Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday 10th feb, midday - 62/63 middle abbey street, Scientology Dublin - Who's in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭daauneal

Collie D wrote: »
    I did read your post but I think your attitude is typical. Everyone has a right to protest, it's what makes a democracy. However, as soon as someone expresses a different opinion you go straight on the offensive. It weakens your argument greatly.

valid point. your last statement is exactly why I apologised straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Look, i think this crowd is a bunch of wackos just as much of the next person but in this day and age people/suckers have the right to believe in their chosen faith/cult/business.

To me they're just like any other minority group struggling for acceptance and survival.
    Unless they become a threat to me or my family, then they dont bother nor concern me.

They are a threat, maybe not to you but to many other people. So why not do something about it?

They are not a religion but a cult and should never be given the same status as a religion. People should be able to practice the scientology beliefs without having to be charged upwards of €250,000+ to find out about what it is.

A religion is open and willing to accecpt questiosn and criticism. They go to great lenghts to track down, intimidate (and on occasions have killed) anyone who critices them. They will not let you ask them about parts of their religion without having to hand over money and be brainwashed through hours of "audits" and "tests".

They may be a minarity but does that mean that their illegal activities and numerous human rights violations across the globe should be ignored because of it?

Faith is something you should not be charged to have.

So they charge money to find out information..... Man, the national Lottery charges me twice a week to find out if im a winner.

No, you are wrong. You decide to do the lotto of your own decision. The lotto will not tarnish you if you stop doing it. Many people who have left Scientology have then had leaflets sent out to all their neighbours telling them that that person is a child molester, killer etc. They discredit anyone who leaves, using their NON CONFIDENTIAL answers and recordings from the peoples audits.

If that person speaks out against them and their practices they become what the church calles "fair game" where any of the Scientology 'army' (yes, they have one) or any scientologist can do, and I quote from the foudner "anything" to silence them. He has documented ways of scaring, killing and maming people who have left the cult.

Are those the actions of a "Religion" or a worldwide group who are not a danger?

I respect your arguments but I'm sorry, i cant accept that this Group carries any immediate threat to Irish Society.

They may not have an immedate danger to Irish society due to their small numbers, however does that mean we should do nothing until they are a large and dangerous threat?

In every other coutnry they have shown their colours from their varied arrests and illegal activies in Italy, France etc. They aer outlawd as a religion and refused tax exempt status in Germany as their aims go against the Constitution (Their aims included abolishing the constition, which in Germany is unlawful).

The fact that high ranking (insane?) actors like Tom Cruise and John Travolta go around proclaiming the Church as being the "authorities on getting people off drugs. [We are] the authorities on the mind. [We are] the authorities on improving conditions."url=http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article3199668.ece]times online[/url is dangerous. They refuse people with bi-polar disorder their required medication, they refuse people with depression anti-depressients. They claim that Psycharists are the reason for the halocaust (They HATE psycharists as their founder was constantly in psycharicatic institutes due to him being actually mad (See the interview with his son I have linked before in many of my posts on these threads).

Im sorry but sitting back and letting people believe that the Church are a bonified religion who are not a danger to people (including their own members) is just wrong morally. The church constantly attempts to supress any sort of information and truth about their practices in order to keep up the mockery that they are not dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

We have threads running for these arguements already, this one is for people who are interested in attending the protest, not for debating the pros and cons of scientology. I don't mean to be a dick, just trying to keep things on topic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Winters wrote: »
    No, you are wrong. You decide to do the lotto of your own decision. The lotto will not tarnish you if you stop doing it. Many people who have left Scientology have then had leaflets sent out to all their neighbours telling them that that person is a child molester, killer etc. They discredit anyone who leaves, using their NON CONFIDENTIAL answers and recordings from the peoples audits.

If that person speaks out against them and their practices they become what the church calles "fair game" where any of the Scientology 'army' (yes, they have one) or any scientologist can do, and I quote from the foudner "anything" to silence them. He has documented ways of scaring, killing and maming people who have left the cult.

Are those the actions of a "Religion" or a worldwide group who are not a danger?

They may not have an immedate danger to Irish society due to their small numbers, however does that mean we should do nothing until they are a large and dangerous threat?

In every other coutnry they have shown their colours from their varied arrests and illegal activies in Italy, France etc. They aer outlawd as a religion and refused tax exempt status in Germany as their aims go against the Constitution (Their aims included abolishing the constition, which in Germany is unlawful).

The fact that high ranking (insane?) actors like Tom Cruise and John Travolta go around proclaiming the Church as being the "authorities on getting people off drugs. [We are] the authorities on the mind. [We are] the authorities on improving conditions."url=http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article3199668.ece]times online[/url is dangerous. They refuse people with bi-polar disorder their required medication, they refuse people with depression anti-depressients. They claim that Psycharists are the reason for the halocaust (They HATE psycharists as their founder was constantly in psycharicatic institutes due to him being actually mad (See the interview with his son I have linked before in many of my posts on these threads).

Im sorry but sitting back and letting people believe that the Church are a bonified religion who are not a danger to people (including their own members) is just wrong morally. The church constantly attempts to supress any sort of information and truth about their practices in order to keep up the mockery that they are not dangerous.

sounds like the words of a....

SUPPRESSIVE PERSON!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Heres the Scientology places number (01) 8720007 ask them "is it alright if we protest outside your place"....

Don't ring them and bloody ask them! If you wanna tell anyone about it then e-mail rte and the newspapers and tell them the time and date of the protest

I was messing!!! lol :D Thats like going to troy "Will you let this big wooden horse full of soldiers into your city? Cheers thanks"

Smart-arse! If someone does ring them and tell them this is happening and everyone shows up to find a tonne of hired security I'm blaming you dude! :D

0ubliette wrote: »
    sounds like the words of a....
    SUPPRESSIVE PERSON!!!!

Did you just come in randomly to this thread or have you been actually reading it? I take offence to what you posted.

As I stated just several posts before I have no problem with people practicing religion. I have no problem with people who want to practice scientology but if they want to then do it under the Free Zone.
    The Free Zone (or independent Scientologists or Scientology Freezone) comprises a variety of groups and individuals who practice Scientology-like beliefs and techniques independently of the Church of Scientology (CoS)[1]. Such practitioners range from those who closely adhere to the original teachings of Scientology's founder L. Ron Hubbard, to those who have so far adapted their practices to be almost unrecognizable as Scientology.

The problem I have is not with the teachings, people can believe what they want but with the Church of Scientology being a cult supressing anyone who speaks out against it through imtimmidation and violance, being a front for tax evasion, numerous world wide human rights violation of its own members and the murders of many people.

The way the cult that is called "Church of Scientology" operates is dangerous and harmful to many around the globe. Thay is where the problem lies. I have no problem in what they practice.

Having to fork out thousands of euro/dollars to find out about religion is wrong. That does not make it a religion. Practicing what L Ron Hubbard wrote (OT Levels) as a belief I have no problem with (See Free Zon as I outlined above)

What people have a problem with understanding is that the beliefs of Scientology is one thing. The Church of Scientolgoy are another thing (Cult)
    Dianetics is not in any way covered by legislation anywhere, for no law can prevent one man sitting down and telling another man his troubles, and if anyone wants a monopoly on dianetics, be assured that he wants it for reasons which have to do not with dianetics but with profit.
    —L. Ron Hubbard, Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health (1950)
    Odd seeing as though he goes back on his word and uses it to make millions through the "Church of Scientology"..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

Whoever turns up to this protest please bring a video camera and document it. I reckon it'd be highlarious! Oh and lots of pictures of the scary internetters in their masks too. Ah no seriously I hope it goes well for you. I've been following this stuff for the past week and I really hope that there are decent numbers for the protests.

Just make sure you guys all know your facts 100% if/when you get questioned by people or get the chance to question the actual Scientologists themselves. If you slip up or make a mistake they'll be all over you so it's vital you know your **** inside and out and come across as knowledgeable and not just downright crazy.

