums can be a bit confusing the first time) wipers, your washer bottle ffs, brake fluid, coolant, rear shocks, (bushings and suspension linkages can be awkward) all can be done by anyone who owns a socket set and has a modicum of cop on.

I think the issue is that garages can charge 400 quid for an oil/filter change and a quick checkup, this is 20 mins work for any competent mechanic and uses 20 euro worth of parts.

Id love to see something like Jiffy lube start up here, you drive in, have a cuppa, when your cuppa is finished your oil is changed and all the checks are done, costs fcuk all and is recognised as a service by the manufacturers. A business opportunity for someone with a few quid methinks!

Quote:
    Originally Posted by JHMEG
    ... do the whole lot meself in 30 mins .

I have no problem with this, in fact you can service 2 (deisels) at the same time and it only takes about that long.

Bit of an essay of a post.......sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

I read the article in the paper, and to be honest it did sound like he was shredded. There used to be a "customer service" rule where you rang to get authorisation for unapproved work, guess that's gone nowadays...

However, given that we've only got one side of the story...

Every Service Advisor will tell you stories about customers that "forgot" conversations etc.

Warranties are usually conditional on having the vehicle serviced by approved staff, maybe self service wasn't an option in this case?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,256 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

It's the same as PC maintenance. People who are tech-savvy can find it hard to believe that other people have to call some tech support person to fix something simple, or pay the people in PC world to transfer files across to a new PC.

A lot of people simply aren't comfortable with carrying out any car maintenance, and it's understandable that people will go back to a main dealer under the impression they'll be looked after, or that they are the best places to go, and this results in the form of smug schadenfreude evident here. How the **** would they know that the dodgy looking garage down the laneway is actually capable of doing exactly what the main dealer can do at a fraction of the cost?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭maidhc

Just go to a local independent garage.... Labour rates are sensible and they can still stamp the book.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,993 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

pred racer wrote: »
    If you dont want to do it and dont mind paying, thats different
    You need to also consider the time factor. I can do all the basics myself but it may mean sacrificing a day's overtime. If I do overtime and pay someone else to do the service I'm still 'quids up'. :D
    maidhc wrote: »
    Just go to a local independent garage.... Labour rates are sensible and they can still stamp the book.
    Nail and head. My MB is 9 years old. It has a fully stamped MB service history for the first 6 years and a fully stamped 'back street' mechanic's service history from then on. (Approx €180 per average service). I also have all receipts from when I owned the car.