Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parted-at-birth twins married

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

18AD wrote: »
    First encounter with a mirror.

Yeah, because twins of different sexes are identical... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

i can't speak for all adoptive people but i was adopted and i have an adoption cert that has my birthday and i know the hospital i was born in. with that info i'd figure out fairly quickly if i was boning my sister. and then i'd have a tough choice to make :D
    So what did you decide?

It's fairly creepy but as it's happened to someone else, hilarious. I bet everyone else knew long before they did too. Ye look the same, finish each others sentences, same birthday, that time you needed a liver transplant she just so happened to have a perfect match, alarms bells???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭yaynay

DesF wrote: »
    I'm working on it...

as in i)carrying out incestuous relations with your sister or ii)as in getting a picture uploaded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

yaynay wrote: »
    as in i)carrying out incestuous relations with your sister or ii)as in getting a picture uploaded.
    yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭yaynay

Hmmm. That was multiple choice... damn you!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Multitasking, hmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Peared wrote: »
    Thing is though, anybody who is adopted could be with their brother/sister/half sibling/father/mother at any time and not know (sorry Commander Vines) The chances of finding out that information are slim and people have kids in different hospitals/counties etc. It must happen fairly regularly when you think about it.

i've thoroughly checked out my girlfriend's family history. none of them have given any children up for adoption. i really did check that because i know it can happen

i read a story a few months ago where a girl started in an office and after a few months was talking to one of the staff and it came up in conversation that she'd given a girl up for adoption years ago and she turned out to be her daughter. thankfully they weren't carrying on a lesbian relationship
    KTRIC wrote: »
    Are you admitting that you would bone your sister ?

Oooh the plot thickens :rolleyes:
    i ain't admitting nothing :p
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Ye look the same
    they wouldn't necessarily look the same. they'd be fraternal twins, ie from different eggs, so they wouldn't look any more alike than normal brothers and sisters, who often don't look very alike

Didn't it say they where Identical twins? Can't you have male/female identical twins? If not you should be it's only right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

ScumLord wrote: »
    Didn't it say they where Identical twins? Can't you have male/female identical twins? If not you should be it's only right.

no you can't have male and female identical twins. for them to be identical, their genitals have to be identical too. but you're right, that would be weird to look at and i think its something scientists should look into. maybe we could make a third gender that has something like barbie and ken have, ie smooth

I think that gender already exists thanks to the wonder of nature. I can't think of the name right now but they have both dangly bits and flappy bits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ebonyellie

its something i worry about all the time. When i was 18 i got pregnant by a guy i was going out with of the same age. I was crazy about him and We were both equally responsible for the pregnancy, both at fault but he didnt want to know about it so he broke up with me because i did not go along with his idea of a quick fix soluton. My child is now a thriving 9 year old and i am married and have an excellent career, i am very happy and have absolutely no regrets. But i am aware of at least 2 more kids in different parts of ireland that this guy fathered. I am worried about what if my child goes off to college and has a relationship with someone that could be his sister? everyone knows men how have had a chain of relationships which ended up with kids being brought into the world, women too i might add, it happens all the time, its a scary thought. the adoption laws need to be changed, children Need to know where they came from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Ebonyellie wrote: »
    its something i worry about all the time. When i was 18 i got pregnant by a guy i was going out with of the same age. I was crazy about him and We were both equally responsible for the pregnancy, both at fault but he didnt want to know about it so he broke up with me because i did not go along with his idea of a quick fix soluton. My child is now a thriving 9 year old and i am married and have an excellent career, i am very happy and have absolutely no regrets. But i am aware of at least 2 more kids in different parts of ireland that this guy fathered. I am worried about what if my child goes off to college and has a relationship with someone that could be his sister? everyone knows men how have had a chain of relationships which ended up with kids being brought into the world, women too i might add, it happens all the time, its a scary thought. the adoption laws need to be changed, children Need to know where they came from

This is what the problem is with 99% of Scum bags..... Fecking Imbreading...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    This is what the problem is with 99% of Scum bags..... Fecking Imbreading...

You mean inbreeding !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

gcgirl wrote: »
    You mean inbreeding !
    Probably, but having been inbred himself he can't quite say it right...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

The headline should have read -

Yore ma is my ma shocker.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

layke wrote: »
    I'm sure someone would have been suspicious after a few albino kids popped out.

The idea that offspring will have mutations is a myth. Mutations are errors introduced in the copying of an organisms DNA that can sometimes result in new and wonderful enhancements...or deformities.

Incest can lead to a greater risk recessive genes being passed on to the offspring but it may take generations of siblings sleeping with each other for this to occur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I wonder which one of the soaps will be the first to do this storyline?? My bet is on Emmerdale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Wow.

o.0 .. .

God, imagine throwing one up your sister.. and she liking it...

.. oh god, im ill now at the thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Ebonyellie wrote: »

I really wouldn't worry about it too much. The chances of your child and their half brother/sister ever meeting are really really slim. Especially since they are from different parts of the country. Then even if they do meet, there's a really slim chance that they'd form any kind of relationship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Their lives have been ruined...

!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

I bet they used to love boring people with the 'cute' fact that they were both born on the same day! :D

They probably threw out cliches like "we were made for each other" etc

I think if I knew I was adopted and ended up with a woman born on the same as me I'd certainly be the least bit weary (just in case).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I bet they used to love boring people with the 'cute' fact that they were both born on the same day! :D

They probably threw out cliches like "we were made for each other" etc

I think if I knew I was adopted and ended up with a woman born on the same as me I'd certainly be the least bit weary (just in case).

Would you also be wary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Imagine how sick to the stomach you'd be.
    You'd have to scrub your willy for about a week