Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone else sick of Arsene Wenger??

• 23-01-2008 4:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭

This guy really really annoys me, and its mainly for one reason. Everytime after a match when getting interviewed about a certain point in the game like an offside goal, a disallowed goal arsenal scored, a red card, a bad tackle and even last night with adebayor and bendtner he always comes up with the same trademark answer - "i didnt see it"

does this annoy anyone else???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭Barlow07

keltoms wrote: »
    This guy really really annoys me, and its mainly for one reason. Everytime after a match when getting interviewed about a certain point in the game like an offside goal, a disallowed goal arsenal scored, a red card, a bad tackle and even last night with adebayor and bendtner he always comes up with the same trademark answer - "i didnt see it"

All the time, like last night he did not the clash between Arsenal players lol, yeh right. Usually when its the other team you see himself on the sideline getting wound up and shouting and throwing his arms, quite funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

It only annoys me as much as it does when Ferguson et al fail to see or acknowledge it when one of theirs transgresses. Apart from that he annoys me because he is just so bloody good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I loved his remark when asked what he taught of one of Bergkamp's wonder goals, "I did not see it. Cleaning glasses". :D

edit: if you have any right to be sick of Wenger then surely you must also acknowlege your sickness of Mourinho, Ferguson, Hughes, Bruce, Poyet etc etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Who gives a fúck what he says? Number one I have little to no interest in listening to managers of other clubs talk to the media. Number two he is under no obligation to spill his guts to the media when asked a question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Nah.

Galvasean wrote: »
    I loved his remark when asked what he taught of one of Bergkamp's wonder goals, "I did not see it. Cleaning glasses". :D

edit: if you have any right to be sick of Wenger then surely you must also acknowlege your sickness of Mourinho, Ferguson, Hughes, Bruce, Poyet etc etc..

I like the way Benitez got left out of that list! :p

I generally dont listen to managers after games anymore. They all say the exact same pre rehersed crap anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭justfortherecor

I like the way Benitez got left out of that list! :p

I generally dont listen to managers after games anymore. They all say the exact same pre rehersed crap anyway.

Benitez has been rehearsing 'we created good chances...controlled the game...couldn't finish our chnaces' a lot recently

Same ol crap from every manager to be honest.

"I felt we should have got more from the game"..."we were unlucky"...."we were the better team even thought the 7-0 result says otherwise" etc etc

Wenger is particularly bad though. All other managers have criticised players in the past when they have far overstepped the mark. Wenger, well he just doesnt see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

I miss hearing how Liverpool are "turning a corner" - seriously, how pool fans didn't collapse with dizziness under GH is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Socceram I think did a compilation of all the times he's said that, funny stuff indeed. To be honest OP, you've little to be worrying about if this is your main concern.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Not as much as the people who continually don't see 'it' when Wenger does admit to seeing 'it'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

TBH if that is all that people have to talk about after the awful performance of Arsenals golden boys last night then Wenger is doing his job I would say. Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Give me a ****ing break. Ever consider Arsene Wenger didn't want to say anything because he didn't have all the facts. If that is all that bothers you about him then he isn't doing too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Im sick of the football his team plays ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

It can be annoying when managers are consistently biased towards their own team, a bit of honesty can do no harm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

In fairness, he could have said he didn't see it players didn't have to seperate them then he could he didn't see it, but when its a major incident and a major reaction, i mean, what is he? Blind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Y2J, check your PMs ;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

One would wonder why Wenger actually goes to games if he doesn't intend on watching them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Probably just to wind up man U fans. If all it takes is to say he did not see an event and ye start whinging then fair play to him.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Probably just to wind up man U fans. If all it takes is to say he did not see an event and ye start whinging then fair play to him.
    To be quite honest it is too predictable to be a wind up...

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    To be quite honest it is too predictable to be a wind up...
    Evidently not, given the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

do we know if the OP is a united fan even? and to be honest TFTF there isnt many better at winding up united fans then you....i was just going to call you a wind up merchant for your last comment but hey, why bother, your a mod, im not.

so once again, good post, nice contribution to the thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

kryogen wrote: »
    do we know if the OP is a united fan even? and to be honest TFTF there isnt many better at winding up united fans then you....i was just going to call you a wind up merchant for your last comment but hey, why bother, your a mod, im not.

so once again, good post, nice contribution to the thread

:DLOL why do they always take the Bait. Just...too ...easy!

To the OP, no, if it bothers you that much write to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

At least he's consistent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Wenger's the best at what he does so no I'm not sick of him. Hope he never leaves the Premiership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

jank wrote: »
    To the OP, no, if it bothers you that much write to him!
    But will he see the letter?

I can't believe people get so wound up by this - Wenger often discusses controversial behaviour by his players (either immediately post-match or during the following week) but has his own reasons for not always giving an immediate and possibly ill-considered soundbite to Geoff Shreeves or whoever 8 mins after full time... he can do whatever he wants as far as I'm concerned and at least he rarely launches into an poorly-informed auto-defence of his players post-match like some.

Anyway, just don't watch him if it gets to you that much

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Wenger often discusses controversial behaviour by his players (either immediately post-match or during the following week) but has his own reasons for not always giving an immediate and possibly ill-considered soundbite to Geoff Shreeves or whoever 8 mins after full time...

Agree totally.
    Wenger I reckon likes to think and maybe watch a replay of a particular incident before he speaks.
    This tends to remove the chance of "I will love it if we beat them .." type speeches blowing up in ones face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Qs

Evil_Clown wrote: »
    Agree totally.
    Wenger I reckon likes to think and maybe watch a replay of a particular incident before he speaks.
    This tends to remove the chance of "I will love it if we beat them .." type speeches blowing up in ones face.

