Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE 6 O'Clock News

• 04-01-2008 7:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭

Did anybody just catch the 6 O'Clock News. Did you see that fecking idiot in the red car overtaking all the other cars on a continous white line in the extreme weather conditions report. I hope to feck that idiot gets pulled over after the guards see the news report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭stardust_dublin

yeah i saw it. unreal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Yes the person should have been taken out of the car and shot before they kill someone :D

• Registered Users Posts: 65,401 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Saw that. Unbelievable stuff. I know the speeds weren't high, but the sheer ignorance...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,993 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

It was unreal! I thought he/she was intending to make a right turn. Wasn't it a VW Jetta?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

It's not speeding, therefore the safety boffins and Gay Byrne will that this kind of behaviour is perfectly all right:rolleyes:!

If we all slow down, that's all we need to do, sure there's nothing wrong with acting the lunatic as long as you don't speed:rolleyes:!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

he must have been on a L plate.

HE - being between 17-24
    but yes that was shocking:eek::eek: i couldnt believe it!

see the artic that slid:eek:
    hate to have been the driver!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

They should pass that clip to the Garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

2qk4u wrote: »
    They should pass that clip to the Garda.

They would easily get a reg from the hi-def footage.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭hellboy99

Unreal, no wonder there is accidents.

Here is the link for it, it's about 30 seconds in:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0104/6news_av.html?2322829,null,230

• Registered Users Posts: 7,895 ✭✭✭patrickc

thats just so dangerous, all the vehicled going the opposite driection had to brake hard lucky there wasnt a pile up

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

patrickc wrote: »
    thats just so dangerous, all the vehicled going the opposite driection had to brake hard lucky there wasnt a pile up

Exactly what I was thinking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Just seen it, what a plank. The camera should closed in on the gimp to shame him.

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

:eek: :eek: :eek:

What a tool.
    Wasn't it a VW Jetta?

Vento.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Tweaky

I don't think it is a coincidence that this footage was used in the news item. There was probably a lot more footage filmed today. I think some people in RTE have the same ideas as us and have intentionally put this out there to give the Guards no choice but to act on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Is there any way a member of the public could make a complaint to the Gardaí about this guy? RTÉ have the location and time. Surely they would have to action the complaint?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

All I can say is wow...what a tool.

What he needs:
    1) Get Book
    2) Throw it him hard (at his / her head preferably)

traffic@garda.ie and info@rsa.ie

Don't forget the video link

I've already sent off a mail ;) The more the merrier!!!

Tweaky wrote: »
    put this out there to give the Guards no choice but to act on it.
    I wouldn't hold my breath!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

DonJose wrote: »
    traffic@garda.ie and info@rsa.ie

Don't forget the video link

I've already sent off a mail ;) The more the merrier!!!

x2 just sent them one. I doubt theres anything they can do. Never hurts i suppose.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

On any long journey I always meet one knob who thinks their time is worth more then the other road users lives.

We should all have paint ball guns strapped to our cars to "mark" cars that are dangerous. Sure i'd have to swerve to get a good lock on, but it would be worth it. ;)

The item was not on the 9'o clock news. I wonder why?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

What a moron!!!!i hope they saw themselves on the news.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭hellboy99

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Probably the type of person were that wouldn't them, probably think it was cool to be on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭IncredibleHulk

hellboy99 wrote: »
    Unreal, no wonder there is accidents.

Here is the link for it, it's about 30 seconds in:

Unbelievable, who is that idiot? Thanks for the link hellboy99 missed the news

He's probably in the pub now boasting to all his mates that he showed those other muppets how to drive in the snow!

(I think the clip was recorded in Claregalway).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

He's probably in the pub now boasting to all his mates that he showed those other muppets how to drive in the snow!

(I think the clip was recorded in Claregalway).

"He" eh??? Interestingly i would think its a male driver also...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

I'd imagine s/he's the kind of person that wouldn't even notice if the're on the news. Dozy fvck

I have Noel Brett's (CEO of the Road Safety Authority) secretarys email address from a previous encounter. I sent her an email with a link to the news clip, so hopefully this will get to the top on Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

What an absolute knobend! Hope he gets caught.