Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dirty old town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Sligo is a dump and is common knowledge. Considering I walk around Sligo most days during the winter (I try to not use the car during the week) the streets are just plain manky

You can defend it all you want or burst out with ridiclous comments but it won't hide the fact that Sligo is a tip. Most students I know reckon it's 'good craic' because they come from the most redneck parts of Ireland (Glenamaddy, General Mayo, Roscommon etc.) which is fair enough, students are pretty much let loose up there

Whoa that's a bit harsh isn't it? When I went to college in the IT I had a ball and great craic. Regards the 'dump' and 'tip' comments- again I don't see how Sligo is any different to other towns. Maybe it's you doesn't fit in or gell with the place? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,211 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Madge wrote: »
    Whoa that's a bit harsh isn't it? When I went to college in the IT I had a ball and great craic. Regards the 'dump' and 'tip' comments- again I don't see how Sligo is any different to other towns. Maybe it's you doesn't fit in or gell with the place? :)

You're right, I don't fit in well with rubbish infested towns

The IT/Studentlife is good craic though, but that has nothing to do with the town. I am not talking about the IT here, i'm talking about the town

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

get a life and f**k off back to redneckland where they have no one to litter the streets.
    i am in my mid thirties and all my school friends and ex friends tell me how lucky i am to be living in sligo.
    a 5 minute drive to work and home, numerous beaches great scenery etc is what their lives are missing
    wise up

Sligored wrote: »
    get a life and f**k off back to redneckland where they have no one to litter the streets.
    i am in my mid thirties and all my school friends and ex friends tell me how lucky i am to be living in sligo.
    a 5 minute drive to work and home, numerous beaches great scenery etc is what their lives are missing
    wise up

Redneckland? I'm from Galway (city) ya dirty fecker. I wouldn't waste my time comparing the 2 towns/cities. If you're trying to claim Sligo town is better than Galway city (or 'redneckland' as you seem to want to call it) then go ahead. I'll sit back and watch you dig your little hole

Christ I get scared when I hear a Sligo female talk, I feel like i'm about to be eaten :eek:

Sligo may be a nice place to visit on a nice weekend (weatherwise) I love climbing Benbulben, Knocknarea, walking on Strandhill etc but you seem to be missing the fact that i'm talking about Sligo TOWN.

The irony in you claiming i'm from redneckland yet you show off about how close you are to mountains/scenery...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

walking on Strandhill etc

Are you a giant?! :eek:

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,196 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Right lads. Im just back from the pub and you all have had your equal time of dragging this thread off topic and the instigator being JohnCleary.

Now pull it around to the topic please.

Redneckland? I'm from Galway (city) ya dirty fecker. I wouldn't waste my time comparing the 2 towns/cities. If you're trying to claim Sligo town is better than Galway city (or 'redneckland' as you seem to want to call it) then go ahead. I'll sit back and watch you dig your little hole

Christ I get scared when I hear a Sligo female talk, I feel like i'm about to be eaten :eek:

Sligo may be a nice place to visit on a nice weekend (weatherwise) I love climbing Benbulben, Knocknarea, walking on Strandhill etc but you seem to be missing the fact that i'm talking about Sligo TOWN.

The irony in you claiming i'm from redneckland yet you show off about how close you are to mountains/scenery...

ah now i think we have something here.

i go to galway on the odd occasion for work and the very thought of having to go to the city of the tribesmen makes me nauseous.

i normally leave sligo on a monday morning around 6.30 , then arrive in tuam at 8.00 claregalway at 8.45 and hopefully get parked somewhere in a 5 mile radius of eyre square at 9.45.

worry about your traffic problems and the fact that between the magnificent city you have with huge university and galway it that you have to come to grubby little sligo to do a course that suits you.

in my opinion , although i do accept that they bring in huge revenue to the town- it is these same students who puke all over our town on a wednesday and thursday night and bring scatter empty cans bottles and glasses all the way from the brewery in ballinode as far as envy in teeling street.

i think b4 you come in here taking the high moral ground on here you should take a walk through copper river , glencarrig , mulberry park and see these litter infested ghettos which are the product of you and your "redneck uncultured" learners of knowledge.

i for one feel that this survey must have been done on a friday morning and based its findings on the <SNIP> that wreck our town every thursday night.

i accept a litter problem in sligo and have done so in above post but i hate this sh*t from jumped up <SNIP>

Just to repeat:

Right lads. Im just back from the pub and you all have had your equal time of dragging this thread off topic and the instigator being JohnCleary.

Now pull it around to the topic please.

sound muffler. sorry about bringing galway traffic chaos to the wrong forum

by the way i am just finished reading the champion and it seems that the most littered areas were the mall and the area around the start of the rosses point road.

they seem to be fairly complimentary towards the town centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭Ooly

Sligo is really dirty!!! It's horrible driving through the town after a friday or saturday night! There's rubbish EVERYWHERE!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

What a shame this thread has descended into a Sligo Bashing thread instead of suggesting how we could do better in terms of litter.

I would love to tell you what I think of Galway John but I say live and let live.
    It would be more helpful if you posted constructive posts regarding Sligo.

Calling it a "dump" isn't on. Specifically what do you not like about Sligo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Redneckland? I'm from Galway

LOL! At least he has a sense of humour.

Being a student in a town will give you no idea about a town. My wife studied in Sligo, she hated it. Now she loves it.

You live in shi7e accomadation in a crap estate.

You don't drive (unless your a spoilt brat)

You go home to your local pub every weekend missing what happens

You eat cheap shi7e and don't get to use the local restaurants

You miss the whole summer in the town

The weather is usualy crap during term

You go to crap pups following student promotions

And give me Sligo ANY DAY over Galway!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

lightening wrote: »
    LOL! At least he has a sense of humour.

