Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What grinds your gears?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Loud People.

People who don't indicate at turns as well as roundabouts.

I've nearly died many times.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

-Leelo- wrote: »
    The LUAS, Ya can never get a seat

I only go up to Dublin every few months and ive always gotten a seat...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Terry wrote: »
    Soccer is for pussies.

Amen, besides most can judge as they would play the sport they like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Everyone knows wrestling is pretend. It is all made of foam. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

People who type ect. instead of etc.

lazer instead of laser

Not using the clutch, etc., etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

bloody everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

this road im currently living on, nice big long raod, with, i think, 9 streets turning off from it, just a nice little housing estate type thing. except that 8 of the 9 streets are named after birds. and ONE street isnt. why? why isn't that one street named after a bird? why would they take an obvious theme, change it partial way through,a dn then change back? why why why didnt they name it after a bird? what was the purpose? it cannot be coincidence that the rest of them are all birds. why name this one 'mermaid'? wtf? that's not a bird.

basquille wrote: »
    Family Guy references...

haha, what about planes trains and automobiles references?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭floydmoon1

people not indicating and roundabouts.

people who when you tell them or indicate to go first in line or drive in front of you indicate back to you for you to do it.

people who talk during films.

people who have bad taste in movies and will watch any crap if its a comedy with a famous person in it or rapper.

people who say o instead of zero when reading out a telephone number.

myself for making sure i say zero instead of o when giving someone my number because im pedantic.

people who text while you are talking to them.

people who answer there phone and have a conversation while their is a group of people around them.

loud people.

bunches of teenage girls in back of bus who have wwent on a day trip shopping to the city and are on their way home.

people who chose dubbing in a film instead of subtitles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

narco wrote: »
    this road im currently living on, nice big long raod, with, i think, 9 streets turning off from it, just a nice little housing estate type thing. except that 8 of the 9 streets are named after birds. and ONE street isnt. why? why isn't that one street named after a bird? why would they take an obvious theme, change it partial way through,a dn then change back? why why why didnt they name it after a bird? what was the purpose? it cannot be coincidence that the rest of them are all birds. why name this one 'mermaid'? wtf? that's not a bird.

Is this the Rockinghorse road bit you were talking about? I think they should have kept to the theme of old school childrens toys. Spinning top lane, Penny whistle st and Jigsaw avenue :)

but that's a different section of sections. ALL the roads leading off rockinghorse road are bird's names, usually kiwi birds, at that. (lol, initially i thought 'godwit' was a weird christian thing...)... but then out of nowhere! mermaid street! why?! why!?

i do frequently tell the b/f that i want to live somewhere though just cos it's got a highly amusing street name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Soccer is for pussies.

*sniped handpicked youtube vids to prove a halfassed points*

I wouldn't mind, but the outcome of wrestling matches is predetermined.

If you're going to pick a sport to try and compare to football, for the love of jesus don't pick a sport where grown men prance about in lycra pretending to hit eachother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

Forgot these two

paying for the whole sky sports package and setanta sports only to have to watch portsmith take on wigan when there are much better games on at the same time that are not broadcast.

People who activly enjoy television shows such has your a star ,circque the celebrity, are you smarter then a ten year old honest to god if I had the means id put them all on a small island then on a run of bad form launch said island into the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Forgot these two

paying for the whole sky sports package and setanta sports only to have to watch portsmith take on wigan when there are much better games on at the same time that are not broadcast.

People who activly enjoy television shows such has your a star ,circque the celebrity, are you smarter then a ten year old honest to god if I had the means id put them all on a small island then on a run of bad form launch said island into the sun.

That's a damn good idea for a TV show. Must get in touch with Sky, or even Endemol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Tailgating
    Not indicating, esp on roundabouts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

If you're going to pick a sport to try and compare to football, for the love of jesus don't pick a sport where grown men prance about in lycra pretending to hit eachother.
    Hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

gaa managers who cant say tremendous " the lads were tramennjous today "
    marty whealan - a face for radio
    people who say "you want to have your cake and eat it" obviously
    people who cant pull the little red string on the side of biscuit packets to open them and instead stab them and break the biscuits.
    people who put basin into there sinks and use the basin as a sink in a sink this one is making me mad even typing it its just so stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭brow_601

when people make you tea and automatically assume you take it the same way as them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭fluffytulip

stupid bad drivers who never done there test otherwise they should know how to indicate PROPERLY on roundabouts.

