Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Ryanair rant thread (from 2008)

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Rickym

You got there too late and missed your flight. Boo hoo. Any argument you have (and that's not much) is with BAA, not Ryanair.

You're missing the point. Every other airline looked after their passengers and made sure they got on their flights that day. Ryanair just dumped everyones bags off the flight and went without them. I didn't get to the airport late and neither did everyone else that missed the flight that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Rickym wrote: »
    Ryanair just dumped everyones bags off the flight and went without them. I didn't get to the airport late and neither did everyone else that missed the flight that day.

You obviously got there too late to make the flight. Did you not see the huge writing on the back of the boarding pass - "THE PLANE WILL NOT WAIT". Now, if you'd arrived three hours before I'd have a bit more sympathy, but arriving ninety mins beforehand and needing to check in at the desk is cutting it fine these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

How's everyone finding the new Ryanair site template? Seems ok but a bit sluggish for me all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Rickym

You obviously got there too late to make the flight. Did you not see the huge writing on the back of the boarding pass - "THE PLANE WILL NOT WAIT". Now, if you'd arrived three hours before I'd have a bit more sympathy, but arriving ninety mins beforehand and needing to check in at the desk is cutting it fine these days.

I'm not going to get into an argument with you about this. I've flown to Gatwick once a month for the last 5 years. I'm quite familiar with the airport and how much time I have to get there before my flights. 5 years is long enough to get into a steady habit.
    My point is simply that, if I was flying with any other airline out of Gatwick on that day, I would have got home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 FDuff

has anyone tried to book a flight on their website recently? they try to get you in any way possible to add up more tax to your bill! :(

1) you're automatically assigned as priority boarding (€3)
    2) the travel insurance is a good one: even if you select 'No travel insurance' it still charges you for it!! losers..
    3) then at the end, when you think you were all done, payement card charges (which also depends on the number of passengers! this doesnt make any sence, as they get charged on a transaction basis, not passenger! RRRRRrrrr)

SO ANNOYING!!!!!!!!! :mad:

this is RIDICULOUS, is there anyone in charge in this country/europe to regulate that kind of non-sense/open-rip-off?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

FDuff wrote: »
    has anyone tried to book a flight on their website recently? they try to get you in any way possible to add up more tax to your bill! :(

1) you're automatically assigned as priority boarding (€3)
    2) the travel insurance is a good one: even if you select 'No travel insurance' it still charges you for it!! losers..
    3) then at the end, when you think you were all done, payement card charges (which also depends on the number of passengers! this doesnt make any sence, as they get charged on a transaction basis, not passenger! RRRRRrrrr)

SO ANNOYING!!!!!!!!! :mad:

this is RIDICULOUS, is there anyone in charge in this country/europe to regulate that kind of non-sense/open-rip-off?!

ok i have triedd this as well if your using a decent brower like firefox or opera the ycharge wont come off but if you use internet explor it will its a problem with thier scropting by the looks of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

FDuff wrote: »

yeah i booked a flight for two and got charged an extra 16 euro..... are they now charging 8 euro per person for booking with a credit card?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭hel_hev

anyone esle having probelms with the website for ryanair today ? i know they were down for 3 days ,, then back up , but it aint working at all now since i came home from work im trying .. thats since about 6.30pm ...
    i finally found suitable accomadation for were im going in the uk, for the only dates i could get off work & now i cant book my flight ... grrr >:<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

me too. exactly the same problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭andrew1977

jobless wrote: »
    yeah i booked a flight for two and got charged an extra 16 euro..... are they now charging 8 euro per person for booking with a credit card?

Yip i think its 4 euro per leg of your journey, outbound and return comes to 8 euro in total for the credit card and this is per person also

I booked 8 sets of flights to the Uk last night, didnt find much of a delay on the website and got all my confirmations back by e-mail within 5 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭hel_hev

yeah was working fine last night , i was checking for prices ... now i ve discussed which day in best to go with person travelling with me ... and went to book it ... and now i cant .. i dont want to book the hotel until i know i have the flight and the hotels are quickly booking out .... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Right I have to rant now.

28 euro per bag? Seriously? I wish to travel to rome, it is nessecary for me to fly from Shannon to either Stansted or Milan first and then fly to rome. At first it seems cheap, but by the time I add bags its an extra 190!

Believe it or not its actually cheaper to fly with Air France via Paris! At least then I can bring as many bags as I want and get proper service...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

tbh you would be mad to use ryanair for that sort of journey.They are point to point only. If the first part of your journey is affected you are potentially ****ed.

