Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Irish Sit-com on RTE TWO?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Niall06

It was pure sh@te, what a waste of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭meep

Elmo wrote: »
    Awh!

What comedy have sky produced?

I laugh every time I open my Sky bill.

How much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Boardsbud

I'm sorry but next to The Cassidys this is the worst excuse for comedy RTE have ever commissioned. The English Class was a hell of a lot better than this tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Missed it... got a bit distracted and watched an episode of 'The West Wing' instead of it.

Sounds like I didn't miss much..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Deiselad22 wrote: »
    the commissioning department in RTE should be fired, and preferably burned at a stake somewhere we can all watch and throw petrol.

Will never happen, as it could be seen as RTE providing entertainment
    and they obviously have an agenda against doing so.

And as for giving it a chance and watching another episode no chance,
    performing self-circumcision with a rusty chainsaw would be less painful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Mr E wrote: »
    I'll be tuning in anyway.... Going in with low expectations and hoping for a pleasant surprise. :)

Haven't read the thread past this post yet, but I did the exact same with this show and I have to give it a tentative thumbs up...it borrowed from a lot of other comedies I like (I got a particular vibe of HHG2TG of it) and some of the stuff was a wee bit predicatable but all in, pretty good. I even managed to laugh at some points, something I haven't managed at RTÉ comedy in a while (I think Couched was the last thing they did that I found in any way funny, oh and Aprés Match).
    Fairplay lads hope it can keep up it up for the second part...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Elmo I think he meant that channels he receives via Sky Digital. It's all down to opinion and in my opinion the writing was rubbish, that was apparent after 30 seconds and continued to be apparent until the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭wheelbarrow

You can make "Greater ****e In Town" out of the name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Deiselad22

Kevmy, that's nonsense. I turned it on with an open mind. I had heard nothing about it, didn't know if it was a comedy or drama like Bachelor's Walk.

The problem is - after the first episode - I still don't know what it is. Is it a comedy? There were no funny moments. I think it's just one of those specialist comedy show u might see late at night on BBC3. Thats why I dont wanna slate the individuals involved. There is a market (albeit small) for this type of show. But RTE should be aiming higher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lizzykins

There wasn't one thing funny in it. I watched half and abandoned the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Elmo I think he meant that channels he receives via Sky Digital.

And RTE show many of those shows he is talking about and UPC also provide a similar service. Sky do not produce TV all that often and when they do the show are dreadful.

Sorry of the topic, I just think it stupid to praise Sky!

And yes it is a matter of personal opinion. I found it funny. But also thought that the voice over was over used. I also think most people had pre-judge this show from the out set, I had and wasn't expecting much. It was far better then The English Class.

lol once again my opinion is in the minority.

I didn't see this English Class...would this show be considered "worse" by those slating both here?
    Also, why so many new accounts set up to poke fun at this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I am all for development but like all writing write, rewrite is the guiding mantra. This suffered from aimlessness and from what I would describe as extremely juvenile humour. It was really not well-written at all. This show was not helped by the very poor acting.
    I can see where some of it might have been going but I also think it might been better as a single 30 minute slot. Personally not inclined to go near the second 30 minutes now that I seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Polly Hill

What I can't understand is how RTE can commission and produce some very good drama, yet the lack of decent comedy is just absurd. It's not for lack of talent so who decides something like this is actually broadcast quality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

a 55 year old man who hasent watched scrubs or fimily guy in his life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

anto-t wrote: »
    Scrubs and Family Guy are hardly the epitome of good comedy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It was shockingly bad. I heard nothing of it before accidently flicking over to it while browsing. I don't have massive high-brow comedy tastes - I even liked Fergus' Wedding, when everyone else thought it was ****e - but that was just something else. Everything, from the writting to the acting was terrible, it was like a college project by a group of kids who had watched too much Spaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

but they are comedy and this guy is in charge of comedy for rte i think he should watch at least one epp. for christs sake scrubs has been on rte for 6 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭ianrush

This show got made because the RTE entertainment department has nobody to read the scripts it has and instead commissioned this on the basis of a pilot dvd which the guys involved had shot themselves. RTE wanted to put the pilot on the air (which I can tell you was a helluva lot worse than you saw tonight) but then were persuaded otherwise. I'm not going to knock the creators because honestly you can't expect anyone to knock it out of the park on the first try. My problem is with the whole system of creating comedy in this country. Nearly EVERYTHING of any comedy note on the BBC has been first tested on radio where people can develop their comedy writing and characters until they have something ready for tv. Just throwing talent to the wolves, which seems to be RTE way, is just daft. Another point to make here is that the budget for these two episodes, I've heard, was 60 grand each, which shows "you get what you pay for". Develop talent properly, then give them proper resources. That's the only way RTE will create anything to reach the expectations that we all have.

but they are comedy and this guy is in charge of comedy for rte i think he should watch at least one epp. for christs sake scrubs has been on rte for 6 years

Where did you get this information from, it does seem bizzare that he never watched Scrubs (which has its off-episodes as does Family guy).
    Another point to make here is that the budget for these two episodes, I've heard, was 60 grand each, which shows "you get what you pay for". Develop talent properly, then give them proper resources. That's the only way RTE will create anything to reach the expectations that we all have.

I always assumed that the BBC had create most of their great comedies on a shoe string in the 70's. I always assumed that Monty Python had no money when it was first aired.

There are very few comedies coming from Britian in recent years, maybe once a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

terrible.

If this was the states it would be stopped now,

But its ireland. sure we'll struggle on.

anto-t wrote: »

I hate Scrubs but like Family Guy....what are you getting at with your post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 fast74

it's bad, really bad and basically suffers the same problems that previous attempts at comedy at RTE have suffered from, namely:

the actors can't act, as in, overacting is not acting.
    there is no straight-man, think Fr. Ted, The Office, Faulty Towers et al. where insanity surrounds the central character(s) or the central character is himself the insanity.
    on a similar thread, there's no-one to relate to, they have tried to make each person "zany", does anyone know people in real life like these people?! better yet would you want to hang around with them for long? This was where Bachelors Walk got it dead on, Barry & Michael were idiots, but were at least likable idiots.
    accents aren't funny

the script, I think in fairness the script was good in places, like if you read it before ever seeing the thing it had moments but was let down by the above.

I'm not saying that every great comedy must follow these rules, but they must have known something was wrong in the editing room...

-Shane
    -keep working on it guys

good post fast.

ianrush wrote: »
    I've heard, was 60 grand each, which shows "you get what you pay for".

Start the tribunal now !!

How could anybody believe that 60 grand was spent on this episode ? I've seen student films far better than this, both in story and technically, made for virtually nothing, certainly nothing near 6 grand, never mind 60 grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Mr Stubbs

Hi guys,

Thanks for your honest opinions about our show. Let me explain something right here and right now:

This was the best we could do. This was the best script i could write and this was the best we could direct for the tools, budget and timescale we were provided.

I'm sorry if you think it was a pile of effluent -- believe me we did not intend it to be of such.

And heres a final suggestion -- how about you guys take pen to paper and do something better -- and i dont mean that in a patronising way ---seriously we were given a chance and we did our best. You guys want good comedy on RTE? Well you are all evidently eloquent enough to do much better --- so God bless and good luck.

Peace and love to all.

SS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Aww dude don't attack/slag the creator personally.

That kinda shut me up :o

But it is why I didn't want to criticise the individuals concerned. This wasn't my cup of tea, but some liked it.

But it's not in the right place. There should be room for these kind of shows - late night weekends possibly. This was supposed to be the replacement for Podge and Rodge. I think RTE needs to look at the options - even if it's hiring foreign writers to produce Irish comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

RTE got it right with Paths To Freedom. Why, when they know how, do they continue to get it so wrong?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Well we still go on about the cassidy's, upwardly mobile and Mrs. O'Brien which all predate Paths to Freedom.
    Wasn't Leave it to Mrs O'Brien an export success to Nigeria ?

I was watching the remake of Dawn of the Dead over on C4 and flicking back and forth. [insert comparisons about lifeless characters, script by numbers etc.]

ianrush wrote: »
    Another point to make here is that the budget for these two episodes, I've heard, was 60 grand each, which shows "you get what you pay for". Develop talent properly, then give them proper resources.

