Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fish shops in galway, where?

• 09-01-2008 3:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭

I'm looking for places to buy fresh fish in the city center, i usually buy my fish in Dunnes but there surely has to be more specialised fishmongers around, anyone know where they are?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

freezer man might be able to help you out!!
    on henry street

• Registered Users Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

go to the shop behind the docks, its behind the coal place by the harbour hotel, they have the freshest fish/seafood as its straight off the trailer, i made dinner for myself and the lads a couple of weeks ago, got 2 sides of a huge salmen for a tenner, did 6 of us for dinner;)

prices are bout half the price of any shops

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭boardswalker

Places I know are
    - Deacys on High Street opposite O'Máilles. Also have fruit and veg.
    - The Mermaid on Henry Street - already mentioned indirectly
    - Galway Bay Seafoods on docks - already mentioned
    - Ernies on Sea Road - used do fish, not sure if it still does.
    - Mortons in Salthill - they used get their fish from Mermaid.
    - Often a stall in the market on Saturdays
    Flemings who used be on Dominick Street now supply frozen fish from their new place in Rosaveal but you have to buy biggish quantities. They deliver.

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

Thats great guys, thanks. Getting hungry thinking about them!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

Galway bay seafoods behind the Harbour Hotel is by far your best option. Tuesdays and Saturdays seem to be the best times to go in.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

sharkDawg wrote: »
    buy

Well ye're hardly gonna rent them are ye?! :D

The Polish do be fishin down the Docks there durin the summer they might have a few dirty oul mackerel left from the summer

*ahem* Back of the docks, Galway Seafood, or Ernies on Sea Road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 billy heff

there is a new fish shop in ballybane industrial estate. under the name of duanes seafood , great place really fresh fish at cheap prices and great selection of frozen and fresh. easy parking aswell its acroos from mcdonaghs hardware

• Registered Users Posts: 45,495 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

deacys is the best imo, good value too

• Registered Users Posts: 45,495 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

billy heff wrote: »
    there is a new fish shop in ballybane industrial estate. under the name of duanes seafood , great place really fresh fish at cheap prices and great selection of frozen and fresh. easy parking aswell its acroos from mcdonaghs hardware

manky fish in there

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

rarnes1 wrote: »
    manky fish in there
    Did you buy fish there that wasn't good? When? What type? What was wrong with it?

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭RyanAsh

rarnes1 wrote: »
    manky fish in there

Thats a bit of a general statement to make! Can you say what exactly was 'manky' about it? I got lemon sole in there 2/3 weeks ago, it was fresh and delicious and really reasonable.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

go to the shop behind the docks, its behind the coal place by the harbour hotel, they have the freshest fish/seafood as its straight off the trailer, i made dinner for myself and the lads a couple of weeks ago, got 2 sides of a huge salmen for a tenner, did 6 of us for dinner;)

prices are bout half the price of any shops
    I've been recommended that place by a friend too. He knows his stuff when it comes to cooking. Never had the chance to go though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Mermaid on Henry Street is probably the best in regards to quality and cost!

Mc Donaghs on the Docks used to be good value but has become more expensive IMO.

Deacys - Ernies on Sea road is good but selection is limited.

Guy in the market Saturday mornings - worth a look - remember to haggle!!

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭thepcgp

Yes, my favourite is Galway Bay Seafoods in the New Docks. Behind the Harbour Hotel, as mentioned. The reason I like them is they have great selection, friendly staff, and their fishcakes are so delicious. I shop there every week. Regular customers get a 10% discount. You can check out their website, and order smoked salmon online, at

http://www.galwaybayseafoods.com

Ask for Noel Holland if you're looking for wholesale fish. They also do seafood cooking classes, Ron Pfuhlmann is the chef and he's really, really good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

The place near the cannall, new road i think? beside the gourmet tart. co. (kinda go past the roisin and keep going a few hundred yards?) is pretty good.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

That's the famous Mermaid fish shop

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Was in the place behind the Harbour Hotel with herself and my mom a couple weeks back and they were very impressed (I don't do seafood). The place was spotless, nice merchandising of the fish (really cool in my uneducated opinion), friendly and helpful staff and they loved what they purchased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

There's a new place in the Galway shopping centre too, where the doctors surgery used to be. Good selection and handy in that it's close to Tesco!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

i always go to the shop behind the harbour hotel. great stuff and as people have mentioned the place is clean and the staff are helpful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭thefeatheredcat

There's a new place in the Galway shopping centre too, where the doctors surgery used to be. Good selection and handy in that it's close to Tesco!

I think that's The Fisherman - seems good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭NMoore

Galway Bay Seafoods behind the harbour hotel is really really good. Lots of variety, really cheap, very fresh (they supply dunnes, and lots of the restaurants/shops in town with their fish too!), and a great selection of frozen fish too if you want to stock up!
    The place in Ballybane is also really nice - friendly staff, and fresh, yummy fish. I thought it was good value!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭spender.j

Brand new fish shop opening downstairs in Eyre square shopping centre, beside the butchers across from Dunnes at the bottom of the Escalator. Run by the guy that has the stall in the market Saturdays, my friend is working there also, she used to work at Duanes, (best day for fresh fish is Wed/Thurs) also worked in Galway Bay Seafoods, don't recommend...

• Registered Users Posts: 48 m.anna

The Fisherman (already mentioned) have fresh nice fish. Prices are OK. I bought fish in there two or three times and they were OK. So I will go there again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 mikebites

Magnus wrote: »
    That's the famous Mermaid fish shop

Or rather the infamous one. I was looking forward to buy from there but then I came up to this article http://www.galwaynews.ie/7421-fish-shop-freezer-killing-sentencing-today

A dead man was stored in one of its freezer for 5 years. I doubt that I'll ever visit that store. I do not intend to give it a bad name and I'm sure the must be selling the best fishes if people are saying so. But the incident is way too freaky to make me their customer.

I have bought from "Fishermen" outside Tesco (Galway Shopping centre). Herring and Sardines were €6/kg and Haddock was around that price as well. Salmon steaks were €3.85 each. Also had Monkfish for €24/kg. Their collection is quite large actually.

Any suggestion on where can I get whole salmon? and ray fish?

The "Galway Seafoods" looks worth a visit. Does the store have parking space for customers? or where can I park nearest?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

skelliser wrote: »
    freezer man might be able to help you out!!
    on henry street

isn't that the place where they found the body?

what of Deacys?

its sad that galway has so few seafood restaurnts in comparison to a place like howth

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

Places I know are
    -
    - Ernies on Sea Road - used do fish, not sure if it still does.

ernies is gas. the facade hasn't changed in a thousand years. he should have gones out of business for not moving with the times, then he started doing organic stuff and started making a bomb. gets good reviews in teh Times every now and then. good man for helping the poor.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭padraig71

+1 for Galway Seafoods on the docks

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭carmex21

+1 for The Fishermen at Tesco. Great selection, beside the veg shop for handy fresh spuds and veg and near Tesco for vino!
    score !

Has the new one opened in the Eyre Square shp cen yet does anyone know?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

carmex21 wrote: »
    Has the new one opened in the Eyre Square shp cen yet does anyone know?

Yar, opened yesterday I think...and it didn't stink of fish, which was great for me when I went to the butchers. Seems like he has a good setup.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭carmex21

cool, must check it out next time i am in town...
    thanks