Boy/girl racers...muppets:rolleyes:

People who skip queues

Rude people in shops.

public loos where people pee on the seat and leave it there ewwww (totally avoid them)

Im sure ive lots more but these are some of the worst i think!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

brow_601 wrote: »
    when people make you tea and automatically assume you take it the same way as them

hanging offence

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

One of these.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I dislike people who think the insignificant little things they dislike should be disliked by everyone else.

That is all.

people touching me. i dont like being touched. dont ever touch me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Were are they touching you:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 yogert

-Students that recieve a college grant who think that they are harder working or more deserving than the likes of myself who's parents put me through college. I have a weekend job too but im still a "sponge" it seems. Your sponging off the government! :mad:

-People who end texts or reply's with "That is all" I think the fullstop covers that point to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

How do you feel about gropings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Ah... it's not as bad as when people try and put you in boxes.

ah, im the wrong shape for that... not a big issue for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Jfla

Use of the word 'owned' or 'ownage' when people hurt themselves by accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

People who think their opinion on something is relevant before they know all the facts, and who talk about things they know nothing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I am pie wrote: »
    I dislike people who think the insignificant little things they dislike should be disliked by everyone else.

That is all.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/AlexClarke/Starfighter/sarcasm_detector.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Aura

People who are vocabulary deficient and say things are cool because they're "different". I mean different to what? Specifics please!
    Bad grammar, homophobia, snobbery, rudeness and double standards are well up there too....

Rant on my brethren!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

People who say -

"I seen it" and "I done it".

Also any other bad grammar and spelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

One of these.

This one grinds my gears...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭steppen

People who clap when the plane they're traveling in lands

People who say they ruined their keyboard and screen by spitting coffee/beer on them upon hearing a joke

steppen wrote: »
    People who clap when the plane they're traveling in lands

People who say they ruined their keyboard and screen by spitting coffee/beer on them upon hearing a joke

LOL. I nearly lost my coffee, and my keyboard, when I read that one :rolleyes:

• people who say o instead of zero when reading out a telephone number.

I work in a call centre, and always say 'zero' when I'm reading out a phone number and half the callers then say 'you mean O?' in a really patronising way. No, I mean zero, O is a letter. Don't talk to me as if I'M the stupid one.

I just hate patronising people in general really. A lot of people assume I'm thick because I work in a call centre, and just talk to me like I'm slow, like tell me their address REALLY slowly 3 times, and then say 'have you got that, love?' Even worse are people who just ASSUME you won't know something, like the guy yesterday who went 'the town is Llandudno, you won't know it, it's in Wales' (actually yes I do know it, loads of my relatives live there and I've been a million times), 'The street name is Las Murallas, I'll spell that for you cos you won't get it, it's a Spanish word, you know' (well, I only have a degree in Spanish, I've only lived, studied and worked in Spain and do half my job though Spanish, but yeah, what would I know?) Aghhhh. It's so rude to assume someone won't know something, fair enough if you're trying to be helpful, but it's so fecking rude to assume.

Also, people who stand chatting in the middle of the pavement, or in a doorway, totally oblivious and then give you a dirty look for trying to squeeze past.

Irish commuters, the biggest morons of all the commuters in the world. Absolutely no concept of manners, decency or common sense. Just stand looking at you like you're an idiot when trying to point out that there's LOADS of space in the Luas, if people would move down the aisles instead of crowding round the door. One woman said could we not see it was full and we'd have to wait until after rush hour. Oh right, I'll be an hour late for work so you can have your nice 'personal space' around you and not feel cramped. Another guy rolled his eyes and said 'well why didn't you ask them to move down?' Oh, is it not at all obvious that people are missing the Luas while there's piles of space inside? Would it not be common sense? And are there not signs on every door saying to move down the aisles to let people on? Yeah, that's right, I'M the thicko.

