Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish thread on polish forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Karoma wrote: »
    With moving from country to country being so easy, and nationalism dead... there's really not that much difference. **** OFF TO ANOTHER HOME, PADDIES!!1!

Yeah, imagine being like Germans, think they're perfect and complain about everyone else. Great being with English when the Germans are around, shuts them up real fecking quick. Kraut Quatschers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Ireland hasn't always been such an exotic place to live. When I arrived from the UK 20 years ago, you could only buy bacon and cabbage, Guinness, Smithwicks and Carrolls cigarettes. That was it, so no-one here can criticise anyone else's culinary delights.

And for you porn lovers, the only top-shelf magazine available then, was Ireland's Own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Ekancone

do u know what are u talking about? or yours friends friend told u something when u were drinking ?

I dont drink, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

greatgoal wrote: »
    i would love these people to go back where they came from:mad:

Careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

What I have noticed about Polish people, they love tinned fish, bananas and dairy deserts.

Beetroot not bad but not every second day, same for pickle cabage. Some great dishes, and some not so good, same as everywhere else.

On the whole, some Polish food can be a great arse burner!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭tomster

Heh folks, please don't fight here, help me get info how many of yous would participate in the discussion on my thread before I push it further.

Karoma wrote: »
    Careful now.
    That's his opinion - I'd be looking for all opinions, not only these good ones! If he thinks this way that'd be great chance to write why. Maybe he has a reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

ned78 wrote: »
    Polish food is far from bland.

LOL those jars of polish food I've seen in Dunnes look like they were filled from the piles of puke left on Grafton street :eek:

DonJose wrote: »
    LOL those jars of polish food I've seen in Dunnes look like they were filled from the piles of puke left on Grafton street :eek:

Nice to see that we're making headway in the world of tolerance, mutual respect and understanding:rolleyes:

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Nice to see that we're making headway in the world of tolerance, mutual respect and understanding:rolleyes:

Don't tell me you never stepped over a pile similar to this on a Saturday night out in Dublin

http://picasaweb.google.com/lilboychip/LittlePoland/photo#5128832657739036258

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Can you ask them when they are going home - i too am getting sick of em, least when we emigrated we were fun, boring cnuts (and i dated 2 poles, Lithuanian, Russian) nice looking, nice but well theres something about em - oh yeah boring!

i am saving mkoney for house, i stay in pokey bedist and do sod all!

fcuk off!

empirix wrote: »
    Can you ask them when they are going home - i too am getting sick of em, least when we emigrated we were fun, boring cnuts (and i dated 2 poles, Lithuanian, Russian) nice looking, nice but well theres something about em - oh yeah boring!

fcuk off!

Thats a bit over the top, as long as they are not committing crimes they can stay as long as they want. The ones who break the law, yeah ship them home, but the rest are grand.

fcuk off!
    If your post was addressed to my you should rather ask "When YOU are going home" - I'm also boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

i have no problem with them - it was just my question, not only the poles, but most of the other blowins too, although the chinese seem to integrate i.e getting pissed and naming themselves humorous Irish/english names - fair play, Indians seem to like their licker too but i guess they know there just fcuked anyway, so what the hell, fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭seanabc

I work with Polish people regularly. I got on fine with all of the Poles I have worked with and had a chance to speak to. It's very difficult to talk to Polish people though. I was working with a Polish fella recently who'd been living here for a year and a half and he still wasn't able to put a sentence together in English.

I'm not saying I'd be able to do any better if I was living in Poland for a year and a half. Thank God I don't have to find out, I suppose.

Every Polish woman I've ever met has been beautiful, by the way. That's true of Eastern European women in general. They can come here and take ALL our jobs. I don't care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Empirix you cant blame people for wanting abetter life eg saving money and sending it home.
    I worked with irish idiots in Holland there fro 4 or 5 years and they had to wait for pay day to have apint.
    They were mad crack all right great men an example to us all managing to blow 500hundred pounds in 1997 in a weekend when a24bottles of beer was 6quid a shag was 25 a gram of coke 30 and accommadation was provided,for free.
    I have no problem with people working but pay tax ffs and work in proper conditions its 2007 not 1907.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

fcuk off!

Signs in London with "No Blacks. No Dogs No Irish" are not that long ago. Don't be deluded. Not everyone loved or loves the Irish. Not everything we exported was either popular or attractive.

