Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ESB Trying to get Estate Agent / Landlord to pay for previous Tenant's Bill.

Options
  • 10-01-2008 11:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 39

Firstly for my sins I am an Estate Agent or as some would coin it a Harbinger of Hell. Ok, here it goes, one of the tenants just finished their lease and left an ESB bill in their name for over €800.00 and the ESB was disconnected yesterday or today by the ESB for non payment. When I tried to get the account transferred over to the incoming tenant / occupant this evening, I was told that I or the landlord would have to discharge / pay the bill before it can be transferred to the new occupant / tenant. Please can any one advise me as how to proceed with this, would this be a matter for the Consumers Association of Ireland or is there some organisation that can reefer this matter to, as in 10 years of working in this profession. I have never come across this before. Any help would be appreciated.

Regards Gerry

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭marktsang

is this kind of thing not what deposits are for?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,990 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Is it not up to the ESB to chase their own debts and not make you do it. If they let someone run up €800 then they should chase then for it. BTW was the account in the landlords name or tenants? Cause if it was in the landlords I think they would have to pay

I always though that they can't diconnect electricty or water as they are essental services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

This post has been deleted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave