Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why young people don't get involved in politics?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

cornbb wrote: »
    I think its a symptom of a number of things:

1) The Civil War legacy that differentiated Fianna Fail and Fine Gael is slowly dying out (not slowly enough IMO) and young people are therefore less likely to follow the family/community/county line when choosing their candidate, if they bother to vote at all.

2) Ireland does not have a tradition of left wing vs. right wing, conservative vs. democrat, etc, that most democracies seem to have. Therefore as well as the dying out of the historical reasons to support FF/FG, there is also very little to differentiate the main parties idealistically. I could be wrong but I think this is why the few young people who are politically active are more likely to get involved in the smaller parties like the Greens, Labour etc, who do have a proper idealistic foundation.

3) An apathetic electorate is a sign of a stable democracy, I think. While our political system is rife with problems, its not likely to crumble at our feet in the morning. While this is a good thing for our democracy, it does have the side effect of running on momentum and therefore fewer people are bothered to get involved.

Thats my simplistic view of things anyhoo

the vast majority of people in this country still vote for partys which there familys do and i include young people
    the smaller partys are making little inroad in general

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

moe_sizlak wrote: »
    the vast majority of people in this country still vote for partys which there familys do and i include young people
    the smaller partys are making little inroad in general

No they don't. The 41% achieved by FF in the last election was helped by their promises of a good economy not because 41% are die-hard loyalists.
    If you add up core support of FF/FG, you'd be lucky to hit 50%.

There is enough swing away from each and the growth of smaller parties like Greens/PD's/SF in recent years plus odd swings to Labour over the years prove that there are enough people out there who are not party loyal to the bone of the big two.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

gurramok wrote: »
    No they don't. The 41% achieved by FF in the last election was helped by their promises of a good economy not because 41% are die-hard loyalists.
    If you add up core support of FF/FG, you'd be lucky to hit 50%.

There is enough swing away from each and the growth of smaller parties like Greens/PD's/SF in recent years plus odd swings to Labour over the years prove that there are enough people out there who are not party loyal to the bone of the big two.

that is not in anyway borne out in the recent election , sinn fein lost a seat , the greens i think held there own and the pd,s lost 6
    labour lost 1

the big 2 are more dominant than ever and i firmly believe that what dictates which party you vote for in this country depends on which party you mum and dad and grandad and grandmother voted for

were extremly predictable in this regard

• Registered Users Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

this most definitely happens, especially down the country and in rural areas. We also have the situation we're the sitting TD that brought along the funds for the new community centre/bypass/planning permisson gets looked on as a decent chap and gets the vote. But tbh that happens everywhere really and is not just an Irish problem.

On the OP question......well some young people still get involved in politics as in joining a party, canvassing etc but this has always been a small number really. If your talking more along the lines of why young people aren't as vocal as they used to be, you've got to look at the world we live in. We've no world war to get hot and bothered by. Sure Iraq could be looked at like a modern Vietnam in the media but its not really. There's no big social revolution like the 60's or the civil rights movement in the North, and its not like the 80's and early 90's when we were q'ing up to flee the country and the horrible ecoomic situation. Things are plodding along fairly well or so it appears on the surface, so thus the younger generation can worry about cheap cider, nightclubs and the Big brother rather than jobs,wars or civil rights. This also stands for most of the older population too if I'm honest so i think it crosses the generations, and is not an issue linked to only the young

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

There have been some valid points made about certain issues in this thread, but the fact remains that parties (are supposed to) do what members tell them.

I joined FF in 2005 and in general there are only 2 senior politicians who give Ógra the time of day....Mary Hanafin and Mary Coughlan.

Hanafin is somewhat interesrted in gathering opinion for the post she holds, while Coughlan is more interested in "how's life" stuff.