The Irish feature Once was made for 100k, that show tonight could have been made for 10 times that and it still wouldn't have been better than the English Class. Low budget was not the problem.

it still wouldn't have been better than the English Class

Polly don't be so critical it wasn't as bad as the English Class. It was far better.

4 posts, I didn't realise that this thread would be so negitive even for boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

To be honest - Mr Stubbs has a point.

But writing comedy is not an easy task.. what appears funny to some may not be funny to others.

Many comedies have gotten plenty of critical panning, and still been successful. 'Two Pints Of Lager..' and 'Coupling' to name but two.

Haven't seen the show but i wouldn't dismiss it just yet. I remember when i was much younger being driven up the country in a car with my parents stuck listening to a critic on the radio pan this horribly unfunny and blasphemous TV show - it was 'Father Ted'. People were calling in backing up the reviewer - odds are as 'Father Ted' continued, a couple of their opinions changed.

As i said.. I have not seen the show but i'd never dismiss something outright after one episode. It might simply be finding it's feet.

Polly don't be so critical it wasn't as bad as the English Class. It was far better.

4 posts, I didn't realise that this thread would be so negitive even for boards.

I honestly think the English class was less embarassing. Maybe this thread would be less scathing if this show was imported, the fact that our license fee funds homegrown talent being ignored and overlooked for such rubbish is very offensive. If it weren't for the impressive drama and sports programming plus the foreign comedy bought in, I would stop paying my license fee and throw away my television.

I always assumed that the BBC had create most of their great comedies on a shoe string in the 70's. I always assumed that Monty Python had no money when it was first aired.

All the python members (except terry gilliam) had years of comedy performance under their belts before being given their own show. Comparing 70's budgets and production values to what is expected today is not a realistic arguement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

Im just about getting over it now, i havent seen anyone come on here complainin about the place bein used, was it crumlin?

Somethin about it made me feelin green, or was that Incredible Hulk theme bein copied from Makin Jake earlier on :(

I'll cheer myself up with Desperate Housewives tomoro nite, as this was just Desperate... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I wonder if any of the lads recorded this on the sky box. I would like to see it now.

The Irish feature Once was made for 100k, that show tonight could have been made for 10 times that and it still wouldn't have been better than the English Class. Low budget was not the problem.
    I disagree. I think low budget was PART of the problem. There was loads of ideas in the show (some good, some bad, but at least it was trying, unlike the english class) but with the budget they had, you just can't do all the quick cut "arrested development"-style comedy to any decent standard.
    It just all came across as being rushed out, under developed, not rehearsed enough and basically RTE have screwed over the viewing public and the creators of this show by incompetant management of this project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    I wonder if any of the lads recorded this on the sky box. I would like to see it now.
    If not, it's again late next Sunday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭AngelinaJolie

Boardsbud wrote: »
    Start the tribunal now !!

How could anybody believe that 60 grand was spent on this episode ? I've seen student films far better than this, both in story and technically, made for virtually nothing, certainly nothing near 6 grand, never mind 60 grand.

Dear everybody on these boards.....

And especially this guy/girl,

First off, I want to point out how pilots are generally received: people hate them. No, let me clarify that: people hate what's actually got the potential to be something be good.
    Fact: Seinfeld was almost cancelled after the first season because people thought it was crap.
    Fact: Arrested Development, one of the best sit-coms to come out of America in years, was cancelled in the third season.
    Fact: Family Guy was cancelled.
    Fact: Futurama was cancelled.
    So......
    Do you want RTE do spout the bull that comes from American networks or do you want to support the writers who love the above shows?

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but for this seems to be pissing on something for the sake of pissing on something.

When have you ever seem something like this on RTE?

Better than The English Class?

You mean a cheap rip-off of Mind Your Language meets The Office is the height of comedy compared to The Roaring Twenties?

If you really think this, well, sir, you really don't know comedy, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭steve 0

Well for my 2 cents thought it had its good points, like the housemate interviews and of course Vixen. Nice!
    Unfortunately the Kevin guy was way over done as was the voice over, in fact if the voice over was not there I would have liked it more.
    Also, I don't think it's possible that anything could be as bad as the English Class.

