Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The England Job - Now Its Serious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

agree 100%, i actually think if anything we are worse!

we still go on about italia 90 all the time! its embarrasing at times, the English are no different to anyone else in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

mike65 wrote: »
    Anyway it looks like Jose is out of the picture and Capello is now the man most likely.

O'Neill it is then! :D

Mike.

O'Neill has said he has no interest in the job.

Odds on favourite now after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nah, I really think the FA have decided that if Capello wants the job and he does'nt ask for coke and hookers every half-time its his to turn down. Great choice - understands the value of a dogged defence and he has never played 'favourites' which was the biggest failing of Sven.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Hands up all those that booed God Save the Queen at the Point last year or who are getting the Munster v All Blacks DVD for Christmas :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Capello. Top manager in the world results-wise. He could win the World Cup for England. But his style is very Cliff Thorburn. Soul destroying to watch.

Pat Kenny just said they had a pragmatic Swede (or words to that effect) now they'll have an excitable Italian. Excitable is not a word to describe Capello.

Mike.

Tis almost a done deal it seems

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,,2226379,00.html
    Fabio Capello flew home to Italy tonight knowing his next trip to London would almost certainly mark his coronation as England manager./
    "I can confirm that Brian Barwick and Sir Trevor Brooking have today held talks with Fabio Capello in London," said FA director of communications Adrian Bevington.

"I am pleased to say that these discussions were extremely positive and without any problems. Fabio has tonight returned to Italy to honour a prior commitment. Understandably, further talks are now taking place between Fabio's advisors and ourselves."

With Capello no longer part of the negotiating process, it seems only the finer points of a contract expected to take in the entire 2010 World Cup qualifying programme need to be thrashed out.

Something must go wrong, its not like the FA to achieve thier aims quickly and successfully.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Im surprised that nobody has mentioned the potential friction between Beckhm and Capello should he arrive. It was often assumed that his treatment of Beckham was what made him leave the club, and his return to form in the final La Liga matches left many thinking Capello wasnt on top of his game re selections (though Beckhams MLS career after all of this has been somewhat quiet). Its a bit like Mick McCarthy taking charge of Man U in 2002 with Keano still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Capello and Beckhams relationship was fixed though. Indeed Capello admitted the mistake he made with Beckham. Either way, Beckham will get his 100th cap and then not get to play anymore. He's just too old now.

Eh?

Generally speaking he has been in top form as of late, and has at least 3 or 4 more years with England. He will be 34/35 in 2010 I think, so Id reckon its his retirement after (assuming they qualify). Fail to qualify and his last game will be whichever one knocks hem out.

Part of the reason they are in the mess they are in is that McLaren played the same games Capello did early on in the campaign.

What is it about Beckham and managers? Fell out with Alex, McLaren cold shouldered him when he was in form and then the whole Capello craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Whatever about the convoluted decision to drop Beckham at Madrid, which seemingly wasn't entirely down to Capello, you have to commend him for accepting, and correcting, his mistake.

I don't envisage the Beckham - Capello relationship to be problematic, and I wouldn't be surprised if Beckham played a prominent role in the team long after his 100th cap is won.
    Keep waiting for one of the old-fogey blazers to scupper it as Cappello is a "Johnny Foreigner" but they are very quiet

The LMA had a bit of a moan about a foreign coach today. Who do they want appointed? Fat Sam? Stuart Pearce? Dirty Harry? There are no top class English managers suited to the job.

The FA are also insisting on Terry being removed of the captaincy. I doubt it will go back to Beckham, so who's next for the poisoned chalice? Gerrard, Rooney, Lampard?

Id reckon Gerrard, maybe Lampard. Rooney being made captain at 22 would be ather unprecedented as far as Im aware, very young and he would effectively remain captain for the next 12/13 years barring a career ending injury or a trip down the Maradona/Gazza road. No signs at all of him slipping up in regards to drugs/alcohol compared to some likely never out of the news types (no names, obviously). The bizarre old prostitute episode shoud remain his only major blemish at this rate.

I find the whole captaincy thing to be honoury anyway, dont know why some people make such a deal of it. Shay Given does more to motivate the team than Robbie, dont think the captains role would make a difference. Making the difference would be to drop Robbie until his Ireland form improves, testing him in friendlies and whatnot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

sky and today fm said capello will sign today or tomorrow and unveiled next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

sky and today fm said capello will sign today or tomorrow and unveiled next week.

conflicting reports of either 4M or 6M a year!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

The beeb are saying 4m/year on a four year contract.

None too shabby...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Capello won Beckham his La Liga title(and a bit of vice versa). He would have felt his time there a failure if he hadn't got one. Can't see there being any friction to be honest.

Whatever Backham, and he has many faults as a footballer, he's always been a good pro. Capello benched him, Beckham worked hard to get back into the team and did.

Mutual respect between them more then anything I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

zabbo wrote: »
    conflicting reports of either 4M or 6M a year!

