Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New motor tax and VRT regime. Links + calculations

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

On a 2002 seat leon tdi:

New VRT
    Old Road Tax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 rocha

So, i'll pay less for the plates, but i'll not get away from the yearly 590 euro., correct?
    That's a shame.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

rocha wrote: »
    Hi folks,

I've tried to read all previous posts and a question as arose,

- my question is, I've been reading on this same topic speaking about importing cars with over 1 year (particularly diesel) to make the most of the new tax system. So.. is the new tax system also aplicable to old imported cars?

Cheers

For the millionth time - No - 2008 registered cars only

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭barryi200

lads what are people doing were they cant trace the official C02 emmissions for a uk car, and when same are not on the DVLA form etc...

what sort of paperwork will they accept - i have old MOT certs with Emmissions noted i think for the car in question.
    Car in question is a escort cosworth

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Pay at the top rate of 36% unless you have proof that they will be happy with . This is where some of the older years are going to be a hassle as the UK sites don't cover the older models. On my vehicle a '97 I spent time trying to trace the CO2 output even using different models that the same engine was used in to no avail including websites, Same answer no data exists for this model.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,322 ✭✭✭✭Esel

If you have the official handbook, and if it gives official mpg figures, the VRO office can calculate CO2 from that.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

barryi200 wrote: »
    lads what are people doing were they cant trace the official C02 emmissions for a uk car, and when same are not on the DVLA form etc...

what sort of paperwork will they accept - i have old MOT certs with Emmissions noted i think for the car in question.
    Car in question is a escort cosworth

If you can obtain the official mpg from websites etc, then you can calculate the c02 from this. The revenue.ie site has the info on how to do this. It may be complex but it may save you paying 36% tax

mcwhirter wrote: »
    If you can obtain the official mpg from websites etc, then you can calculate the c02 from this.
    Afaik, only the fuel consumption figures from the manufacturer's handbook are acceptable for this purpose.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭snowstreams

eamon234 wrote: »
    For the millionth time - No - 2008 registered cars only

It must be allowed for all old cars. Why else would the revenue have this calculator? https://www.ros.ie/VRTEnquiryServlet/showCarCalculator

• Registered Users Posts: 8,890 ✭✭✭Soarer

For the love of Jaysus!!!!:mad:

Pre 2008 - NEW CARBON VRT, OLD cc ROADTAX

2008 ONWARDS - NEW CARBON VRT, NEW CARBON ROADTAX!!

Tis simple enough like. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭budweiserfrogie

It must be allowed for all old cars. Why else would the revenue have this calculator? https://www.ros.ie/VRTEnquiryServlet/showCarCalculator
    Snowstreams.
    You need to read the previous posts in more detail.
    This Revenue calculator is to calculate VRT, which is based on Co2 emissions for all cars before and after 2008.
    What some people still don't seem to get is that Road tax is only based on Co2 emissions for 2008 and newer cars.
    Road tax for cars older than 2008, ie 2007, 2006 etc, is still based on engine size.
    This has been said over and over and over again in the previous posts.
    If you don't believe us then go into your local Road Tax office and ask.

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭budweiserfrogie

Jaysus soarer. you just burst my eardrums!

Apologies! :o

Twas directed at the people that can't get their head around the new "rocket science" roadtax system.
    Is it any wonder e-voting never took off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 dannydif

i purchesed a bmw 520d first regestered 22/01/2008 i picked the car up in the begining of may and didnt put it on the road till this week when i phoned the vrt office about clearing it they said i must show my receit which is dated may he says ill have to pay vat now as it was purchesed in may even though it was keep in a mates garage in northern ireland till this week any advice how to get round this

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Mc-BigE

dannydif wrote: »
    i purchesed a bmw 520d first regestered 22/01/2008 i picked the car up in the begining of may and didnt put it on the road till this week when i phoned the vrt office about clearing it they said i must show my receit which is dated may he says ill have to pay vat now as it was purchesed in may even though it was keep in a mates garage in northern ireland till this week any advice how to get round this

What's the Kms/mileage on the clock? , if its below 6000kms you need to pay vat @21% of the sterling price you paid converted to euros

the milage is 7500miles its my receipt thats the prob because its dated may

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

If you receipt shows you purchased it when the car was less than 6 months old (ie May) you are stuffed. Can you get the dealer to re-issue you with a receipt with a purchase date over 6 months?

In fairness how does the Revenue know whether the car was in a mates shed or being driven around since May...? Its the date of purchase that interests them.

from http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/moving-country/moving-to-ireland/coming-to-live-in-ireland/importing_car_into_ireland

"A new car means a car that has been in service for 6 months or less, or has been driven for 6,000 kilometres or less"

is "in service" the date of registration or the date you purchased it?

by reading that its the date of registration which means you shouldn't have to pay vat

either way, i wouldn't take the chance, its a lot of money, keep the car in storage until November. Which of course is illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Mc-BigE wrote: »
    is "in service" the date of registration or the date you purchased it?

