Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Post your most controversial opinions here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Tourists who spend a week in Spain with Irish people in Irish bars, eating Irish food and singing Irish songs should be strangled with their Irish flags.

Fernando Torres is really that good.

FavouriteSlave should be banned for suggesting a) mass genocide of Irish people and b) Stating the Complete obvious as a controversial opinion!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭JæKæ

Tourists who spend a week in Spain with Irish people in Irish bars, eating Irish food and singing Irish songs should be strangled with their Irish flags.

Seconded. Also Irish people that go to Australia, get a job with an Irish builder, work with Irish builders, socialise with the same lads, live with Irish, play GAA with more Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Ellsbells

+100

They are not even tourists they are just saddo's with no imaginaton who should stay at home drinking in The Hill 16 and singing rebel songs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

*scratches self*

Folks, keep posting. Just because you're surrounded by idiots posting idiotic statements doesn't mean I won't ban you for it. It's AH; you're always surrounded by idiots posting idiotic statements. Like I said, keep posting. When I'm bored, I'll re-read the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

biko wrote: »
    In many ways England is better than Ireland.
    And in many ways we're heading towards the same mess they're in, expect more so, cos our tree lovers like to bring up the way millions of us went elsewhere, just leaving out the bits that when we got to where we went to, we didn't get any money, food, and half the time the place where we ended up was only good cos we made it good...

Pyjama-wearing outdoors should be punishable by forcing the wearer to go naked in public for a week.
    :cool::eek: In a way "heeyyyyy..." but then, when you think about it, it's a "nooooo..." as they're mostly underage ho's.

Tourists who spend a week in Spain with Irish people in Irish bars, eating Irish food and singing Irish songs should be strangled with their Irish flags.[/quote]
    F**kers who go to another country, and give out when the locals don't speak english.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

And the idiots who go to Spain and complain cos the milk, tea and rashers are not the same as at home DUH!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Ellsbells wrote: »
    I think we should get a large digger and start off on the Irish sea, dig past Monaghan and Cavan, up along the border until we arrive at the Atlantic and then push the entire 6 counties ("Norn Ireeeelan") out into the North Sea.

They (Catholics and Protestants (and anyone else who is sad enough to live in that miserable dump) ) are the most miserable shower of gets I have ever come across...

If I hear about the "situuuuation" once more Ill vomit... Sod off you shower of bores - the Brits dont want you and (for a dose of harsh reality) neither do we!!!!!!

Ells

PS Also I hate the tools who hate the Brits but would die for Man United / Liverpool/ Chelsea etc etc

Yes yes oh yes!:) NI headoff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Steyr wrote: »
    Not only is it crap but its Gay, also i hate the GAA and Hurling, games for rednecks.

Ok...
    Steyr wrote: »
    Brilliant! Well said.:D:p:D

Now....wait.

You think soccer and gah are gay, but you enjoy watching a daytime soap opera featuring muscled men in tight pants grappling with each other whilst 90% naked?

:confused::confused::confused:

Karoma wrote: »
    *scratches self*

Folks, keep posting. Just because you're surrounded by idiots posting idiotic statements doesn't mean I won't ban you for it. It's AH; you're always surrounded by idiots posting idiotic statements. Like I said, keep posting. When I'm bored, I'll re-read the thread.

OK heres a controversial opinion.

I am shocked anyone cares/bothered reporting the personal opinions expressed in this thread as long as they were non violent or not racist (and I mean actually racist, as opposed to somebody being accused of being racist for saying, I dunno, while maybe not a majority a significant percentage of foreign taxi drivers havent a half clue where some fairly obviuous places in Dublin are)

Oh, and ffs re the Irish abroad thing, they are going for sun. Does Benidorm or Ibiza actually have any substantial cultural attractions? Of course not. Stay in the Irish bars and out of the way of the Ingerland louts and the East Belfast crew, who can blame them.

Apart from that, people abroad over emphasise their Irishness because British women abroad absoloutely love it. Go on a tour of x and y cathedral and visit the museums while the lads in Ireland jerseys with green dyed hair are getting stuck into English women down in Pablo O`Shaughnessys authentic Irish bar, see who has the better holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I have zero tolerance for litter louts and would welcome punishment beatings [kneecappings, savage assaults with baseball bats etc] for the people who are just too ignorant and selfish to respect their environment and surroundings.

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    I have zero tolerance for litter louts and would welcome punishment beatings [kneecappings, savage assaults with baseball bats etc] for the people who are just too ignorant and selfish to respect their environment and surroundings.
    Beat the tree-huggers to death. Hate the ****ers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

Send Nelson Mandela back to jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭bongi69

J.S. Pill wrote: »
    Send Nelson Mandela back to jail
    Maybe not that far, but most south africans hate to admit, but they were better off under the Apartheid government. They provided housing etc. and unemployment was next to nothing.
    And trust me, under Zuma, it'll only get worse. Much worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

I don't see a use for our national language - you can call me a traitor or whatever, I don't care - it has had its day.
    We're living in the past ... myself, and most posters here, have wasted literally thousands of hours in the classroom learning (being force-fed) it. Hours that could have been put to better use.

