Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Target shooting club/range list?

• 23-12-2007 7:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭

I don't see one stickied (i am sorry if i missed it!) Has anyone got a list of ranges and clubs in Leinster/Kildare? Thanks in advance gents :)

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Thank you :)

Also is anyone here a member of the City of Dublin Pistol Club? I'm thinking of making an application to join...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

zero19 wrote: »
    Also is anyone here a member of the City of Dublin Pistol Club? I'm thinking of making an application to join...

The only one I know here is Kryten. Perhaps if you PM him he'll fill you in. The club's website is www.cityofdublinpistolclub.ie but you probably already know that.

Ok thanks PM'd him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭Sikamick

zero19 wrote: »
    I don't see one stickied (i am sorry if i missed it!) Has anyone got a list of ranges and clubs in Leinster/Kildare? Thanks in advance gents :)

Dublin Target Sports Club
    Aghfarrell Target Range
    Britta's

Tallaght by pass road to Blessington
    Stop at the Blue Gardenia Pub.
    Turn Left follow the road for a mile and a half
    Stop at Murphys Quarry, the Gate on the left is the entrance to our Range.

Michael O'Connor
    Secretary to Dublin Target Sports Club

You would be more than welcome to come and see our range.

Saturday 10 O'CLOCK TO FOUR. Bow / Pistol / Rifle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Repeating Henry

Michael, I see you mentioned Bow as in archery at the DTSC Range.
    Have you any members using the long Bow?
    Do you have help and advice to get started with this sport.
    What is the current membership of the Club, and how much to
    Join for the year?

Michael, I see you mentioned Bow as in archery at the DTSC Range.
    Have you any members using the long Bow?
    Do you have help and advice to get started with this sport.
    What is the current membership of the Club, and how much to
    Join for the year?

We use Compound and Recurve Bow, the Bow section has it's own seperate area off the Pistol/Rifle Range. We do have members that specialise in the Bow and they would be only to glad to help.

The pistol and Rifle share the same section of the Range at the moment and are used a different times.

We are in the process of setting up a seperate Range for Rifle.

We have 116 members, our Range is fully Authorized by the Garda.

Fees are 100 euro join up, 200 euro Membership per year, and if you dont have your own insurance it is 55 euro.

If you wish to contact me please e-mail me.

Regards

Michael O'Connor
    Secretary to Dublin Target Sports Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Anyone know of a range that can test the capabillity of 223s+?
    Most of theese ranges wont accomadate for centrefires, looking for somwhere with a long range

Anyone know of a range that can test the capabillity of 223s+?
    Most of theese ranges wont accomadate for centrefires, looking for somwhere with a long range
    Midlands in Tullamore. Have up to 600 yards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Repeating Henry

Question. (1) Do you need to get a license for a bow.
    (2) Can you hunt Deer legally with a bow of the correct power just
    like using the correct rifle caliber anything above 22-250.

(2) Can a stalking license to use 44 mag in a carbine
    be applied for as a short range woods rifle or will anything
    above 270 cal get restricted.

Question. (1) Do you need to get a license for a bow.
    (2) Can you hunt Deer legally with a bow of the correct power just
    like using the correct rifle caliber anything above 22-250.

(2) Can a stalking license to use 44 mag in a carbine
    be applied for as a short range woods rifle or will anything
    above 270 cal get restricted.

Reply to Repeating Henry

No a licence is not required for target bow.
    No you cannot use a bow for deer stalking.
    In relation to cross bow I am sure you need a license to have one and I am sure that they cannot be used for deer stalking.

One of the problems I see with people that are using Boards.ie is the amount of misinformation and scare mongering.

If you want to get the facts on firearms law contact the firearms legal section in the Department of Justice and if you want to get information on the wildlife acts and calibres that can be used for deer stalking contact Duchas wildlife Section, deer licensing.

Example as quoted by Duchas following a conversation I had yesterday with the regional Manager, question? is .270 calibre is going to be the maximum calibre for deer.

I have checked this with Duchas regional Manager, and he told me that there is no restriction on any calibres above 22.250. If a Superintendent will give a firearms license for any calibre above 22.250 then Duchas will issue a deer-hunting license if it will allow humane despatch.

Also if you going to join a rifle/pistol club, make sure before you pay any fees that they have a full range "authorization" and ask to see the document to prove it.

I hope that this is of some help to you.

Michael O’Connor
    Secretary to Dublin Target Sports Club.

