Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where did you meet your other half?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Lady Lainy

met my man through a party for a forum i used to be a member of before the site went down hill LMAO. We had never spoken even on the site. It was pure fluke we met. cos i never really go to those forum parties cos travelling up from cork to dublin is pain in the ass. But it was like wow, he walked into the room and i was hooked on him. i came up with every excuse i could think of to talk to him that night. I thought i was a complete failure. like i ended up getting his number. but i assumed it was a in a friends way. but we text and talk for a few weeks before we met up again. and sparks just inruppted. and we have inseperateable ever since. even if he does live in wicklow and me in cork. we talk non stop, text, talking online, on the phone and see each other as much as we can.
    Going strong 5 months and we're still going strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

T'internet, that was 5 years ago now. Married in '04.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

He was at the right place at the right time :D lucky guy :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 paul_ire57

I met my ex on Dublin Bus!

She was spanish, working as an au pair here for a few months in the summer and her friend and herself were heading into town. It was exact fare and the friend didnt have any coins, so she went around the bus asking everyone, but no one had any change. I didnt either, as it was back in the student days but i had bus fare home, so gave it to her and told her i could get the change back from her in town when we got there so i cud get a bus home that night. wasnt thinking that they might have gotten off before that, but anyway they were looking for a place to go drinking and they didnt know oconnell street, so once we got into town i invited them along to go drinking with me and it went from there. together over 7 years, she moved over here after a year and a half before she eventually went back to Spain.

ahh how we should have flogged dublin bus as a place to meet people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

We met each other in the first week of college and gradually, over the next year or so, he became one of my best friends. After a while people started asking if we were going out because we did everything together. We always thought it was hilarious and played it up a bit, just jokingly.

Then a gang of us all went out for my birthday one night and someone asked again if we were going out. We both reached for the other's hand and made a joke about it - but then we didn't let go and kept holding hands under the table. When the other people left, the following conversation ensued:

Me: So... we're still holding hands...
    Him: Yup. We are.
    Me: It's not weird though.
    Him: No, it really isn't. It's actually kinda cool...
    Me: Yup...

And then we kissed. It's our 5 year anniversary in two weeks time and he's still my best friend in the world and I love him more than anything. I never fully appreciated just how great a person he is until we started going out but sometimes now I just look at him and I'm like 'Wow. How did I get so lucky?'. And when I say it to him, he always says 'No way, I'm the lucky one', which has to be the best answer in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

In a bakery on the morning of the first exam of my finals - he was buying croissants! He's been my lovebun for the last 6 years :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 angelicious

I met my boyfriend through a mutual friend, at a drag queen event! Bless him, he was the only straight man there....

The mutual friend was a contestant and in an effort to boost his votes, bf offered to escort him on stage for the swimsuit event in teeny tiny short shorts!! He's not bit shy and works out like a mofo so has a bod most men would kill for. Lucky me! :D:D

The friend didn't win but we had a great night all the same - some serious drinking was done afterwards! Bf walked me to a taxi but didn't try anything, a perfect gent he was. He spent the next 3 months asking me out, eventually I agreed and we haven't looked back since!! We're fast approaching our 1 year anniversary and we have a holiday of a lifetime booked for August. Life is very, very sweet indeed..... :)

Stargal, your hook-up is ADORABLE!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

These stories are lovely, making me smile! :)

I met my SO at work. We sort of danced around each other for a few months and then we kissed at the company bbq! We're together nearly two years now and moved in together 6 months ago and things are going really well (touch wood!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭SW81

paul_ire57 wrote: »
    I met my ex on Dublin Bus!

She was spanish, working as an au pair here for a few months in the summer and her friend and herself were heading into town. It was exact fare and the friend didnt have any coins, so she went around the bus asking everyone, but no one had any change. I didnt either, as it was back in the student days but i had bus fare home, so gave it to her and told her i could get the change back from her in town when we got there so i cud get a bus home that night. wasnt thinking that they might have gotten off before that, but anyway they were looking for a place to go drinking and they didnt know oconnell street, so once we got into town i invited them along to go drinking with me and it went from there. together over 7 years, she moved over here after a year and a half before she eventually went back to Spain.

ahh how we should have flogged dublin bus as a place to meet people :D

Ah that's a nice story :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭ThatGal

All those stories are so sweet!

