Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Capello Confirmed

• 14-12-2007 6:14pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭

Just broken on SSN, confirmed on 4 and half year contract.

Cue England winning 2010 world cup and we are greeted with Sir Fabio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

sir fabio lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Maybe the FAI will get the finger out now and hurry up and appoint someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

dublindude wrote: »
    Maybe the FAI will get the finger out now and hurry up and appoint someone.

well now that the English FA have gone with Capello, Does that leave the door open for us to get Lippi ? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

we are kidding ourselves to think we can get lippi, we couldnt afford him for one year.

we will prob end up with someone like aldridge .........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭justfortherecor

Well Mourinho has played the game to perfection,
    Making it known that he's interested in international football, but not with the english team. Surely just highlighting his desire for the irish job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Well Mourinho has played the game to perfection,
    Making it known that he's interested in international football, but not with the english team. Surely just highlighting his desire for the irish job.

He would be useless, coming over here thinking he is the bees knees. Don't need any of that.

We need to go for an Irish canditate, someone with a bit of passion that will get the lads all fired up, forget all this tactics nonsense. We need someone like Packie Bonner or Liam Brady!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

well now that the English FA have gone with Capello, Does that leave the door open for us to get Lippi ? ;)

:D Eamon Grumpy seems to think we can attract a world class manager, I think he is kidding himself, we just won't be able to attract a big name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

i expressed a delight when mclaren took over the england job, couldnt have been happier, but capello worries me, he may actualy turn england into a winning team, that will keep me awake at night in cold sweat!!!!! nothing against england mind you, just the media

kryogen wrote: »
    i expressed a delight when mclaren took over the england job, couldnt have been happier, but capello worries me, he may actualy turn england into a winning team, that will keep me awake at night in cold sweat!!!!! nothing against england mind you, just the media

I'm now praying England win the next three world cups :D little sleep for you I hope, nothing personal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Oddly, while a shoe-in for any league title, Capello has done nothing in a knockout situation for what, 15-20 years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

excellent appointment, they gonna win something soon.

kdjac

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Kulgan

Soon?

Yea I fancy them for the carling cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Kulgan wrote: »
    Soon?

Yea I fancy them for the carling cup

dunno arsenal may play their under 11s in that, then sky sports have more reason to complain about foreigners in the game they bought and lost to more money, they getting like the sun more and more every day but with flashy grapics.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,339 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

It makes me laugh when you hear Ince, Coppell, Adams and Southgate all grumbling about the FA not appointing an Englishman as manager, but none of them seem to be able to offer a credible candidate. Probably because there are no English managers qualified to do the job properly right now. The FA got lucky in that Capello was available when they needed a manager and I've a feeling it's going to pay off big time for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I think he'll take them to at least the semi finals of the world cup (unless they get a tough draw against a great team)

I'm really interested to see what he does with the team. Normally as a football fan I've an opinion about everything, but how he's gona make this team work is really beyond me. How he makes Gerrard and Lampard and Rooney work in the same team will be an amazing achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

I think accomadating one of the under-performing midfielders 'for country just so the whiners don't start' is hard enough , but both ? They can not play together unless he comes up a 3-6-1 type formation me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

PHB wrote: »
    I think he'll take them to at least the semi finals of the world cup (unless they get a tough draw against a great team)

I'm really interested to see what he does with the team. Normally as a football fan I've an opinion about everything, but how he's gona make this team work is really beyond me. How he makes Gerrard and Lampard and Rooney work in the same team will be an amazing achievement.

I know this is a bold statement but he doesn't necessarily have to accomodate them all in the same team. With the reputation he brings as a coach and for being his own man, i wouldnt be surprised to see him upset the applecart a little.

Bentley on the right, Stevie G OR Lamps alongside Hargreaves, Joe Cole on the left. It's a balanced 4-4-2 IMO. Of course there are other personnel that can come in left and right, aaron lennon , SWP etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Unearthly wrote: »
    We need to go for an Irish canditate, someone with a bit of passion that will get the lads all fired up, forget all this tactics nonsense. We need someone like Packie Bonner or Liam Brady!!!

Packie Bonner? I concur, sure look at how well we have done any other time we appointed a former legendary player with zero managerial experience :eek::p

I dunno, Brady isnt exactly the most inspiring, imo.

ugh, the English media will be on fire at the next tournament :( Everyone seems to think they will win tournaments based on Capellos club record. Sven had great club success yet limped through each tournament and many qualifiers, then returned to club management with quite an impact. Maybe England is just a train nobody can drive too well.

I think it's madness demanding to win a competition. In international football you could have one bad game at the WC, or make 1 tactical mistake and you're dead and buried. Not like a league format where consistency is rewarded and the best team usually wins.

Even if Capello ended up in a penalty shootout he would probably lose it as the English are just crap at them, whereas if it was a team like Portugal, he'd probably win it.