Mick

It wouldn't be any harm to add the details of your club to the boards Wiki. You can follow Conor's link and add stuff to your hearts content. :D

The more people and clubs that do this, the better the resource will be for prospective members.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

rrpc wrote: »
    It wouldn't be any harm to add the details of your club to the boards Wiki. You can follow Conor's link and add stuff to your hearts content. :D

Already done!
    rrpc wrote: »
    The more people and clubs that do this, the better the resource will be for prospective members.

Seconded. If people don't want to set up a wiki account or couldn't be arsed learning how to edit the wiki (it's easy, but you mightn't feel like it) feel free to PM me any material on your club that you have to hand and I'll add it in for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 dGeneral

Also if you going to join a rifle/pistol club, make sure before you pay any fees that they have a full range "authorization" and ask to see the document to prove it.

I hope that this is of some help to you.

Michael O’Connor
    Secretary to Dublin Target Sports Club.[/quote]

Mick
    My understanding is that there is no rifle/pistol clubs "authorised in the Republic of Ireland", as I applied for a pistol licence and told by the Superintendent that i have to be a member of an authorised rifle/pistol club. :confused: When i asked him as to what club was authorised he told me "none" have been authorised. :eek: (Snookered or was I) :confused: I checked a lot of clubs and true to his word, they were not authorised but in the process. So I looked at the law...........................for that 3 cushion escape "and bingo"......The new amendment states that you have to be a member of a rifle/pistol club to get a licence, but according to the Dept of Justice, that amendment is not passed and not in force yet. :) Law and behold........i dont need to be a member of any club.....:D........After pointing out to the Super, that the law he was using, had not been passed by the Senate and that I was prepared to point the same fact out to the courts, if he wanted to go down that road. "WAHLAA" I recieved my licence. So now I have the choice to test all the clubs shooting facilities with my own firearm before I join any of them.
    Look forward to a visit of your club Mick..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭newby.204

letter of the law maybe you dont have to be a member of a club, however your super doesnt have to give you a licence now does he?

Newby
    Its in the Constitution that citizens have the rite to bear firearm/s and the law is to stop the likes of criminals "legally" bearing firearm/s. Ammendments are put in place to make it that bit harder and the Senate has to pass the Ammendments before they are Law. So if you've no criminal history and are fully complience with the up to date Firearms Act, you can apply for a firearm. The Superintendent's job is to up-hold the law not to make a law and if not happy with his decision, you have the rite to apply to the court and have a judge decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

WTF?

The post above is best disregarded by anyone interest in act rather than fantasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

dGeneral wrote: »
    sikamick wrote:
    Mick
    My understanding is that there is no rifle/pistol clubs "authorised in the Republic of Ireland"
    Technically, this is incorrect because it's a confused statement of something that is correct. Because the section of the firearms act brought in by the criminal justice act that lets a range be licenced has not yet been enacted (it will be section 4A), you can't get a range licence in Ireland right now so there are no licenced ranges. However, there are dozens if not hundreds of Authorised clubs, because an authorisation is not a licence, it is something else, and has been on the books since the '64 act, IIRC.
    So there are several Authorised clubs, no Licenced clubs (as the legal framework to grant the licence isn't in place yet), and there are also a number of clubs which have passed a garda inspection (which itself has no legal weight, but which is intended to be a forerunner to the upcoming Range Licence system).
    Law and behold........i dont need to be a member of any club
    Actually, you do. Dunne v donohue led to the situation in law that now exists, which is that a superintendent can attach virtually any precondition he likes to your licence without difficulty. If he says you must be in a club, you'll find it's a lot cheaper to join a club - challanging it in the High court might well work - this year only, by next year it'll be law - but you're looking at a lot of dosh, the kind that makes the 'reasonably priced club' thread seem like arguing over pennies while paying your morgage :D
    In other words, you got very, very, very lucky and I wouldn't push it with your super again for a long, long time :D

dGeneral wrote: »
    Newby
    Its in the Constitution that citizens have the rite to bear firearm/s and the law is to stop the likes of criminals "legally" bearing firearm/s.
    Good grief.
    No, not in this country it's not. Never has been, never will be, and we're better off without it.
    Your constitutional rights are in section 42. Read the book...

(what you do have is a right to apply for a licence, which isn't the same thing...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 MEAGLE.B

As the President of the Inner City Pistol Shooting Club, I agree with General. 21 of our 88 members came accross the same problem with Superintendents making up their own rules for refusing a pistol license, most hold some sort of firearm license(shotgun/rifle), only to be threatened with court action for them to issue the license.It is correct to say that there is no Authorised/Licensed Pistol clubs in Ireland, not one, that have been authorised or licensed by the Gardai, our club is in court proceedings to get such a license. Futhermore, "it is our Constitutional right", as the Irish Constitution is somewhat a copy of the American Constitution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jaycee

He can't have checked a lot of ranges then .