So......
    Do you want RTE do spout the bull that comes from American networks or do you want to support the writers who love the above shows?

You make a pretty salient point here and while the following may belong in Conspiracy Theories, has anyone considered the possibility that someone in RTÉ decided to allow this to air in all it's rough and readiness to try and just bury the idea of home produced comedy altogther?
    I mean in the long run it's probably a lot cheaper to just buy in tried and tested US fare rather than throwing mud against the home produced comedy wall and hoping something sticks, when very few past efforts have.
    The rantings of a madman really...nobody in RTÉ is that cunning.

Again I ask the question, why have at least 2 contributors to this thread only signed up tonight to slate the show?
    Polly Hill and deiselad22, I'm looking at you...

Dear everybody on these boards.....

And especially this guy/girl,
    Its guy !

First off, I want to point out how pilots are generally received: people hate them. No, let me clarify that: people hate what's actually got the potential to be something be good.

Yes we've all seen dodgy pilots. Probably a lot of potentially good shows fall at that hurdle and never see the light of day.
    I'm guessing you are attached to the show in some way yes? I'll be honest and say the "humour" of it is not to my taste but that's entirely subjective. What went on air, in my opinion, seemed not much more than an ill thought through early draft. Was the voice over an after thought? I got the impression there was a lot more of it than you might have initially envisaged at least.
    Ian Rush made the point a few posts back up that everyone's been screwed over here, the people behind the show and most importantly the viewing public.
    Fact: Seinfeld was almost cancelled after the first season because people thought it was crap.
    Fact: Arrested Development, one of the best sit-coms to come out of America in years, was cancelled in the third season.
    Fact: Family Guy was cancelled.
    Fact: Futurama was cancelled.
    So......
    So these are all shows you like. I like some of them too. Some fell victim to falling audience figures. Some ran their natural course. Fact.

Do you want RTE do spout the bull (support the bull ?) that comes from American networks or do you want to support the writers who love the above shows?

That "bull" is the reality of commercial TV. I'll support any writer who turns out a good show. I don't care what they like or dislike, thats irrelevant to me. RTE should support that too. Fairplay to Mr Stubbs for coming back here tonight to make his case. I do wonder though if the reaction here had been more positive would he be sharing his production woes of time constraints and budgets with us ?

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but for this seems to be pissing on something for the sake of pissing on something.
    No this is a discussion forum. U take the good with the bad. I'm ony expressing an opinion, mine.

When have you ever seem something like this on RTE?
    Trouble in Paradise, The Cassidys, Extra Extra spring to mind straight off.

Better than The English Class?
    No, not in my opinion.

You mean a cheap rip-off of Mind Your Language meets The Office is the height of comedy compared to The Roaring Twenties?
    I agree all those comparisons have been trashed out here in great detail in the past, check the archives.

If you really think this, well, sir, you really don't know comedy, in my opinion.

To which you are entitled, as am I.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Bob in Belfast

I thought it was wonderful, though not as funny as the 'English Class'.
    It's a real shame there's only one more episode to go.

RTE what are you waiting for?
    Give this show a full season, it's comedy gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Pure sh1te!

And the TV licence has gone up again,so interesting to see the crap we pay for!

ok you've made some fair points; some which I accept ('the reality of commercial TV), some which I don't ('When have you ever seem something like this on RTE? Trouble in Paradise, The Cassidys, Extra Extra spring to mind straight off.')

I will admit that The Roaring Twenties is a bit rough around the edges ( and yes you're right, I am connected with the show) but I don't think you (or anyone, for that matter) should throw the baby out with the bathwater.
    I am actually offended that you are comparing The Roaring Twenties with the aforementioned sit-coms because, believe you me, when this sit-com was conceived, it was not with those previous efforts in mind. In fact, (and with all due respect to the writers) it was as far away as possible from those efforts.
    If you are comparing it with classics (like, for example, Monty Python) well, yes, it needs its fair degree of polishing; but The English Class? Extra, Extra, The Cassidys? Why, why are you comparing it to these shows? I am guessing that you are old enough to remember, but young enough to actually not remember the details of the latter? I know for a fact the writer tried to get a copy of The Cassidys on DVD (but failed) so as not to repeat the same mistakes.
    I would suggest that, instead of being negative, that, maybe, just maybe, you respond with positive suggestions on how to make the show better - even though it may have the horrible warm, fuzzy feeling of a Dr. Phil show or something ya just might see on Friends or Everyone loves Raymond. It's hard at first to do it, but then you'll see, gee whizz, just how great it is, to be, gosh darn it, really nice -ish.....
    PS: I am sounding like that guy out of Scrubs.... see how pervasive sit-coms actually are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 uh_to_interject

