Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheapest 280bhp+ car out there

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

bo-bo wrote: »
    im not sure what your budget is or what exactly your use of the car will be but might i be so bold as to suggest an older mitsi evo?

my brother has an evo 4 at the moment and its savage - i was thinking of buying it off him to use as a track car.

tuning parts are readily available, as are spares and there are heaps of garages tuning them for reasonable costs.

they might not have massive bhp (about 230?) but their power to weight ratio is good and acceleration is awsome.

best of luck with whatever you choose.

No, they're around the 270bhp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Healyc

• Registered Users Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

+1 on the S4 before John Gormally beats us all to it..........

I'm thinking of doing what you're doing, and am now selling my 968. 250bhp, manual, 4 seats, 156mph, 0-60 in 6.5 (I think........). But it's not cheap.

Time to do the Big Mad Thing before it's too late - it's not the petrol - it's the arseholes in Leinster House you need to beat.........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Or how about an RS2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Have arranged to view a 300zx over the weekend.

Was interested to see it was very recently featured on Top Gear!

http://youtube.com/watch?v=sNta7RQVFyY

@unkle: could you change the title of the thread from 250 to 280.. thanks :D

• Registered Users Posts: 65,401 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

JHMEG wrote: »
    @unkle: could you change the title of the thread from 250 to 280.. thanks :D

Done!

JHMEG wrote: »
    Have arranged to view a 300zx over the weekend.

Was interested to see it was very recently featured on Top Gear!

http://youtube.com/watch?v=sNta7RQVFyY

I like the looks of the 300 ZX. But I feel there's something dodgy in that Top Gear clip. The 350z should have won. It has less slightly less torque but is slightly more powerful. But at 1620KG, the fat 300 ZX TT weighs nearly as much as my lardy BMW 7-series V8

Kersh had a ZX TT for ages (maybe he even had two at the same time at some point). PM him for tips!

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

Something to consider would be a Fiat Coupe, 2.0 20v Turbo, 220 BHP.
    Less than what you stated, but its something different, not many around, and they look pretty cool, and are pretty cheap on eBay too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

unkel wrote: »
    I like the looks of the 300 ZX. But I feel there's something dodgy in that Top Gear clip. The 350z should have won. It has less slightly less torque but is slightly more powerful. But at 1620KG, the fat 300 ZX TT weighs nearly as much as my lardy BMW 7-series V8

Kersh had a ZX TT for ages (maybe he even had two at the same time at some point). PM him for tips!
    yea kersh had 2, he also had a GTO so he's the man to ask.

steve06 wrote: »
    yea kersh had 2, he also had a GTO so he's the man to ask.
    He must've liked them if he had 2!

@Unkel, ya the 300zx is fairly fat alright, and so is the GTO. Apparently the internals of the 300zx engine are good for 600bhp without any modifications tho, which should offset the weight a bit..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭(CH3)2CHOH

Try something like this.

http://www.cbg.ie/Cardetail.aspx?CBGID=815675&ID=1629360&NumPics=1&Make=Subaru&Model=Legacy%20B4&frmFilter=

You can pick them up cheaper and they can easily be taken upto 300bhp.

Practical and reliable.

And good in the snow......:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭opeldave

peasant wrote: »
    Here's why you want that turbo:

80 km/h to 170-180 km/h in how many seconds ? :D:D:D

And all in the one gear.

They calls it torque:D ...the one thing no (petrol) beemer ever had (except for the V8's)

There IS a world outside Munich, you know ...

@JHMEG ...sorry for going off topic ...but this constant BMW worshipping makes me narky :D
    Im ashamed to be driving a bmw when there are eejits like e92 & his type posting crap about bhp-bhp-bhp.

I drive a e46 m3 & to be honest its definitly no faster in gear acceleration between that & my old saab 9000 2.3Full pressure turbo.Fair enough the handling in the m3 is obviously more focused but for everyday driving Id take the Saab!Attracts far less skanger attention & its very sublte
    Performance motorings best kept secret & 400bhp with bolt on parts( available without opening the engine).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭(CH3)2CHOH

• Registered Users Posts: 51,240 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I remember reading an article many years ago about the GTO where they said the only disappointment with the car was that it was packed with technology that took some of the pleasure away from the driver.

Would definately need to drive both the 300ZX and GTO to compare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

Did nobody notice that that Saab was not a stock car? It went 1000 rpm into the red zone, cars don't do that if they've been unmodified.

JHMEG wanted a car with 280 bhp or more, not 230 bhp the Saab has.

The OP didn't ask about torque, if you want torque buy a diesel. So don't go telling me about "talking bhp crap"

E92 wrote: »
    Did nobody notice that that Saab was not a stock car? It went 1000 rpm into the red zone, cars don't do that if they've been unmodified.

JHMEG wanted a car with 280 bhp or more, not 230 bhp the Saab has.