DonJose wrote: »
    Don't tell me you never stepped over a pile similar to this on a Saturday night out in Dublin

http://picasaweb.google.com/lilboychip/LittlePoland/photo#5128832657739036258

Almost once, but some pizza delivery guy scraped it into a box and rode off. I think he was delivering it to your place. Chunky!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Id love to ask them how thay can live on 12 euro a week?
    How can they eat same bland food everyday?
    Why so many of them complain about ireland and still stay here?

What Poles do you personally know who live on €12 a week? I don't know any of them that do.
    Bland food? Have you tried any of it? It's different to our food sure, but I'd never call it bland.
    Ahh lots of people complain. The Irish love to complain full stop, so why begrudge the poles?
    sickpuppy wrote: »
    Why do so many of them drive without insurance?

Where are the statistics?
    Are you kidding? 90% of it consists of turnips and cabbage!

Obviously you've not tried much of it.
    Polish food tastes like the Iron Curtain.
    As I said above.
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    What's the deal with always wearing black? Black leather jackets, black jeans, black Nike runners. As bad as the feckin emos.

I think that's a wrong generalisation. I work with plenty of polish and socialise with plenty more. I can't say I've ever seen them wear black more than would be normal.
    Why do they speak polish to each other when there are non polish speaking people in their company, I think this is very ignorant !

Do you expect them to speak english 24/7? Are you that insecure? I don't think most people have a problem with them hopping back and forth between english and polish. Maybe you could learn some polish to build a bridge!
    I would like to ask them to stop taking fish from our rivers/lakes/canals , there is laws in place now that polish and other non nationals need to adhere to.

Practice catch and release!

Now that's just idiotic.
    greatgoal wrote: »
    i would love these people to go back where they came from:mad:

Why do you say that? What's the problem? Do you fear multiculturalism?

fcuk off!

Now that is a xenophobic post if I've ever seen one. They are as entitled to be here as anyone else from the EU. If you feel they aren't entertaining ou enough maybe you should make an effort to go to a houseparty, engage in some conversation with them etc.

Oh and the last part of your post just makes you look like a hick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

eo980 wrote: »
    Do you expect them to speak english 24/7? Are you that insecure? I don't think most people have a problem with them hopping back and forth between english and polish. Maybe you could learn some polish to build a bridge!

"When in Rome, do as the Romans do". If I ever went to Poland I would learn Polish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Lived in a big old house in Rathmines for years, the kind of old house typical of 80's/90's flatland. Most of my neighbours, from 2002 onwards, were Poles/Czechs/Slovakians. I personally got on great with them all, and we spent many evenings in each others flats having a few beers and a few smokes. I found them interesting to talk to, because I'd never met anyone from the former Eastern Block. I usually drank in a pub up the street, but they rarely came with me, and the reason was, according to them, was the scandalous price of drink in pubs in Ireland.

Whenever they had a party, they always invited me, and any of my irish mates they knew from spending time in my place, to join them. They laid on loads of food, some 'bland' for the want of a better word, but some seriously good Goulash, Strogonov, etc. and lashings of Vodka that was akin to scud missile fuel, fckn Dynamite :)

I found them all to be a great laugh, and genuinely interested in Ireland, and the Irish. Years later I still have a load of email contacts, and invites to visit them in their home countries. I will defo take em up on that some day.

I know for a fact some of them are/were exploited working in construction, and on more than one occasion, I witnessed some of my neighbours coming home, after slogging their arses off all day on some site, soaked to the skin, because they were not given any proper rain gear etc.

Felt sorry for them to be honest, because any of them that complained were sacked.

If I ever went to Poland I would learn Polish

If you're like most people, you would learn a few words of Polish, which is the same as what the Polish do when they come here. Irish people generally aren't good at learning other languages because, apart from the few of us who can speak Irish, we've grown up speaking only one language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Ireland hasn't always been such an exotic place to live. When I arrived from the UK 20 years ago, you could only buy bacon and cabbage, Guinness, Smithwicks and Carrolls cigarettes. That was it, so no-one here can criticise anyone else's culinary delights.

And for you porn lovers, the only top-shelf magazine available then, was Ireland's Own.

The Celtic tiger destroyed the long term memories of many people here.
    Plenty of others grew up knowing no better. A long recession would sort them out. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

since you'll all be leaving when the recession hits, can you leave the hot wimmins?

seanabc wrote: »
    If you're like most people, you would learn a few words of Polish, which is the same as what the Polish do when they come here. Irish people generally aren't good at learning other languages because, apart from the few of us who can speak Irish, we've grown up speaking only one language.

