Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Match Thread - Tues Dec 18th, V IBM DSL FC, Three Rock, 22.00

• 17-12-2007 10:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

Who be there? Who won't?

All I want for Xmas is Three More Points.

Carl -

Martin -
    Darran -
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael -
    Geoff -
    Simon -
    Cathal -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav -
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules –
    Art -
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

Carl -

Martin -
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael -
    Geoff -
    Simon -
    Cathal -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav -
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules –
    Art -
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

am well looking forward to this one

Carl -

Martin -
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael -
    Geoff -
    Simon -
    Cathal -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav -
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules – hell yeh
    Art -
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

Carl -

Martin -
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon -
    Cathal -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav -
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules – hell yeh
    Art -
    Fran -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Carl - any word on that injury??

Martin -
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon -
    Cathal -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav - will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules – hell yeh
    Art -
    Fran -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Savman wrote: »
    Carl - any word on that injury??
    Yep, he says he's good to go.

Carl - Will be there

Martin -
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon -
    Cathal -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav - will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules – hell yeh
    Art -
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

Carl - Will be there

Martin -
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav - will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules – hell yeh
    Art -
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Fatmag

Carl - Will be there

Martin -
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav - will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules – hell yeh
    Art - Yep
    Fran -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Carl - Will be there

Martin - will be there
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav - will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules – hell yeh
    Art - Yep
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

yes des, i will be there, thanks for asking!! dan should be there, but i will leave him confirm that himself.

these lads beat us before 1-0, with a last minute goal. remember how sick we were after that game? that should be motivation enough to make it 4 wins on the trot. take nothing for granted, get stuck in, throw a few (fair) kick here and there and we will get the 3 points. but it wont be easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭bugs90

I'll be there to cheer ye on!

Carl - Will be there

Martin - will be there
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav - will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe - Injured
    Jules – will be there
    Art - will be there
    Fran -

GAME CHANGED

New time and venue, apparently the Three Rock pitch was dangerous and unplayable last night.

New Venue : Wesley College
    New Time: 9.30pm

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭murtagh

Carl - Will be there

Martin - will be there
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal - will be there

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav - will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe - Injured
    Jules – will be there
    Art - will be there
    Fran -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 wolfenstein

Carl - Will be there

Martin - will be there
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan - will be there
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal - will be there

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav - will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe - Injured
    Jules – will be there
    Art - will be there
    Fran -

Carl - Will be there

Martin - Injured
    Darran - will be there
    Ed - will be there
    Dan - will be there
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff - Will be there
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal - will be there

Shay - will be there
    Colm Larkin - injured
    Gav - will be there
    Sav - will be there
    Larry - will be there
    Dave - will be there
    Darragh - Unavail
    Kenny - will be there
    Lepo - will be there

Joe - Injured
    Jules – will be there
    Art - will be there
    Fran - Working

Anyone know what public transport goes near this place?

We're looking good for numbers lads, this is great

1. At this time of year
    2. With the poxy cold weather

Well done lads.

I'll be going from work around 8.50pm in Sandyford if anyone wants lifts.

I think it's a few 100 yards up the road from Dundrum Shopping Centre (the side with the Tesco garage).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

yeah its just up from dundrum SC heading to M50 (or from M50, head for dundrum ;) )

For anyone who hasnt played there:

The pitch is way in at the back. head into the college and follow the road to the right and you'll see arrive in a gravelly car park. its in behind all the dorms.

can be a very windy pitch

It's the pitch where we played in the cup last year.

Only most of the actual team didn't turn up that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

6-0 well done lads good performance all round. lovely free kick Ed.

We should have put 8 or 9 past them though in fairness, we complicated things a bit much towards the end, as Des put it.."were not f*%king Arsenal" !!

another 3 points.

First half lads? What happened to getting the ball and working it into the box for the strikers to finish? It's what they are they for, if they are ignored, they get frustrated. We should have been well more than one up at half time ffs.

Second half was better, and sticking five past them was decent. We play some lovely build up football, and I like to watch it, when the passing is that good, and the running and the finishing, it makes it pretty hard for the opposition to cope.

But then at the end of the second half the concentration went, yeah, some changes were made, but come on lads, the players coming off the bench are better than they showed, I know that, you know that. To concede would have been a disaster, and lucky enough we didn't.

I was nearly giving Karl a loan of my jacket he had that little to do, and once again, fair play to the back five for keeping a clean sheet.

The goal that stood out for me was Dan's. Why? The way he followed in on the 'keeper, the determination to get it into the net. If we keep that attitude for the rest of the season I'll be happy.

What does that result do? Well, it gives us 21 points from eleven games (7 wins, 4 losses). We are the second top scorers in the league with 30 (FWH have 34, Dunbar and SS Rovers have 24).

The two teams closest to us are SS Rovers in third spot with 22 points from ten games, and IBM in fifth spot with 13 points from ten games. We are seven points adrift of Second and First spot with both Dunbar and FWH on 28 points from eleven games. FWH Top on GD.

OK, this is now a proper winning streak of 4 games, that's nice going into the Xmas. We CANNOT AFFORD any complacency against Eddie Rockets in the first game back, they have just won two on the bounce, including a win against Dunbar, and will fancy their chances against us no doubt. We need to step up the performance going forward, stop looking for the perfect goal, and just pick the man in space, give him the ball and let him do the easy thing, instead of trying silly five yard passes, flicks and backheels.

Also, we need to concentrate for the full game.

Sure, we were cruising, it's Xmas week, blahdy blahdy blah, but there is still a job to be done. That job wasn't being done in the last ten or fifteen minutes this evening.

Let's keep these wins coming, the top two are feeling the pressure now, we need to push them as far as we can.

Have a nice Xmas lads, and I'll see you all in the New Year.

ChristmasFootball.jpg
    SNP17.jpg
    istockphoto_2401987_soccer_for_christmas.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

super win, first time we have won by 6 and also, first time we have won 4 on the trot. lets keep it going. you never know what might happen. if we were to win all our games, then, given the fact that we have made up 5 points on dunbar this week alone, there is a chance we could do this. alot of hard work to do though.

scorer in order

gav, sav, art, dan, ed, art.

4 of the goals tonight were great finishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Yes got a bit lacklustre toward the end, but IMHO you earn yourself that leeway by going 5 or 6 in front so I wouldn't be overly critical tbh.

FWIW, I think criticizing the players or performance after you've won 6-0 is OTT. We've already had our cock ups this season so I genuinely don't think complacency will set in just because we won a few games. I think any player who took part in our shambles against SS Rovers (4-3 loss) and IBM (1-0 loss) will still be hurtin' from it. Truly awful results.

We're still there or thereabouts, 4pts off 3rd, 7pts off Top. We have a lot to do, but so do all other teams and its gonna be a tight run in. I'm not convinced that SS Rovers are capable of beating the Top 2 but who knows.

Happy New Year lads. Have been meaning to get a chance to reply on this but haven't go to it till now.

That was a decent result and some of our play showed our real potential with some lovely moves and is further evidence that on our day we are a force to be reckoned with so each player should believe we can and will close this 7 point gap.

But in the cold light of day it was a 6-0 against easily the worst team we've ever played against (bar possibly Foot.ie by the sounds of it) and they had 10 men for almost the entire game and their keeper was visibly restricted in his movement due to injury. You can only beat what's put in front of you, and in the end we did that emphatically.

As I said, credit where it's due and there was no doubting our ability or attitude while it was still a contest - ball just wouldn't go in first-half but we kept fighting for it and got our just rewards in the end. That said, Des puts it well that we need to stop going for the perfect goal - midfielders' instincts need to lead them direct to the strikers a bit more instead of always looking for a lateral pass. Strikers have never had it so easy in terms of space in that game, and the number of times I screamed for the ball in 5 yards of space only to see it be passed sideways meant frustration was to be expected and warranted.

I fundamentally disagree with the view that you should look at the result and say it means we're immune from constructive criticism - I feel it's exactly the team that will let that scoreline disguise any flaws that will suffer, whereas the team that looks at how they can improve on it that will prosper. I've been on many teams that were doing reasonably ok, got a great result, thought they were world-beaters and paid for that attitude. I remember the points we squandered this season very vividly and that's what prompted me to address what I saw as a level of complacency I didn't expect in those last 20 minutes. Only regret is raising the voice as it loses listeners, but I stand over the intent - eliminate what I perceived to be complacency right there and then, not to protect a 6-0 lead, but to cut a bad habit right off at the outset. Here's some reasons I feel you should never drop your standards and should be pushing 100% with the team on the pitch at any time, regardless of the scoreline:

-we're going into tomorrow's game having played 120 minutes in 5 weeks and for 20 of those minutes there was an attitude that it wasn't being taken seriously (lads shooting in ridiculous positions, lads on the sideline wisecracking etc.). If it's 1-1 in the last 10 minutes tomorrow, not having pushed for the full game previously could have some affect - why not push the whole way to keep up good habits?

-I felt not taking it seriously undermined the lads who came on for last 20 - why not keep giving 100% to let those lads show what they can do when the team is playing in top gear? Same applies for lads coming back from injury or a few weeks' absence and are a little off the pace like Shay and myself respectively- why not keep things running at full speed till the final whistle to help them get their sharpness back?

-6-0 against those 10 men is a decent enough result, but we were good for at least hitting double digits if we played smart - why not do that and send a real message of intent to the rest of the league?

-the key to the success of this (and any team) is that players play for the benefit of the team and make a decision to pass or shoot based on whether or not a teammate is better positioned to finish. They do that because they believe their fellow team-mate will do the same for them in a similar position. If we go a few goals up and lads forget that rule and start shooting in all sorts of situations to see who can rack up the most goals, it undermines that trust and causes frustrations - why not keep playing the way that got us that lead so easily in the first place?

If you feel that sounds fussy then fair enough, but this is all constructive criticism and I've criticised myself also and remember we' have an aggressive target of winning 11 games in a row to win this league and even if the above was to only have a marginial positive effect somewhere down the line, that marginal benefit could be the difference. Maybe, maybe not, but why not keep firiing at 100% to see if it does make the difference?