Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is tomorrow "culchies descend on dublin" day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Kids: Adults!
    Adults: Kids!

Lovejoy: Kids! You've had your fun,
    now we've had our fill.
    Homer: Yeah! You're only here 'cause Marge forgot her pill.
    Wiggum: Kids, you're all just scandalizing, vandalizing
    punks.
    Krusty: Channel-hopping, Ritalin-popping monkeys!
    Please don't quit the fan-club!
    Marge: Kids! I can nag and nag 'til my hair turns blue!
    Edna: Kids! You bum my smokes and don't say 'thank you'!
    Rod & Todd: Why can't you be like we are?
    Adults: Oh, what a bunch of brats!
    Moe: We oughta drown you just like cats!
    Bart: Adults! You run our lives like you're Colonel Klink!
    Nelson: Adults! You strut around like your farts don't
    stink!
    Lisa: Adults! You're such a drooling, boring, boozing
    boring bunch. Surly, meany, three-martini lunchers
    Ralph: I just ate a thumbtack!
    Milhouse: Adults! They're always telling us to ...
    Abe: ... shut your traps!
    Jasper: Eh ... we're fed up with all you whipper-snaps!
    Elderlies: We're tryin' to get some sleep here, it's almost six-
    fifteen!
    What's the matter with ...
    Adults: Don't you treat us like ...
    Kids: Can't you just lay off ...
    Elderlies: We're sick of all of you!
    All: Kids ... to ... day!

(ie this thread would be a lot more interesting if you could bicker in the form of a song).

Wait, so if people are going to Dublin for the day, it might just mean it'd be a little bit quieter in work.

Woo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

intheknow wrote: »
    Things Culchies Like !!

01) A nice bit a ham.
    02) Buttered biscuits.
    03) Diggin Holes.
    04) Saying tis too cold to snow
    05) A dinner dance
    06) Tayto Cheese & Onion
    07) Countin money.
    08) A stretch in d'evenings
    09) Rubbing their hands together before tucking into their dinner
    10) Starting conversations with 'Do ya know whos dead ?'
    11) Pretending to like Harp or Pioneer
    12) Marietta biskits.
    13) Drivin inta poholes with the tractor
    14) Shania Twain.
    15) Heifers
    16) Spittin in their hands before doing anything manual
    17) Steel toe caps.
    18) A big bowl of stew
    19) Eating sangwiches out of the boot of a car at GAA Matches
    20) Saying someones 'Opened a Book' on something.
    21) The smell of silage.
    22) a door stop of Slice-Your-Own Loaf.
    23) Work Clothes
    24) A bottle of mineral.
    25) Fighting with d'neighbours
    26) Puttin on a ganzee to stop them from bein foundered
    27) 'The' Hurling and Futball.
    28) Bakin n cabbage.
    29) Price of calves.
    30) Saying "Aaah" after taking their first sup of tae.
    31) Sayin' things like 'Well Holy God ... will ya look at that'
    32) Dirty number plates so they cant get caught with the speed cameras
    33) The Fear of Change.
    34) A nice bit of Barnbrac with a cup a Strong Tay
    35) Drinkin tay off a saucer.
    36) Building stone walls.
    37) Being starved with the cold rather than with a lack of food
    38) Flowery Spuds
    39) Talking about the long evenin's
    40) A good blackthorn walkin stick.
    41) Shouting 'Yeeeeeoooo' when something good happens.
    42) The replay of the Sunday Game on Monday
    43) Talkin bout machinery.
    44) Sayin' things like 'Arra fer Jaysus Sake'
    45) A good read of Buy n Sell.
    46) Winnin a tukey at the cards.
    47) Scandal, as long as its about other people.
    48) A Gud bail a Turf, because dat Centril heatin's only a wemins ting.
    49) Soda farls.
    50) Sponge 'n Custurt
    51) talking outside after mass

Classic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

womoma wrote: »
    What makes me laugh is that there are still people who live outside Dublin who have chips on their shoulders