You speak Irish, delighted for you. Not bad at it myself. Polish wouldn't appreciate us all talking in Irish, probably use racist card.

As I said, "when in ........."

They want to live here they should have English and/or Irish same as the emigrating Irish had to forsake their own language to learn English so they could go to England, America etc. (Famine onwards ...) When the irish had to emigrate, and i was one of them (1986 - 1994), we had to go to an english speaking country or learn other languages. We weren't demanding that other countries translate everything into our language/s cause we were glad to get out of here so we could get a job ! :mad::mad:

So if I can do it so can they

You speak Irish, delighted for you. Not bad at it myself. Polish wouldn't appreciate us all talking in Irish, probably use racist card.

As I said, "when in ........."

I suppose I should clarify that I can't speak Irish.

My point was that most Irish people aren't very good at learning other languages. I find it easy enough to understand how hard it must be for Polish and other Eastern Europeans to learn to speak English. Unless they're planning to put down roots here it's hardly worth the effort becoming fluent for the sake of the short time they might be planning to work here.

I've been in charge of polish, slovaks, lithuains, romanians in my previous job ( i left as I couldn't keep taking blame for work improprerly done for reason stated). I didn't have a say in them being hired. They had little or no english. And made no attempt to learn any. Have you tried to communicate with people who don't speak any language you have and you don't the ones they have ? Now I know what you're going to say, I should learn theirs, but I feel they should learn mine ! And I'm not racist. I have lived and worked abroad and have friends from many nationalities, cultures, creeds and colours. We are all the same but give anyone a stick to beat you with, as in the racism card, and you can't blame them for using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,775 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Xavi6 wrote: »
    What's the deal with always wearing black? Black leather jackets, black jeans, black Nike runners. As bad as the feckin emos.
    Don't forget the camouflage combats! Is that something extending from conscription?

Why do they have such a bad taste in music? Worked with a good few polish and don't have a single bad thing to say about them EXCEPT their taste in music. Their national charts seem like a weekly edition of the eurovision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

When the irish had to emigrate, and i was one of them (1986 - 1994), we had to go to an english speaking country or learn other languages. We weren't demanding that other countries translate everything into our language/s cause we were glad to get out of here so we could get a job ! :mad::mad:

So if I can do it so can they

What country did you go to? "So if I can do it so can they" That's a child's arguement mate, don't bother trying to enter a debate spouting rubbish like that.

Also I come into contact with lots of Poles in my job and they all have decent english. In fact, I have only met 1 Pole who didn't have decent english, but she still knew enough to get her messages across. I meet dozens everyday in work so I have a fair idea of what I'm talking about too.

I think it's sad how a lot of Irish people have such fear of a multicultural Ireland and of mixing with other nationalities.

[edit]
    Why do they have such a bad taste in music? Worked with a good few polish and don't have a single bad thing to say about them EXCEPT their taste in music. Their national charts seem like a weekly edition of the eurovision.

What the hell is that? Why do Irish people have such a bad taste in music? The national charts seem like a weekly edition of a 14 year old girl's ipod playlist. Why do you have such a bad taste in music? Music is tottaly subjective, just because you don't like it doesn't mean it's bad taste in music.

Sheesh I've only read a few posts in this thread and the amount of retarded excuses for a rant is astounding.

I've been in charge of polish, slovaks, lithuains, romanians in my previous job ( i left as I couldn't keep taking blame for work improprerly done for reason stated). I didn't have a say in them being hired. They had little or no english. And made no attempt to learn any. Have you tried to communicate with people who don't speak any language you have and you don't the ones they have ? Now I know what you're going to say, I should learn theirs, but I feel they should learn mine ! And I'm not racist. I have lived and worked abroad and have friends from many nationalities, cultures, creeds and colours. We are all the same but give anyone a stick to beat you with, as in the racism card, and you can't blame them for using it.

I keep thinking you're trying to have an argument with me! You can try learning their language if you want to. I'm not going to tell you to do it. If you do try it though, you'll probably find it a difficult enough thing to do.

I know all about the language difficulties of working with eastern Europeans. Lots of sign language. In my current job I am almost the last Irish employee left, in Dublin anyway, and when the Polish get together they talk in Polish amongst themselves. As a result I get on better with the Africans because they can speak English.