At least with a decent airline if there are any problems with your first leg they will do their best to accommodate you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Lurvely

Im flying for the first time with ryanair from derry to liverpool...i think ill be ok with just my driving licence but might get my passport renewed just in case. My friend booked the tickets online, think they were bout 60 sterling each which i was told was quite dear cause we're not going until October. Was just wondering will i have to pay extra for any bags i take with me or is some baggage included in the price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Baggage isn't included in Ryanair fares - so unless your friend has prebooked sme bags as part of that £60 fare, then you'll end up paying extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

y'all missing the point

Ryanair is a private company, they're there to make money and they're doing so very efficiently. No one's putting a gun to your head and forcing you to fly with them. If you want to get better service, pay more for it somewhere else. It's called capitalism, and if it suddenly died you'd all be complaining. Money talks.

o'leary's a w**ker for sure, but he's very, very good at what he does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Rickym wrote: »
    I didn't get to the airport late and neither did everyone else that missed the flight that day.

You obviously did if you didn't make it to your gate in time...

deaddonkey wrote: »
    y'all missing the point

Ryanair is a private company, they're there to make money and they're doing so very efficiently. No one's putting a gun to your head and forcing you to fly with them. If you want to get better service, pay more for it somewhere else. It's called capitalism, and if it suddenly died you'd all be complaining. Money talks.

o'leary's a w**ker for sure, but he's very, very good at what he does.
    I think most can appreciate Ryanair's niche. However that does not mean we're not free to rant about them as per thread title.
    My opinion is that they have pushed the boat out too far, they were a very good airline 3-4 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

if they push the boat out too far they'll fail, that's what a free market does. Rant all y'like, but they'll only listen to you and your money when you bring it elsewhere. they're obviously still doing something right.

p.s. i'm 6ft 2 and hate travelling on ryanair, you can't do anything but have yer knees around your neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭FrCrilly

Savman wrote: »
    Ok I think we need this thread, I'm hoping yous agree. Let me start it off.

I want to take my younger siblings to Blackpool, found Ryanair's flights to be fairly cheap and fairly consistent throughout the Summer, about €55pp return.

Until, that is, I clicked thru and ended up on the Passenger Info page.

The fooking baggage charges add €72:eek:
    Oh and that's not taking them up on their luxurious offer to pay another €6 per passenger for "priority boarding". I've highlighted these prices in silly big font because it is the opposite of what Ryanair are doing, hiding it in little font.

I've had to rethink whether or not I'm still arsed to go.

I'm not saying Ryanair are the only ones at this kinda scam, it certainly seems to be the latest cheapo airline trend.

They are going to alienate a certain demographic by introducing these poxy add-ons. Families with children will now be hurt the most whereas a bunch of lads on an overnight football trip (like me last weekend) get welcomed with open arms.

Yes, I know, bags = weight = more fuel consumption = more bills for Moneybags O'Leary but I mean, seriously, WTF? It's getting out of hand at this stage.

Don't have time to read this thread, so just responding to initial post.

There's a story about a disgruntled London Irish Ryanair passenger in Stansted confronting Michael O'Leary about his flight to Cork being delayed. Michael O'Leary asked him "How often do you fly home?". He replied "About six times a year". O'Leary then asked "How often did you go home before Ryanair came along". He replied "Twice a year". O'Leary then said "You're now able to fly home 6 times a year and you're complaining to me about your flight being a slight bit delayed". The passenger then quickly conceded defeat in his argument.

I don't know if this story is true, but it does illustrate how short sighted some people can be. Ryanair is a ruthless profit making enterprise and a by product of this corporate greed is a huge reduction in the price of flying. A return flight from Dublin to London at mid eighties prices adjusted to the present would be something in the region of €600 return.

FOR CHRIST'S SAKE PEOPLE, WILL YOU LOOK AT THE BIG PICTURE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭speedbird1

Has anyone used the new Halifax debit card while purchasing RyanAir tickets on line. If so what do Ryanair charge for use of this debit card.? As everone knows a normal credit card now costs €4 per person per sector. Why not a single tranaction charge per transaction.
    If anyone can advise on how to avoid some or all of these card charges please let us know.

I see on line rumours that NIB also have or are about to introduce a debit card. ?

FrCrilly wrote: »
    Don't have time to read this thread, so just responding to initial post.

There's a story about a disgruntled London Irish Ryanair passenger in Stansted confronting Michael O'Leary about his flight to Cork being delayed. Michael O'Leary asked him "How often do you fly home?". He replied "About six times a year". O'Leary then asked "How often did you go home before Ryanair came along". He replied "Twice a year". O'Leary then said "You're now able to fly home 6 times a year and you're complaining to me about your flight being a slight bit delayed". The passenger then quickly conceded defeat in his argument.

I don't know if this story is true, but it does illustrate how short sighted some people can be. Ryanair is a ruthless profit making enterprise and a by product of this corporate greed is a huge reduction in the price of flying. A return flight from Dublin to London at mid eighties prices adjusted to the present would be something in the region of €600 return.