The OP didn't ask about torque, if you want torque buy a diesel. So don't go telling me about "talking bhp crap"

he asked for a car with 250/280bhp or more & not a debate on how bmw managed 192bhp from a 2.5 NA in 1991 ya know.& they are faster than other cars with similar/higher bhp figures so they are still kinda revelant

opeldave wrote: »
    he asked for a car with 250/280bhp or more & not a debate on how bmw managed 192bhp from a 2.5 NA in 1991 ya know.& they are faster than other cars with similar/higher bhp figures so they are still kinda revelant

I realise that but if you read my post you will see that this was in response to a post by mick.fr(about the fact that NA BMW's had the same power as turboed models from rival cars of the time), and not for a second did I suggest that the OP should go for a 325i which had 192 bhp in E36 guise.

ok fair point & it might have had 192 bhp but not a very healthy torque curve
    & Bmw even adressed this themselves by introducing VANOS a couple of years later in 93/94ish?

Not necessarily... there are a few unmodified cars that I've been in that the limiter is set higher than the bottom of the red line. From what I can remember, a civic vti goes about 600rpm into the red line before the limiter kicks in.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Biro wrote: »
    Not necessarily... there are a few unmodified cars that I've been in that the limiter is set higher than the bottom of the red line. From what I can remember, a civic vti goes about 600rpm into the red line before the limiter kicks in.

my integra type r does the same.

the best you can do is shortlist a few cars and test drive them which jhmeg has done so just lets us know how the test drives go

Drove down the country today to view a '92 300ZX as arranged. Nearly didn't go as the weather was so bad but by the time I got there it had stopped raining, tho the road was still wet.

Well holy fook, what an experience! The owner said the lad he bought it off said it was 400bhp but he admitted that he had no proof. But the driving experience was like this: into gear, let off the clutch, a small bit of accelerator, gently accelerating, boost building... full boost.. back wheels start spinning and back of the car is kicking from side to side.. followed by phwoosh sounds from the dump valves as I have to take my foot off the accelerator to get the car back under control! It spun the wheels in every gear, no matter the speed. I say every gear, I never got into 5th as I couldn't control the power to get it to bloody well go that fast without breaking traction and fish tailiing! And I was driving with an extremely light right foot.

So.. I dunno if all 300ZXs are like that, but I would need training to be able to keep it under control in the wet. It scared the bejaysus out of me.

Up to now the most powerfil RWD cars I've driven a fair bit are the LS400, 535 and S320. All very civilised, and none with turbochargers.

Need to drive another one, maybe one that the owner claims is 280bhp! May also be forced to look at the GTO for its 4WD safety.

PS. My Civic VTI redline is at 8k, rev limiter at 8.5k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭KidCapree

either way they will absolutely flaah u with car tax. How much is it yearly for an engine that big?

Not concerned about how much 6 months road tax will cost.. this is a last gasp effort while petrol is still affordable..

KidCapree wrote: »
    either way they will absolutely flaah u with car tax. How much is it yearly for an engine that big?

€1,291(assuming the 300ZX is between 2901 and 3000 cc).

@Unkel: Another Top Gear vid, this time with *all* the Z cars up against each other including the 300ZX and the 350Z.

Dodgy, I'm telling ya! They all seemed to start at different times too :rolleyes:

A new 350Z goes to 100km/h in 5 point something seconds. A 70s 260Z (the one that had a close call finish with the 350Z in the clip) is slower than a current Nissan Qashqai diesel. Say no more...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Are you sure you're ready for a big bhp rwd car? I came from a fast fwd background to fast rwd and it took a while to get into the swing of things.

My advice is this, buy an r32 gtst skyline with the 2L turbo rb20 engine. A standard one will have 230ish bhp and is perfect to start off driving a rwd turbo car. They are easy on juice and cheaper to tax than a 300zx. Theyre also cheap out to buy even for a very clean standard one and less than 1500 spent will have her up to 270odd bhp which is more than enough and still keep her super reliable and good on juice.

Stay well away from a gto theyre pure muck.

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭monster1

ford escort cosworth, sierra cosworth??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Personally for 280+ BHP I'd recommend a Supra.
    With a Skyline in second place.

Seeing as your budget won't stretch to a Supra what about
    a Turbo MR2?
    Here's a 240BHP one.
    They usually sell for €3000 - €4,000 + VRT.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1994-TOYOTA-MR2-2-0-GT-TURBO-REV3-RECENT-IMPORT_W0QQitemZ230208025025QQihZ013QQcategoryZ18290QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

unkel wrote: »
    A new 350Z goes to 100km/h in 5 point something seconds.
    From what I've read the 300ZX sits squat on its rear wheels by design (it has 4ws) in an effort to minimise wheelspin at launch. 0-60 times therefore are apparently not truly reflective of the car's performance.

@cpoh1, no I'm not sure about seriously powerful rwd -- I had great difficulty in handling that 300zx yesterday! Normally I'm quite confident and I'd say I'm a bit of an expert in controlling my little 1.6 dohc vtec in deliberate slides etc, but by jaysus the 300zx is a different beast.

Good advice there re the Skyline. Maybe I should start with something that isn't going to bite my hand off -- hence I was thinking 4WD rather than limiting the power.

@Armin, personally an NSX, R34 GTR, Supra and RX-7 are what I'd like, but don't seem to be within budget (well maybe just about a tatty RX-7). Re the MR2 I need back seats.