Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Opinions about Polish immigrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,013 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

hexx wrote: »
    Very informative that.

It doesn't have to be informative. While liking them isn't strictly an opinion, his opinion could be that he doesn't have an opinion on them, as not everyone will but that he likes them.

Which is fair enough. :p

One my neighbours is Polish, he says he went home and bought a truck driving licence. Despite having no training or expierence and then walked into a job here.
    I have seen several Polish drivers who clearly have no idea how to fasten loads or reverse a truck at work. So I'm inclined to believe him.

From my anecdotal expierence, if someone is doing something insanely stupid and lethal in a vechile ,it is often a Polish BMW driver or a Northern Irish reg SUV.
    I feel that certain people from all different nationalites feel less motivated to obey the rules of the road, because they don't feel that there are little or no consequences for them and their licence.

I haven't been to Poland so I can't speak for it. Howevr the couple of places I have visited in central europe have a poorer standard of driver education. Nobody seems to put any stock in the two second rule, drivers habitually taking both hands off the steering wheel usually when driving at speed etc. I was very surprised because I assumed that Irish drivers were up there with the worst in the world.
    I also found that drink driving was common and culturally acceptable.

So all that leads me to the conclusion that anyone who wants to stay here for longer than a few months should have to have to obtain and drive under an Irish licence, and that their should be a system of penaltys for NI cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

Moonbaby wrote: »
    One my neighbours is Polish, he says he went home and bought a truck driving licence. Despite having no training or expierence and then walked into a job here.
    I have seen several Polish drivers who clearly have no idea how to fasten loads or reverse a truck at work. So I'm inclined to believe him.
    It's very easy to buy a driving licence in Poland. And not very costly at all. So it might be true.
    I haven't been to Poland so I can't speak for it. Howevr the couple of places I have visited in central europe have a poorer standard of driver education.
    To get driving licence in Poland, first you need to pass a driving course. There's a lot of theory but much less of practice on driver education courses in Poland. But they are compulsory to get to the driving exam which they are every year more expensive and harder to pass. That's why every year more and more people decide to buy it from illegal sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

My polish cleaner was great............ until she got pregnant...

Lovely girl though, I am very fond of her. Very respectable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

Moonbaby wrote: »
    couple of places I have visited in central europe have a poorer standard of driver education.

Please finish your sentence
    poorer standard of driver education than in ?????
    WooPeeA wrote: »
    It's very easy to buy a driving licence in Poland. And not very costly at all. So it might be true.

It looks like u are trying to inform everybody, that it is normal thing and everyone has his DL cos he bought it.........

I don't agree

It is not so easy to get DL as in every exam car there is a camera - so u must be able to drive well to get DL.

there are 20 h of theory and 30 h of driving. before u can apply for an exam.
    WooPeeA - can u give a link to source that says what u wrote - that more and more people every year is buing DL ?

How many people is it by saying many ?

When the flow of Poles first came into Ireland I found most of them very pleasant and hard working decent people. My opinion has since changed & I am not going to go into it because I know someone will want a continious argument with me. I generally do not like them at all anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

KaG1888 wrote: »
    When the flow of Poles first came into Ireland I found most of them very pleasant and hard working decent people. My opinion has since changed & I am not going to go into it because I know someone will want a continious argument with me. I generally do not like them at all anymore.

I can easily understand you
    many "normal" polish people were glad in 2004 when they met other person from Poland
    after some time so many people came that actually I prefer not to meet any new polish person.

Some of immigrants had problem with law in Poland, some of them are just feckers and unfortunately there is nothing we can do about this.
    small group of people is working hard to give bad opinion to all Polish in Ireland.

I was very embaraced when my boss told me, that in his area 2 polish were cought by garda while stealing oil from tank...... previously they stole oil from 30 houses...........

and it is in every country that if something wrong was done by immigrant u don't say

hey that fecker john or michael or Martin or.... is a criminalist

u say fecker from Poland was cought, fecker from Uk , Nigeria, Lithuania did it.....

It looks like u are trying to inform everybody, that it is normal thing and everyone has his DL cos he bought it...
    I haven't say it's normal but it happen sometimes, teetotaller.