There's no point getting too uptight about this. The ones who are going to stay will learn to speak English. Those who are only here for a short while will learn the few words they need to get by and leave it at that.

OctavarIan wrote: »
    What country did you go to? "So if I can do it so can they" That's a child's arguement mate, don't bother trying to enter a debate spouting rubbish like that.

Also I come into contact with lots of Poles in my job and they all have decent english. In fact, I have only met 1 Pole who didn't have decent english, but she still knew enough to get her messages across. I meet dozens everyday in work so I have a fair idea of what I'm talking about too.

I think it's sad how a lot of Irish people have such fear of a multicultural Ireland and of mixing with other nationalities.

I ain't your mate.

If they have enough english to be understood and to understan I have no problem.

I am all for multicultural as long as they respect mine too

seanabc

No I'm not trying to have an argument

The Polish speak Polish among themselves, excluding you ? Do the Polish mix with Africans ? Do the Africans speak whatever language they speak among themselves and exclude you ?

The Africans I work with come from different countries so English is a language we all have in common. I don't know if it would be different if they all came from the same country.

I don't believe that the Polish are excluding me by talking in their own language. It's just the only way they can have a conversation!

It's just the only way they can have a conversation!

They enough english to do their job but not talk to you ? Really ?

Fortunately I work in a job where talking to the public is not usually a requirement!

As for me and the Poles, we do talk to each other. It's just that the conversations can be painfully difficult to follow.

It's nice to make the effort of course but I know myself that if I was in a similar position as them and had to go to Warsaw to do a deadend job I'd be too busy saving a bit of money and thinking about going home to be bothered learning any more Polish than I had to.

In an earlier post you reckonned this is what the irish do, we're all the same ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

I find it easy enough to understand how hard it must be for Polish and other Eastern Europeans to learn to speak English. Unless they're planning to put down roots here it's hardly worth the effort becoming fluent for the sake of the short time they might be planning to work here.

As some of u already know I'm from Poland and I can't agree with u seanabc. It is much more difficult to learn polish than english language.
    There are so many songs, movies in english that I can't explain how is it possible that somebody doesn't know any single words. Maybe polish people in Ireland doesn't want to learn ? they got job with no english thanks to irish managers so they think why should I learn if I can work and live without language? I can get ntl talking with polish sales representative, I can get account in bank talking with polish person etc etc. I know few people - friends of mine that live here over 3 years !!! (since Poland joined EU ) and they can say hello, how much and thanks. - let's name the thing correctly - they are just lazy, and they don't need and don't want to speak english. All of u while reading this can say that my english is not good as well and I know about this. I do plenty of grammar mistakes etc. I have 3rd level degree, but level of my words stopped somewhere in early primary school.
    But I'm learning everyday. I came to Ireland with school english I've been learning for few years before I came here. and when I arrived I was shocked - almost all my school proper language wasn't worth anything. I had to start to learn again. In my first job as general operative in construction company about 70% of employee were from Poland. But I was always talking with Irish work mates as I wanted to learn and understand everything they said to me ( irish english is not the same as english - u know how many difficulties u have sometimes to understand somebody from different county :) ) after some time when my english was good enough I got a job in my occupation.. . it was 2,5 years ago , and some of my friends are still working in the same place and still can't speak english.

is there any other word describing them ( my friends) than lazy people ?

They had little or no english. And made no attempt to learn any. Have you tried to communicate with people who don't speak any language you have and you don't the ones they have ? Now I know what you're going to say, I should learn theirs, but I feel they should learn mine ! And I'm not racist.

u are 100% right bunny shooter. You shouldn't learn our language - It is their problem to learn english. but sometimes if u are only one who speak english it would be nice if u could know just few basic words :)
    I work in huge multinational company - there are people from Ireland, Poland, Germany, Spain, UK , people who speak hindu etc
    there are few polish people in our team - their english level is the same as mine , but all other nationalities can say hi how are u ? , hello , good bye , thanks in polish :)

about communication - have u ever met situation that u were talking with somebody from EE and that person tried to answer but his sentences had no any sence ?

U should know that there are some words, sentences that are kind of idioms and have a lot of different meanings - so if somebody from EE answer your question and u can't understand him - probably he doesn't know all the meanings

for example

"thanks in advance" - translated to polish is "dziekuje z gory"
    now translating it again from polish to english u get " thanks from mountains".