Being a student in a town will give you no idea about a town. My wife studied in Sligo, she hated it. Now she loves it.

You live in shi7e accomadation in a crap estate.

You don't drive (unless your a spoilt brat)

You go home to your local pub every weekend missing what happens

You eat cheap shi7e and don't get to use the local restaurants

You miss the whole summer in the town

The weather is usualy crap during term

You go to crap pups following student promotions

And give me Sligo ANY DAY over Galway!
    You seem to know a lot about JohnCleary

gustavo wrote: »
    You seem to know a lot about JohnCleary

Yeah, looks a bit freaky... Hope JohnCleary doesn't think he has a stalker.

You know what I mean, a lot of us were students at one stage.

RE; about the car and a spoilt brat, I guess things have changed.

Sligored wrote: »
    i for one feel that this survey must have been done on a friday morning and based its findings on the pigs that wreck our town every thursday night.

When was the survey carried out? Don't forget that the colleges have been closed down for the past 3 weeks, so the 'pigs' who ruined the place on the Thursday night must have been Sligo locals.

Zing.

When was the survey carried out? Don't forget that the colleges have been closed down for the past 3 weeks, so the 'pigs' who ruined the place on the Thursday night must have been Sligo locals.

Zing.
    Oh dear.

You call them that and I call you a total prick. Red card.

muffler wrote: »
    Oh dear.

You call them that and I call you a total prick. Red card.

In fairness to the fella, he is just using one of the same names that Sligored used!

have you walked or driven down the mall on a thursday night. it is like beirut in its prime.

the civilians of sligo are afraid to drive these streets due to the fear of knocking some one down or walk these streets for the abuse meted out

sorry muffler if this is going off topic a bit but the litter left behind is disgraceful.

I havent to be honest. Fridays to Sundays is when I visit. I didn't know the civilians of Sligo were living in fear. Sounds like a right dump, I will avoid it.

I have got a little bit of abuse though in the town on weekends though. Silly cat calling and threats, "I'll kick yer f*ckin face in". (in a Sligo accent) Very strange, nothing has ever happened to me though.

Listen guys, I said it last night (inebriated at the time) and I am saying it now again (sober) can we please just debate the litter problem and leave the issue of who socialises on a given night out of the equation. I know theres a connection as such but the thread was getting out of hand with posts that were verging on personal abuse.

Now, I have got rid of the instigator and would rather leave it at that.

Ah, poor johncleary, he was just reacting to being called a redneck and his group being refered to as pigs, then he was called a pr*ck and banned!

Anyway, back to litter, the problem seems to be confined and not an issue outside the very town centre, hopefully the report will shock the council in to doing something drastic.

Ah, poor johncleary, he was just reacting to being called a redneck and his group being refered to as pigs, then he was called a pr*ck and banned!
    As I said he was the instigator and yes there was a comment posted in reaction to his flaming which has since been edited. He'll be back in a week.

Ah... I see the posts insulting him have been edited!

Anyway, back to the subject. Is it really that bad with the students in the mall, locals living in fear? That's pretty serious, asbo territory... Its a great town at the weekends. The hotels are really good value if you book well in advance, Strandhill for surf and seaweed baths, Sligo town for food and pints. Its only a 2.5 hour drive from Dublin, great weekend breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭lubie76

Just came over Ash Lane after lunch and the amount of litter thrown all over the sides of the road is a disgrace. There were travellers parked up there the last few days so I can only assume its their rubbish.
    The Dual Carriageway is always filthy due to illegal dumping. The Mayor said on the RTE news that he would question when the survey was carried out i.e. whether it was a weekday or a weekend afternoon. That is crap as what difference does it make if the authorities are doing their job.
    BTW the corporation have a big green machine to clean the streets every morning about 6.30am. I have seen it on the way home a few times:D

• Registered Users Posts: 974 ✭✭✭redarmyblues

Irish Forum Posters against Complancency have just released the results of these recent surveys.

Tweest Town 1st Galway

Most overated town 1st Galway

Most self regarding town 1st Galway

Most attractive suburbs 1st Galway (shome mishtake shurlely)

Come on people of Sligo, the dirtiest town title is not enough, if we try hard we have a good chance of winning the most violent town title.

Ah... I see the posts insulting him have been edited!

Anyway, back to the subject. Is it really that bad with the students in the mall, locals living in fear? That's pretty serious, asbo territory... Its a great town at the weekends. The hotels are really good value if you book well in advance, Strandhill for surf and seaweed baths, Sligo town for food and pints. Its only a 2.5 hour drive from Dublin, great weekend breaks.
    Oh dear again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

I know someone mentioned the Mall, but does anyone know what actual streets or areas were / are badly littered according to this survey?

Irish Forum Posters against Complancency have just released the results of these recent surveys.

Tweest Town 1st Galway

Most overated town 1st Galway

Most self regarding town 1st Galway

Most attractive suburbs 1st Galway (shome mishtake shurlely)

Come on people of Sligo, the dirtiest town title is not enough, if we try hard we have a good chance of winning the most violent town title.
    Fair play to you Madge. I was getting a bit pissed off (despite the repeated requests) with the continual off topic posting and I was on the verge of locking this but your post brought this back on topic again..

@ redarmyblues. You may think that your post is helpful but its not. Next off topic post is going to get this thread locked so once AGAIN please think before you post.

Madge wrote: »
    I know someone mentioned the Mall, but does anyone know what actual streets or areas were / are badly littered according to this survey?

see post 41 above . full rundown on page 5 in the champion. main problem areas on northside according to report