Uh, to interject briefly before retiring once more to the hallowed sanctity of lurkerdom, I'd just like to say that while this new show was only mildly diverting (at best), I think we should nevertheless salute the modicum of ambition that was at work here.

To put this on a par with The English Class is quite simply offensive, not only to the show's makers, but to anyone with the smallest inkling of what good comedy is. The English Class was tack. It was, moreover, a relentlessly excruciating example of the institution of RTE at its most pompous and coldly contemptuous. That was why it riled people so... it wasn't the fact the show was dire, lamentable toss, but that (in all six of its faeces-encrusted episodes) it encapsulated the full scale of RTE's disregard for its paying audience.

The Roaring Twenties, by contrast, was at least an attempt to appeal to some audience, even if ultimately it disappoints that audience considerably. Certainly, the creators overestimated the general appeal of what is essentially a fanboy pastiche of Spaced/Python/Seinfeld, but there was, if nothing else, a spirit of adventure in the show that has rarely been seen in an RTE sitcom.

The fact remains, however, that for me it raised nary a titter, and I would echo many of the complaints about the acting, particularly the choice of high farce for Kevin. The various character profiles were overall a little pedestrian (but then most sitcom personae are two-dimensional cliches - but if you make them funny, then that is forgivable).

The one thing I did quite enjoy was the show's breakneck pace. That takes serious effort and hard work, and is as much a testament to the writing as it is to the framing/editing. I could even see what they were trying to do with the voiceover. Elsewhere, however, the pop culture references were a little heavy-handed, and some of the accents - as ever on Irish productions - were aaaaarghh.

As astute posters have already pointed out, the problem is that talent in this country - in whatever department it emerges, but most notably in writing - has very few spaces to develop. RTE has badly let us down here. Constantly, they absorb proven comics (invariably stand-ups) rather than support emerging talent. And they lack the stones to run something that might ruffle some feathers. (Whatever happened to Langerland?)

Anyway, to the lads behind The Roaring Twenties, keep the chin up. You had a right good stab at it, and (should RTE decide to pick it up) I think there's enough there to flesh out into something more coherent.

Lurker Ex Machina

P.S. Pity about you're using Arcade Fire for the theme-tune. Great tune, obviously, but you might as well just have composed a jingle with the words '18-34 demographic' being sung hoarsely ad nauseum by some marketing guru. On the other hand, much respect for ye olde Dawn of the Dead music :cool:..... Odd that the remake was on at exactly the same time on the other channel.

Thanks for the words of encouragement, Lurker.
    All comments are taken on board, positive and negative. Well, constructive comments, like the above, at least.
    As for the Arcade Fire theme tune.. it was, kind of, original, when first muted! And it just seemed to fit. And I still think it does, even though, it's run the full gamut and now lives in clicheland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Mr Stubbs

We did our best and i accept that most you people thought it was cow fodder. But at least I'm awake here at 3.44am trying to give some feedback -- something which RTE never seem interested in.

And as for you people who thought The Roaring Twenties was EVEN WORSE THAN the ENGLISH CLASS??

f u c k o f ff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I watched it late last night.

OK, it wasn't worse than the english class. (Come on, lets be realistic here - the English Class was the worst thing RTE did in the last 10 years)

It wasn't absolutely terrible either. Tone that overacting eejit Kevin down, take away the Terry Wogan-soundalike voice over, and don't let people do accents they aren't able to do (that Don character trying a Aussie/NZ/SA/American accent - I couldn't place it).

I did laugh a couple of times, so it shows promise (with a few tweaks).

And I do think that people have come on here to bash it for the sake of bashing it (because with RTE, they know nothing else....)