Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

i've worked minimum wage service jobs for a long time, in a place where functions were booked in advance so no cash transactions took place on the night, so tips were very rare.
    On nights with cash bars etc tips were pretty good, i'm an ok waiter.

If the service is competent, i always tip, because i know that working 15 hour shifts for minimum wage is no fun.
    also, kitchen staff got paid more (a lot more) than the service staff, and the service staff had to do the washing up after service was finished.

not tipping someone who *works hard" and is on their feet all day to serve you is poor form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

rbd wrote: »
    taxi drivers have a very hard job and are badly paid but hey don't let that worry you

I won't. I know there are the drunken louts puking in the back of the cab type of customers but there are many that aren't. No job is 100% easy e.g. teaching in some schools, nursing, being a doctor in A&E, being a Guard etc but they don't get tipped for doing their hard job that is more often than not poorly paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Taxidriver 100%

Tell you all what, just as a matter of interest post up your job at the start of your post and rate it as a percentage as to how much customer service it relates to, so we can verify or dispel the concept of "customer v server" attitude. The reason for the rating is that some jobs would entail a mixture of customer service/ admin/ whatever..

kizzyr wrote: »
    I won't. I know there are the drunken louts puking in the back of the cab type of customers but there are many that aren't. No job is 100% easy e.g. teaching in some schools, nursing, being a doctor in A&E, being a Guard etc but they don't get tipped for doing their hard job that is more often than not poorly paid.

Teaching
    Permanent teachers enjoy a minimum starting salary of €33,000 a year, plus allowances and an index- linked State-funded pension. Teachers also enjoy regular raises as they move up the scale, which currently reaches almost €60,000.

Those in senior roles such as Principal will also earn additonal money on top of the amount given for their experience, while those with additional qualifications or who teach through Irish also enjoy salary boosts.

Added to that there are good holidays, with a lengthy summer break, as well as Christmas and Easter proving attractive to many graduates. There are also opportunities to take 'career breaks' once a full-time position has been secured.

Gards
    Someone joining the Garda Síochána now, January 2008:-
    For Phase 1 Student Training at the Garda College (22 weeks incl. 2 weeks leave) will receive a weekly allowance of €192.71. (An additional weekly sum of €69.68 goes direct to the Garda College for upkeep there)

Phase 2 Student Training is attached to a Garda Station (24 weeks incl. 2 weeks leave) - will receive a weekly allowance of €192.71 plus an allowance of €120.47 per week towards cost of living (e.g. to go towards cost of digs etc )

Phase 3 - Student Training at the Garda College (12 weeks) will receive the weekly allowance of €192.71 + the additional weekly sum of €69.68 that goes direct to the college for your upkeep there.

That amounts to 58 weeks after first entering the College. Once 58 weeks training are successfully completed, Student Gardaí are attested & go onto (at today’s rates) €25,792 per annum + Rent allowance (paid to all those attested) of €4,162.48 per annum.

22 weeks after attestation salary rises to €28,357 (from €25,792) & one year later (i.e. after the 22 week point) salary rises to €29,925 + Rent allowance.

These are all the current rates payable now. The new rate increases as set out in the scales above will apply on the dates as set out.

So it is clear there is a financial sacrifice for the first 58 weeks. Someone commencing now (January 2008) will be paid an allowance (untaxed) for the first 58 weeks & after that will be paid €27,098 + €4,162 = €31,260 per annum (taxed) from about March 2009.

In addition, once attested, ‘unsocial hours allowance’ payments are payable as worked - i.e. extra payments for Night Duty, work on Saturdays / Sundays & Bank

Can't find a doctors scale but I wouldn't say that Gards and teachers are underpaid given the pensions etc. that they get, also the teachers at my local school get tipped handsomely at Christmas as already refered to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Mikel Jr.

20% tip or there abouts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LuckyStar

Saruman wrote: »
    If i get in a cab and he takes me to my destination quickly, avoiding the traffic and keeping at or above the speed limit and maybe taking a few short cuts... fair play and he might get a tip.
    If he takes me at 50km/h the whole way through housing estates and sometimes the wrong direction.. im hardly likely to give him more money than he has milked out of me already!!

So basically he only gets a tip if he's doing at least the limit and wouldn't get one if he kept at 50km/h in a housing estate? Would you rather he drive above the limit (which could be dangerous) just so you get home a few minutes earlier?

Whatever about taking short cuts though, no one likes going the scenic route! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭CodeMonkey

Take away delivery guys.. correct me if im wrong do not get paid. The money you are charged, €1 - €2 for delivery is what the driver gets. Its not much so its nice to get the odd bit extra as it goes straight to the driver who did the job you were too lazy to do :D:D
    Depends on where they work. Dominoes offer "free" delivery but over charges for the pizzas and the money goes to paying the delivery guys wages. Delivery vehicles are provided for delivery people as well etc. But the wages are usually very low.

Takeaways would usually be the places that add the €1-€2 delivery charge on top of food. The delivery guys are also paid for showing up for the night too. In a busy takeaways, they can easily make over €100 a night for 5 hours work. It's also cash in hand so no tax and it's casual work. Most work a few nights a week and have day jobs. There's at least 1 delivery guy in my dads shop that's been there for over 10 years.

Spook_ie wrote: »
    No the 1st thing to do is be nice, it's not his fault if your boss has given you a bollocking, or the girlfriend just told you that she's been sleeping with your brother or whatever other baggage you're carrying around with you that night ( unless he happens to be your brother!! )
    It's not my fault if my waiter can't get a better job, has to work hard in his current job, his gf had to give his boss a bj so he can keep his job. WTH do I care what other baggage he is carrying. If waiter is nice and give good service then he gets a f****king tip.

Very few people would start out their meal in a restaurant by being rude to the waitering staff. You seem to be assuming that people starts out being as****les to the waitering staff and thus get a bad service. I say you are delusional. Bad service is bad service.
    You see exactly what I mean, you have no comprehension of what being nice is, you think that being nice is tipping generously, where as to most people in service being nice is just that " being nice"
    You have no comprehension of what good service is. You think a server doing their job equates good service...blah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Chunky Monkey

As a HCA I've been offered tips but I can't take them. Anyway it's usually little old ladies who offer them just because I carried their bags, I'm not going to take what little pension money they have even if I am fairly poorly paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I can only hope that whole post was sarcasm :D
    They do not even tip in Mcdonalds in the US.
    Some was sarcastic, some was seriously wondering why him and not the other, like why a taximan but not a bus man. Somebody said taximen have to deal with louts, should I tip bouncers on my way out so? Many tip out of habit without thinking why the person deserves it.

And actually my mate did tip lads in a mcdonalds or burger king in the US! Mate was locked and kept blabbing about how you must tip everywhere in the US. He handed the lad money and handed back the change to him. The lad was looking at him odd, then was laughing with another worker about it. When we opened our food we found they had given us double burgers on everything! class!

Also when tipping barmen in NY we would be up at the bar, and they would keep giving us sneaky shots of stuff, and really big measures, so it all evened out in the end. I tip the lounge girls in my local since they do go out of their way for us, always over to us first on busy nights, getting taxis etc for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I tip the pizza delivery guys, usually because I can't be arsed having a pocketful of change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Why should I have to pay above the asking rate for my dinner, haircut, drink etc just because someones employer is too stingy to pay their staff better wages? That's an issue between the employer and the staff. Everytime someone tips it takes the pressure off the employer to pay a decent wage.

That's what goes through my head everytime before I sigh and root out more money to give for already well overpriced goods and services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Teachers at my childens school get tipped handsomely, every Christmas they get given bottles of wine/ chocolates/ gift certs/ flowers etc. as a thankyou from the kids, the same again at the end of a school year, then they get umpteen weeks holiday as well.

Oh God not this again. I was joking. Though having said that in my school (secondary)you could count the number of students who gave presents to teachers on 2 hands! It's not expected, it's the choice of the parent. Just like tipping in restaurants.

And as for long holidays: People have said that if staff don't feel they are paid enough and have to rely on tips they should change jobs, just like if you are not satisfied with your holidays you should become a teacher. It's just part of the job.

Now that's all I'm saying on teaching!

I was in JFK last year and my flight was delayed. Myself and my sister went to get manicures. The woman who did them had very little English and didn't do a fantastic job, but asked at the end if she would like her to take the tip out of my wallet. I had no money left so I asked my sister to tip for both of us. I could tell that the woman was annoyed because suddenly she changed the setting in the massage chair and hid the control and I was left with a sore back for weeks! (I only stayed in the chair for five minutes before I could take no more!) People like this don't deserve tips, and I shouldn't have given anything, but you can imagine what would have happened if I hadn't tipped.

CodeMonkey wrote: »
    It's not my fault if my waiter can't get a better job, has to work hard in his current job, his gf had to give his boss a bj so he can keep his job. WTH do I care what other baggage he is carrying. If waiter is nice and give good service then he gets a f****king tip.

Very few people would start out their meal in a restaurant by being rude to the waitering staff. You seem to be assuming that people starts out being as****les to the waitering staff and thus get a bad service. I say you are delusional. Bad service is bad service.

You have no comprehension of what good service is. You think a server doing their job equates good service...blah.

No good trying to reverse my arguments It's your girlfriend sleeping with your brother that came 1st not his Girlfriend BJing the boss, See you can't even lose an argument nicely.

A server doing his job is doing good service, a server doing more than his job ( by telling you your brother is sleeping with your GF for example ) is ecxeeding his job and deserves not only you being nice but a tip as well

janeybabe wrote: »
    Oh God not this again. I was joking. Though having said that in my school (secondary)you could count the number of students who gave presents to teachers on 2 hands! It's not expected, it's the choice of the parent. Just like tipping in restaurants.

Agreed, but isn't it much better when the parents are nice and polite to you when they come to see you about little Johnnies appaling maths results, rather than them ranting and raving that you aren't providing them with the service that they deserve as taxpayers to the education system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

I'd tip for good service, or if the waiters hot! *grin*

Taxi drivers I don't see the point in tipping, in fact they usually knock a bit off when I bother to talk to them, so why would you tip someone whose giving you a discount??? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

i work in an indoor adventure centre for kids and we have a café, i work mainly in the café and we rarely get tips. since we opened in october we got something like €120 in tips altogether so we just kept it for the xmas party this weekend, that way everyone gets a share.

and about the minimum wage thing i saw a few pages back,

experienced adult worker, €8.65 per hour
    under 18, €6.06 per hour
    in the first year after the date of first employment over age 18, €6.92 per hour
    in the second year after the date of first employment over age 18, €7.79 per hour

its all on here http://www.entemp.ie/publications/employment/2007/minwagejul07.pdf
    seems a bit odd to me that minimum wage doesnt actually apply to everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

kateos2 wrote: »
    seems a bit odd to me that minimum wage doesnt actually apply to everyone
    Yes you could call it ageist, but really it is based on experience. If the min wage was for under 18's then they would find it hard to find employment, and would probably be saying "damn, law I wish they could legally underpay me, so at least I can get a job and some experience".

Experience is worth a lot to employers, women are paid less on average and there is no real surprise there, it is never really mentioned by people when they go on about women getting paid less, fact is they are on average less experienced. Just like I bet the average 45 year old man/woman is paid more than the average 20year old man/woman.
    If men started to leave their jobs to mind kids then you would see a shift in the wages in accordance with the drop in their experience, and the increase in womens experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

6 pages of an AH tipping thread and no pulp fiction quotes????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

One place predominantly mentioned here has gone downhill but that isn't the waiting staffs fault, it's down to management. The store I use to work in decided to cut back number of waiters on shift so instead of having 4-5 tables every 40 mins you'd end up with 7-8. Was pure greed, I'm of the opinion that you tip for good service, it's also definitely a class/county thing. I found the most consistent average tippers to be your average dub whilst the ones most likely to **** you over were the wannabe d4's and a good few country folk:D

No good trying to reverse my arguments It's your girlfriend sleeping with your brother that came 1st not his Girlfriend BJing the boss, See you can't even lose an argument nicely.
    Even if I am having a bad day first, I am the customer, I don't have to be nice, it's not my job. It's his job to serve me. If he's good and pleasant then he gets a tip.
    A server doing his job is doing good service, a server doing more than his job ( by telling you your brother is sleeping with your GF for example ) is ecxeeding his job and deserves not only you being nice but a tip as well
    A server doing his job is just doing his job. A server exceeding his job is good service and deserves a tip.

ps: you're a moron with a massive chip on your shoulder (yeah ban me)

Even if I am having a bad day first, I am the customer, I don't have to be nice, it's not my job. It's his job to serve me. If he's good and pleasant then he gets a tip.

A server doing his job is just doing his job. A server exceeding his job is good service and deserves a tip.

ps: you're a moron with a massive chip on your shoulder (yeah ban me)

I never said it was a job to be nice, just that it is nice to be nice, or put it another way, treat people the way you would like to be treated if you were doing their job.

BTW If you are having a bad day ( maybe losing the plot on a boards thread, while your GF is BJing your boss's brother or whatever ) then try being nice to someone it will ( honestly ) make you feel better.

As for a server "just doing his job", did you notice that nowhere in that statement did you even come close to mentioning or infering "being nice" or "courteous" or "polite" or infact anything other than giving assent to replacing the word service with servile.

Maybe that should be the answer dress all waiters, taxidrivers, lounge staff, hairdressers etc. in sackcloth and ashes with a few chains just to keep them in their place, afterall we wouldn't want the rabble to think ideas above their station...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I never said it was a job to be nice, just that it is nice to be nice, or put it another way, treat people the way you would like to be treated if you were doing their job.

BTW If you are having a bad day ( maybe losing the plot on a boards thread, while your GF is BJing your boss's brother or whatever ) then try being nice to someone it will ( honestly ) make you feel better.

As for a server "just doing his job", did you notice that nowhere in that statement did you even come close to mentioning or infering "being nice" or "courteous" or "polite" or infact anything other than giving assent to replacing the word service with servile.

Maybe that should be the answer dress all waiters, taxidrivers, lounge staff, hairdressers etc. in sackcloth and ashes with a few chains just to keep them in their place, afterall we wouldn't want the rabble to think ideas above their station...

What the deuce are you talking about? When you take a job in the service industry, being polite and courteous is a vital part of the job! A polite, helpful waiter who goes out of his/her way to make your experience as pleasant as possible is DOING THEIR JOB. If they do the job well, maybe they deserve a little tip, if you have a bit of extra money in your pocket.

Don't say I don't appreciate friendly, helpful waiters/barstaff.

As for the customer, there is a little he/she can do beyond turning up, being patient and polite, not wrecking the place, paying for the service and leaving. If a customer is a bit of a bollocks, then tough. The customer is not the one employed in the service industry. I'd love to know every time the phone rings at work whether the person on the other end is going to be sound or rude. If they are rude, nothing I can do. I am being employed to help them, not the other way around

Kemos wrote: »

being patient and polite

I think those 4 words sum up the argument adequately, now when you answer the phone to some bollix who is neither, do you help them more or less than someone who is patient and polite..

Like, for example, would you put them on hold for longer than strictly necessary?

I think those 4 words sum up the argument adequately, now when you answer the phone to some bollix who is neither, do you help them more or less than someone who is patient and polite..

Like, for example, would you put them on hold for longer than strictly necessary?

I can't really treat them any differently; I do know that if there comes a day when I can't put up with the people being rude, I'll simply have to move on to another job. No point trying to be a martyr

You really dont get it. Most customers ARE patient and polite. Maybe when you were a waiter everyone was pissy at you because you refused to smile and be nice first. Christ you are retarded.

So I assume this is your particular style of being "nice" how befitting that you show yourself as a prime example of the type of customer that most service staff hate to meet.

Now I don't normaly go in for reporting posts for personal abuse, however in your case I am going to make an exception. The 1st time you called me a moron with a chip on my shoulder and just now as retarded, now as you can't seem to argue/debate your point by being nice ( despite being given ample opportunity ) I don't think I'll accept your custom anymore, so kindly get out of the taxi and walk.....SIR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭promethius

For **** sake some ridiculous tipping on this for the ****e "throw the knife and fork" at you service we get in ireland.
    Another nasty import from the US. If you're being charged for a service then give an up front cost, end of story. The whole tips encourage good service is crap as has been shown in this thread, eu7 tip for some badly served pizza WTF! If the service is bad, business will go elsewhere.
    As for service in the US better to be told to have a nice day and to not mean it than be told to **** off and mean it.