I met mine in Barcode (cringe!) two years ago. He was wearing a Beatles tshirt and I just walked right up to him, slaped my hand on his chest and said 'oh my god, do you like The Bealtes? I LOVE The Beatles!' and we've been inseparable ever since!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭angelsfire

I met my husbad of 6 years in a yahoo chat room! We chatted for about a year and I came over to meet him, went back home for a month to sort out my affairs and have been here ever since! Ireland that is! I am from the States!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Grinderman

Hi All

I just wanted to ask how do people meet in recent years, it seems to be getting more difficult by the day. I have always felt that a lot of people meet through friends that they already know, am i right?.
    I am not into the getting drunk scene, or the internet/speed dating as it seems like a waste of time/money.
    Anyone got any ideas/stories to share.
    Garry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Boards.ie :D

I hear internet dating is the way to go now, no recommendations from me though! Most of my friends who are spoken for met their other halves at work. Best advertisement for getting a job I've ever seen....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

ellscurr wrote: »
    Boards.ie :D
    You may laugh, but I met my gf at a Boards Beers :)

A BGRH one at that.

So there you go, lots of cool guys and girls out for a laugh.

Come on out to the joint LL/BGRH Beers in late March/early April, you never know your luck.

This was, I believe, my first post in the LL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭Barlow07

Grinderman wrote: »
    I am not into the getting drunk scene, or the internet/speed dating as it seems like a waste of time/money.
    Anyone got any ideas/stories to share.
    Garry

It is hard to meet new people and particular if your looking for a relationship boy/girl. Myself and my friends always get to drunk which i would say is a big turn off. If you dont the like getting drunk, then my advice would be not to drink at all, stay sober and you never know ( i;ll follow my advice one day :) )

I'd be interested in going to one of the boards night for the craic...

Barlow07 wrote: »
    I'd be interested in going to one of the boards night for the craic...
    Do, they are great fun.

The BGRH ones aren't an intimidating, since we are a small enough group (although the last one was a leetle beet craaaazeee:D)

There's a sticky in this forum, the next night out is a joint BGRH/LL at the end of March. Lots of cool, fun loving boys and girls, just out for a laugh. There are pictures in a thread on BGRH of the last one. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Grinderman

Just joined during the week, so i didnt know about the board nights (still don't but i will search)
    The fact that i work from home in cork for a uk company doesnt help, i just keep hoping they will change the postman to a postwoman, and i will have my wicked way.
    Anyhow im off to watch the late late show (maybe thats part of my problem)
    Garry

DesF wrote: »
    Do, they are great fun.

The BGRH ones aren't an intimidating, since we are a small enough group (although the last one was a leetle beet craaaazeee:D)

Care to explain this :)?. Just curious, how would you introduce yourself or go about it? If i was standing there and someone happened to walk over, id find about that bit strange.

Does everyone walk around with a name badge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭missmatty

Sounds good! I'm a little bit old for all the usual craic, and I've been meaning to go to a Boards beers alright. I 'm not really looking for a relaitonship but it would be a nice turn up for the books! I'm actually meeting people from another forum tomorrow night, but it's all girls :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

You may laugh, but I met my gf at a Boards Beers :)

A BGRH one at that.

So there you go, lots of cool guys and girls out for a laugh.

Come on out to the joint LL/BGRH Beers in late March/early April, you never know your luck.

This was, I believe, my first post in the LL

Maybe that was more 'knowing smile' and less 'laugh' DesF :D:D:D

There are pictures in a thread on BGRH of the last one. :)

Des could post the link to this thread?

I am doing, I'm doing a fairly long reply to some other posts, my net connection is playing up a bit though.

Just a minute or two....:)

I am doing, I'm doing a fairly long reply to some other posts, my net connection is playing up a bit though.

Just a minute or two....:)

Take your time, I'm sure its going to be worth the wait ;). I had a quick look around myself and came back with zero.

Just joined during the week, so i didnt know about the board nights (still don't but i will search)
    Oh I wouldn't let that stop you. There's no "rule" to say you have to be posting a year, a month, two years blah blah before you can go out with us
    The fact that i work from home in cork for a uk company doesnt help,
    No, it doesn't, most of the Boards-wide nights out tend to be Dublin-centred. It's just that the majority of posters are in Dublin. Plus, us Dubs don't like culchies that much, so we try to make it harder for them to attend.

