Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

setting up a company or going self employed

Options
  • 14-01-2008 1:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭

right where to begin. im a student thinking of setting up a business sorta part time. altho i need a tax clearance cert, i rang the tax man and he said i need to be self employed! this brings me to my first question what happens if i get a job and they want a tax credit cert? my dad also said that might cause some truble later on if your not making any money they might start asking questions. he said i should register a limited company and work form there that it would be cheaper in the long run. but this gives me my second question, will i have to register for vat even tho i wont be making the €20000 a year. and how will i pay myself out of the company.
    my head is melted so any help would be great.
    hc

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭information

HighlyCooL wrote: »
    right where to begin. im a student thinking of setting up a business sorta part time. altho i need a tax clearance cert, i rang the tax man and he said i need to be self employed! this brings me to my first question what happens if i get a job and they want a tax credit cert? my dad also said that might cause some truble later on if your not making any money they might start asking questions. he said i should register a limited company and work form there that it would be cheaper in the long run. but this gives me my second question, will i have to register for vat even tho i wont be making the €20000 a year. and how will i pay myself out of the company.