Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boards.ie Accumulator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

IrishMike wrote: »
    Man Utd (-1) 3/10
    Everton 4/7
    Chelsea v Sunderland (over 1.5) 1/5
    Reading v Liverpool (over 1.5) 3/10
    Charlton + Draw 1/5
    Wolves v Burnley (over 1.5) 2/5
    Naploi 8/11
    Valladolid + draw 8/15
    Villareal 1/2

€5 pays €106.35

Southend and Everton in a double

€10 pays €28.29

Southend and Everton both won.

First 6 of my accumulator came in, waiting on the last 3 who play
    tonight/tomorrow
    Another good day at the office.

Had another 40 on Torres to score and liverpool to win @ 7-4 :(
    cant win em all though

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Not great all in all but got around €14 back on the €20 stake so a loss of €6 this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭dacman

Southend and Everton both won.

First 6 of my accumulator came in, waiting on the last 3 who play
    tonight/tomorrow
    Another good day at the office.

Had another 40 on Torres to score and liverpool to win @ 7-4 :(
    cant win em all though

GL. I havent bet in a long time but I stuck a few quid on this one

Which one? Hope you are talking about Southend and Everton.
    Worked out well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭dacman

Which one? Hope you are talking about Southend and Everton.
    Worked out well

no i did the accumulator

Ah right
    Napoli will be the only team that could let us down.
    Cross the fingers!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,032 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Dun laoire wrote: »
    I am accumulating them. Doesnt say they have to be all done at once. When Uts win i'l make sure my profit goes onto the next bet. Watch this space brother Bubs.

I don't see anything wrong with that...so it wil be €1.10 on your next bet so? You can't do that more than 6 times though from the rules!

What do you think cson, is this allowed?

jasonorr wrote: »
    I don't see anything wrong with that...so it wil be €1.10 on your next bet so? You can't do that more than 6 times though from the rules!

What do you think cson, is this allowed?

Well to be fair it defeats the purpose dont you think?
    If this was a betting competition it would not be a problem
    Its not though its an accumulator which is at least 4 bets together
    Surely 4 bets over the course of an entire weekend is not too much to work out?
    Oh and why is there an upper limit of 6?
    Most of my accumulators are between 6 and 10 sometimes even higher
    A bet on four or more races, where the original money bet and any money won are bet on the next race, so that the better either wins a lot of money or loses it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭clickerquicklic

hey lads am i too late for this.
    if not i'll try .

Arsenal 1.50
    Adebayor anytime 2.10
    Anelka anytime 2.40
    Inter milan win 1.22

10 euro returns 99.00

• Registered Users Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Well to be fair it defeats the purpose dont you think?
    If this was a betting competition it would not be a problem
    Its not though its an accumulator which is at least 4 bets together
    Surely 4 bets over the course of an entire weekend is not too much to work out?
    Oh and why is there an upper limit of 6?
    Most of my accumulators are between 6 and 10 sometimes even higher

The bookie must love you fella ;)

Far from it.
    A small stake on a 30-1 accumulator wont make a bookie rich.
    Big bets on single events is what makes/loses money not accumulators.
    Im well up over the last 6 months on the gambling stakes.
    Not really a problem when you are gambling money you have taken from the bookies

Far from it.
    A small stake on a 30-1 accumulator wont make a bookie rich.
    Big bets on single events is what makes/loses money not accumulators.
    Im well up over the last 6 months on the gambling stakes.
    Not really a problem when you are gambling money you have taken from the bookies

Fair play if you're pulling them off but a 6/10 team accumulators are extremely difficult regardless of the odds. I tried it last year a few times and always i repeat ALWAYS one will let you down. Bayern munich murdered me last year when they were 1/8 at home to win. Sure look at Celtic, Liverpool and Arsenal over the weekend. Bookies must've cleaned up

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

When it comes to big accums i always think of the tayto ad THERES ALWAYS ONE!!! the point of doing big accums is for a bit of fun and maybe one day getting it right and making a mint!!!!!!

True true.
    I try and avoid home bankers at 1-10.
    I mostly stick to 2-5 or 3-10 home win/draw bets.
    Napoli yesterday were an example.
    There is no value in backing the likes of united vs derby as in 10 games there is
    always a score draw or something to that effect.
    6 or 8 teams in win/draw accumulators for a few euro is much better in my experience.
    Then again it is gambling so there are always let downs (ie villarreal yesterday)

True true.
    I try and avoid home bankers at 1-10.
    I mostly stick to 2-5 or 3-10 home win/draw bets.
    Napoli yesterday were an example.
    There is no value in backing the likes of united vs derby as in 10 games there is
    always a score draw or something to that effect.
    6 or 8 teams in win/draw accumulators for a few euro is much better in my experience.
    Then again it is gambling so there are always let downs (ie villarreal yesterday)

Man United to me was a 100% banker without ever even a slight amount of doubt. If i had 10k i wouldve put it on for the easiest 1k profit. We generally follow EPL so we pretty much know what Derby are like. Derby are the whipping boys this year. Liverpool and Arsenal both away from home was just ever so slightly dodgy but Man United never ever in doubt. Those European teams i just dont know enough about to place big wagers on.