Don't forget the camouflage combats! Is that something extending from conscription?

how many polish people do u know ? can u say I know 10 polish people wearing this = all polish are wearing camouflage comabts? I'm polish , live here since 2004 and I don't know any polish wearing this.

u know only few polish and u want to say that 40.000.000 people has bad taste in music ?

btw can u tell me something about irish taste in music ? every time I switch on the radio I can hear only pop music, britney spears and other ****

I listen rock music - pink floyd, the doors, etc do I have bad taste?
    OctavarIan wrote: »

I also know plenty of polish whos english is much more advanced than mine.
    I'd love to be able to speak fluent english :( there are so many different things I'd like to tell to my irish and other countries mates and I can't do this right now.

[edit]

There's no point getting too uptight about this. The ones who are going to stay will learn to speak English. Those who are only here for a short while will learn the few words they need to get by and leave it at that.
    I don't agree with u - some of us don't want to learn language and won't learn anything. but a lot of us are learning all the time and soon our english will be good enough to have irish and polish friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I came to Ireland with school english I've been learning for few years before I came here. and when I arrived I was shocked - almost all my school proper language wasn't worth anything.
    LMAO.
    Did ye meet some bleedin' muppehs or was it Cork folk like?

I think that, outside of the more cosmopolitan areas, people have a greater wariness with regard to foreign immigrants. This probably results from the fact that the last foreigners to arrive here in huge numbers i.e. the English, ended up running the place for eight hundred years:)

Terry wrote: »
    LMAO.
    Did ye meet some bleedin' muppehs or was it Cork folk like?

no they were Dublin lads with Dublin accent
    but I'd like to say them thank u very much as thanks to them I could always understand fu.kin scumba** every time when they tried to "get in touch" with me and of course avoid danger.

teetotaller regarding your last post,

Now that's the kind of thing I'm on about. A Polish person willing to integrate into Irish society. Welcome (Failte) to my country. Hope you enjoy you're stay, as long or short as it may be.

I think that, outside of the more cosmopolitan areas, people have a greater wariness with regard to foreign immigrants. This probably results from the fact that the last foreigners to arrive here in huge numbers i.e. the English, ended up running the place for eight hundred years:)

Where do these Irish people live ? On mountains where there are no roads etc ? drivel ! Bet you're from Dublin, or as we country hicks refer to it "The Pale" :mad:

teetotaller regarding your last post,

Now that's the kind of thing I'm on about. A Polish person willing to integrate into Irish society. Welcome (Failte) to my country. Hope you enjoy you're stay, as long or short as it may be.

Dia dhuit bunny shooter, conas ata tu?

( I'm going to get mortgage next year to buy a house in Dublin, so it won't be short stay unfortunately for few of u.

Where do these Irish people live ? On mountains where there are no roads etc ? drivel ! Bet you're from Dublin, or as we country hicks refer to it "The Pale" :mad:

I'm from a lot further away than Dublin, but am currently residing amongst the wary ones.

I'm assuming from your post that you are outside one of the more cosmopolitan areas, therefore proving my point about people in those areas being wary of foreign immigrants.

I'm from a lot further away than Dublin, but am currently residing amongst the wary ones.

I'm assuming from your post that you are outside one of the more cosmopolitan areas, therefore proving my point about people in those areas being wary of foreign immigrants.

You haven't read my previous posts (notice no question mark)

looks like you've integrated there then :D

Dia dhuit bunny shooter, conas ata tu?

( I'm going to get mortgage next year to buy a house in Dublin, so it won't be short stay unfortunately for few of u.

Dia is Mhuire dhuit. Ta me go mhaith, go raibh mhaith agat (no 'fadas available ?)

Excellent ;);););)

Dia is Mhuire dhuit. Ta me go mhaith, go raibh mhaith agat (no 'fadas available ?)

Excellent;););)
    if u are ok that's ok then. don't need to thank u :P

no I can't use irish fadas as I have polish "fadas" installed

what is mhaith ? shouldn't it be maith??

if u are ok that's ok then. don't need to thank u :P

no I can't use irish fadas as I have polish "fadas" installed

what is mhaith ? shouldn't it be maith??

The extra 'h' is a grammer thing. Not 100% I'm right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Yes it should be go maith but an mhaith

As for fadas

á é í =ALT GR + letter or Ctrl + Alt + letter

is_that_so wrote: »
    Yes it should be go maith but an mhaith

As for fadas

á é í =ALT GR + letter or Ctrl + Alt + letter

Honours Irish obviously ;)

And Honours computer too ;);)