EDIT:
    Some of immigrants had problem with law in Poland, some of them are just feckers and unfortunately there is nothing we can do about this.
    small group of people is working hard to give bad opinion to all Polish in Ireland.
    But most of them are hardworking and very nice people ;)

Please finish your sentence
    poorer standard of driver education than in ?????

The sentence is not incomplete.
    The meaning is clear from the context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Our Jerbs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 m.arty

hexx wrote: »
    It's getting to the stage now that wages in Poland have increased to a level that they are comparable with here. Unfortunately the working conditions haven't.

Unfortunately wages in Poland haven't increased to comparable level, working conditions are also bad. From my experience I can say that there are other standards within one company for people who work in Ireland and who work in Poland. I was working for Irish company when I was in Poland and we were treade in such a way that it would be made public n Ireland. Polish people working for this company in Ireland were shocked when I tild them how we were treated in Poland. This same was with Danish company I was working for later - for people woring in Denmark it was heaven, for us working in Poland it was not. I was workign in the office, this was not manufacturing work.

Working conditions are still bad in Poland, and women are being discriminated at every stage of their career.

To get driving licence in Poland, first you need to pass a driving course. There's a lot of theory but much less of practice on driver education courses in Poland. But they are compulsory to get to the driving exam which they are every year more expensive and harder to pass. That's why every year more and more people decide to buy it from illegal sources.

It is not that easy to buy driving licence and it is very easy to discover the forgery and since new regulations are introduced (cameras in the cars, monitoring of each exam that takes place) it is very difficult to pass exam.

There are good and bad Polish drivers, just as there are good and bad Irish drivers.

I must say that Irish people are very kind and polite and I hope more Polish people will follow your example. I myself feel great seeing smiling people on the streets :) This is what I like most in you Irish poeple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Polish Coffee Shop always cracks me up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

lol true!

i generally found them very nice people,personally know a lovely girl in campus!;)

but i say sometimes i am afraid of *some* of their manners,eg,skipping people in queue,no queuing while going on a bus...and some terrifying experience while paying stuffs from the polish cashier...:rolleyes:no big deal tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

visited poland a few months back. The standard of women was infinitely better than it is in Ireland. Also goes for the few polish girls I know (not that many admittedly). The polish girls also don't seem to like pies as much as Irish women.

That is all for now.....

I cant say Ive ever seen them queue skipping though.

Mind you I have never seen anyone queue skip me since I was about 14 bar maybe at a nightclub bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Lucas1986

Jackus wrote: »
    They (we) sit in canteen at one table - it looks like this table poles only. I tried to socialize with others (chinese, indian and irish) but my polish friends started looking at me and do comments and asking me why you didn't sit with us?

got the same problem ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 m.arty

Lucas1986 wrote: »
    got the same problem ...

I don't understand this. My best friend in work is Latvian and Polish people have no problem with this. Thought they try to be together as their english is not the best, maybe this is the problem - not beeing able to communicate easily with others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭devil-80

http://youtube.com/watch?v=tZJhLscD6i8 this 2 girls dont sound like polish;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

The majority that I have met are nice and easy to get on with. My only complaint is that many don't really seem interested in learning english or socialising with the Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Personally i don't give a flying **** where someone came from.

Get to know the person, not the nationality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Dragan wrote: »
    Personally i don't give a flying **** where someone came from.

Get to know the person, not the nationality.

Hear Hear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭williambonney

We need lots of young, good looking and intelligent Polish people to settle down in Ireland. Our gene pool needs strengthening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

quite a few polish people working with me, as well as a latvian and a slovakian. get on fine with the latter two, both up for the craic, but the polish guys tend to stick to their own and as such despite being here longer than both of the other eastern europeans their english has not progressed as well.

have found also that in the canteen the poles always sit together and when there is nobody else there but someone from our 'team' (for want of a better word for us), although they will always sit down next to us they will spend the whole time chatting in polish and pretty much ignore the english speaking person they've sat next to unless they say something to them first. even if there's only two of them in the middle of a table full of english speakers they will just sit there chatting to each other.

