Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Look what I got for xmas today from the scumbags

• 21-12-2007 3:33pm
    Subscribers Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭

Hi Lads,

Was staying over night in the <snip> and was parked in there underground car park. Went to check out this morning and got this little surprise. I really think the box of choccies was a nice touch though, sort of makes up for the 3 grand repair bill.

Happy xmas
    TCP/IP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

ouch....anything taken?
    sorry to see that man.
    happy christmas indeed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

`w**kers"

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Little bastards, I'd love to have caught them

• Registered Users Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Is the hotel responsible?

• Registered Users Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Darando

What has the hotel got to say? I assume the usual "parked at owners risk etc....)

Sorry to see that man esp at this time of year- can you get it fixed before Christmas?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Surely there's cameras around? Also i'd keep that choco box. First of all, there could be chocolates in it, secondly, good chance of finger prints. Scummers aren't really the smartest bunch.

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

TCP/IP wrote: »
    Hi Lads,

Was staying over night in the <snip> and was parked in there underground car park. Went to check out this morning and got this little surprise. I really think the box of choccies was a nice touch though, sort of makes up for the 3 grand repair bill.

Happy xmas
    TCP/IP

f%^k, is that for real? thats sucks big time. someone actually cut a hole in your convertible and left chocolates. thats a new one on me. ive never heard of anything like that before. what did the Raddisson have to say? CCTV or anything? i assume its 'cars parked at owners risk' too. thats rough.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Squiggle

Scandalous - any cctv or anything to try and catch the fcukers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Sorry to see that man. Maybe your insurance policy might cover the incident as an attempted theft if you can prove they tried to steal the car?

• Subscribers Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

Thanks Guys all for real. Guards came and took the box for prints and they are looking at CCTV but I dont hold any hope to be honest.

I to am wondering if the raddisson are any way responsible, can anybody tell me?

Oh and insurance is not worth going through as no claims bonus would be lost.

• Registered Users Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Darando

even for theft? I thought most of them only hit you when you claimed due to an accident.

It might be worth checking out insurance nevertheless. I recently claimed for theft and lost my NCB, however a different insurer offered to recognise my NCB as they sensibly didn't see a theft claim as an indicator that I was a higher risk driver.

Edit: Darando beat me to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

what exactly did they do ? i cant see too well from that pic...

either way , id hang the c****

• Registered Users Posts: 40,137 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Seems to me as it was personal, as the chocs have a strong sense of premediation. Who's legs have u been pissing on lately?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭ondafly

the baztards. Really sickening.....btw is it a boxster ?

Was on to the insurance company and they basically told me not to bother as the claims will be lost. They must have taken a blade to the car and sliced her open.

I forgot to mention my mates SL350 was beside me and they smashed one of his windows for fun as well

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,501 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Thats **** man, sorry to hear that. It does look premeditated. Is the car park a pay car park? IIRC, theres some responsibility of a carpark owner, that if you pay, they are responsible for the security and safety of all occupants (inclduing cars)
    ondafly wrote: »
    the baztards. Really sickening.....btw is it a boxster ?

Sorry for saying this, but I couldnt resist (hope you dont mind TCP/IP, mean no offence whatsoever). To me it looks like a boxster of Chocolates...

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Boggles wrote: »
    Seems to me as it was personal, as the chocs have a strong sense of premediation. Who's legs have u been pissing on lately?

Interesting angle. OP you werent in the hotel with a bit on the side while your missus thought you were at a "work do" :)

Only joking, ****ty thing to happen alright.

It was not premeditated they robbed the chocs from another car in the carpark and left them on me and my mates cars just to piss us off. Oh and it is a pay car park owned by the hotel

Here is a pic of the temp repair job I did. New roof arrives in BMW Ireland on the 27th but they can not fit it. Has to go to a specialist and he can do the car on the 8th Jan, just my look.

The cut they did was very "professional". Usually people would just slice it, as oppose to to what they did. Its kind of bizarre. Is the car park maintained by the hotel or is it an independant do you know (parkrite)

Car park is operated by the hotel as far as I know. Would that make a difference in my case

It can. If it was a 3rd party they could say that the hotel are responsible for people who enter/exit it, whilst the hotel could say the same. Hopefully if its run by the hotel (more than likely) it will save alot of hassle and run arounds. Have you spoken to the hotel about it yet? Also, the fact you were staying overnight, helps your cause alot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭cancan

That's bloody awful - whats the point of insurance if it's not worth your while to claim this...

For all those anti suv brigade on the other thread, here is another classic example of begrudgery. It's not just suv's that get hit. If someone has what i can't have, lets wreck it for em, is their way of thinking...

Was on to the insurance company and they basically told me not to bother as the claims will be lost.

I lost my NCB with Quinn Direct when I claimed for theft, cancelled the policy when the claim was settled and moved to Axa who recognised my NCB. I'm not saying it'll definitely work for you but its worth a shot. It took a lot of pissing around with letters and phonecalls in my case but I saved a lot of money.
    For all those anti suv brigade on the other thread, here is another classic example of begrudgery. It's not just suv's that get hit. If someone has what i can't have, lets wreck it for em, is their way of thinking...

This happens a lot to ****ty cars too you know... Kicked in panels, snapped off wing mirrors, smashed windows, roofs danced on etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Mac 3

Siimilar thing happened me years ago, theres no more sickening feeling. Insurance said that they'd allow a small claim on the grounds of vandalism. Got a the job done by Nolan Autocare and submitted a letter to say that it had been carried out and the insurance company paid up. It all worked out well in the end as the roof was starting to look a bit rough. i was insured with PMPA (now axa)

May those bast##rds rot in hell who ever they are.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭kikel

Here is a pic of the temp repair job I did. New roof arrives in BMW Ireland on the 27th but they can not fit it. Has to go to a specialist and he can do the car on the 8th Jan, just my look.

Sorry that someone did that to your car. Good repair job in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Cionád

cancan wrote: »
    here is another classic example of begrudgery. It's not just suv's that get hit. If someone has what i can't have, lets wreck it for em, is their way of thinking...

Some-one ripped off my 10-yr old almera badges a while back :(

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

cancan wrote: »
    Slashing the hood of a BMW convertable may well be an example of begrudgery, a dislike of SUVs is not. Commiserations to the OP. Were any valuables on view? Was anything taken?