£4million is €6m, so I'd say that's what it is. Capello is definitely the best choice for England but he'd want to learn the language fairly sharpish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

I can already envisage England crumbling under Capello, he's the wrong type of manager IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

I can already envisage England crumbling under Capello, he's the wrong type of manager IMO.

What, solidity and getting them to play as a unit rather than a team of individuals? England don't have these amazing flair players like Brazil or Argentina or even Portugal. They've got players with good technical ability mixed with physical fitness and strength. It's time they started using these to their advantage.

Incidentally, who or what type of manager would you suggest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Oh come on, he's quite clearly the leading candidate. Having read into his backstory and what former players have said about him, he sounds like the perfect man for the job, someone to cut those many egos down to size.

I think it's quite an encouraging appointment for ingerland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Beckham has a mild form of arthritis in his foot apparently. If this is true I think he wont be playing much longer. I think that's why he went to the states, he knew the end would come sooner than people think. He'll get cap 100 and might figure for 2010 but only as an outside squad player should Bentley and SWP not have matured enough. he wont be fit enough to play a full 90 and i can't see his value as an impact sub, any pace he had is already gone.

I think Capello is just the manger england need though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I can see him being disliked because he is foreign, and is quite negative.

A lot of England fans are under this misconception they can play traditional Brazil football with the likes of Sam Allardyce or Stuart Pearce in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

shane86 wrote: »
    Id reckon Gerrard, maybe Lampard.
    I'd be surprised if that happens as it would suggest that the other player won't be played as the captain is always guaranteed his game.

As for Capello, what happens if he fails miserably? Do the FA try their best to get an English Manager for the next campaign? Back and forth, back and forth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Maybe he'll be disliked, but maybe his results will make everyone like him. Success changes peoples mind pretty easily :)

BaZmO* wrote: »

As for Capello, what happens if he fails miserably? Do the FA try their best to get an English Manager for the next campaign? Back and forth, back and forth.
    Well any manager will tell you he's actually starting in the best possible circumstances, they have already failed miserably so he can do no worse. Hell, if he even turns them into draw specialists it'd be an improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

PHB wrote: »
    Maybe he'll be disliked, but maybe his results will make everyone like him. Success changes peoples mind pretty easily :)

With England though it is not success untill you win the tournament which can only be done 2010 at earliest.

I'd be surprised if that happens as it would suggest that the other player won't be played as the captain is always guaranteed his game.

And here lies my problem with captaincy in general. Underperforming has beens guaranteed their game. Shay plays every game he is fit for, and is one of the finest keepers in Europe, yet we are stuck with Robbie playing despite not having had a truly great game in what, four years (barring that Denmark friendly)

Id reckon Gerrard is always a first choice to play if he is not injured, so I would say it is somewhat likely, but the whole captains guaranteed place is holding Ireland back, its a childish practice that any manager with a brain would do away with.

As for foreign managers, most English football fans support their local city team which, if they are lucky, has maybe 2 or 3 regular players who are from the city or its surrounding area. Teams are owned by Russians, Americans and Arabs. They are managed by Spamiards, Frenchmen, Irishmen and Scots. Most main prem sides must be half foreign minimum. So what difference does it really make if the national coach is foreign?

shane86 wrote:
    I find the whole captaincy thing to be honoury anyway, dont know why some people make such a deal of it. Shay Given does more to motivate the team than Robbie, dont think the captains role would make a difference. Making the difference would be to drop Robbie until his Ireland form improves, testing him in friendlies and whatnot.
    And here lies my problem with captaincy in general. Underperforming has beens guaranteed their game. Shay plays every game he is fit for, and is one of the finest keepers in Europe, yet we are stuck with Robbie playing despite not having had a truly great game in what, four years (barring that Denmark friendly)

Id reckon Gerrard is always a first choice to play if he is not injured, so I would say it is somewhat likely, but the whole captains guaranteed place is holding Ireland back, its a childish practice that any manager with a brain would do away with.
    Wrong thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Why would the FA insist on Terry not being the captain?

As for who would get it after him. I would choose Gerard over Lampard, simply because i have never ever seen Lampard play well for England. He was no where to be seen in the Croation match.

They are managed by Spamiards,
    Are they the feckers that keep trying to sell me Viagra?

Savman wrote:
    Well any manager will tell you he's actually starting in the best possible circumstances, they have already failed miserably so he can do no worse. Hell, if he even turns them into draw specialists it'd be an improvement.
    Anything less than finalists in a tournament will be deemed a failure, unless of course they play attractive football along the way, which I can't see happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,426 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Why would the FA insist on Terry not being the captain?

As for who would get it after him. I would choose Gerard over Lampard, simply because i have never ever seen Lampard play well for England. He was no where to be seen in the Croation match.

If you were to give it to players who have consistently performed for England....you'd be looking at a small list. It has been a long time since Gerrard reproduced his best liverpool form for England when it mattered, if he ever has.