Oh and Dubs don't? Hahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. This thread was started initially insulting people who are not from Dublin, so why shouldn't we react? Doesn't mean we have any sort of chips on our shoulders. I, for one, enjoy socialising and shopping in Dublin on rare occasions and have said, since I was a little girl, and still stand by it, that not in a million years, would I live/work in the kip (or especially raise a chld in it). You all give out about how many "culchies" live in Dublin, but have you noticed how many Dubs are moving to the "country" for a BETTER quality of life - *shock horror* I think yer all jealous because we don't have to have alarms on our houses, we don't have to shower twice a day to wash the cities grime off ourselves and we don't have to sit in gridlock traffic every day to make our way to work. We dont have to listen to sirens going off every 5 minutes because some junkie is after over-dosing. We don't have to pay outrageous prices/rent for horrible houses in horrible areas. The sooner Dubs realise and admit that they're actually far worse off in the quality of their life than us country-folk the better! Jealousy is a terrible thing! :) We breath fresh air, we don't have gridlock traffic on our way to work (I travel 6 miles to work in 7 minutes from drive-way to car-park) and yes, I sometimes travel across to Dublin to shop for a day or stay overnight and attend a concert or something, but it's a day out/weekend away and it's enjoyable because you don't have to look at the dive every day of your life. I breath a sigh of relief every time I leave the place, it's such a horrible stressed-out, stinking city eurgh. And good luck to all who descend on it's city-centre and/or shopping centres today (dubs and "culchies" alike) because it will be bedlam. believe it or not, we have 4 Dubs arrivig here in a couple of hours to get away from it for the weekend!!

What would you prefer?
    while most people from Dublin couldn't give a toss if you're from Cork, Longford, or Ballycobegarra.

No, of course not, that is why this thread was started with the title "Is tomorrow "culchies descend on dublin" day? "
    Seriously, get over it

Get over what? This thread was started by gereralisations about "country" folk, people who live outside of the capital.

Personally, I wouldn't go shopping on the 8th December no matter where I am. I live outside a rather big town (some people call it a city but it isn't) and I wouldn't go near it for the amount of hill-billies that descend on it on 08/12 every single year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I've no objection to the annual bog-trotters outing.
    We just need to make sure that they all go home afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

................................................The award for taking things too seriously goes too l3LoWnA!

..............................................................._______________________
    ...............................................................!!!***Congratulations***!!!

..............................Please collect your €50 Supermacs voucher from the GPO upon your arrival in our fair city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

I (not by my choice, its a college thing) live in Dublin and this thread shows my BIGGEST hate of living there. How many of you native Dubs have ever lived outside of the city? So many of you judge everyone else, but have absolutely no basis for it. Ive lived in four different counties, two of them cities and Dublin is not and never will be my number one choice. The quality of living, cost of living, nightlife etc is so much better in other parts. Its so sickening to listen to people slag you about being from somewhere, when they are *sometimes* completely uncultured themselves.

And back to the topic...Let people shop if they want to shop. Get over it! Its sad that you care so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Jeapy wrote: »
    I (not by my choice, its a college thing) live in Dublin and this thread shows my BIGGEST hate of living there. How many of you native Dubs have ever lived outside of the city? So many of you judge everyone else, but have absolutely no basis for it. Ive lived in four different counties, two of them cities and Dublin is not and never will be my number one choice. The quality of living, cost of living, nightlife etc is so much better in other parts. Its so sickening to listen to people slag you about being from somewhere, when they are *sometimes* completely uncultured themselves.

And back to the topic...Let people shop if they want to shop. Get over it! Its sad that you care so much.

Unlucky Jeapy. The award for taking things too seriously has already been given out. Please feel free to try again next year. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Unlucky Jeapy. The award for taking things too seriously has already been given out. Please feel free to try again next year. ;)

Maybe I wasn't clear enough when I warned yous about telling the wimmins about the interweb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Chiaki

Urban Legends :Culchie day
    The day when none of us as kids were allowed into town not even with parental supervision. Culchies were to descend on the nations capital like flies on a picnic, swarming in mud -encrusted boots jumping off gigantic green tractors to trail through o connell st. God help you if you worked on culchie day in town, culchies coming up to you, you thinking your translation is ok, you watched killinaskully before, you know you can make out some words...
    Culchie: How're'ya d'ya'ave any'adoes tings dare in the winda

Killinaskully, glenroe, they all lied.... culchies werent anything like on tv. no the were true bogmonsters. paying in cash, big wads of it dwarfed in their calloused, turf digging hands

Worst thing of all?

THERE REAL!?!?!?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Hagar wrote: »
    We just need to make sure that they all go home afterwards.

