Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things to Do on a Saturday night (That dont involve drink)

• 07-01-2008 10:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭

Okay, long story short, myself and a friend have gone off the drink for a while due to mixed factors such as spending too much over christmas and trying to loode weight etc. and basically we're trying to come up with things to do on a saturday night that wont involve going to the pub. We're both big into surfing and other outdoor activities but since its dark so early these sort of activities are out obviously. So far we've come up with the following shortlist -

Gym/Swim/Sauna
    Pool
    Snooker
    Bowling
    Classes of some sort (doesnt seem to be anything available)

There were a few others but damned if I can think of them today :)

Bear in mind we're both living in Waterford so the list of alternative pubs/clubs such as comedy clubs, live music venues are pretty non-existant.

There doesnt seem to be a large variety of classes on a saturday either...

Any suggestions are welcome, the list above is not really all that appealing to me to be honest. The Gym/Swim/Sauna option is the one that really seems to be coming to the fore at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Have a look at the paintball / Skirmish forums....thats gonna be my new weekend hobbie shortly!. There is mountains of stuff you can do, learn a new skill of some sort, learn guitar, drums?.

Giving up booze definitely isn't the end of the world....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Oh, no, no, I know its not the end of the world, in fact I go off the booze for a couple of months every now and again anyway so its nothing new for me really. :)

Its just with the dark evenings I find that the outdoor activities are non-runners in the nights. Generally i'd surf all day saturday and sunday so its really just something to do in the night times (say from 7PM onwards really).

I was contemplating learning the guitar but all the classes seem to be on weekday nights, there doesnt appear to be anyone doing lessons on saturday nights (for obvious enught reasons I suppose).

All good suggestions though, thanks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Right well firstly let me tell you that learning how to the guitar or any instrument for that matter will give you more satisfaction than any beverage can. It will turn into a lifelong addiction.

The beauty of it is that you don't need leesons, its something that you can just pick up yourself!. Theres a mountain of websites that can teach your how to play from home on your own too.

Personally I think this is the best option for you and trust me you wont regret it at all, your life will be so much richer for it.

Other thing is that if you do decide to go back on the drink, banging out tunes while pi$$ed is great fun too....

DO IT!!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭NonDrinkersClub

Guitar is fantastic alright! I used to run a singer/songwriter gig every week in Dublin and most of the people there were non-drinkers. Saturday night jammin sessions are great :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Crystal meth is good fun!!! Only kidding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

We may be non-drinkers, but anything other than alcohol is a-okay! :p

Really though, good suggestions only please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

go for a meal and catch a show?

cinema....

go out a bit later on a Saturday and go to a club and stay on the cokes?

find pubs with good entertainment like a pub quiz or decent bands.

you could do some volunteer work? a few nights with smaritans?

pop up to dublin for the weekend? :p

maybe put up a leaflet in a few shops looking for other people who want to do something different on a saturday night and may start a course between you?

it's not that easy :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Just sit around watching tv in winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

go to pub and don't drink, go to night club and don't drink or do drugs, got see music or a concert, saturday night is night for music and dancing.

Feelgood wrote: »
    Right well firstly let me tell you that learning how to the guitar or any instrument for that matter will give you more satisfaction than any beverage can. It will turn into a lifelong addiction.

The beauty of it is that you don't need leesons, its something that you can just pick up yourself!. Theres a mountain of websites that can teach your how to play from home on your own too.

Personally I think this is the best option for you and trust me you wont regret it at all, your life will be so much richer for it.

Other thing is that if you do decide to go back on the drink, banging out tunes while pi$$ed is great fun too....

DO IT!!.

This actually sounds like a really good idea....I've always wanted to learn how to play and the fact that im off the drink it seems like the perfect time for it. How much would a decent guitar cost & where could you direct me for the basics tips? Pm if you get the chance.

Cheers

Hiya :) That's fantastic that you're gonna learn guitar and I wish you the very best of luck with it!

I reckon before you go and buy a guitar, it might be a good idea to get a long-term loan from someone. Steel string guitars look and sound great but they can be quite sore on the fingers when you're starting off. Most people begin with a Spanish guitar (plastic strings). You can get cheap ones in Argos or any music shop in town...Music Maker / Waltons can give you the best advice. Electric guitars are surprisingly easy to play but expensive when you buy them with the amp, case, etc. Never trust a 2nd hand electric guitar! You'll need plectrums, a tuner, a stringwinder and maybe a capo if you're feeling adventurous.

I found it difficult enough learning from books...so I joined a class which was probably the best thing I ever did. If you look around your local area I'm sure you'll find one. Individual tuition is good too, but not as much fun if you ask me!