I actually think Hargreaves would be a good captain. A very good player, who should be first choice for England, a very good speaker, seems to keep himself out of trouble off the pitch too. Beyond him, you really can only look at either Terry or Gerrard as Captain, no one else is either senior enough of level headed enough to do it, or they are simply a bad choice.

Anyway, i think the story is rubbish and i just can't see the captaincy being taken away from Terry until after the WC at the very very earliest, even then it would take a shocking disaster of a tournement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Tauren wrote: »
    If you were to give it to players who have consistently performed for England....you'd be looking at a small list. It has been a long time since Gerrard reproduced his best liverpool form for England when it mattered, if he ever has.

I actually think Hargreaves would be a good captain. A very good player, who should be first choice for England, a very good speaker, seems to keep himself out of trouble off the pitch too. Beyond him, you really can only look at either Terry or Gerrard as Captain, no one else is either senior enough of level headed enough to do it, or they are simply a bad choice.

Anyway, i think the story is rubbish and i just can't see the captaincy being taken away from Terry until after the WC at the very very earliest, even then it would take a shocking disaster of a tournement.

I think that's England's problem. Not enough natural leaders on the pitch.

Hargreaves is a good shout, but I don't think it will change TBH.

Sky News are saying Capello definitely wants the job and is waiting on a call from the FA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Best thing that could have happened to England is getting Capello. He'll take none of that 'WAG' sh1t and will bring some of the players down a peg or two. God knows there's a lot of them who need it.

With Capello at the helm I expect to see a serious English challenge for the next World Cup.

Sky News are saying Capello definitely wants the job and is waiting on a call from the FA.
    What?

I think its gone beyond that point.

Mike.

mike65 wrote: »
    I think its gone beyond that point.

Mike.
    Exactly. Everybody is reporting that he as good as has the job and it will be officially announced later today.

Don't shoot the messenger. Just saying what i see.

Yeah but everybody knew already.

Shut up! That's why!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

BBC said the hangup is over the backroom staff. Capello wants to bring in Baldini as a sporting director type... which would effectively eliminate Trevor Brooking's role which the FA don't want to do (does he do anything anyway other than make himself available for comment in the press all the time?)

Apparently he will have his backroom staff but there will be some kind of English representative there in some form. Some names cropping up are the likes of Stuart Pearce, who's the under 21 manager and even Shearer is being mentioned.

So what do people think about this? Will England remain underachievers even with a quality manager like Capello? Personally i'm excited about how this will pan out over the next year or so. Then again i am an England supporter:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

I think with Cappello on board, England will be a real force in world football.

I think if an Englishman needs to be onboard they should make sure its Stuart Pearce. So it'll be Shearer proberly.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Best thing to happen English football since Le Tissier was born.

FAI take note.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

I reckon England will now be a team to be feared and taken seriously, which is not something I can ever remember. Ever since Capello took over at the Bernabeu in 1996 and turned them from a shambles into champions in one season (whilst laying the foundations that won them 3 CL's in 5 seasons) despite being up against a magnificent Ronaldo-Figo inspired Barca side, I've rated him as the best manager in the world. I've always maintained that wherever he goes success is guaranteed. When he took over at Roma I predicted them to win the league, then again at Juventus, and last season I tipped Real Madrid. He's never let me down.

His reputation for playing dour football is unjust imo. It's not so important in Italy, but he's shown in Spain that he can adapt to play attacking football. In 96/97 his side were outscored by Ronaldo's Barcelona, but they were near impossible to beat and crushed most oppositions. For the second half of last season, when they finally gelled, Madrid were as good as any to watch and I don't believe his sacking was purely down to style of football. It's true that the Madridistas are notoriously hard to please and entertain, but the fact remains that Schuster had been lined up in January when they were on a dreadful run, and that he was Calderon's initial first choice prior to Capello's appointment.

My only reservation about whether he'll succeed with England or not is that he hasn't done so well in cup competitions. In 16 years he's secured 9 league titles with 4 different teams, but only 1 European Cup - which is also his only significant cup triumph (discounting Supercups). That was a long time ago, back in 1994, and probably remains the most outstanding performance from any side in final in the modern era. But since then his Roma and Juventus sides have performed dreadfully in the Champions League. Juve's performance against Liverpool in 2005 was quite abysmal. I think maybe he's more adept at building championship winning sides rather than cup winning sides (like Liverpool in a way) and that may tell again for England in when it comes to the World Cup.

That said, he's still the best appointment the English FA could make, imo.

Capello named new England manager

Fabio Capello has been confirmed as the new England manager after the details of his contract were finalised with the Football Association.

The Italian signed a four-and-a-half year deal - reportedly worth £6m a year, with an opt out after 2010.

Capello's backroom staff will consist of Franco Baldini, Italo Galbiati, Franco Tancredi and Massimo Neri.

Capello, 61, will discuss with Sir Trevor Brooking how to integrate an English presence into the set-up.

So he got his way on the backroom staff - good!

Mike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Zola will definitely be named as a coach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Melion wrote: »
    Zola will definitely be named as a coach

how do you know ? and should i go stick a few quid on it ?