1: I can think of some with authorisation from their Superintendents .
    They regularly produce a copy of it for any member who has a need to see it.

2. The right to keep and bear arms , was never in our constitution.

Please Guys / Gals .. don't help spread disinformation .

Hard to know where to start really, Ye fellas ever actually seen a copy of said document?

http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/attached_files/html%20files/Constitution%20of%20Ireland%20(Eng).htm

See for yerselves, no right to bear arms no place.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

MEAGLE.B wrote: »
    As the President of the Inner City Pistol Shooting Club, I agree with General. 21 of our 88 members came accross the same problem with Superintendents making up their own rules for refusing a pistol license, most hold some sort of firearm license(shotgun/rifle), only to be threatened with court action for them to issue the license.It is correct to say that there is no Authorised/Licensed Pistol clubs in Ireland, not one, that have been authorised or licensed by the Gardai, our club is in court proceedings to get such a license. Futhermore, "it is our Constitutional right", as the Irish Constitution is somewhat a copy of the American Constitution.
    Irelands constitution is nothing like the US's. We have no first or fifth amendment.

Secondly, could you please identify yourself to me by PM? Can anyone confirm the existance of this Inner City Pistol Shooting Club? Do you have a website? I live in the inner city myself, can I come and visit?

DeV.

It is correct to say that there is no Authorised/Licensed Pistol clubs in Ireland, not one, that have been authorised or licensed by the Gardai,

Yes there are. I'm a member of one and holding a copy of the authorisation as I type.

Section 2(4)(d)
    (d) the possession, use or carriage of a firearm or ammunition during a competition or target practice at a club, shooting range or any other place that stands authorised under this section or section 4A of this Act.

Section 4A hasn't been commenced yet, but 2(4)(d) has been on the statute books since 1964.

The bit I quoted there was amended in 2006 to add the 4A reference.

DeVore wrote: »
    Secondly, could you please identify yourself to me by PM? Can anyone confirm the existance of this Inner City Pistol Shooting Club? Do you have a website? I live in the inner city myself, can I come and visit?

There's the 'City of Dublin Pistol Club', but I've never it being referred to as the Inner City... One of their members posts here, so perhaps he can confirm if there's any connection or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 MEAGLE.B

DeVore...
    Yes we are still accepting members and all inner city as well as surrounding area's are welcome. We are a pistol only shooting club with a 3 lane indoor gallery with a tea/coffee area. Admission is on a pistol only licence and by appointment only basis.We are currently in court proceedings for the issue of a Licence Certificate. Ballistics/Crime Prevention/Inspectors were happy with our premises but the hold up is the Superintendent.Send me a PM with a contact phone no and i'll be happy to show u around.

As the President of the Inner City Pistol Shooting Club
    I'd imagine the City of Dublin Pistol Club's President would know the name of his/her own club...
    I agree with General. 21 of our 88 members came accross the same problem with Superintendents making up their own rules for refusing a pistol license
    As is their legal right.
    It is correct to say that there is no Authorised/Licensed Pistol clubs in Ireland, not one, that have been authorised or licensed by the Gardai
    Wilkinstown (of which I'm the vice-chair), is authorised by the Gardai and has been inspected and passed by the Gardai. It has no range licence, because a range licence is granted under section 4A of the Firearms Act and that's not yet been enacted so noone can have one - but as rrpc correctly highlights, 2(4)(d) has been on the books since '64.
    Futhermore, "it is our Constitutional right", as the Irish Constitution is somewhat a copy of the American Constitution.
    In the same way that your ulnar collateral is somewhat a copy of your clunium...

DeVore...
    Yes we are still accepting members and all inner city as well as surrounding area's are welcome. We are a pistol only shooting club with a 3 lane indoor gallery with a tea/coffee area. Admission is on a pistol only licence and by appointment only basis.We are currently in court proceedings for the issue of a Licence Certificate. Ballistics/Crime Prevention/Inspectors were happy with our premises but the hold up is the Superintendent.Send me a PM with a contact phone no and i'll be happy to show u around.

I wud be interested in the club are u based in Dublin City or other........

Call me cynical here, but the words "wind" and "up" are to the forefront of my mind at present.

No-one's that stupid, are they?