But is buying a car and then storing it off the road "in service" at all? Could it be argued that the car is only brought into service by regularly using it?

Can you get the dealer to re-issue you with a receipt with a purchase date over 6 months?
    I couldn't possibly endorse this advice. ;)

Not your ornery onager

not sure about this, look at it this way, he bought a jan 08 520d and if he is the second owner surely the car is secondhand and not new?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

esel wrote: »
    I couldn't possibly endorse this advice. ;)

Neither could I ...plus I'd also place a bet that someone in VRT central in Rosslare reads boards ...and not just on their lunch break *waves*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Mc-BigE wrote: »
    not sure about this, look at it this way, he bought a jan 08 520d and if he is the second owner surely the car is secondhand and not new?

The car could have had 20 owners, it doesn't matter, but if it is less than 6 months old or has less than 6,000kms it is regarded as new and VAT is payable. If your invoice shows that you bought the car less than 6 months after is was first registered that's the end of it. Bar chicanery which we would all frown upon.

I woulda thought that "in service" was from the first date it was registered ie. 22/01/2008. There's no other point in registering the car unless it was being put into service!

Have you signed and dated the logbook? If not, that'll do as your receipt. Sign and date it a couple of days before you head in to register it, and they should use that date. You don't have to have a receipt. I bought a car over there a couple of weeks back, and got no receipt. Was still able to vrt it because of the date on the V5.

Soarer wrote: »
    I woulda thought that "in service" was from the first date it was registered ie. 22/01/2008. There's no other point in registering the car unless it was being put into service!

Have you signed and dated the logbook? If not, that'll do as your receipt. Sign and date it a couple of days before you head in to register it, and they should use that date. You don't have to have a receipt. I bought a car over there a couple of weeks back, and got no receipt. Was still able to vrt it because of the date on the V5.
    yes but the man in the vro office says all cars under 12 months have to show a receipt i havent filled in anything in the logbook it is still regestered to the previous owner

Soarer wrote: »

agreed, if the car was registered by someone else in Jan08, then he's the second owner, the car is more than 6 months old and has 7500miles on the clock.

yes but the man in the vro office says all cars under 12 months have to show a receipt i havent filled in anything in the logbook it is still regestered to the previous owner

I've never heard anything about needing a receipt, and I've never seen anything written anywhere that you need a receipt. I reckon yer man is bluffing.

You should ask him to define a receipt. Does it need to have a dealer stamp, headed paper, etc?

And who's to say you got a receipt? What if you bought it privately? Does he expect a private seller to issue you a receipt? Any dope can write a receipt. Actually, not calling you a dope, but if it came to it, you could create your own receipt!

The only thing they need to go by is the V5 form. That's an official document with the "official" change of ownership date written on it. A receipt can be anything written on anything. Surely that can't be used as a form of declaration!?!

sounds like the VRO (or one individual in the VRO) are making new rules to try to stop people doing what your doing, ie making a saving on a newish car.

I would look at all the websites you can , revenue.ie, citizensinformation.ie and print out all the relevant parts, i would ring another vro office or the head one if you can, and ask them to clarify why an 8 month old car with 7500miles is being classed as "new".

Sounds like you would have a good case for appeal, if they insist in charging you vat.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

revenue.ie wrote:
    It is a new means of transport if it is a motor vehicle or motor-cycle (other than a tractor) supplied six months or less after the date of its first entry into service.

The vehicle was 4 months old when supplied. To prove or disporve this a receipt would be required.

Revenue are just doing their job...or rather this individual is going aboiut his/her job in the correct manner. How inconvenient.

ninty9er wrote: »
    The vehicle was 4 months old when supplied. To prove or disporve this a receipt would be required.

Revenue are just doing their job...or rather this individual is going aboiut his/her job in the correct manner. How inconvenient.

No their not doing their job!
    And is it inconvenient to be putting the frighteners on someone.

What you quoted above doesn't say anything about a receipt.

To prove when the car was purchased, all they need do is look at the date the V5 form was signed. That's the official document which shows the official change of ownership date.

If you sold a car, you'd send off the logbook signed and dated so you couldn't get caught for parking/speeding fines from that date. The DOE don't go asking the new owner of the car to show them a receipt from you to back up what's on the logbook.

Same applies here. The V5 is the official record of when the car is sold. If the official document doesn't suffice anymore, and what's required is some sort of handwritten/printed receipt from an unknown 3rd party from God only knows where, the system is deeply flawed.