There really needs to be stricter monitoring of this. We've a massive amount of them who haven't returned for years at this stage :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

hey just cause my house has two stories and as much space as i could ever want, and dubs are living in a bedsit on the 42nd floor, ye can have the shops i'll keep my quality of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Jeapy wrote: »

I never actually mentioned anything about dublin being better but? Just goes to show how sensitive the spud gobblers are on the old inferiority issue.

Anyway I'm back in one piece, seems fairly quiet this year right enough, though i steered clear of henry street, t'would break me heart to see all the old dears from carlow etc weeping when they found out that Roches had been taken over be the brits.

I even ventured into Argos, which normally would attract so many muckahs you'd swear they were handing out headage grants. Two nice rural ladies behind me on dame street were ag leabhairt as gaelige, which was go deas :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Redjeep! wrote: »
    Ahh, isn't it cute....
    that dubs all think that they're so sophisticated coming from the 'big city' and that everybody else is a bogger as they've not had the benefit of living somewhere as large and cosmopolitan as Dublin. Ah, bless em.

They will be lining the streets waving their little "Jackeen" flags welcoming us.

No, no, no, my fellow boggers. Oh the pride of going to Dublin. We are so lucky to be able to go there to inject a few extra bob into their thriving economy. I feel honoured to be able to go and see our superior folk in action.

Apparently the streets are full of diversity & multi cultural people. The roads are constantly blocked with things called road works & SUV thingy's.

Apparently you can go into restaurants & if you like the food the chef won't pee or spit into it...Imagine!!!!

If we are lucky, we might even see a shootout amongst people who argue over snow. (Why argue over snow I don't know, damn stuff is freezing, better than rain I suppose)

Pubs are supposed to be the berries, expensive I hear but well worth €5+ for a Guinness, if you are lucky the bartender will understand you. If you don't spend though they will chuck you out... Those poor landlords are just trying to make a living.

So, I for one am going to make an effort to support our elite class. I have polished my wellies (yes, the Dunlop Specials) & ironed my dungarees. I'm so humbled to be going... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

I live here now...ha ha ha ha ha. I'm off to town soon. And please- Dub? A proper city? Not enough shops in town. Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

do as many culchies bother any more?

what with decent shopping being pretty much nationwide these days

I doubt it....I'd be more worried about the potential surge in scumbags trying to rob people. And those guys with the white tracklegs, tucked into their socks, the really bad hair, the stink of lynx and cheap gold, and the pyjamma girls. Ugh.

aye tell me about it, i work on abbey st ffs

they should make it legal to kill those filth

nothing but a drain on the taxpayer

Yup, they are dodgy out. Ugh, off to town now. I'll probably be on Abbey street. Must go present shopping. What shop are you in? I might come over and say hi!

dont work in a shop, civil servant all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭condra

LMAO

Best thread ever.

Culchies, you tee us up and we'll hit them off.

So funny seeing the spud gobblers getting so hot under the collar.

intheknow wrote: »

Things Culchies Like !!

.... Rubbing their hands together before tucking into their dinner

hahaha!:p;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Best thread ever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

To be honest if one of your great grandparents isn't a culchie, I'd be dead worried about being an inbred. :)

Sure everybody in Dublin is a selfish bastard who does nothing but shoot up heroin and rob people. Unforunately the fungal virus that is urban sprawl is growing and so is attacking my once moderately good town. Save yourselves.
    Mordeth wrote:
    *urinates all over the thread*

should make the place smell a bit more like home for the dubs.

Thread over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,148 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Davidius wrote: »
    To be honest if one of your great grandparents isn't a culchie, I'd be dead worried about being an inbred. :)

The ones that aren't dubs are from islands, and islanders are a whole load different to bogsavages I'll have you know :D

* dresses up the thread in a pair of faded black jeans, hi-tec runners and a table cloth shirt, tucked in. Then puts Cotton Eye Joe on the radio *

Should make the thread feel more comfortable for all the muckers.

10 points for the best alternative to the word culchie....

Muck savages is good. I like spud gobblers too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

10 points for the best alternative to the word culchie....

