Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bang and the PC just wouldn't start.

Options
  • 17-01-2008 10:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭

Let me preface this by saying that I'm far from an expert in this field and generally just prick around with old computers and take parts from them to upgrade the piece of crap I built myself.

Anyway, the other day I needed to oil the fan in my PC (the power on, not the processor one).
    So I decided to give the motherboard a bit of a dusting.

I took all the leads out and thought I had put them back in the right place.
    Turns out I didn't.

All went to the right place except for the few at the front. The ones for the on switch and the lights at the front and such.

So I took it all apart again, found the bit on the mother board which shows where all the leads go and put them back in the right places.

I went to turn it on, but it just wouldn't work.

Did I screw it up completely beyond repair, or is there hope yet?

It's not the greatest in the world (900 mhz processor), but it's better than the piece of shít I'm using at the moment (500mhz processor and it won't take more than 128mb RAM).

Edit: I don't know the nam of the leads at the front, but they are for the on/off button, the reset button and the lights and stuff. Small little ones.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

ur just probly puttin them in wronly

fpanel1mf.png

not sure if all mobos are layed out the same ,

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Definitely put them in the right way.

The connectors are marked and I followed the instructions on the motherboard itself.