Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The end of affordable Japanese performance imports?

• 07-12-2007 8:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭

With the new tax system on the way, cars such as my FTO MIVEC that are imported after the new system comes into play will attract a €2,000 per year motor tax bill, as at 260g/km it is well into the highest bracket.

this means cars like Glanzas and Integras will be looking at between €1,000 and €2,000 annnual road tax :eek:

The Minister for the Environment has announced a new system of calculating car tax that he said will give motorists the incentive to buy more environmentally friendly cars from July 1st next year.

John Gormley has delivered a "carbon budget" in the Dáil that identifies how the State can reduce harmful carbon dioxide emissions to counteract climate change, to protect the economy and to meet its international obligations.
    The clear objective of this new motor tax system is to influence the purchasing decisions of consumers by rewarding the buyers of low-emitting cars and charging a premium on less efficient vehicles
    Minister for the Environment John Gormley

He said climate change "is the greatest challenge facing humanity over the coming century".

The Minister announced that with effect from July 1st next year, there will be a "fundamental change" in the manner in which motor tax is charged for all new cars and imported cars.

Tax will in future be charged solely on the emissions and the system will be rebalanced in favour of cars with lower emissions, he said. This system only applies to cars bought from next July.

Other cars will be taxed based on the current system of engine size, to which changes were also announced in yesterday's Budget.

Seven CO2 "bands" from A-G will determine the rate of tax payable on a vehicle.

Mr Gormley said there will be a "commonality of approach" between the motor tax and VRT systems. There will be a mandatory labelling system for cars based on their emissions levels.

This will be accompanied by a public information campaign which will promote the purchase of fuel efficient cars, the Minister said.

"I see the proposed improvements in vehicle labelling as a positive step in enabling Irish motorists to make more informed choices in buying new vehicles, and I look forward to support from the motor industry in making its introduction a success."

Motor tax rates will be graduated as one moves up the CO2 bands.

* Band A (under 120 grams per km) - €100.
    * Band B (121-140 grams perkm) - €150.
    * Band C (141-155 grams per km) - € 290.
    * Band D (156-170 grams per km) - €430.
    * Band E (171-190 grams per km) -€ 600.
    * Band F (191-225 grams per km) - €1,000.
    * Band G, the top band -€2,000, reflecting CO2 emissions of over 225grams per km.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

So if it's emmisions based surely it doesn't mater whether your car is an import or not?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,333 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

FX Meister wrote: »
    So if it's emmisions based surely it doesn't mater whether your car is an import or not?

it may make existing imported cars more attractive and easier to sell as they will continue to be taxed on the old system, engine cc based.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

emissions based only applies to new registrations after july. I can see Japanese specialists having to VRT their stock before July.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,590 ✭✭✭tossy

this means cars like Glanzas and Integras will be looking at between €1,000 and €2,000 annnual road tax

Proper order,and might frighten the jaunty cap brigade off! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭p-nut

tossy wrote: »

wat ye trying to imply....:cool:

tossy wrote: »

and the ignorant jaunty VW golf brigade too :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,590 ✭✭✭tossy

kceire wrote: »
    and the ignorant jaunty VW golf brigade too :D

Touche :D

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

kinda sad isnt it:(

I mean the reason a lot of ppl like glanza are because theyre quick and reasonable tax being a 1.3, but now seems like the end of our little friend the glanza

actually does anybody know what the sceal is with how they find our the Co2 rating of something like a glanza or levin, its just they have to be converted to our octane fuel dont they? does this mean an increase in co2 levels?

woop wrote: »
    kinda sad isnt it:(

I mean the reason a lot of ppl like glanza are because theyre quick and reasonable tax being a 1.3, but now seems like the end of our little friend the glanza

actually does anybody know what the sceal is with how they find our the Co2 rating of something like a glanza or levin, its just they have to be converted to our octane fuel dont they? does this mean an increase in co2 levels?

it only applies to cars bought after the 1st of july next year;)

and yeah the glanza's are great little cars even tho some of the drivers have a lot be talked about, not being biased or anything. like they're a small jap hatch with good reliability, their small turbo engine which isn't too bad on petrol but ca still put a rake of bigger cars to shame, theyre well kitted;a/c, p/s, e/w etc. i don't see the problem with them..

and about mapped to 95ron petrol, generally cars like glanza's or levin's or even sir civics have self learning ecu's and can adjust the fueling and ignition accordingly, it's only really the big turbo'd cars like scoobys, evo's, skyline's etc that need to be mapped to run on 95ron without going pop:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

seems like new rules for cars every year... though i think he f***** himself over because he and all t'd drive high end mercs bmws etc so the vrt would be pretty nasty on them... :)

I doubt the Gov. are overly bothered about paying VRT or VAT to themselves..