So I assume this is your particular style of being "nice" how befitting that you show yourself as a prime example of the type of customer that most service staff hate to meet.

Now I don't normaly go in for reporting posts for personal abuse, however in your case I am going to make an exception. The 1st time you called me a moron with a chip on my shoulder and just now as retarded, now as you can't seem to argue/debate your point by being nice ( despite being given ample opportunity ) I don't think I'll accept your custom anymore, so kindly get out of the taxi and walk.....SIR
    Well errrm, I wasn't being nice to you because you're an ignorant **** to begin with. See you gotta be nice for me to be nice...moron. It's like arguing with a fundi, can't never get them to see reason. Just look at what the others are saying to you. I'd be happy to walk.

ps: expected to be banned from AH, meh

Codemonkey if you are banned I will immediately post an obscene remark and be banned as well. After reading the last few pages, I have almost lost the will to live

Sigh...

Rampant flying horsecocks
    Pat Kenny's Arse Water

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Well errrm, I wasn't being nice to you because you're an ignorant **** to begin with. See you gotta be nice for me to be nice...moron. It's like arguing with a fundi, can't never get them to see reason. Just look at what the others are saying to you. I'd be happy to walk.

ps: expected to be banned from AH, meh
    You got an infraction and a ban. Do not insult other posters.
    Spook_ie: Do not post on this thread again.

Dudess wrote: »
    You got an infraction and a ban. Do not insult other posters.
    Spook_ie: Do not post on this thread again.

Query deleted and PMd instead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

kateos2 wrote: »
    and about the minimum wage thing i saw a few pages back,
    experienced adult worker, €8.65 per hour

That's €17992 per year on a 40 hour week. That's about double what a dole scrounger would get (€165 a week in 2006) even though people are having to actually work for it and before the scrounger's allowances and all kick in.

Actually going to have to rethink my ideas on tipping because that's pathetic. I thought minimum wage was better than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

Teaching

Gards

Can't find a doctors scale but I wouldn't say that Gards and teachers are underpaid given the pensions etc. that they get, also the teachers at my local school get tipped handsomely at Christmas as already refered to

I don't think (especially for the Guards) that those salaries are very high. I know the Consultant doctors get paid very very well but when they're junior doctors the pay for the hours they work and the circumstances they work in is pretty poor. Same for the nurses too. Yes the pension are great but when you're trying to buy a house your pension isn't taken into account, also it doesn't do a whole lot of good for you when you're trying to put your kids through university etc.
    My point was that if you are going to tip people (i.e. taxi drivers) for getting you home safely when this was their job and exactly what you hired them for in the first place where does it end? Do you tip your surgeon for closing your wound up extra well with minimum of scarring or did you expect that this would be the case anyway? BTW I totally disagree with the whole culture of giving teachers presents at Christmas/ Easter/summer holidays etc.
    My understanding of the service industry is that these people e.g. bar staff, shop assistants, waiters etc are hired to bring the paying customer food and drink and to be pleasant while doing so. Some customers are lovely others are less so but you take the rough with the smooth. If any customer is exceptionally rude or abusive then the staff member is well within their rights to refuse to serve them. I would tip if I was happy with the food and the service. Depending on the restaurant if I was unhappy with the food but still happy with the service I would tip the waitress but make a point of finding the head waiter and telling them that I was unhappy with the food and why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

In fairness, the €7.79 first year or whatever isn't really adhered to. My friend works in a pub and gets €7.60 an hour, she's an experienced over-18 worker, and gets paid cash in hand. Another is inexperienced and works in a convenience store, €8.20 an hour, which is at least legal. I work in retail, inexperienced and I get €9. Retail pays over the €8.65, even to 17 year olds. Service is usually the worst pay, but doesn't really go below the 7.65 mark. Supermarkets/newsagents are slightly better.

