Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beer Money & Other Miscellaneous Activities.

• 13-01-2008 5:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭

I need money. I'm currently writing this to the tune of that awful, awful Abba song. You know the one. Short of winning the lotto, selling my kidneys, prostituting myself and robbing the Ulster Bank - I've considered these options in detail but the drawbacks of possible prison time, death and being riddled with magic bag of std's has put me against these idea's.

So that means I have to get a *sigh* honest hardworking job *sigh*. Courtesy of my newfound snowboarding habit and a Ballymun in the sun Santa Ponsa sojourn in the summer I need a job during the week in Limerick in order to save all the yoyo's needed for these activities. And the usual hookers and coke addictions also.

I'm not too keen on going into the city, the logistics of it are complex to say the least. And the fact that the City Bus service has all the reliability of a three wheeled Lada. I've narrowed it down somewhat accordingly.

The University
    Convenience: 10/10, 2 minute walk from the house
    Prospective Employers: Stables, Java, SU Spar.....
    Chances: 0/10, Theres more chance of Shane McGowan flashing his Pioneer badge to breath testing Garda than getting a job on campus. If you think hen's teeth are rare.... you should try look for an on campus job. If you do find one, give Kate & Gerry McCann a call, cos you can find anything!

Castletroy Shopping Centre
    Convenience: 8/10, A nice bit of a walk, but not too bad.
    Prospective Employers: Superquinn, Skobie Sports, Maccy D's, Storm, and I suppose you could include that bastion of uber sophistication; The Lodge.
    Chances: 2/10, Considering I tried Storm and Superquinn earlier in the year and only got a nice "no room at the inn, we're full" postcard from Superquinn the chances of getting a job there are slim. Slimmer than Posh Spice on an atkins diet. Although she'd probably like shopping in Superquinn.

Retail Parks - Parkway & Childers Road
    Convenience 3/10, Walking is ruled out tbh, gonna have to rely on that fooking Halleys Comet Bus Service (Once every 50 years) or alternatively get a bike (Which will probably end up with me mangled underneath a souped up 1973 Toyota Starlet) or alternatively-alternatively get me one of them chariots that the knackers use. I can just imagine parking it in front of Tk's.
    Prospective Employers: Tk Maxx, Elverys, Homebase, PC World, Dunnes, JJB, Next, Heatons, Smyths etc etc. Theres a lot of businesszz but fook all jobs paradoxically me thinks.
    Chances: A bit more chance of a job here, solely due to the large fecking number of massive retail stores. Largely unknown though, dunno whether any of these hire or even if they do, that they'll hire an innocent country boy.

Any advice boardsies? I'll prolly end up firing off a scatter of C.V.s to everyone in a spam like manner hoping to get one back asking me to come for the dreaded interview. Bear in mind I'm highly unemployable; I don't have a criminal record or anything (Unless you count wearing that brunch shirt out) but I've shag all experience working in bars or shops or anywhere!

On the bonus side, I'm prepared to work like a black for the first hour of the job...... :p

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

If you've already tried Storm then I cant really help you (We really are full at the inn but your post had me laughing heartily...maybe you could try your hand at being a stand up comedian?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Take nekkid pics and sell em online.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Peteee wrote: »
    If you've already tried Storm then I cant really help you

I don't know about that...I'm sure I could try get an interview for CSON if I wanted to.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

do u have any lifeguard qualifications?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭cson

Mossin wrote: »
    I don't know about that...I'm sure I could try get an interview for CSON if I wanted to.

Hmmm, I'm intrigued. Will hookers and coke be inclusive? Will I have to wear my brunch shirt? How much butter will I need for you Mossin to get this interview?
    PeakOutput wrote: »
    do u have any lifeguard qualifications?

Does having watched 8 seasons of baywatch count? I can do the running through the sand thing, I have the fake boobs and all. Don't ask btw.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Security etc in town or Dooradoyle perhaps? Not terribly convenient I know but I found the buses at commuting times reliable. Get onto the security firms at least. Tis a boring skanger packed job but its better than no coke and hookers.
    There may be work going in the Technology Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

cson wrote: »
    I need money. I'm currently writing this to the tune of that awful, awful Abba song.

I'm currently writing this to the tune of that fantastic Eagles song (Hotel California....yes the one where you can check out any time you like, but you can never leave). And no I'm not drunk before anyone asks but I'm thinking about it.
    Short of winning the lotto, selling my kidneys, prostituting myself and robbing the Ulster Bank - I've considered these options in detail but the drawbacks of possible prison time, death and being riddled with magic bag of std's has put me against these idea's.