Having said that though, I spent nearly 4 years in Tenerife and the vast majority of english speaking people did exactly the same thing and had the town i lived in virtually overrun with english bars and restaurants and they all stuck together. i was one of precious few people who had spanish friends.

that said, look at the irish in the US and the Austalians in the UK. i think it's natural for people to flock to what's familiar to them when away from home.

that said, from an economic point of view, it's quite troubling when you read that 85% of new jobs in the UK in 2007 went to immigrant workers who in all likelyhood would be sending at least some of that money out of the country, or taking it with them when they left it doesn't bode well for the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

They do come across as being very cold i have to say. Ive yet to see a polish man with a smile on his face it has to be said.
    I dont work in construction, so theyre not taking my job (yet) so i dont have any problem with them, tho sometimes when im on the bus home from work, and all i can hear are people yapping away in polish/eastern european, it makes me feel like im the outsider and scares me a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Brilliant thread, dziekuje to the Polish posters for all the info.:D

Any Polish people that I know or have dealings with are dead sound, very friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

all I would say to anyone Polish reading this is to just do your best to learn the ways of Paddy culture and try and insert yourself into life in Ireland as if you were coming home and you will be welcomed as such.

I'm not Irish, I was born in Scotland and grew up in England, but I've lived here with my Irish g/f for 6 or 7 years now and I like to think that I've done my best to fit in and I've never had any problems at all and if anything, my having an English accent could have possibly caused problems given the history between Ireland and the UK.

Irish people are very welcoming and friendly overall and I was made to feel at home from the start but I suspect that was due in part to how I presented myself.

it's probably a cliché, but if you want to fit in somewhere different it's a lot easier if you make as much of an effort to fit in as you can and look like you really want to fit in.

ways of doing this would include going to work related social events and mingle with everyone and PLEASE speak English when you are in non-Polish company (lots of people where I work are just about at the end of their rope with this one).

if you just hang around with your own people and only look like you're here to earn money before legging it, then a lot of people will treat you accordingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Ran into two Polish birds in the club the other night. They informed me it was ladies day or some **** in Poland. I told them that here it meant steak and a blow and they focked off unimpressed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

We need lots of young, good looking and intelligent Polish people to settle down in Ireland. Our gene pool needs strengthening.

Fukkin A!The birds are usually hot and any of the blokes in my gym are complete meatheads.Although i've heard tell that steroids are cheap and widely available in the former eastern bloc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

That's just a downright anti-Irish post. The worst thing is, your probably Irish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

RonMexico wrote: »
    Ran into two Polish birds in the club the other night. They informed me it was ladies day or some **** in Poland. I told them that here it meant steak and a blow and they focked off unimpressed.

So Irish ARE much smoother with the ladies than Poles. Whoever said that earlier, was right.

dsmythy wrote: »
    That's just a downright anti-Irish post. The worst thing is, your probably Irish!

He made a good point though,look at some of the irish you see pushing buggies around the place..are you sure thier offspring will be of benefit to the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Degsy wrote: »
    He made a good point though,look at some of the irish you see pushing buggies around the place..are you sure thier offspring will be of benefit to the country?

Hardly a uniquely Irish disease. Eventually you'll get the same babies getting pushed around the only difference being they will have Polish heritage too. If only we could take kids of parents who abuse drugs. If only.

Dunno about that,most of these kids would be fourth-generation scumbags,the 'potential' for crime or whatever increasing as they themselves whelp children.It'd be probably another 20 years before any migrant race cathes up with this trend.

Fukkin A!The birds are usually hot and any of the blokes in my gym are complete meatheads.Although i've heard tell that steroids are cheap and widely available in the former eastern bloc..

Of course they are. You have that crazy Russian **** all over the place. However, personally i find it hard to believe that an entire race of people ( or at least everyone that goes to the gym ) is on them.

In my view the Polish now are just us in the 70's and 80's. Country is underdeveloped, jobs and situation not the best. Big tough lads who like a beer ( remember, that used to be us till the money rolled in and we churned a generation of spoon fed ****s who get upset that t-shirts come in XXL ).