I think Capello will do a good job but if 1 thing went against him and he was knocked out, he would be classed as a failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I'd imagine he'll go 4-4-2, and Lampard will probably be dropped for Hargreaves. I wouldn't be surprised if Beckham held onto his position on the right for a while yet, depending on his fitness. I can't see him getting on too well with either Ashley or Joe Cole, but time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

nipplenuts wrote: »
    Oddly, while a shoe-in for any league title, Capello has done nothing in a knockout situation for what, 15-20 years?
    Yeah, was just thinking that. He doesn't seem to be a cup specialist. Just had a glance there and hes won the CL once obviously and a couple of Italian Cups back in the early 90s.

Should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

If I was he.

Carson

Richards--Ferdinand--Terry--Cole

Phillips--Gerrard--Hargreaves--Cole

Rooney

Owen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I can't believe the level of opposition to this appointment I've heard already, and I don't even watch that much TV to be honest. So far I've heard Paul Ince, Tony Adams and some newspaper "analyst" on BBC laying into the decision for no reason other than the fact that the guy isn't English.

Sorry guys, but the "English" route has been tried. It failed miserably, remember? Thats why you'll be sat at home next summer, like us.

They'll blame anyone but the players, who are more than capable of qualification to any tournament but consistently under-achieve. Looking at Tusky's team above, I see no reason why they couldn't make the last four at least, of a major tournament. Especially with the likes of Lampard, Defoe, and special-teams player Beckham in the wings.

I hope Capello does the business and these guys eat their words.

nipplenuts wrote: »
    SofaKing wrote: »
    Yeah, was just thinking that. He doesn't seem to be a cup specialist. Just had a glance there and hes won the CL once obviously and a couple of Italian Cups back in the early 90s.

Should be interesting.

I think the more crucial aspect that is being missed out on here is how Capello will cope with a limited amount of time to see the players and get to know them and vice-versa. All of his success has been at club level, where in spite of the fact that he may have a reputation of turning things around quickly, he was still working with his players day-in, day-out. International management is a different ball game completely in that respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Can he even speak English?

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    Not very well from what I've seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Limited but he's an intelligent guy and will learn quickly
    He learned Spanish quickly when he started with Real Madrid so it's the same situation here.

Anyway, he wears glasses so he must be intelligent :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

SofaKing wrote:
    Just had a glance there and hes won the CL once obviously and a couple of Italian Cups back in the early 90s.
    Nope, no Italian cups, unless you count the Italian Supercup which is something akin to the Community Shield.
    On the trail of Capello
    By Brian Alexander

Capello does not seem to be a hit with Milan's cab drivers
    On any trip abroad when chasing a story, taxi drivers invariably play a key part in the process.

It proved to be the case again in Milan.

Like a cabbie in London, these kings of the road can be insightful and informative about local opinion.

Chat to them and you get a sense of how the land lies.

I knew that Fabio Capello had a family apartment in a suburb north-west of Milan called Legnano.

The driver who took me there loathed Capello.

How could any man of Milan dislike a coach who had won four Scudetto and the European Cup for the city? "He likes himself too much," came the reply.

The sub-plot of that animosity is that Capello has never thought twice about moving from club to club, opportunity to opportunity.

In a country where football is part of the religious and political fabric of society, loyalty (or lack of it for professional advancement) can be a tricky subject.

Especially when a top coach moves on to Roma, Juventus and Real Madrid and repeats the success story of collecting silverware.

Situated on the edge of an industrial estate, Capello lives in a modern, red-brick building set off a dusty road and behind imposing metal electronic gates.

It looked an unlikely base but my doubts were dispelled when we spotted Capello himself standing in the driveway.

"Can we do an interview?" I asked. "No," was the firm but warm response.

It was the kind of "No" that gives someone like me nowhere else to go. It was emphatic, inviting an awkward silence rather than a second attempt.

Capello had seen the Football Association hierarchy in London the day before and laid out his demands for Team Fabio to join him at Soho Square.

"Why are you here in Milan? Why aren't you in London signing your contract?" I ventured.

In broken but half-decent English, Capello insisted he was with his wife awaiting the arrival of a furniture removal lorry to arrive from Madrid, where he had recently vacated his grace and favour property he used during his reign at Real.

Various former players and colleagues talked about Capello's intelligence, his determination and his focus on getting results.

"You might find the style of play boring at times," admitted Roberto Beccantini of the respected newspaper La Stampa.

"But you will get the results. That is the Capello way."

Beccantini is as close to Capello as any journalist can be. "I have worked hard to create a bond with him for nearly 20 years," he said.

"But we are not friends. We have a professional relationship. He tells me what I need to know, but that is it."

And another freelance writer spoke about Capello as being "intimidating".

He said: "If you ask a stupid question, you do not even get an answer. In the past I have seen him bring a formal press conference before a big game to an end because he didn't like the questions. He just gets up and leaves."

And that same steely approach will be seen on the training pitch with his players. He won't be a father-figure, but the boss.

Capello gets what he wants, as has been proved with the appointment of Franco Baldini, Italo Galbiati, Massimo Neri and Franco Tancredi as his assistants.

