Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sligo Slang

• 14-12-2007 1:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭

Just so you can get a clear definition of what the average Sligonian is talking about:

Sligo @ Slang.ie *

* mature content within

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭red bellied

Minker must be the most famous Sligo slang word and its not even included. Buffs should be there as well. Steamboats is there that was always a good one. Just seen its under minker drinking, should really be on its own though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Shytehawk is the best (non)word ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 46,094 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Puts me in mind of this from Scotland:

Two Pakistani men immigrate to Scotland, and agree to meet two years later to see who has become the most Scottish. Two years pass. They meet and the first one says "I have a Scotland football jersey, I drink Scotch whisky and eat haggis every week, I've joined a pipe band, I own a Scottie dog, I wear a kilt everywhere, I salmon fish and I play golf ......... That's how Scottish I am. How Scottish have you become?"

The second one replies, "AWAY TAE FU*K YA PAKI B@STARD!"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

basquille wrote: »
    Just so you can get a clear definition of what the average Sligonian is talking about:

Sligo @ Slang.ie *

* mature content within

Theres no such thing as an average Sligonian!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Ah, there's a fair bit of shyte on that too imo.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,078 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Some of those I've never heard of such as quest.

"Aw lads a bitta munch on a big4 ya"

WTF?
    Sounds like Patrick Truman from eastenders!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

Hmmm, whoever compiled some of them needs to check their spelling first..
    For example:
    Raggin!
    n.

Feeling annoied

"Ahh raggin man!"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Brings back some memories though! My brother spent a good 3 years just going around calling everyone a "gomie", bless him! :D

Not A Sniff
    exp.

No chance

"Will you be wit yer man over there?? Not a sniff!!!"

I Will In Me Shytee
    n.

I will not perform that action

"Will you be going to Envy later?" "I will in me shytee , its a kip"

Those two just made me laugh!! :D I noticed ghoul is in there though, I've never heard that used up here though. Used all the time down in Limerick but I've never heard it used up here? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Where is Rehab, Rank, Belized, Buff?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

takola wrote: »
    I Will In Me Shytee
    n.

I will not perform that action

"Will you be going to Envy later?" "I will in me shytee , its a kip"

Those two just made me laugh!! :D

I submitted that one :D

• Registered Users Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Buffs should be there as well.
    Where is Rehab, Rank, Belized, Buff?
    Don't know how ye missed it... it's under ummmmm.. 'B' funnily enough.

PS - there's a few in there i'd never heard of but ran it past a few mates younger than me who have heard of it (such as 'Toffin'). Didn't realise i was so out-of-touch with the youth of Sligo..

.. oh wait, yes I did!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,078 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Toffin? What the fúck is toffin? It sounds like going to toffs. Stupid word all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Basq

What the fúck is toffin? It sounds like going to toffs.
    You get a cookie! ;)

basquille wrote: »
    You get a cookie! ;)

Giving sweeties to strangers. I always knew there was something dodgy about you.

How do we submit slang for this? I think we should make up our own one, for the laugh.

gustavo wrote: »
    I submitted that one :D

Fair play! Still makes me laugh!! :D

In all fairness now I can only imagine the look on any of my friends faces if I said "I'm going toffin tonight" to them!

They don't actually use that do they? Surely they just made it up so they could laugh at it!! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I have heard people say they were going Toffin...

Course your friends would use it wouldn't they?? :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭il gatto

There's very few slang terms exclusive to Sligo. "Minker" would be one. The rest are in common usage elsewhere. Sligo(nian?) is more about the accent than the wording. There's a whole world of youth slang that will never stick, due to it's utter crapness. "Toffin'"? That's muppet speak for "desparate to create new slang terms".:rolleyes:

takola wrote: »
    Course your friends would use it wouldn't they?? :p

Thats right, all your mates are still going to Envy...

I don't have any friends :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭il gatto

Like Toffs is much better:rolleyes:

Stay on topic please.
    We've had enough $hite in the last two days here!

Thank you.

Gillie wrote: »
    Stay on topic please.
    We've had enough $hite in the last two days here!

Thank you.

Sorry, you're right, I should have said Da Nox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

mink or minker isnt just Sligo - ya bunch a gomie shams!

waboi!
    exp.

hello chap!

The amount of text speak on that site is truly sickening.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

il gatto wrote: »
    There's very few slang terms exclusive to Sligo. "Minker" would be one. The rest are in common usage elsewhere. Sligo(nian?) is more about the accent than the wording. There's a whole world of youth slang that will never stick, due to it's utter crapness. "Toffin'"? That's muppet speak for "desparate to create new slang terms".:rolleyes:

win.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭TheBeach

I'll ask me Mudder and Fadder to see if they have any examples!:D Liked the Xanadu's one, but always had it as beginning with Z in my head.:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭redarmyblues

Slang for Xanadus used to be Xanabuffs pronounced eggzaaaaanbuffs due to the preponderance of rural types in the early days
    It was also known as the Appliance of Science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Ye will be glad to know(?) the term "5 pinter" for a rough burd as seen in a 1000 emails and Viz was created by a Sligo man aka me!