If you think our minimum wage is bad, you should check out the UK's...I've heard of 18 year olds being paid the equivalent of about €5.80 in M&S there, whereas their starting wage here is €9.40

In fairness, the €7.79 first year or whatever isn't really adhered to. My friend works in a pub and gets €7.60 an hour, she's an experienced over-18 worker, and gets paid cash in hand. Another is inexperienced and works in a convenience store, €8.20 an hour, which is at least legal. I work in retail, inexperienced and I get €9. Retail pays over the €8.65, even to 17 year olds. Service is usually the worst pay, but doesn't really go below the 7.65 mark. Supermarkets/newsagents are slightly better.

If you think our minimum wage is bad, you should check out the UK's...I've heard of 18 year olds being paid the equivalent of about €5.80 in M&S there, whereas their starting wage here is €9.40

But if you're paid cash in hand, then the 7.60 would equate to around 9.50 pretax ( assuming that you had no taxable allowences at all and paid 20% on all of it )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

But if you're paid cash in hand, then the 7.60 would equate to around 9.50 pretax ( assuming that you had no taxable allowences at all and paid 20% on all of it )
    You were asked not to post in this thread again (at my request).
    Do it again and you will be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i'd tip a garda and interestingly enough my da gave a large cash tip to the nursing staff that helped him when he was in with cancer

after 10pm most taxi customers are drunk for better or worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

bohsman wrote: »
    6 pages of an AH tipping thread and no pulp fiction quotes????

i'm gonna assume you mean resoviur (sp)
    dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Reservoir. Oh, and I NEVER tip anyone that gives bad service. I wouldn't care if they looks like they badly needed a feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

I feel that I am getting a bit tippsy after yet another tipping thread.

I think alot of the boardies would be better off if they never left their houses. This way they would be safe in the knowledge of never having to get caught up in such a quandary. How much should I tip? Should I make eye contact with people on the street? Is it wrong to fart walking down the street?

It must be terrible living in a country like France in a constant state of uncertainty about the use of the you-polite form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

I tip for exceptional service only, when the person serving does a great job and in the words of this yank that works with us 'goes above an beyond'. Why should anyone tip someone for doing their jobs?

As for the people saying watresses etc get crap pay, I remember this time last year being unhappy with the money I was being paid. I got a new job. I didn't resort to glorified begging from my firms customers. I worked in Dunnes for years when in college to pay the bills and no one tipped me, nor did I expect them to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

More often than not the kitchen staff are paid more than the floor staff so the tip issue evens itself out.

I know of places where a few friends of mine have worked and all tips are distributed out evenly. Which for the sake of a democratic working environment seems okay, but in terms of the wage difference maybe it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Bout €10 for a waitress.

€5 for a Taxi.

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Volvoboy wrote: »
    €5 for a Taxi.
    -VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Not bothering to read through 8 pages at this hour so I'll just express my point. Tipping has only recently commenced here and I'm guessing it's a habit which has flown over from America, where people in the service industry(restaurants etc) are making far less per hour and actually DEPEND on tips, unlike those in the service industry here, who are making their 8something an hour and really couldn't give a shit if your meal was cold(I know I'm generalsing here, I'm sure there are some excellent waiters etc but I just haven't come across them).
    The service here(on the whole) sucks, it's in, take your money, out as quickly as possible from most. I've been to the States and Canada and the level of service there compared to here is astounding. For example hen was the last time an Irish waiter asked you how your day was? Several asked me across the pond. Their service is of a higher standard because the need their tips to survive, where as here they're already getting what they need so don't bother putting in any more effort than the bare minimum.
    If you're going to insist on giving tips then the food should be cheaper(as they seem to have a built in tip already added in) like it is over there and let you tip how you see fit depending on the quality of the service you receive.

That's my 2 cents anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

For example hen was the last time an Irish waiter asked you how your day was? Several asked me across the pond.

Wow. Nosey bint. Did you look lonely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Wow. Nosey bint. Did you look lonely?
    Wow. Abusive dumbass. Will you enjoy your month long ban?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The service here(on the whole) sucks, it's in, take your money, out as quickly as possible from most. I've been to the States and Canada and the level of service there compared to here is astounding. For example hen was the last time an Irish waiter asked you how your day was? Several asked me across the pond. Their service is of a higher standard because the need their tips to survive, where as here they're already getting what they need so don't bother putting in any more effort than the bare minimum.

I'd rather a surely Irish "howaya" than a forced smile and a fake American "Have a nice day" anyday.