Exactly. Its a professional response. He doesn't want to say "that was never an offside" only to see later it actually was or to say "yeah Bendtner was out of order and I'm going to punish him" if he doesn't yet know exactly whats gone on on the pitch. He'd be a fool to give an answer to everything.

Its the same as the way you'll never hear Fergie say "oh yeah Christiano went down like a ton of bricks, but hey at least it got us the win."

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭smog

the training and coaching line is teh one that cracks me up, had almost a season of that:D

Qs wrote: »
    Exactly. Its a professional response. He doesn't want to say "that was never an offside" only to see later it actually was or to say "yeah Bendtner was out of order and I'm going to punish him" if he doesn't yet know exactly whats gone on on the pitch. He'd be a fool to give an answer to everything.

Its the same as the way you'll never hear Fergie say "oh yeah Christiano went down like a ton of bricks, but hey at least it got us the win."
    qs from AM?

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭keltoms

At least he's consistent!

anyone here his postmatch interview today??

hahaha! wenger sure as hell seen that tackle today didnt he?? so hes not consistent.

and another thing he said "the only way to beat arsenal is to kick arsenal" - what a stupid comment to make a week after eboue got sent off for a terrible tackle and united hopped off them 4-0

(and yes i am a united fan:D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Anyone else sick of Arsene Wenger??

Yeah, 19 other teams. LOL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

hahaha! wenger sure as hell seen that tackle today didnt he?? so hes not consistent.

and another thing he said "the only way to beat arsenal is to kick arsenal" - what a stupid comment to make a week after eboue got sent off for a terrible tackle and united hopped off them 4-0

(and yes i am a united fan)

I dont think now is the time to be dicussing this when someone career in football hangs by a thread. Litterally!

Real classy there from ya!!:rolleyes::mad:

nothing against eduardo or anything and im sure he'll be back in no time. Was obviously a serious injury but not intentional clearly, these things happen in football mate - get over it

keltoms wrote:
    nothing against Eduardo or anything and im sure he'll be back in no time.

erm his foot was literally dangling man. he might be lucky to be able to walk again. i do think Taylor should be banned and anyone who commits atrocious challenges as such. its the only way to eradicate it from the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

(and yes i am a united fan:D)

i'm guessing you didn't see the withdrawal. typical.

taylor banned??? are ya serious? it was a late tackle, i know it was high but was unintentional and eduardo was just too quick for taylor. he was already commited to the challenge!

mightnt ever walk again?? uve obviously never seen a broken leg before mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

i do think Taylor should be banned and anyone who commits atrocious challenges as such.

yes. for 3 matches. which he is.

tackle wasnt that bad. the injury was atrocious though. but the tackle itself happen all over football pitches every weekend. the severity of the injury does not mean all of a sudden taylor should get a lifetime ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Imagine Fergusons reaction if that happened to C Ronaldo, would it honestly be much different? People need to realise that in the heat of the moment people say things that theyll regret, holding it against him as a person is utterly pathetic, especially when a potentially fantastic players dreams may be destroyed... The fact that he revoked it after he cooled down shows that he wont stubbornly refuse to admit he was wrong, and thats character.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

eZe^ wrote: »
    Imagine Fergusons reaction if that happened to C Ronaldo, would it honestly be much different? People need to realise that in the heat of the moment people say things that theyll regret, holding it against him as a person is utterly pathetic, especially when a potentially fantastic players dreams may be destroyed...

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

erm his foot was literally dangling man. he might be lucky to be able to walk again. i do think Taylor should be banned and anyone who commits atrocious challenges as such. its the only way to eradicate it from the game.

What complete horse sh.it on so many levels.

First, he's got a broken leg not a broken spine. Plenty of players have broken their legs and come back.

Second, it's not like Taylor ran 40 yards and aimed to break his leg. Late challenge, that's all.

Finally, Taylor got correctly sent off and has to deal with the fact that he's put a guy out for about a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I wouldn't use this as an example of Wenger being annoying, it's a very understandable reaction. Other things though... :)
    Then again, I'm pretty sure Fergie is completely annoying to any non-United fans, just like Mourinho is to any non-Chelsea fans.

There's a reason they do it after all, then again, I think Wenger believes his crap more than Fergie or Mourinho do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

PHB wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure Fergie is completely annoying to any non-United fans, just like Mourinho is to any non-Chelsea fans.

Its understandable, seeing as fans actively look for reasons to bitch about their rivals, managers are prime candidates... =P Although arguing that the fact Wegner always says he hasnt seen an incident as a reason to hate him is a little silly, its like hating Ferguson for his big red nose and constant gum chewing..:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Kevster

Wenger is one of the greatest tacticians and man-managers in the football world today. You guys who are criticising him here are people who will never EVER be anything the man that he is. While he continues in his career doing great things, ye will forever be here moaning about people who are better than ye'reselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Kevster wrote: »
    Wenger is one of the greatest tacticians and man-managers in the football world today. You guys who are criticising him here are people who will never EVER be anything the man that he is. While he continues in his career doing great things, ye will forever be here moaning about people who are better than ye'reselves.

he's also a really bad depressive apparently, which would explain why he comes across as a sore loser a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

admit it, you're his lovechild right? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,724 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

agree , I'm an Evertonian , but think wegner has been a breath of fresh air to the premiership, Aresenal used to be dour to watch , even worse than Everton at times ;-) --- but the quality Arsenal now play with is just amazing , on there day they are the best , certainly to watch , so long live Arsene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

It says a lot about some people that someone gets a horrible injury which could potentially end their playing career and their main concern is what Wenger says post match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

You can't really blame him. Criticising his players on TV would not be a good move for him. He would gain nothing by doing it, and he doesn't have to be honest just because it's a TV interview. He can say whatever he likes.