True but the same could have been said about Arsenal playing the 2nd bottom team in the
    premiership or WBA last week TWICE !!!!!
    Upsets are always on the cards thats why its gambling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭lolkelly

True but the same could have been said about Arsenal playing the 2nd bottom team in the
    premiership or WBA last week TWICE !!!!!
    Upsets are always on the cards thats why its gambling

Stupid comparisons IMO. Arsenal were missing alot of players. M'boro were at home and have experience in the premiership. Derby on the other hand are probably the worst team ever in the prem.

Also, the championships is always tricky and I dont think anyone would call home games at Coventry and Crystle Palace bankers...They both sit towards the middle of the table.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭raheny red

Right here I go - €1 acc on Liverpool draw, Chelsea draw, Porto win, and Schalke win. Pays out €22.77

lolkelly wrote: »
    Stupid comparisons IMO. Arsenal were missing alot of players. M'boro were at home and have experience in the premiership. Derby on the other hand are probably the worst team ever in the prem.

Also, the championships is always tricky and I dont think anyone would call home games at Coventry and Crystle Palace bankers...They both sit towards the middle of the table.

Wasnt a comparison it was an illustration of the fact that because a team is a
    tiny price doesnt mean they are worth betting on.
    Arsenal were 1-3 again Boro, oh and Arsenal were missing Fabregas and Hleb
    that was it.

As for WBA vs conventry i backed WBA as a banker to win either half @ 1-4
    A team who scored 2 goals a home match vs a team who conceded 1.5 goals an away match
    Very very strong bet and as close to a banker as you would find
    At the time WBA hadnt lost in 8 games

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭lolkelly

Wasnt a comparison it was an illustration of the fact that because a team is a
    tiny price doesnt mean they are worth betting on.
    Arsenal were 1-3 again Boro, oh and Arsenal were missing Fabregas and Hleb
    that was it.

As for WBA vs conventry i backed WBA as a banker to win either half @ 1-4
    A team who scored 2 goals a home match vs a team who conceded 1.5 goals an away match
    Very very strong bet and as close to a banker as you would find
    At the time WBA hadnt lost in 8 games

Arseanl were 1/2 (not a tiny price!) against M'boro with Paddy P as far as i remember! Plus they were also missing van persie and flamini!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Competitor: jameshayes
    Bank: €15
    % Win/Loss: 100% Loss
    League Place: = there's a league?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,454 ✭✭✭✭cson

Right, I'm gonna get around to doing up a league table. Just been busy with exams at whatnot at the mo.

cson wrote: »
    Right, I'm gonna get around to doing up a league table. Just been busy with exams at whatnot at the mo.

Unacceptable!
    You are fired . . . . ;)

cson wrote: »

I'm doing exams at the moment and i'm using betting as a procrastination tool. You should give it a go...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,454 ✭✭✭✭cson

Boards.ie Accumulator League Table

Not the best week for most of us with only IrishMike and Dun Laoire managing to turn a profit. Having said that, an unexpected Liverpool defeat scuttled many of our bets. (Inc. mine :mad:)

But onward and upward I guess, IrishMike isn't that far ahead :p

Table
    1: IrishMike €33.29 +66.45%
    2: Dun Laoire €20.10 +.005%
    3: Raheny Red €19 -5%
    =4: JamesHayes €15 -25%
    =4: Pudzer €15 -25%
    5: Kenco €14.14 -29.3%
    =6: Mox54 €10 -50%
    =6: Sizzler €10 -50%
    =6: cson €10 -50%
    =6: clickerquicklic €10 -50%
    =8: Bubs101 €0 -100%
    =8: Apeking €0 -100%

Should we do this monthly?

Like this is decembers one - and we'll start a new one in Jan witha fresh 20quid each etc?

Monthly winners etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I agree, Don't want to stay on 0 forever

Bank: 20.10
    Stake: 1.10
    Balance: 19

1 bet for me

1.10 on Rangers to beat Hearts 4/11

jameshayes wrote: »
    I'm doing exams at the moment and i'm using betting as a procrastination tool. You should give it a go...

Lol why do you think i have been living in this forum for the past 2 weeks?
    Cson is in the same boat.
    Nothing like exams to focus the mind ........................ on gambling :D

Anyway to keep this goin here is my weekend accumulator
    Playing it safe as i have my online account raided for christmas present money :D

Portsmouth v Tottenham Over 1.5 Goals @ 2 - 7
    Man City v Bolton Over 1.5 Goals @ 4 - 11
    Sunderland v Aston Villa Over 1.5 Goals @ 1 - 3
    Wigan Athletic v Blackburn Over 1.5 Goals @ 4 - 11
    €5 pays €15.80

Schalke, Lyon, Barca
    €5 pays €21

Man City @ 4 - 5
    Portsmouth v Tottenham Draw @ 9 - 4
    Birmingham v Reading Draw @ 11 - 5
    Middlesbrough @ 11 - 8
    Blackburn @ 5 - 4