Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What is your definition of a proper date?

• 11-01-2008 12:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭

I'm interested in peoples opinion of what constitutes a proper date.
    Your contributions please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Dinner drinks fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

2 stroke wrote: »
    I'm interested in peoples opinion of what constitutes a proper date.
    Your contributions please.

was this directed at anyone?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Any event where the two attracted people involved have arranged to meet up and a banner of friendship hasn't been specifically declared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

seamus wrote: »
    Any event where the two attracted people involved have arranged to meet up and a banner of friendship hasn't been specifically declared.

Thats it exactly. I hate the word date though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

any prearranged mutually agreed activity between two people who desperatly want to shag each other but cant admit that yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

was this directed at anyone?? :D
    I was replying to a coment of yours when I thought, off thread, and I didnt want to interupt the flow on that thread. Besides I think there should be a bit of meat on this topic.

When someone is specifically asked would they like to go for a meal/to cinema/meet in the pub for a few drinks to get to know each other. Sobriety is a big factor in a proper date! :D not "meet me out the back in five for a quick grope. Oh will ya get me a double JD and coke on the way out sweetcheeks??" :D

Lux23 wrote: »
    Thats it exactly. I hate the word date though.

ah i think its quite quaint. its the "my partner" "significant other" crap i cant stand. damned PC !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Very hard to find a good date. It takes time and patience. Some mature well, others go to the bottom of the barrell.
    Some are juice and sweet, others are end up tasting like your grandmother.

If all else fails, the internet is your friend

http://www.uae.gov.ae/uaeagricent/agriculture/n.a.a_e.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Dolymount Strand....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

ah i think its quite quaint. its the "my partner" "significant other" crap i cant stand. damned PC !
    Some of us just aren't that fond of saying "My bitch" or "yer wan". "Girlfriend" makes it sound like a teenage crush.

or "the woman" in Donegal :D gotta love the culchies!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,182 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Any agreement to be somewhere and do something where 2 people of oppossing sexes/compatible sexualities are involved. Friends can go on dates for example.

Food, dvd, cans and ejaculation.

LOL,
    Its an arrangement between two people that are (in most cases) attracted to eachother to go out and fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

5th of october is a nice date.

seamus wrote: »
    ..... "Girlfriend" makes it sound like a teenage crush.

but when your in love arent they all?

its the great leveler, no matter how old or experienced you are love can still reduce you to idiocy at the mere sight of a girl.

sides, i'd go with "me maith", then again im from dublin . the PC stuff sounds too much like a business deal(though i am interested to see what " ma bitch" would result in :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,182 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Also: The Missionary Position, followed by a firm handshake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Ok, mebbe it's just me but I find dates never pan out well. There's just too much pressure involving how to act and so forth. Subconsciously I've notice I act more polite in a 1 on 1 situation and for some unknown reason my cheeky side dissapears (which I would consider a huge aspect of my personality). In fact now that I think about it a date has ever worked out for me after asking a gal out to dinner. Where as in a pub club or a party I feel a lot more comfortable. I wonder why that is?

Imo dating is overrated. Every gal i've gone out with has started as a one night stand from a random party/pub/work doo etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Sitting on the side of a road in rush hour in a broken down car, with a cup of coffee, in the rain, waiting for a breakdown van to arrive.

Best date ever tbh.

Did the windows steam up?

They did, but only because it was freezing outside and we couldn't put the car heating on. It was the electrics that went in the car, or something.

For the craic she put a handprint on the window, like in Titanic.

That was one of the funnier parts of the date.

Oh. I thought you were on your own.

Ha, no.

We were supposed to be going to the cinema, but the car broke down on the way there.

So we had the date in the car instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

2 stroke wrote: »
    Oh. I thought you were on your own.

its the way 2stroke prefers his dates! :D

He should have said 2 cups of coffee. Then again maybe they shared a cup. I'm saving my definition for the moment.

what are you saving it for???

There's probably another days discussion in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

I like staying in with a curry and a dvd and a can of cider.
    Classy bird that I am.

With my boyfriend now its pubcrawl, nightclub, his/my bed. Perfect.

I'm not "comfortable" with proper dates;as in I don't like people seeing me eat.
    Conversation is limited. At least going to a nightclub we can make a show of ourselves together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

dd/mm/yyyy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

bog snorkelling ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Stalking doesn't cost much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Meal, few drinks and the possibility of sex afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Dinner and drinks...or cinema trip ...or comedy club..all of those'd be good dates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

1L of Devils bit and some oral.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,927 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Terry wrote: »
    Meal, few drinks and the possibility of sex afterwards.

+1, but change 'possibility' to 'guarantee' ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

bronte wrote: »
    Dinner and drinks...or cinema trip ...or comedy club..all of those'd be good dates.

If a guy fit all those into one date would he be 100% guaranteed some action?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

the lady not waking up as i steal her liver

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Going to a fancy restaurant and having a nice candle lit meal. We'll only order the most expensive food and the finest wine (only the best for the ladies I go out with). Then it all ends with me climbing out the bathroom window of the restaurant leaving her to foot the bill as I run down the road laughing manically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Dinner for 2 at McDonalds (only if you have the buy one get the 2nd meal free coupon though). :p

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Ruu wrote: »
    Dinner for 2 at McDonalds (only if you have the buy one get the 2nd meal free coupon though). :p

I presume you're taking the free meal, Ruu? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Sundrive

yeah you couples dont know what yer missin, i know i cant wait for the weekends to roll around,spend all week lookin forward to a big mac and a quick fumble. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

6th wrote: »
    Don't mind her. She's a Leixlip woman. They're all stuck up.

Sundrive wrote: »
    yeah you couples dont know what yer missin, i know i cant wait for the weekends to roll around,spend all week lookin forward to a big mac and a quick fumble. :p
    I know a girl (used to live beside my friend) and a friend of mine took her out for a meal (Thai, I believe).
    We saw her the following week and asked how it went.

"It was fúckin' brutal. I woulda' preferred a fúckin' McDonalds."

I know a girl (used to live beside my friend) and a friend of mine took her out for a meal (Thai, I believe).

Yes, I've heard that thai women go crazy for mc donalds food. :p

Jesus lads !!! thats me! im a thai girl living in leixlip.

6th wrote: »

Ah..there are no guarantees! :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Sundrive wrote: »
    Jesus lads !!! thats me! im a thai girl living in leixlip.

Honey, the meal was Thai, not the woman :P

Your Fast. Sniper!

:eek: :(:D