So what do we do? Sit here bitching about it while booking tickets to go and see family in the States and England.

Makes me laugh. Really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

i dont mind them, they dont bother me. the women are great to look at i have to say. makes a difference to the irish women so it does which is welcomed!!!!

Of course they are. You have that crazy Russian **** all over the place. However, personally i find it hard to believe that an entire race of people ( or at least everyone that goes to the gym ) is on them.

In my view the Polish now are just us in the 70's and 80's. Country is underdeveloped, jobs and situation not the best. Big tough lads who like a beer ( remember, that used to be us till the money rolled in and we churned a generation of spoon fed ****s who get upset that t-shirts come in XXL ).

Not quite,in the 70's and 80's we,especially the townies were a malnourished lot,food was expensive,jobs were thin on the ground and a lot of schools gave out f ree milk and sandwiches to the kids.The tough lads of the 70's didnt go to the gym unless they were boxers,even then they tended to look scrawney.

*grins* Poor townies. Us country boys were busy hoofing back spuds and living it up!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

A Polish lady and her niece stayed as my au pairs last summer. The hardest working, most friendly people you could imagine. They settled in immediatly, and their english was perfect.

They loved Ireland and felt more people would come to work here if they had any grasp of the English language. They saved every single cent. I am looking forward to them coming back this summer.

There is a polish guy named Charlie (not his real name, too hard to pronounce) he comes to work for us every summer and all the regulars in the pub love him. He's so friendly. All my experiences of Polish people, so far, have been great.

*grins* Poor townies. Us country boys were busy hoofing back spuds and living it up!!!! :D

Gotta build up your strength for the walk up to Dublin!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭williambonney

No it is not an anti-Irish statement; it is very much pro Irish. Our gene pool needs to be strengthened every century or so to make our people smarter and more good looking. And young, intelligent good looking Poles (or/and Estonians) will do just that.

As will I,any interested ladies(especially Polish) PM me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Jackus

I know one pole girl. 120kg net weight, very horny:D. Do You want details? ;)

If she' 120kg she's not one girl!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Jackus

You're right blahahah. Only joking. But if U or anybody is interested, you can post an advert on website of polish community in Ireland. http://www.ogloszenia.gazeta.ie/Towarzyskie,3.html#Scene_1
    I hope nobody treat me as a spammer.

You're right blahahah. Only joking. But if U or anybody is interested, you can post an advert on website of polish community in Ireland. http://www.ogloszenia.gazeta.ie/Towarzyskie,3.html#Scene_1
    I hope nobody treat me as a spammer.

Thats all in polish is it not?

edit
    click on union jack for english

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Some could also help by emigrating!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

They have a great life when they move here, triple what they were working for in Poland, great services, accommodation with other Polish, better living conditions...i would do the same. Any Polish person I've worked with were really nice people and had good English, so there was not communication problems or trouble with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭devil-80

I don't think so Its great life like you wrote-when you came in Ireland U need to live without your parents,family ,friends etc. -that's you call great life?? I think that's is not good accommodation when u need share house with other strange ppl.And about wages-it depends of your profession (for example shop assistant in Poland can earn about 500€ but the cost of living are less expensive like in Ireland,besides few things (petrol-almost the same price like in Ireland,cost of houses-almost the same sometimes even most expensive in big city and maybe few others)).But one its true even if i have minimal wage in Ireland i can live better like in Poland for average salary-its sad true,but maybe after 10 yrs will be better in my country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

He made a good point though,look at some of the irish you see pushing buggies around the place..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dres_%28Polish_subculture%29

Sound familliar?

Skangers and their English chav equivalents arent exclusive to these isles.

Id assume the reason this lot have not arrived en masse is that we arent throwing dole at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Lenina

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dres_%28Polish_subculture%29

Sound familliar?

Skangers and their English chav equivalents arent exclusive to these isles.

Id assume the reason this lot have not arrived en masse is that we arent throwing dole at them.

Well, you cannot deny the existence of social classes only because you talk about a post communist country, although the division is still not as strong as in Ireland or Great Britain.

I think that quite a lot of them arrived, but they are forced to work. Now.