I kid, I kid

Check out the Cork Forum I think they organise semi-regular meet-ups, maybe.
    i just keep hoping they will change the postman to a postwoman, and i will have my wicked way.
    Or do this. I wouldn't be holding my breath though.:)
    Anyhow im off to watch the late late show (maybe thats part of my problem)
    Garry
    Yes, Pat Kenny would make anyone question their existence.
    Care to explain this :)?.
    Yep :)

BGRH is the Beer Guts and Receding Hairlines forum. Just a load of really, really sound lads and lasses who meet up on a fairly regular basis for beers and laughs. Come on over for a visit.
    Just curious, how would you introduce yourself or go about it? If i was standing there and someone happened to walk over, id find about that bit strange. Does everyone walk around with a name badge?
    Fear not, for we have devised a cunning plan to recognise each other:D

We all bring cans of Carnation Condensed Milk, and leave them on the tables.

Oh-ho, you don't believe me?

Here, look at this

2269970310_95190f11a5.jpg

Here's a link to the thread about the beers. It's a fairly long thread now, but it gives a flavour of the planning and then the fallout of these nights out. :D

The first post in that thread mentions the Condensed Milk too :D

There are photos starting from about page 16 of it, or thereabouts.

It's a different venue each time. So far we've been to The Longstone, Messrs Maguire and most recently The Czech Inn.

Now, to make this a bit more on-topic-y (the LL mods frighten me :eek:), we had our first meet up back in the middle of November, then another one on the Friday between Xmas and NYE, then another one last Friday. There's already another being planned for March 7th, as you can see, we like our beers and every one is so nice, we just can't stop meeting up. It's a monthly thing at this stage. There are new people every time too, so that's good :)

Anyway, I met my gf at the beers in November, and we finally hooked up at the Xmas ones :D
    ellscurr wrote: »
    Maybe that was more 'knowing smile' and less 'laugh' DesF :D:D:D
    Heh, you met someone too then?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Woooooooooooo :D

Some very nice stories here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

Jeapy wrote: »
    My brothers best friend! :D

My best friends brother! When I was 15 and he was 18. Now we're 28 and 31 (yes - 13 yrs!!) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I met my Fiance (Yep, its still a novelty for me to say that:p) in college, back in September 2002.
    We were friends for a while before we officially got together, well, we were friends who shared kisses and and a whole lot of flirting..... :o
    We'll be together, officially, 4 years in April, and we plan to Marry next year!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

I meet my BF at a boards beers - hello *waves at OH*:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

I met my OH in a bar in Brisbane. I was drunk, he was drunk. He was playing with the band. I looked at him. He looked at me. I went up and talked to him. He said he never would have approached me (too shy)

Nearly 2 years and 2 moves from continent to continent, we're still together :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

azezil wrote: »
    I'm not sure I agree with this whole drinks on the first date thing, it makes one loose one's inhibitions and I've always found that we end up going back to my place for lots of sex all night long...

Anywho...

I prefer to get the sex out of the way at the start...it's a good icebreaker. :D

In all seriousness, dates have included the zoo, bowling, wandering town taking photo's ( at the time i wasn't actually into Photography, what a fool i was! ) dinners, drinks, caving, hill walking, gym ( long story ), cinema ( that was a totally random thing , wanted to see a film but no one else did so went alone, met a lass who also went alone so we made a date of it and had great fun ), the Luas ( another odd one, girl dropped her bag on the Luas one morning and i helped her pick up her stuff, we got talking and i asked her would she like to meet up some time. She said she's love to, took my number and said she was really busy that week but next week would be great. We spoke more and she mentioned off the cuff how "the only time i'm not working is when i'm on the Luas" so i asked what time she got the Luas home, met her then and we had our date ).

Eh, thats it off the top of my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

Always knew my BF as he is from the same area as me. It took an all day drinking session for us to hook up though .. havent looked back since!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭aye

Dragan wrote: »

cinema ( that was a totally random thing , wanted to see a film but no one else did so went alone, met a lass who also went alone so we made a date of it and had great fun )

like the guy in the aib ad?

be honest, you lurk around the cinema every weekend hoping for that to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Suzywuzy

Jeapy wrote: »
    My brothers best friend! :D

Likewise !!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

aye wrote: »
    be honest, you lurk around the cinema every weekend hoping for that to happen.

It's true! I hand around the ticket desk waiting for hot girls to sadly ask for "one please" then i pounch! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 jaffasue

speed dating , went it an event with a friend for the laugh and meet a hottie ,

HIGHLY RECOMMEND it its agreat night out that you don't see wasted !!!

everyone was lovely....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭dublinmadyoke

jaffasue wrote: »
    speed dating , went it an event with a friend for the laugh and meet a hottie ,

HIGHLY RECOMMEND it its agreat night out that you don't see wasted !!!

everyone was lovely....