I owe guitar so much! I made so many friends through a mutual love of music, I've written and recorded three albums and I met my boyfriend at a music gig I organised. Guitar rocks...I only wish I had more time to play it!
    KaG1888 wrote: »
    This actually sounds like a really good idea....I've always wanted to learn how to play and the fact that im off the drink it seems like the perfect time for it. How much would a decent guitar cost & where could you direct me for the basics tips? Pm if you get the chance.

Cheers

Thanks!
    I'll look into this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Feelgood wrote: »

DO IT!!.

This is true but it's not a saturday night activity. By which I mean socialising.

Going to a restaurant with decent group tables can be good.

I see a teetotal band in the making... ;) I play guitar too BTW... I'm not great though (after 6 years!!!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

If you like pubs/clubs, then go, just dont drink!

I dont drink, but I love clubs and pubs!

Pubs are good for a chat after work

Clubs are fun, ye can buzz around and dance away til half 2

*go Cinema
    *watch a Dvd
    *go walking/joggin
    *build a robot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

c - 13 wrote: »
    Okay, long story short, myself and a friend have gone off the drink for a while due to mixed factors such as spending too much over christmas and trying to loode weight etc. and basically we're trying to come up with things to do on a saturday night that wont involve going to the pub. We're both big into surfing and other outdoor activities but since its dark so early these sort of activities are out obviously. So far we've come up with the following shortlist -

Gym/Swim/Sauna
    Pool
    Snooker
    Bowling
    Classes of some sort (doesnt seem to be anything available)

There were a few others but damned if I can think of them today :)

Bear in mind we're both living in Waterford so the list of alternative pubs/clubs such as comedy clubs, live music venues are pretty non-existant.

There doesnt seem to be a large variety of classes on a saturday either...

Any suggestions are welcome, the list above is not really all that appealing to me to be honest. The Gym/Swim/Sauna option is the one that really seems to be coming to the fore at the moment.

good luck finding a gym on a staurday night that's open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

I get a few mates over and we watch DVD's and have Domino's Pizza or Supermacs etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Floyd Soul

You could host a dinner party in your place, or rent a few movies. Also, you could go camping.

You won't find alot of live bands playing in Waterford on Saturday nights, but Electric Avenue have bands playing every Friday night if you're interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Just to update i'm coming up with a few ideas anyway, I rigged up a bit of a home gym in my garage (because as King of Kings points out none of them open on sat nights), in the process of getting a few heads together for bowling on a regular basis, surfing saturday/sunday and so on. Its not that tough really when you get down to it. THanks for the advice guys

Oh and I robbed my sisters acoustic guitar and am giving that a bash as well. I'm severly crap though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Gigs are great.

Find out any local/non-local gigs you'ld be interested in and head down there. You'll find good music and could even meet people with similar interest in music as you.
    All without getting drunk.

And its really easy meeting new people at gigs. I always end up meeting cool new people at almost every gig i go to.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Ditto:D, Love gigs, great vibe!!

Haven't been to a good gig in ages! really lookin' forward to The Presidents gig comin' up soon. Just got tickets! Anyone else goin'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Did you guys ever head down to the National Concert Hall?
    I was down there a couple of days ago to watch the Ulster orchestra play some pieces by Tchaikovsky and Liszt. Its a really cool place to spend the evening and if you're a student you can sometimes get in for just €5.

Anyway, next gig i'm probably gonna go to would be Anti-Flag something in two weeks time. Anyone can head down if they like some good ol punk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

I was down there a couple of days ago to watch the Ulster orchestra play some pieces by Tchaikovsky and Liszt. Its a really cool place to spend the evening and if you're a student you can sometimes get in for just €5.

Anyway, next gig i'm probably gonna go to would be Anti-Flag something in two weeks time. Anyone can head down if they like some good ol punk!

I was at the evening of Arvo Part's work there, fantastic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

im locked and headin to bed!! hello, just thought id annoy yiz ggggrrrrrr!

flanum, don't post here anymore unless you've got something worthwhile to contribute...... Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 19 NamedUser

Ye're all sad bastards, I know, I gave up the lush 2 years ago and lost 85% of my personality.

NamedUser banned

Please keep the idiocy to a minimum folks!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Would appreciate abit of info on this, I think they used to do lunch-time concerts years ago and always meant to check it out, but never did!!
    Can you just walk in off the street??

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭Richie860504

Howya,

Why don't you start going to GAA games? Their normally on at 7 on a saturday evening and you also get to travel to different counties when their playin away which could take up nearly a whole saturday. eg. I went to Cavan for the Dublin game on Saturday, left at 3, got down there went to the match and then home at about 1 that night. Great day out, good laugh with the lads and nobody bothered me about drinking either cos I was their lift home and got my minerals bought for me. Only cost about €20 for the day including going to the game and food. Big difference between €150 for a few hours out on saturday night or €20 out for the whole day.