The Lotto is a slim possibility. I'll take your liver off you if you're willing to part with that (it never hurts to have a spare around). Prostituting yourself may not be as bad as it sounds can I recommend a visit to a doctor to load up on as many vaccinations as he/she will give you. Then go buy the other required protection and off you go. Given the current rates for escorts you'll be rolling in money in no time (or else you'll have caught some unfortunate disease that there is no cure for).

You have absolutely no commitment to the cause, all that robbing Ulster Bank requires is some resolve and enough weaponry and ammunition to make the Gardai think twice about coming near the place (given that it's Limerick we're talking about that shouldn't be too difficult) :p
    So that means I have to get a *sigh* honest hardworking job *sigh*.

Poor you....let me get my tiny violin.
    And the usual hookers and coke addictions also.

Give up the coke and hookers they're bad for you in ways that you can't imagine.
    Any advice boardsies? I'll prolly end up firing off a scatter of C.V.s to everyone in a spam like manner hoping to get one back asking me to come for the dreaded interview. Bear in mind I'm highly unemployable; I don't have a criminal record or anything (Unless you count wearing that brunch shirt out) but I've shag all experience working in bars or shops or anywhere!

Ok enough of me trying to be funny. Storm is always a good bet and it may be worth trying there again. As usual send your CV in to as many places as you can. Experience won't matter much in a shop, you can be shown how to use a till in no time. The cinema probably doesn't require a whole lot of experience either.

Try the retail parks near up near the Parkway you may be lucky and find something up there. The walk isn't all that long anyway buy a decent coat and an umbrella for the rainy days. PC World and Dixons seemed to be looking for people a lot of the time when I was in UL. Dunnes Stores also frequently looking for staff so try there as well.
    On the bonus side, I'm prepared to work like a black for the first hour of the job...... :p

Only for the first hour, that's no good....it's alright though I'm sure you'll be worked like a dog where ever you end up.

5uspect wrote: »

I forgot to mention there....as far as I know O2 take on students if you tell them that you'll stay for ~6 months. If it was a summer job you were looking for I'd recommend Cook Ireland or Vistakon (pay is good in both but you'll be working on shift and it wouldn't suit a student).

Cheerio's Rory, I prolly will fire off the C.V.s like a trigger happy Yank in Eye-Rack. One other way of employment I have to investigate, and bear in mind I'm tentative to talk about it here because it's so innovative, is to be a busker exterminator. I got the idea while walking down cruises st before xmas, I was blinded (yer the ironing is delicious :p) by the terrible noise coming from outside New Look. There were 3 fecking Bridies ****eing on about having the Time Of Your Life. It was bad enough that it was Greenday they were singing but sweet jesus, it sounded like they were trying to microwave a cat.

Yep I definitely think there is a future in it. All I gotta do is head down the Moyross way to pick up the requisite tools for the job.

kaimera wrote: »
    Take nekkid pics and sell em online.

Just saw this now Kaimera and unfortunately there are free nekkid pics of me already up on Bebo somewhere. Well of my arse. And sadly the advent of new site (Erm my mate told me about them...hmm, yes that'll do eh) has made the price of nekkid pics drop to new low levels. We learned about it in economics with Supply and Demand. Well not about the neekid pics specifically, but I'd imagine it'd make a good fyp.

You could always work as a cleaner. You might even meet some hot Polish girls!

Security etc in town or Dooradoyle perhaps? Not terribly convenient I know but I found the buses at commuting times reliable. Get onto the security firms at least. Tis a boring skanger packed job but its better than no coke and hookers.

Alas 5uspect I'm not reknowned for my strength. I'm more of a Barack Obama character (In stature too, but without the blackness) than a raging Dubya bomb moyross type of guy.

The techermology park would suit though. I dunno wheter O2 would approve of my Vodafone past though. :eek:

@Petee, I'm telling if you wanted material for stand up comedy you should have taken the CityLink home from Dublin yesterday. We took it out of the Airport after coming home from Tignes (Snowboarding, hence my new addiction) and about 6 Dubliners (D4-ers as much as I hate that label) got on and sat down the back behind us. They shite they came out with was comedy gold. One of the pearls being "Omg Fionn I'd love to like just get a mould of you and make it into a teddy bear" :eek:

Dear god if they ever went abroad and gave foreigners an impression that this is what Irish people are like. It scares me to say the least.

One other way of employment I have to investigate, and bear in mind I'm tentative to talk about it here because it's so innovative, is to be a busker exterminator.

If you do decide to go down this route I'd pay you a handsome sum if you'd complete the small task of clearing Grafton Street of the following:
    • Preachers (all denominations they all give me a pain in the arse).
    • Buskers (I don't really hate them but I might aswell throw them in anyway).
    • Beggars at ATMs.
    • Anti fur/abortion/whatever protesters (need I say more).