Free advertising me thinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 jaffasue

not at all after meeting my other half this way i swore i'd spread the word.. if you want the whole soppy story would be happy to tell....
    know it seems dodge as i'm a newbie but such is life !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

jaffasue wrote: »
    know it seems dodge as i'm a newbie but such is life !

Such is life indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Rozabeez wrote: »
    I've always wanted to go to the zoo for a date! But men don't like that idea.

I love the zoo, I'd bring a chick there on a date no probs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Seconded, the Zoo rocks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭BeatNikDub

Interesting the amount from online and dating sites. Ive tried it but just couldnt really get into it.
    Dont think I could bite the bullet and meet someone.
    Way too nervous about being a complete let down!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

Ok here's my story! I was in a relationship and we (wel SHE) decided it wasn't working, we split. I had to go live in a hostel. She still called me and we met for meals out and then sometimes I would go back to hers for the naughties! Anyway I found a channel on sky where you could post a lonely hearts ad!

I did it with my UK mobile, by using my text bundle. I found a little hack where if you had no calling credit but had a bundle, you could send messages and not get charged. If you had credit everytime you sent a message you got a 'reverse charge text' saying thakyou for using blah blah and would get a £1.50 charge. But with no credit you couldn't get charged you just got the text!

Anyway when you put an ad on it was shown on the channel. I sent one saying 'sleepless in somerset' Which was where I was living, and I did use to stay up til the early hours. I never expected any replies, but a few sent me a text, and in the end I was talking, (well texting!) to about 4 ladies.

One was my current girlfriend. She said she was willing to call my mobile from her landline and si I sent my number. She also gave me her mobile number so I could send her a picture via MMS. Well we got on really well, in fact she would call me from about 1am until 6am :eek: I found her really easy to talk to and at first didn't tell her I was in a homeless hostel. I just said I shared a house, which wasn't strickly a lie, I did, but it was with about 50!

Anyway I was on the dole, and it was comming up to easter. As I had to sign on every monday, I got my money by giro cheque on a wednesday. (we could then go and cash it at the post office) But becuase there was going to be about 4 bank holidays during paril and may. (we had slightly different ones to ireland) so they said I didn't have to sign for 6 weeks, but would get my money early.

So as my g/f said it's a pity you are so far away, I called her bluff and said I could come over for a few weeks. She was delighted and even wired me my airfare by western union! I met her at the airport, but couldn't use my phone as I had no credit, the text bundle wouldn't work here! So I went to the vodafone shop and got some credit. But there was aproblem and the guy said he could give me a refund or I could try later. I said I really needed to call my g/f as she couldn't find me.

He let me use the shop phone and my g/f said she was hiding! She wanted to see if I turned up! Anyway the rest is history as they say. I am now very happy, have managed to get work as a DJ, and we have been together for 2 years now. I don't miss the UK at all, not even the warmer weather! (I lived in the south west so a bit warmer!)

I have made a few friends here on Boards, and even went to the xmas beers dressed as the sugar plum fairy! :eek: I don't have any family in UK to miss, as my parents passed away 8 years ago, and I haven't spoken to my brother and sister for about the same amount of time. (thier decsion, not mine, jealousy, long story!!)

So I say, whatever way you find your soulmate, don't give up if it goes t1ts up, get back in the saddle and try again. It took me until I was 40, so there is hope. I said to my g/f the other day i wish i had met her 20 years ago, but she said I had the wrong map that's why I couldn't find her! :D

[waffle mode off]

DJ Spider :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I met my current better half in Gingerbread. Together 18 years now, and have 4 kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Met him indoors over twelve years ago in work, 2 kids, cat, car, house. I'm running out of things to do, so I agreed to marry him. If anyone can think of a better idea let me know :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 rebelcork

Met my other half at a wedding.Proposed at a wedding too!

As they say "going to a wedding is the making of another"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Wow DJ Spider that's some story. Glad it has all worked out for the best for you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭ozchick

I married my boss' son! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Unaton

Met my OH online. We were/are into the same band. Chatted online for over a year before we met. Been together for 3 yrs now :)

Turns out his Ma tells everyone we met in Prague. I didn't know that for a while so when somebody asked me about our first date in Prague I was like WTF, I've never been to Prague. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

Thx Cathoo I was a little nervous at first, as when I was in the Army I got a lot of anti-british abuse, but I now know it's not like that here, everyone loves me! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭suzi-suz

met my OH while dating his brother....he was older than (8yrs older) we used to meet in secret so his bro didnt find out...but ofcourse he did caught out the back of a nite club and blamed his bro 4 taken advatage of a young girl tut tut :D