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I doubt the Gov. are overly bothered about paying VRT or VAT to themselves..

not when they can increase there wages anytime they want.

slightly off topic, p_nut, does the glanza's standard steering wheel have an airbag? a local lad was killed there the other day when he crashed his glanza, had the wheel swapped out for a steel steering wheel with bolts on it so had no chance when his head hit it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

draffodx wrote: »

slightly off topic, p_nut, does the glanza's standard steering wheel have an airbag? a local lad was killed there the other day when he crashed his glanza, had the wheel swapped out for a steel steering wheel with bolts on it so had no chance when his head hit it

getting off topic - all the local lads just pay 2000 for the racing seat and harness's and 150 for a half cage. the Least you can do in a modified car.

on-topic - if you have a car from jaan imported , just register it the day for the rules come out. :D

see if that loophole works.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Despite the wording of the above article, I'd look for independent confirmation. Usually imported vehicles are taxed at the same rate as equivalent domestic vehicles, and tested to meet the same emissions requirements too.

Clear as muck :

"In addition, from 1 July 2008, motor tax will move from its current system of bands based on engine size to one based on CO2 emissions (but only for new vehicles newly imported or registered on or after that date). Existing cars will continue to be taxed on the current basis of engine size. "

Personally, I can't see it making a whole heap of difference. Tax for my current car is going up 10% which isn't going to make a huge impact how it's running costs per year. VRT on my next car would have been 30% under the old system - it'll be 36% under the new system. The car tax will jump from 1343 under the current system to 2000 under the new. Not huge factors in the overall cost of the car.

draffodx wrote: »

just to answer your question, it does indeed have an airbag as standard and the newer spec ones had a passenger airbag aswel. And nope i havn't swapped my wheel for anything else, my glanza is as standard as they come bar a hks backbox:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭AsphaltRisin'

With the new tax system on the way, cars such as my FTO MIVEC that are imported after the new system comes into play will attract a €2,000 per year motor tax bill, as at 260g/km it is well into the highest bracket.

this means cars like Glanzas and Integras will be looking at between €1,000 and €2,000 annnual road tax :eek:

It's only for imports made in 01 or after, as they have to have a certificate of conformity. old cars are going to stay on this intermediate raised tax band that was brought in with the budget to run between now and when the emmissions related tax is brought it

Where did you hear about the pre 2001 thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

Just so ye know, all used cars registered on and after 1/7/08 will be charged at the 36% rate and are liable for €2,000 tax unless you can give them official proof that the car emits less than 225 g/km of CO2. If you're importing a UKDM car that is 2001 or newer this is very easy as they, like the rest of Europe have the same fuel consumption and CO2 tests as we have for donkey's but the EU made it mandatory for CO2 data to be made available for any new car on and from 2001, and UK cars are really the same as ours just they have more gadgets and it is easier to find a car with a bigger engine than here, however, JDM cars are completely different to ours, the engines aren't set up for here for a start(cue the ECU being set up for 100 RON in a JDM car whereas 95 is the norm here and some high performance cars are set up for 98 RON) and the JDM fuel economy tests are quite different AFAIK, so really as far as I can see it, the new structure will bring about the death knell for importing JDM cars especially those with the small engines because I don't see people who were used to paying a few hundred euro tax for a 1.3 like a Glanza now paying €2,000 to tax the same car.

Of course because of this, JDM cars registered before 1/7/08 will depreciate very slowly fropm then on and may even increase in value, especially on a car like the Glanza.

has anyone got a link backing this up?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

to put a name to this farse, thier calling it "Carbon tax"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭bushy...

Next stunt will be " modded exhaust/airfilter etc cause more co2 than original design ==> illegal" no doubt

Modified exhausts are illegal anyway. Any modification to the factory fitted exhaust is.

TBH I hadn't really considered the likes of Glanzas - the car I'm thinking of importing is in the high bracket and that's that. I'm think of making an effort to bring it in before the deadline now, but god only knows how long it'll take to sell my car. Anybody want to buy a GT-Four?

On the Glanza thing - would they accept an NCT report as proof of emissions?

At least this highlights the farsical nature of the governments green agenda. Most of Ireland's greenhouse gasses come from argriculture. Even halving the emissions from road traffic wouldn't make a significant impact. Just another excuse to raise taxes to pay for salary increases for Bertie and the boys.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

has anyone got a link backing this up?
    Mentioned a couple of times on Motors colm_mcm(by unkel).

It's just the bit about pre 2001 cars staying under the current system that I need confirmation on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

I'll say this, ****ing Green party.

Well at least it will get the majority of SUV's off the road.

Not a chance - think why muppets buy them in the first place.

layke wrote: »
    I'll say this, ****ing Green party.

Well at least it will get the majority of SUV's off the road.

it wont really, as the tax on them have only gone up by 9% or 11%.
    not alot when spread out over the year.

so if your driving a 4.4 x5 the tax goes from 1346 to 1491, so not really a big increase, although im not saying im happy about it :mad:

It's only for imports made in 01 or after, as they have to have a certificate of conformity. old cars are going to stay on this intermediate raised tax band that was brought in with the budget to run between now and when the emmissions related tax is brought it

Any link or other to back this up?

• Registered Users Posts: 65,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

It's only for cars imported and registered in Ireland (new or second hand) on or after 01/07/2008

@AsphaltRisin' - It doesn't matter a damn what age the car is, unless it is a classic car (over 30 years old). See the sticky on the general motors forum for details