Womoma am I right in thinking that you do not like people from outside Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

It's an unfair balance-

Dubs have to put up with "muck savages" for one day out of 365

The poor culchies that live close enough for Dublin yuppies to move there to have to be subjected to their superiority complex for the full year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

Have to say I laughed when I first read that term for us country-folk :p

But then I remembered my ex.....from Dublin (NS) and him travelling down here on the weekends, was, to him, a massive effort, jesus I thought he'd never shut up complaining about the train - which I'd never travel on myself, but he was a typical tight-wad Dub (I went by plane to Dublin when I was going up to him but he was too fecken tight to fork out an extra 20quid)

Anyways, he's the biggest f*cking spud gobbler I ever met, he loves the things, if there's not a massive pot of SPUDS on every day he isn't happy (even if he's the only one who wants the things) His family were so old-fashioned, he said they had potatoes every single day for dinner :rolleyes: I couldn't live like that, maybe it's a Dublin (North-side) thing....He also made a fool of me in a resaurant one day whilst ordering, no clue whatsoever, you can dress them up.....but you def can't bring them out... :( He got a gorgeous meal (in a well-known, modern, and fantastic restaurant, whih I frequent - lovely food, service excellent) and because it didn't have a MOUNTAIN of "spuds" on the plate he thought he was being "done out of it" on the money front.....jesus, I had to get rid of him before he made a scene!! :rolleyes:

Just a thought.....maybe stick to "muck savages" for us instead of "spud gobblers" which is a term I'm sure the English use for all of us Irish (including the Dubs)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

I always remember my mother telling me about going to Moore Street one day and getting some tomatoes. The woman on the stall tried to give her some that didn't look wonderful. When my mother pointed to the ones she wanted the stall holder gives here an earful, saying : "oooh, here we go now. The culchies are up to hand pick them".. That typifies the Dublin mentality for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

The award for failing at BBcode goes to The-Rigger. :)

alleepally wrote: »
    I always remember my mother telling me about going to Moore Street one day and getting some tomatoes. The woman on the stall tried to give her some that didn't look wonderful. When my mother pointed to the ones she wanted the stall holder gives here an earful, saying : "oooh, here we go now. The culchies are up to hand pick them".. That typifies the Dublin mentality for me.

No doubt, you in turn will pass on this tale to your children and then their children. Along with the time in '58 those bastard O'Driscolls ran their bullock through the family meadow below without so much as a by-your-lave. More bleedin' chips than Macaris some of you lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Have they all gone home yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭FranchisePlayer

rb_ie wrote: »
    This isn't anything new.

It's also true tbh.

Yeah dublin is really metropolitian it would be considered a speck in an actual city like a actual capital like london in which I spent 8 years there so I know what I am on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 frenchman

l3LoWnA wrote: »
    Oh and Dubs don't? Hahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. This thread was started initially insulting people who are not from Dublin, so why shouldn't we react? Doesn't mean we have any sort of chips on our shoulders. I, for one, enjoy socialising and shopping in Dublin on rare occasions and have said, since I was a little girl, and still stand by it, that not in a million years, would I live/work in the kip (or especially raise a chld in it). You all give out about how many "culchies" live in Dublin, but have you noticed how many Dubs are moving to the "country" for a BETTER quality of life - *shock horror* I think yer all jealous because we don't have to have alarms on our houses, we don't have to shower twice a day to wash the cities grime off ourselves and we don't have to sit in gridlock traffic every day to make our way to work. We dont have to listen to sirens going off every 5 minutes because some junkie is after over-dosing. We don't have to pay outrageous prices/rent for horrible houses in horrible areas. The sooner Dubs realise and admit that they're actually far worse off in the quality of their life than us country-folk the better! Jealousy is a terrible thing! :) We breath fresh air, we don't have gridlock traffic on our way to work (I travel 6 miles to work in 7 minutes from drive-way to car-park) and yes, I sometimes travel across to Dublin to shop for a day or stay overnight and attend a concert or something, but it's a day out/weekend away and it's enjoyable because you don't have to look at the dive every day of your life. I breath a sigh of relief every time I leave the place, it's such a horrible stressed-out, stinking city eurgh. And good luck to all who descend on it's city-centre and/or shopping centres today (dubs and "culchies" alike) because it will be bedlam. believe it or not, we have 4 Dubs arrivig here in a couple of hours to get away from it for the weekend!!

What would you prefer?

Damn right! its so true.. ive been to dublin far toom much in the last year ot realise that i never want to live in the place.. life is so much better in the country. yes i like going to dubliun for the day or the night but i always let a big sigh of relief when i leave the place again!

Hagar wrote: »
    Have they all gone home yet?