Seamus Brennan was a founding member of Ógra and does his bit in and around Dublin, but the vast majority of politicians are loathe to travel for their own. Local TDs and Ministers are only on the other end of a phone and I've gotten to know the secretaries etc...which is very handy if you want something done ~(cynical, but it's the way things are in EVERY country on God's green Earth)

I would encourage anyone to join a political party. FF/FG have particularly positive social aspects. I only joined at 18, 2 and a half years ago but at the end of this month I'll be contesting an election to represent all 3rd level cumainn (units) on the Fianna Fáil Ard-Chomhairle (102 seat governing authority)

YES there are questions of corruption, but I was born in 1986 in a basket case country, to struggling parents (who are not politically aligned, though my mam's parents are cardholding Blueshirts), but I've turned out fine, I've never experienced what it's like to not know where next month's car loan payment is coming from and I'm getting an education at the expense of the state. If anyone wants to point to a TD who they honestly rate as being a better alternative to Bertie as Taoiseach, then they should probably join the party that person belongs to.

Let's face it. Hundred's of thousands of people (the above mentioned grandparents included) have had run ins with Revenue and settled their liabilities and penalties. Bertie is resolving his tax liability and it's Enda Kenny and Eugene O'Regan piping all day long about something that they'd be prosecuted for publicising were it any ordinary citizen. Personal issues of the Taoiseach may be questioned, but sidelining EVERY OTHER F*ING ISSUE is completely irresponsible and just goes to prove the electorate were right not to vote in enough numbers to put them in power. If they can't be a good opposition, how the hell can they be a good government. I pray and pray that Labour will eat the FG vote, but it doesn't seem to be happening.

Ireland will only ever be governed by FF or FG led governments as we have a tendancy as a nation towards centrist populist politics. While in theory a grand coalitions is sonething I have no objection to, the threat that poses to political stability is something not worth thinking about.

I didn't join FF to accept the entire status-quo, nobody does (see the Clár here), I'm not even fully convinced of the necessity of fulfilling the core aim of a 32 county Republic. IMHO it would jepardise the progress of the peace process and stability in Northern Ireland. Before anyone asks, I don't believe remaining part of the Union is the best way forward either.

Do it. Join a political party. It's great craic....the Greens or Socialists don't have much of a sense of humour, but then again, I can only speak from experience on that front.

PM me for details, I have details for FG and FF if anyone wants them

phew...thank God for Firefox, system stalled and all this stayed in the reply box. Don't think I could have written it all again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Kevster

I personally think its obvious: politics is boring. Young people who claim to be interested in politics, are more likely to be conspiracy nuts than genuinely interested.

I'm young (24) and have been interested in politics for many years. I think that the majority of young people aren't interested in it because they have too many other distractions in life and the fact that patriotism has gone out the window. Then again, this country is a miserable place to live in... ...

• Registered Users Posts: 83,239 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Hopefully this is the right place to post this.

Personally why do you think teenagers don't get involved in politics?

Pardon me for pressing FFW on this thread but its late - ill read it tommorow :)

Why do you think? For one - Teenage opinion is disregard almost wholly. Besides that, teens have enough little things to bother themselves with. Not too long ago I was consumed with classwork and self-esteem issues, family problems and a liking for hashish... when did I have time for politics? Especially without the internet... that was harsh.

But to be fair I'm 20 and I'm fairly interested in the subject. It requires having/allotting the time to keep yourself updated on current events. Internet has been great in that regard: between wikipedia, google-news and http://www.thedailyshow.com I have a fair gist of what goes on.

It also requires a little bit of faith too I suppose: lots of people see it as useless to worry themselves with something they can never hope to fix, so they dont.

I havent joined a political party however, and I'm not registered to vote: mainly because the American Electoral College is a complete sham, and because I live abroad: meaning my vote would count for even less of a rigged vote anyway.

Eh, dont get me wrong though: I don't give a toss about irish politics - you all need to throw out your government in a complete vote of no confidence and re-draft the whole thing. That pay rise thing is surely just the tip of the iceberg and thats about all I know of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭Meirleach

In answer to the OP, I know the reason I've never got into politics, is because the whole damn thing just looks so corrupt.