Each of these groups give me one more reason to avoid Grafton street which is a shame because sometimes walking down Grafton Street is the quickest way to get where I want to go.
    The techermology park would suit though. I dunno wheter O2 would approve of my Vodafone past though. :eek:

I doubt they'd care some how.

Alas 5uspect I'm not reknowned for my strength. I'm more of a Barack Obama character (In stature too, but without the blackness) than a raging Dubya bomb moyross type of guy.

You're not allowed to touch anyone in retail security. Just stand there like a tool. No strength required only tolerance for boredom...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

You're not allowed to touch anyone in retail security. Just stand there like a tool. No strength required only tolerance for boredom...

Ypou can if you've seen someone leave with merchandise without paying!!

My job in the SU is going as I'm on co-op....hand in a CV to Adele, try and get down before the start of term though. It's minimum wage but p1ss easy. Be WARNED though. I WILL be back looking for it in September!!!

ninty9er wrote: »

Nope, only verbal contact. In fact you're better off letting them go and barring them in future.

My job in the SU is going as I'm on co-op....hand in a CV to Adele, try and get down before the start of term though. It's minimum wage but p1ss easy. Be WARNED though. I WILL be back looking for it in September!!!

wat job would that be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

Sniff, sniff... Cue, 'Everybody's changing...' The SU will miss you...As will the C&S office, Derek...Sniff, sniff...

Yeah, my tuppence worth was to suggest trying the SU. There are often positions going for casual labour. Or replacing ninty9er. Sniff. Ents Crew will be recruiting as well I'd imagine considering a number of last semester's lot are off on co-op/TP etc; talk to the CSO, Paddy, if you're interested - full training will be provided.

Try the SU shop as well; they are quite regularly looking for staff.

All SU jobs will be minimum wage, except for Ents which is a little more.

Happy job-hunting ;)

Nope, only verbal contact. In fact you're better off letting them go and barring them in future.

I've seen people frogmarched, held on the floor and pinned against walls by security at work for robbing razor blades and after-shave. Gardaí come along and say nothing only take the robbing scum away.

Strange. Where I worked we had a strict no contact policy. Cson is screwed so!

ye in dublin on henry street iv seen a guard kneel on sum junkies face as the junkie was trying to bite him they are allowed protect the staff and product so id assume that means physical contact

Sounds like loads of fun!

Hmmm, a desk job eh? Minimum Wage eh? Hookers eh?

Ok, so I actually bothered my arse to something about it today. CVs and cover notes are all making their merry ways to Superquinn, Storm, McDonalds, The Lodge, Bambury Bookies, Elverys, Park Hotel, Champion Sports and O2 in the tech park, where they will more than likely just be put into the blue recyclable waste bins.

I'm setting the expectations to zero.

Might give the SU office a call and see if they'll let me fill the ninty9er sized void in the office too, cheers for the heads up Ninty9er and you'll have to work my arse groove out of your seat in Sept if I do get it though.

Mossin has intrigued me with his tempting offer of an interview with Storm..... If nothing else, it'll be a chance for me to wear one of my suits. God, I do love wearing suits.... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

There's something to be said for velcro suits.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

You could try Chawkes and Spar as well?

Well the cost of my job hunting has risen to €12, €2.50 for envelopes and €9.50 for stamps, so I'll give it a week and see if any of the recipients are intrigued by the musk I sprayed on the CV. Then Chawkes and everywhere else will get one.

And velcro suits? :eek:

Whats to be said about them? That thats possibly one of the craziest ideas I've ever heard?!

"Well lads, what dya think of me new velcro suit?" *Said while wearing velcro suit and nike air max*

PM Sent

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

You should try up at Parkway. I worked up there before, in TK Maxx and it's not a bad walk. To be fair, if you're that desperate for a job you shouldn't be bothered walking there. It only takess about twenty minutes.

Well I have my last envelope all stamped and a CV in it. So I think I'll address the cover note to TKs and hope for the best. Unfortunately Storm isn't looking likely so may as well just fire out the CVs everywhere within 20 mins walk.

I'm beginning to think that I'll still be unemployed come 29th Jan and back to College. :( I'll be off to the loan shark so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Well I have my last envelope all stamped and a CV in it. So I think I'll address the cover note to TKs and hope for the best. Unfortunately Storm isn't looking likely so may as well just fire out the CVs everywhere within 20 mins walk.

I'm beginning to think that I'll still be unemployed come 29th Jan and back to College. :( I'll be off to the loan shark so.

Yeah, my apologies about the Storm thing, I tried everything, but I just wasnt willing to degrade myself for the sake of an interview.

AFAIK Dunnes are always looking for staff, both in the Parkway and 24hr. Its good pay too.