FOR CHRIST'S SAKE PEOPLE, WILL YOU LOOK AT THE BIG PICTURE.
    Punctuality gripes are actually very seldom related to Ryanair so that's a bad example. They are efficient, nobody can deny them that and they make no bones about telling everyone the are best in Europe for being in time. I remember what the market was like pre-ryanair, and like I already pointed out had you bothered to read the thread I am grateful for their introduction to help drive air fares down and force a complete re-think for the industry as a whole. O'Leary will forever be credited as the man who crushed the airline monopoly in Europe and many big airlines have felt the pinch.

That does not mean Ryanair couldn't be a little less mercenary. I acknowledge they fill a market void so long as you can get these "low fares" but they wouldn't be my airline of choice, I despise them in fact. Similarly the way I despise Dublin Bus but I'll still use them when I absolutely have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

I agree Sav. The hidden charges are ridiculous. The prices aren't bad, they just seem bad because you see the initial price and think "great!", but then with the hidden charges it all comes undone.

But you're not alone with this Sav. I remember readin' on rte.ie that a bill was passed for all these airlines to adjust their online sales prices to reflect the total cost including tax and hidden charges from the get-go. I think it's bein' implemented as we speak...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I can categorically state that as someone who used to (unfortunately) fly with Ryanair almost every week to the UK for about a year and a half a few years back that they are lying through their teeth when they state that they are the most punctual when it comes to being on time, rubbish of the highest order, countless flights ive been on have been delayed, some as much as 8 hours and rarely was any sort of explanation given, miserable cun*s wouldn't even offer you a cup of tea or sandwich, expect you to just sit there and wait in the crowded departures.

The only slightly positive thing i can say about Ryanair is that they allow you to change your name and destination on flights, but even for that it's all €€€€€ for these capitalistic money making cowboys.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭koHd

jonny68 wrote: »
    The only slightly positive thing i can say about Ryanair is that they allow you to change your name and destination on flights, but even for that it's all €€€€€ for these capitalistic money making cowboys.:mad:

Come on, ye hardly thought they were set up to help the good people of Ireland get around out of the goodness of their hearts? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭scoot on

I've never had any problem with Ryanair and I've flown a lot over the last few years. I mean, they do what they say on the tin, they're a cheap no frills airline. You know what you're getting when you book with them! As for the delays, i've found aerlingus to be a lot worse when it comes to punctuality over the last 12-18 months. Every single aerlingus flight i've been on lately has been delayed. I've never had a major delay with a ryanair flight and in some cases they've actually taken off 5 mins early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭kormak

You're allowed a maximum of 15Kg Check-in baggage per person with Ryainair and infants are not allowed be counted for a third bag.
    so before we went on holidays we end up packing 2 bags for 3 people (which of course is gonna be overweight).
    Check in at the desk and the girl informs us we're 10Kg overweight, that'll be €100 please!!
    €10 ****ing euros per kilo overweight.
    had a bit of an argument with the girl and she advised us the best thing to do is buy another small suitcase out there and just pay 30 for the extra bag to be checked in.

Fair Enough...

Buy a suitcase, have a nice holiday in the meantime...

arrive back at the airport, (this time with a very sick baby... :cry: )

The girls requests we pay €18 for the extra bag and then again €10 for every kilo overweight.
    As we we're not made aware of this, we were again off course overweight.
    I honestly would have started flinging towels and smelly sandals at the girl at this point only my little lad was screaming in pain right beside her and we had to attend to him as quickly as possible.
    Total ****ing *****!!! excuse my language but telling us one thing in Dublin and then another abroad is misleading and diceitful.
    We end up paying €158 and in total to Ryanair = €258.

Never ever ever flying again with them.
    Screw you Michael O' Leary.... what goes around comes around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Well what do you expect? It's policy and you should have checked this all out prior ro going to the airport tbh.

What pisses me off is the name change fee. And the fact that you have to ring a premium rate number to talk to someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Unfortunately complaining about ryanair is like complaining about the meal that you paid €2 for tasting like sh1te!! They have stripped flying to it's bones - O'leary actually said that if he was allowed to have passengers standing in his planes that he would do it so he could get more in !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭pebblesjm

one thing that seems odd with all this not checking in bags malarky..................is it not essential for there to be weight in the hold so its not top heavy?????????? I think it seems silly, but I admit, I'm no aeronautical engineer so maybe its ok ;)

Nobody was ever forced to fly Ryanair.
    If you don't like them, fly with another airline or make your way to a destination another way.

Personally I've never had a problem with Ryanair. 99% of that is down to my own effort and determination NEVER to give them any reason to make life difficult for me. The 1% is luck.

I've been delayed on Ryanair but no more than with other airlines.
    I don't like the new Ryanair and Aer Lingus baggage charges, so I'll explore alternative airlines myself in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭opa01_2000

I fly weekly to the UK at the moment for work. I have a choice of a 1 hour drive to Derry to fly to Stansted with Ryanair or a 2 hour drive to Belfast to fly to Heathrow with Aer Lingus. Heathrow does suit me better than Stansted. I usually book up to 6 weeks in advance and check which is cheaper. I've yet to find (I've been doing this for about 3 months now) Ryanair cheaper. I did use the Derry-Stansted flight for a few months last year and had constant delays and one complete cancellation without any explanation. I also had a six-hour delay in Stansted one Friday where the Ryanair representative (when telling passengers about the delay) said "don't expect any vouchers - they won't give you any".

I find Aer Lingus a much better service. I'm not precious about it - for an hour's flight if Ryanair are much cheaper I will use them but when I add in all the extra charges they aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

opa01_2000 wrote: »
    I fly weekly to the UK at the moment for work. I have a choice of a 1 hour drive to Derry to fly to Stansted with Ryanair or a 2 hour drive to Belfast to fly to Heathrow with Aer Lingus. Heathrow does suit me better than Stansted. I usually book up to 6 weeks in advance and check which is cheaper. I've yet to find (I've been doing this for about 3 months now) Ryanair cheaper. I did use the Derry-Stansted flight for a few months last year and had constant delays and one complete cancellation without any explanation. I also had a six-hour delay in Stansted one Friday where the Ryanair representative (when telling passengers about the delay) said "don't expect any vouchers - they won't give you any".

I find Aer Lingus a much better service. I'm not precious about it - for an hour's flight if Ryanair are much cheaper I will use them but when I add in all the extra charges they aren't.

You also have bmi Belfast City to Heathrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭opa01_2000

BMI is available from Belfast City and provide a good service but they are very expensive - even more expensive than Ryanair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭save_our_socks

Flew into Shannon on Tuesday from Palma, only to discover my bag had never been put on the plane.....do the usual filing of complaints, told my bag would be delievered to me in Cork as soon as it arrives.....fast forward to Friday and I still hear nothing so give them a buzz and am told oh ya that bags been here for ages, wondering if you were gonna pick it up! Explain that I was supposed to be contacted to arrange a delivery time, before I could even finish my sentence I was told, "sorry you live outside the delivery radius you either have to drive to shannon or wait a few days until we can get it on a flight".....Thank god for my father offering to go get it, get it back and find some little bo**cks has stolen 90 euro worth of fags from my bag. Complained, was told it was customs, explained that I was 2400 fags under the limit, said hold on a second I know what goes on with missing baggage my cousin used to work for ryanair....lady pauses..."em Ill have a look if theyre in the office!" Clearly aware that one of her staff has stolen from me!
    Was told they'd look into in but not holding my breath.......GRRRRRRR! Sorry for the long rant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭mopi

Interestingly if you booked those same flights on Ryanair today [5th July] it would cost e9.99 DUB2LGW and 1p LGW2DUB incl all fixed surcharges. Booking very far ahead often does not pay with Ryanair.

I've booked several flights thru LGW at total cost to me of e0.01 each way. A fare you'd think that couldn't be beat - you'd be wrong!

My point is Ryanair 'can be' very cheap and often is but you've got to play the game and be a little flexible.
    Savman wrote: »
    Ok case study for our "low fares airline".

I'm going to London in September '08, so that's a good 8 months away, I should get some very decent prices on flights right?

Travel Dates: Mon 8 Sept-Wed 10 Sept

Option 1: Aer Lingus
    Dublin - London Gatwick
    1 checked in bag, no travel insurance or extras
    Total Price €64

Option 2: BMI
    Dublin - London Heathrow
    2 checked in bags, no travel insurance or extras
    Total Price €77.99

Option 3: Ryanair
    Dublin - London Gatwick
    1 checked in bag, no priority boarding, no travel insurance or extras
    Total Price €107.02

Sources: www.ryanair.com www.aerlingus.ie and www.flybmi.com at 5.40pm on 15/1/08

Now, can someone please explain to me how exactly Ryanair can claim to be "The Low Fares Airline". All costings include relevant 'card handling fee' with (get this) a Ryanair Visa. On all above itineraries I went right thru the whole process right up to the final Purchase page. On the given dates I selected the cheapest flights offered by the airline in question.

Any Ryanair fans care to discuss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭BigglesMcGee

I see Ryanair are now charging €5 per leg for using a visa DEBIT card.

Used to be less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,526 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Huffington Post story: Ryanair Refuses Refund For Dead Passenger Beryl Parsons, Because She Died Too Soon.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/08/12/ryanair-refuse-refund-for_n_3742262.html?utm_hp_ref=uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

Drag up a 5 year old thread for this? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,526 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Space-saving, ALA RyanAir :D