If the cab drivers of Milan are anything to go by, we may not love Capello, but we will love what he does for England's reputation around the world.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/7145648.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

When they finally got together over coffee and biscuits, the FA's people were impressed that Capello's English was a lot better than generally thought and he explained his ideas for transforming England very well.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/thereporters/mihirbose/2007/12/post_5.html

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    I can't believe the level of opposition to this appointment I've heard already, and I don't even watch that much TV to be honest. So far I've heard Paul Ince, Tony Adams and some newspaper "analyst" on BBC laying into the decision for no reason other than the fact that the guy isn't English.

Sorry guys, but the "English" route has been tried. It failed miserably, remember? Thats why you'll be sat at home next summer, like us.

They'll blame anyone but the players, who are more than capable of qualification to any tournament but consistently under-achieve. Looking at Tusky's team above, I see no reason why they couldn't make the last four at least, of a major tournament. Especially with the likes of Lampard, Defoe, and special-teams player Beckham in the wings.

I hope Capello does the business and these guys eat their words.

I don't think it's a case of they tried the English route so can't use it again. They should just look for the best man for the job, forget about anyones nationality. If he happens to be English(which is clearly not the case here) then pick him. No point grouping people into categorys. I heard people saying they tried the foreigner route after Sven left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

The last English manager to win anything of note was McLaren in 2004, when Middlesbrough won the Carling Cup. If you exclude the League Cup, the last English manager to win anything was Joe Royle in 1995 when he won the FA Cup with Everton. McLaren's been deemed as not good enough by the English media and fans, so where were the FA supposed to find a manager? How can the English public expect their national team to win or at least challenge for major honours with an English manager when English managers can't even prosper in their own domestic league?

England have some quality players, who are more than capable of challenging for major honours. Whether Capello is the man to lead them there remains to be seen, but I definitely believe that the FA picked the best candidate for the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Unearthly wrote:
    I heard people saying they tried the foreigner route after Sven left.

hehe, at least Sven got them to a major finals and despite playing very poorly got them much further than they deserved :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Sven had one of the highest win percentages of any England manager...the games he lost just happened to be quarter-finals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Sven had one of the highest win percentages of any England manager...the games he lost just happened to be quarter-finals!

And all against Big Phil!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Does no1 else find the comments of Ince, Redknapp etc. to be blatantly racist?

DSB wrote: »

xeonophobic I would more say

So sad

Yeah. I can only imagine the hullabaloo that would be created if any manager complained about their being a black man appointed so I don't understand how they can get away with this.

No.

Good argument. Well put together. Would read again.
    A+

Good argument. Well put together. Would read again.
    A+

A right smart alec, you asked a question I gave an answer,I did not interpret the comments as racist, does not have to be a reason, is that good enough for you :rolleyes:

Well generally forums are about giving your opinions and then explaining why, hence them also being known as discussion boards, but sure whatever tickles your fancy.

OK, explain why you think the comments are blatantly racist.

Well its assuming that someone shouldn't get a job on basis of nationality isn't it? Would that be ok in any other profession?

Fair enough, however an argument has been put forward by many this week including foreigners that the England job(any international job) should go to a person from that country.It has also been argued that football is different from other professions. I really don't think the people you mentioned are in any way racist and my interpretation of their point was that English managers are just not been given the chance. That they are doing all the coaching courses etc but at the end of the day are not getting a look in for the top jobs.It is not a view I share personally although I can see their argument to a certain extent. I feel that at the moment they are just not good enough for that level. However in a few years times the likes of Paul Ince, Tony Adams, Pearce may well come through.

Em England's last manager was English, as were pretty much all the 1s before that with the exception of Eriksson and maybe 1 or 2 more that I've forgotten (I don't think there was more though?). So its clearly not that they think English managers dont get the chance. They don't want foreign managers playing the role at all.

Not saying I agree with them, quite the opposite, however it is an argument being put forward that English managers are not gettting the top jobs i.e. in the premiership and it is fashionable to have a foreign manager. I just feel that the argument is not solely on the national team, it is being argued that chairmen of medium sized clubs would rather go for a foreign manager rather than an English one. My opinion is that the mangers you named are taking this into account in their points. So back to your op I don't view the comments as racist. And the individuals in question I think you will agree are not racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its not racist as Capello is a caucasian European the last time I looked. Xenophobia and self-interest are at play. Correct use of terms is always helpful unless out to make trouble.

Mike.

mike65 wrote: »
    Xenophobia and self-interest are at play. Mike.

My own view is that self-interest is at play.

mike65 wrote: »
    Its not racist as Capello is a caucasian European the last time I looked. Xenophobia and self-interest are at play. Correct use of terms is always helpful unless out to make trouble.

Mike.

The Italians aren't a race now?

OPENROAD wrote: »
    And the individuals in question I think you will agree are not racist.

What is your basis on saying this? I don't know these people well enough to know what they are like in their every day life. I'm judging them on this 1 ridiculous bigoted action.