Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford Model Club

• 20-01-2008 5:06am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭

Would anyone be interested in joining a club set up to race nitro buggies, monster trucks etc. We had one before and it was a brilliant laugh but had to be closed because of the Kingfisher development.

We are trying now to set it up again, would probably consist of a few informal meetings just to bash and mess around befre starting proper races.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I would be deffinitly interested. I have a friend aswel who'd also be interested. Im located in kilkenny so waterford is custy;) How many people have you got?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

Excellent, what type or cars do ye have, it would prob be on a snday, wel had fifty in last club still have all their details, lookin for a treasurer and a secretry, i'm talkin to the council to get our spot back, the club is still actually in registered from last time and has money already built up so its brilliant, membership was 50 euro for the year which covers insurance

Sounds good. i have a t-maxx and a revo(both monster trucks) but I'm getting rid of the t-maxx for something else. €50 not bad at all. Were about in waterford were ye located? Also was it a track or like just a spot with dirt hills etc?

I'v got a rex-x i built up myself havin a few teething probs wit handlin the power got one mother of an engine in it, we had our original track, wel it was a grass field cut nice and short with a pipe track we could change around and loads of ramps, It was located in what is now the Kingfisher club on the Tramore road, they closed us down while developing it and promised us a new spot, its now finished so time to kick some council ass

Are the council getting back to ye about it like or are they just dont to arse ye around like the usual sanario? How long is it since the club was a peak and are they a good croud of lads in waterford who will drive these? Do you have any pictures of the old club?
    cheers:cool:

Its about a year and a bit, wel they let us have it before so cant say no again i just have to arrange the meeting but i do need people first as in numbers, the orginial was set up by the son of the model shop owner in Waterford and they sponsored prizes they will most likely do the same once its running, I have a few guys here who are very into it have good cars are brilliant drivers and who turn up! other people can come and go but am looking for slightly more serious people looking for some good competition and a laugh.
    Once i get the council sorted will probably have a one day bashing session/ demonstration day on site and give out full details then

How long do you reckon it will take and when would you organize a meeting? cheers.

I am not sure, hopefully within the next few weeks if not then we can maybe organise an unofficial bashing session

Ok then give us a bit of otice when you plan on doing that)

I will do, anybody else interested?

I dought anyone here. But i have a friend here and we may be able to get a few more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭bonisio

Hi Rex-X,
    If there is anything I can do to help you getting the club up and running please let me know.

Once you have a venue sorted it might be an idea to organise an invitational race with a few to getting some of the regular buggy racers which in turn would be a great way to sell the sport to newcomers.

Be great to see another new club around the country so good luck with the venture and again if I can be of any help please let me know.

Regards,

Oisin

Hobbies Ireland - Specialists in R/C Motorsport
    Serpent - Radiosistemi - GS Racing - Mega - Merlin Fuel - Hudy

E - info@hobbiesireland.ie
    W - www.hobbiesireland.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Hi Rex-x
    We run an indoor electric touring car club here in Fermoy Co,Cork and are getting an offroad track ready this year. maybe we could hold a few inter club meets :cool:

Cork is not far from waterford sure? That would be a good idea.

Plug wrote: »
    Cork is not far from waterford sure? That would be a good idea.

60 miles only:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭g5hn710m4xpdwy

vectra wrote: »
    60 miles only:cool:

Flunked wrote: »

60 Miles is only an hours drive.!
    You think that is far?
    anyway
    Now with my new means of transport ( when it arrives ) is supposed to give me a return of 60 MPG..!! :D

What are you getting. Im guessing its a desial. You should wait till after july to get her;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

What is a "desial"?

What are you getting. Im guessing its a desial. You should wait till after july to get her;)

Diesel yes
    But as for waiting until July. My own car would be worth less and knowing my luck the cost of this car would have risen . So not really worth it as i already thought about the pros and cons.
    PLUS
    If I waited until then, I would be gone off the idea :D

OH
    Right you asked what did I buy.
    Well
    NEW Seat Cordoba 14 TDi Sport :D
    Have to wait until last week in Feb for it as they didnt have the model/colour I wanted
    So, i wont pick it up till the 1st march. Not taxing it for February and only a couple of days left in it :(

lol it only costs €100 to tax that thing after july:cool:

Though its a big step down from a mondeo or vectra do you think? It looks like the saloon version of the old polo:o

lol it only costs €100 to tax that thing after july:cool:

Though its a big step down from a mondeo or vectra do you think? It looks like the saloon version of the old polo:o

150 after july
    340 now
    310 insurance
    60 mpg

Mondeo
    530 now
    and 360 insurance
    30ish mpg on a run

Might be a step down but also a huge saving in running costs plus coming up 6 years :D

Good point!:cool:
    I'll be getting a 1.4 petrol golf later this year, the tax is €430 and insurance will be about 2 grand cos i'll be a first time driver:(

Good point!:cool:
    I'll be getting a 1.4 petrol golf later this year, the tax is €430 and insurance will be about 2 grand cos i'll be a first time driver:(

How can the tax be 430 ?
    It will only be 320 ;)
    Can you get insured under a parent ?
    if not
    go do your driving test first. :cool:

Its the new tax thing and im sure your car will cost €100. it produces 119g of co2. That falls under the cheapest one. I dunno about doing the driving test first, I dont know how to drive properly:o

No,
    I checked.
    It falls into Cat B and will be iso
    This is the Sport version 80bhp against 70bhp in the standard one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭bonisio

Lads your gone a bit of the point there. Dont think Rex-x was looking to buy a new diesel road car but set up a new club for rc cars in Wexford.

Rex-x have you been able to make any more progress with getting a few lads together for a race?

Regards,

Oisin

Hobbies Ireland - Specialists in R/C Motorsport
    Serpent - Radiosistemi - GS Racing - Mega - Merlin Fuel - Hudy

E - info@hobbiesireland.ie
    W - www.hobbiesireland.ie

bonisio wrote: »
    Lads your gone a bit of the point there. Dont think Rex-x was looking to buy a new diesel road car but set up a new club for rc cars in Wexford.
    Regards,

Oisin

Oops..
    Sorry, I didnt notice that
    I thought he wanted to set one up in Waterford :D

OH,
    And welcome to the mad hatters forum where every post goes scaty at some point :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭g5hn710m4xpdwy

vectra wrote: »
    Oops..
    Sorry, I didnt notice that
    I thought he wanted to set one up in Waterford :D

OH,
    And welcome to the mad hatters forum where every post goes scaty immediatly:cool:

Fixed;)

Eh yea lads just a little off topic, so far not much movement with the council but hopefully durin the week i'll have a meeting with the model shop and the old founders and see what we can get going.
    I'm back to college this week so things are slower than i'd hoped but i'm serious about this would like to have something solid established for the summer when i can put in alot of hours to build a solid track and foundation.