Thinking about it slightly more, I also find the party system deeply flawed, once parties get involved it all goes to hell, you have elected officials representing their parties interests, and their parties funders interests, rather than the people they were elected to serve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

I'm probably alone here (and I have a fear of the politics forums) but I'll give it a shot.

When I was 16-17 I had no sense of democracy at all, your parents told you what to do all the time and lets face it school wasn't exactly partial to listening to students either. It was more a case of I 'know what's best for you so shut up and don't talk back'.

How can you expect young people who only get a sense of freedom from this when they leave school (or turn 18). I didn't care about politics at all until my early 20's (and not that early either). When I left I was only just starting to experience life and start work when then I saw how politics are affecting me.

Before that I lived quite a sheltered life. So, in summery I didn't care or have any interest because; a) I had no sense of democracy and b) it didn't affect me until I was part of the work force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm going to only post on one small aspect where Irish politics is boring.
    Back as a college student waster I was often home by lunchtime and the only time on TV was Prime Ministers Questions.
    Like him or loathe him, Tony Blair is the best public speaker I've ever seen and probably will see.
    Himself and William Hague going toe to toe was like a boxing match and all their comrades heckling from the sidelines.
    It is interesting how they do it. Imagine having to answer a question on some random or obscure topic in front of the entire parliment and on live TV. Now that's pressure!

Ever watch Oireachtas report? My god, there has never been a more boring program on TV. Joe Higgens would get the odd remark in, Pat Rabbitte was a good debater but apart from that I saw very little.
    Politics can be interesting but you won't be seeing much cut throat debate in the Dail.
    Maybe we should introduce a question time for the Taoiseach. One hour for the opposition to ask any question, however obscure. Maybe we have this already but why is it so boring compared to Westminister?

• Registered Users Posts: 83,239 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Meirleach wrote: »
    In answer to the OP, I know the reason I've never got into politics, is because the whole damn thing just looks so corrupt.

Thinking about it slightly more, I also find the party system deeply flawed, once parties get involved it all goes to hell, you have elected officials representing their parties interests, and their parties funders interests, rather than the people they were elected to serve.

You join political parties for this very reason: to have someone represent your interests. I assume though the actual point you were getting across is that an elected official might only look at the interests of one party and not all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

micmclo wrote: »

Ever watch Oireachtas report? My god, there has never been a more boring program on TV. Joe Higgens would get the odd remark in, Pat Rabbitte was a good debater but apart from that I saw very little.
    Politics can be interesting but you won't be seeing much cut throat debate in the Dail.
    Maybe we should introduce a question time for the Taoiseach. One hour for the opposition to ask any question, however obscure. Maybe we have this already but why is it so boring compared to Westminister?

I'm with you on this, but there actually is a question time for the Taoiseach, he just doesn't have to be there. So half the time he isn't. Even when he is its rarely interesting. He sounds like he doesn't give a damn any more tbh when speaking in the dail.

To go back to the original point, what sort of involvement should us young people be getting into? I know that tons of people belong to the youth wings of the different parties (even in NUIM, which generally sees itself as the most apathetic college in the country. Not that we put effort into that mind you) and a lot of other students are interested in different aspects of politics without necessarily joining a party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

One hour for the opposition to ask any question, however obscure. Maybe we have this already but why is it so boring compared to Westminister?
    It's called Leaders' Questions.

Anyway, in the Irish political system, parliament has been hugely emasculated. The Dáil is weak as a legislating and debating body; the rules are fixed deliberately to limit debate, with little time allocated to debate bills and change them in a democratic fashion. Instead, most things get decided at Committee. In effect, Cabinet has most of the power, parliament has little.

So, in a way, whether we have Leader's Questions or not is a moot point. In the UK, it's a showcase - optics. Here, its just rasping and annoying and pointless.