I think they all rushed home to post here, must have been an APB put out from Irelands Own HQ or something :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭FranchisePlayer

Bambi wrote: »
    I think they all rushed home to post here, must have been an APB put out from Irelands Own HQ or something :confused:

In fairness not all of us went to that hole you call the "town" do not go there better shops down here:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Bambi wrote: »
    No doubt, you in turn will pass on this tale to your children and then their children. Along with the time in '58 those bastard O'Driscolls ran their bullock through the family meadow below without so much as a by-your-lave. More bleedin' chips than Macaris some of you lot.

Eh, no. But that WAS an awful bad ting dem O'Driscoll's did though. Them and their feckin prize bullocks. Sittin up there in the front row at mass as if their fields don't stick of ****e like everyone elses. :rolleyes:

Yeah dublin is really metropolitian it would be considered a speck in an actual city like a actual capital like london in which I spent 8 years there so I know what I am on about
    It's times like these I love living where I do.

You see, I'm stuck in the middle.

I've access to Dublin bus and rail services, but I'm not actually in Dublin.

I really couldn't give a flying **** if you could fit 8 Dublins into London, but I think it's really petty when country folk (I'm from the suburbs. Blow me) throw a hissy fit when the dubs take the piss out of them.

I also laugh when the dubs get their backs up when Meath kick their ass (again) in Croke Park and everyone in the country laughs at the dubs.

On the down side, if I go into Dublin, I'm called a bogger. If I go anywhere else in the country, I'm called a dub.

I have to say though, the dubs are a much nicer crowd.

If I'm mistaken for a culchie, I get a gentle ribbing.
    If I'm mistaken for a dub, I'm lucky to escape without getting a kicking.

Most of the culchies I've met really have a big chip on their shoulders when it comes to dubs.
    I suggest you get over yourselves and your city-envy.

City envy?

Envy implies that we have a desire to be like Dublin, or Dubs, no?

You can talk about chips on shoulders all night, but who started the thread? I'd argue the chips are equally large.

Both the Dublin view of "muck savages" and country view of "jackeens" are forms of prejudice that are for some reason, socially acceptable.
    In this instance, this thread just seemed to be a rather sad, smug attempt to bait people or invite some back-slapping from fellow Dubs, secure in their "hilarious" responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Make sure all you Dubs put the Culchie money to good use as thats all your getting until next year .Might consider building a by pass so the Culchies can go somewhere a bit classier as Dub land is so last year .Need to smarten your act up there are better centres all over Ireland now giving better value .

Driver 8 wrote: »
    City envy?

Envy implies that we have a desire to be like Dublin, or Dubs, no?

You can talk about chips on shoulders all night, but who started the thread? I'd argue the chips are equally large.

Both the Dublin view of "muck savages" and country view of "jackeens" are forms of prejudice that are for some reason, socially acceptable.
    In this instance, this thread just seemed to be a rather sad, smug attempt to bait people or invite some back-slapping from fellow Dubs, secure in their "hilarious" responses.
    Ahh, you've been on this shift too long.

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Make sure all you Dubs put the Culchie money to good use as thats all your getting until next year .Might consider building a by pass so the Culchies can go somewhere a bit classier as Dub land is so last year .Need to smarten your act up there are better centres all over Ireland now giving better value .
    I'm not sure if you have been told this before, but the full stop goes at the end of a sentence, not the start of a new one.

Driver 8 wrote: »
    City envy?

Envy implies that we have a desire to be like Dublin, or Dubs, no? Quote Driver.

Its a deep seated inferiority complex that the Dubs have which portrays itself as self perceived superiority . Unfortunately there is no cure .Its just Dublish.

Terry, you can't use my username to both praise my musical taste and as a stick to beat me with

It's unfair, you bloody.....dub! culchie! person! ;)

Terry wrote: »
    I'm not sure if you have been told this before, but the full stop goes at the end of a sentence, not the start of a new one.

Must remember that Terry thanks for the English lesson .Whats a sentence ? Get your red pen out . Ever heard of neutrality or sticking to the thread and not getting personal ? Lead by example please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Its funny when country folk call us Dubs "Jackeens". Its means drunkards and well they aren't exactly pioneers. Oh and by the way on the quality of life issue. We have hospitals that aren't forty miles away and access to clean drinking water all year around. Much more entertainment available for people to indulge in. Culture to indulge in. This is where interesting art is displayed and shows from far off places come to perform. Its much better to live here.

Might I also add that if Dublin is tiny what the heck is your town or village?

I thought "jackeen" was a reference to the Union Jack?

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    I Must remember that, Terry. thanks for the English lesson .What's a sentence ? Get your red pen out .

This is a sentence.