The DART people are just as bad, yesterday I actually saw a guy miss one at Pease station because he couldn't get into it, and everyone was giving out to him as if he was doing something wrong! The train was absolutely nowhere near full, there were even seats left, and everyone was crowded around the door like sheep, just looking at him blankly. It was the most ludicrous thing I've ever seen. There was loads of space inside! Selfish morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 alrightbob

ziggy wrote: »

Same thing on the toll bridge when they have their wallet under their fat asses or their bag on the back seat especially at the exact change barriers. Feel like beating the sh1t out of them with my steering lock.
    'Mums Run' women with the huge SUVs that they have no idea how to drive. I think schools should start at 10 to ease congestion in the morning, besides, whats wrong with walking or buses. Thats how it was done in my day.
    Cars parking on corners of busy junctions making you drive out into the junction to see whats coming.
    Cars that will drive past a slow moving queue and then at the last moment try to push in in front of you. Never let them, if you hit them they will be done for dangerous driving (jumping lanes).
    People who drive on your back bumper. Slam on the brakes and when they hit you sue the b**tards. Make sure to drive slowly or you risk whip lash or worse. I cannot condone this as it is probably illegal but those dogs, cats, footballs, children have a habit of appearing on the road at the most inopportune moments.
    People at cash machines with several cards that they insert and then don't withdrawn any money.
    People who stand in queues at a deli counter and only decide what they want (eventually) when they are been served regards of how long they were waiting in the line.
    Cyclists at night (in dark clothes) with no lights or reflective clothing. Even worse when it rains. They should been fair game and not given preferential treatment by the law, courts if hit. If a car or motorbike is involved in an accident at night with no lights on they will be screwed to the wall. I am not been biased here, I have traveled on all those modes of transport over the years, Bike-Motorbike-Car so I can appreciate what I am saying. It hurts to crash on/in all of them. Been there/Done that.

Rant over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Chunks

Two words:

Hubby
    Snog

English tabloid shte! Anyone who uses them is an idiot in my book.

Having a bad day today :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

Beaurocracy - however it's spelled!

I'm applying for a visa for Australia and they won't accept my form of payment which is perfectly acceptable according to their own rules and they won't tell me why!!!!

Cue resending the entire bloody application!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Sugar Drunk

people who use the phrase 'were pregnant':eek:

Drivers who can't indicate

fat women who insist on calling themselves 'curvy' Beth Ditto is not curvy love shes morbidly obese sorry to ruin your illlusion

Caroline Morahan, I just can't tolerate this woman. especially in light of her 'i got offered loads of drugs but didnt do it' interview. well arent you just the patron saint of political correctness. plus, shes a minger

Glenda Gilson - those eyebrows?! I just wanna fix them

Are you smarter than a 10 year old. dear god why cant the contestants just shut the f**k up talking rubbish and just answer the question!! No, you are not smarter than a 10 year old as a ten year old could answer that question without whittering on for 10 minutes first

women who wear clothes that are 2 sizes too small. Just because the label says size 10 does not mean you actually are a size 10.

emos

people wearing pyjamas in public like seriously whats that about?!

People who wear pyjamas in public while wearing a full face of makeup. what - you took ages to do your face and hair and just couldnt be arsed to get dressed?

Mary Harney - the overindulged face of the Irish Health system

People blaming drug dealers when their relatives/friends over do the drugs and die all the while proclaiming the deceased as a saint. Look, lets face it the person made their own choice to stuff coke up their nose - they cant have been that innocent

jehovahs witnesses

extreme pro-lifers

The new brown sweets in the quality street tin

green crisps - never know if its safe to eat them or not.

people who bite their nails - STOP IT

Orange opel fruits

Obese kids

Spoiled kids - 10yr olds who have a tv, dvd player and playstation in their room. god forbid these kids would ever have to use there imagination!

Mammys who need an SUV which seats 7 to drive 2 of these forementioned obese brats to school which is 3 minute walk away from their house

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

the dee wrote: »
    What grinds your gears?

Not fully or properly engaging my clutch while changing my said gears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

The phrase "thanking you". In my experience, used only by 30-something middle managers who like to think of themselves as trendy and down with the kids because they don't wear a tie to work and listen to Razorlight.

Also back in the days when i used bebo, people who I barely knew/liked and people who never spoke 2 words to me in school adding me as a friend in a desperate attempt to make themselves look more popular. "Wow, I have 50 million friends, aren't I just the greatest?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Aura

The new brown sweets in the quality street tin

green crisps - never know if its safe to eat them or not.

Omigod I'm so with you on both of these and also raise you the other new and incredibly unimaginative addition to the Quality Street family... a square of chocolate (green wrapper).

I mean some r&d please people. There are standards to be followed!

As for the green crisps I in my human dustbin-ness and complete piggery do indeed eat them but always wonder if I really should....