Speak/Learn the cupla focail in your own time, if you feel the need - but if I could just wave my magic wand I'd let it die.

Learn a language that you can use tbh

And before someone points it out to me - yes, I have posted in the Irish AH before, but it was getting close to the LC and I needed to practise it a bit. Completely against it being included in the exams aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

GerryRyan wrote: »
    I don't see a use for our national language - you can call me a traitor or whatever, I don't care - it has had its day.
    We're living in the past ... myself, and most posters here, have wasted literally thousands of hours in the classroom learning (being force-fed) it. Hours that could have been put to better use.

Speak/Learn the cupla focail in your own time, if you feel the need - but if I could just wave my magic wand I'd let it die.

Learn a language that you can use tbh

Agreed. Feck it our culture got mashed by everyone and now it has no hope of recovering.

Language is only one part of our culture ... we still have a lot to be proud of.

I just despise the focus on our '1st language' in the education system. If you want to learn it - then fair play - but being force-fed it? If we had a genuine use for it, outside of having the odd word when on holiday, then feel free to correct me.

bongi69 wrote: »
    Maybe not that far, but most south africans hate to admit, but they were better off under the Apartheid government. They provided housing etc. and unemployment was next to nothing.

I never even thought of it before but thats actually quite right. All it brought about was

a- A spiralling AIDS rate amongst the black community (though in truth its doubtful the white gov would have done better to halt it than the black one did)

b- The black natives are, generally speaking (apart from a relatively tiny new upper class) still working the same crap jobs/as unemployed as years back

c- Rise in drug abuse

d- General rise in violent crime

e- Job competiion between native black South Africans and immigrants from the rest of Africa. I doubt the apartheid gov would have allowed massive migration from other natives of Africa.

Apart from less state oppression its been a pretty sh1te ride for all concerned. The natives are in a woeful job situation, largely live in the same type of shacks they did 13 years ago, and face competition from migrants, and the whites are terrified of the crime all of this has created.

bongi69 wrote: »
    Funny cos it's true. The dumb blacks worked on the farms. No farms, they're f**ked. The clever ones would either get the f**k out of dodge, or ensure that they live comfortably, and exploit others to get there.

Funnier cos the Apartheid against white people is f**king the blacks more than when the Apartheid was against black people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Ok...

Now....wait.

You think soccer and gah are gay, but you enjoy watching a daytime soap opera featuring muscled men in tight pants grappling with each other whilst 90% naked?

:confused::confused::confused:

You need to re read the posters reply, i said "brilliant well said" as the poster gave a sarcastic reply etc.. Its to do with the WWE ( Wrestling ) and WWF ( Animals ).:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

People who go out just for the sake of getting absolutely pissed on alcohol are dumbasses

JBoyle4eva wrote: »
    People who go out just for the sake of getting absolutely pissed on alcohol are dumbasses
    People who goto a pub, and moans when everyone else drinks, moans when they get pissed, and moans that they had a sh|te night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 cedco1

I dont think democracy is always the best system. I think it often isnt.
    It'll certainly never work in Iraq, should have left Saddem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 cedco1

The health services has never been so good, Like it or not it's a fact, in fact, here's another fact. The health services in the vast majority of countries has never been so good and that's the real reason for climate change. We're so obsessed with saving everyone that there's now more of us alive today consuming the earths resourses then all the generations of the past added together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Can't think of much at the moment but i'll give it a go:

1. Every post in this thread is a pathetic attempt at controversy :)
    2. I hate wannabe controversialists.*

* Like most other posts here, this may or may not be true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Handicapped driver's should not get free parking spaces. They should just get reduced rate parking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

I know I shouldn’t bother responding to this but anyway. Its disabled driver's its not entirely free you have to pay for the card and its not intended to give disabled people an advantage just to try and even the playing field a little.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

BrianCalgary, the mod of the christianity forum, is a Gobshite.

Romanians should be taken care of a bit better i.e. a swift kick into their arses. They don't bother learning english, or try to get jobs, and expect us to give them money. They can eff off.

The people who post on personal issues asking "does that guy in the club fancy me?" can also eff the eff off.

I don't give a shyte about Madeline Mcanne. Millions of children have gone missing in the developing world and nobody ever hears about them. Then all of a sudden, a rich white girl goes missing while on holidays in portugal, resulting in the biggest media craze since the start of the war in Iraq. What a load of fcuking arse.

People who belive in the bible and the virgin birth and burning bushes and god and turning water into wine etc. must really be a little bit handicapped.

No amount of praying will cure your mother of cancer.

BrianCalgary, the mod of the christianity forum, is a Gobshite.

Romanians should be taken care of a bit better i.e. a swift kick into their arses. They don't bother learning english, or try to get jobs, and expect us to give them money. They can eff off.

The people who post on personal issues asking "does that guy in the club fancy me?" can also eff the eff off.

I don't give a shyte about Madeline Mcanne. Millions of children have gone missing in the developing world and nobody ever hears about them. Then all of a sudden, a rich white girl goes missing while on holidays in portugal, resulting in the biggest media craze since the start of the war in Iraq. What a load of fcuking arse.

People who belive in the bible and the virgin birth and burning bushes and god and turning water into wine etc. must really be a little bit handicapped.

No amount of praying will cure your mother of cancer.
    Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Hello_everybody

Haha! Why was he banned?

Personal attack on another member of boards.ie. I pointed the obvious out earlier: This thread doesn't mean you're exempt from the normal rules of behaviour... I don't know where people are getting this idea. End of this discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

21s is a really crap club, f*ing Romanians, I prefer the Irish Times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

A, the B of the C, is a D!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 fiddiefive

investors in the property market should not be allowed purchase in private housing devolpments, let them buy altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Firefox is a memory leaking piece of crap.

Anyone who wants to change the national anthem needs a hot poker up their arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Demonique

All Roma should be deported
    All skangers should be kicked out of the country (especially little spotty twunts named Anto Beane)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Demonique

I don't give a shyte about Madeline Mcanne. Millions of children have gone missing in the developing world and nobody ever hears about them. Then all of a sudden, a rich white girl goes missing while on holidays in portugal, resulting in the biggest media

I must admit I'm getting a little sick of all the hype surrounding her as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭-annex-

Demonique wrote: »
    I must admit I'm getting a little sick of all the hype surrounding her as well

Ditto. Thousands of children go missing every month and nobody seems to care about them. But when some rich English family's child goes missing the whole world stops spinning. Makes me kind of sick actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

All skangers should be kicked out of the country (especially little spotty twunts named Anto Beane)
    Exterminated like vermin you mean?
    Demonique wrote: »
    All Roma should be deported
    Sterilisation is enough for that lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

-annex- wrote: »
    Ditto. Thousands of children go missing every month and nobody seems to care about them. But when some rich English family's child goes missing the whole world stops spinning. Makes me kind of sick actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭dragonkin

Fidel will be proved right in the end.

There is no way now or ever into western lifestyle for the vast majority of the worlds inhabitants no matter how many people delude themselves otherwise.

Africa needs to sort out its own problems there is simply no way we can do anything for them now as the past fifty years of failure indicates improvement can only come from within. South Africa is almost certainly the next basket case under Zuma and its current divided government. They like our government desperately need to get some proper professionals in.

Overpopulation is the root cause of many if not most of the worlds problems, condoms should be shipped to all third world countries requiring aid.
    China by eliminating 300 million through population controls has done the world a great service and their example should be held up like a beacon of sense although their methods are dubious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭ronano

metrosexual men under 5 foot 9 are pathetic,give it up,you cant win.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

ronano wrote: »
    metrosexual men are pathetic
    FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

i dont like the jews, i really dont like them,

also , we need abortion, and anybody who protests abortion, fur or hands out religious information/medalions in dublin should automatically be taken down a back alley and beaten to death by some variety of malitia,

also any little scumbag who blares ****ty music from their "music enabled" phone on a bus, train or anywhere in public should have the phone attached to piano wire, inserted in their anal cavity and drawn out through their mouth using said piano wire, then be taken into the alley by said malitia,

same treatment applies to anything female with a piercing located on their face bar ears, end the days of the tacky cheek/ just above lip piercing which screams "ill ride ye, rob ye, show ye my 3 kids and then in month oull notice the syphillis"

and lastly the "troubled" children (so called "emo's, goths, punks") who hang around the general temple bar/ central bank area of dublin need to be exterminated,

if someone wishes to form this malitia theres some decent work load in it here,

also the mc'canne family should be exterminated to, then if a private investigator does find maddie (as if, hes not lookin in my basement...) i will honestly as of now offer a 500 euro reward for a video of her death and 3 of her fingers and a piece of her skull as a trophy
    * i put it in bold because even with the ludicrosity of this thread this is a genuine offer and i am 100% serious about this

also all travellers and roma like you see begging need to be taken on a boat out to dublin bay and attached to fireworks for newyears, dump the corpses in the sea and forget those wasters who never brought anything to our country but filth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 someuser90

People who believe in a personal god are delusional.

Fat women disgust me.

The loud obnoxious people living nearby are usually foreign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

someuser90 wrote: »
    People who believe in a personal god are delusional.

Nowt controversial about that opinion someuser. Would consider that near enough to a solid fact in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

I immediately think less of people who believe in God. I don't think they're necessarily 'stupid', but I'd say they are usually either ignorant, dishonest or quite possibly stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I do not give a sh*t about Madeline McCann.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Girl power is bull****, women could not rule this world, they would be ****ing awful at it.