Gluck!

I would urge anyone who is taking part NOT to engage in conversation with any Scientologist who (and more than likly they will) come out and take pictures of them. Just stay clam and hald out leaflets and stage a peaceful protest against the crimes the Church has committed. And do not in any way mock their beliefs. As I said people can believe what they want, but they should not be charged to. Faith and beliefs are free and so should information on them be.

Letting them trick you is just going to play into their hands. Mocking their beliefs will let them play the religious persucution card. Dont let them do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Winters wrote: »
    I would urge anyone who is taking part NOT to engage in conversation with any Scientologist who (and more than likly they will) come out and take pictures of them. Just stay clam and hald out leaflets and stage a peaceful protest against the crimes the Church has committed. And do not in any way mock their beliefs. As I said people can believe what they want, but they should not be charged to. Faith and beliefs are free and so should information on them be.

Letting them trick you is just going to play into their hands. Mocking their beliefs will let them play the religious persucution card. Dont let them do this.

They'll do it anyway TBH... But still, best not to give them ammo, true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Myth wrote: »
    I enjoy the odd protest, but I have this sneaking suspicion that protesting about Scientology will give them publicity, thus they would win. It's like the Westboro Baptist Church or bears, just ignore them and someday they'll go away.

Hopefully.

Bears never go away.

They just stick to the shadows and wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭king_of_inismac

Why are people suspicious of scientology?
    Because its a minority "church"

Why aren't we suspicious of the catholic church?
    Because we are all part, or know people who are part of its community

What about a church who:
    1. Facilitated widespread child abuse
    2. Lives in a palace in the center of rome
    3. Preaches about helping the poor, while amassing vasts amounts of priceless art
    4. Elects its leader in a secret ceremony with the result being announced by smoke signals
    5. Denounced contraception to swell its numbers.

Its so so easy to find serious faults in every "church". The only thing that makes the catholic church not a dark secret society is the fact that its so popular!

Naive/innocent people are easy targets for all churches and with all powerful churches comes injustices (remember the magdaline laundaries?).

What about the society of Opus dei? They're pretty much secret, but you guys arent worried about them.

I really think people are becoming paranoid about scientology. I don't agree with their teachings, But I want to live in a DEMOCRACY where I can believe what ever the hell I want, give my money to whatever church I want and not feel intimidated/persecuted!

read above posts please

I am , arent you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Dragan wrote: »
    Bears never go away.

They just stick to the shadows and wait.

Thats because they are godless killing machines

Knowledge is free.

We are Anonymous.

We are Legion.

We do not forgive.

WE DO NOT FORGET.

Expect us.

That video is amazing...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,990 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

You can feel Intimidated by Scientology just by trying to leave it, or talk about it.

That's their typical tactics. Trying to illicit an aggressive response on the sly.

There's tons of stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭king_of_inismac

daauneal wrote: »

read above posts please

I am , arent you?

Yes, in the same way I am of every religion. Does that mean I criticise/protest against/borderline persecute people who aren't as suspicious?

The answer is no!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭martin84

How come he hasn't been banned yet? Its people like him that you don't want turning up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Any shop where you can get a mask cheap enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Any shop where you can get a mask cheap enough?
    The Joke Shop?

Don't think they do Tom Cruise masks though

ooh ooh! Try get one of those masks from Eyes Wide Shut!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Stekelly wrote: »
    Everyone should wear Tom Cruise masks. :)

If you do wear a TC mask then hijack a bus and crash it into their headquarters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

f4gl0rd wrote: »
    You're a dumb faggot. Just sayin'.
    Just to clarify (And stem reported posts): This user was banned and sitebanned.
    Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Anonymous_IRL

This is a protest by members and Anonymous and anybody who wish to be associated to protest against the church of Scientology's actions.

This protest is NOT to be hijacked by Fur protestors, Peta members or Anti-Abortion groups, or any other group that has another agenda. Anonymous is a cruel group anyway, we are pro-fur and pro-abortion (not just pro choice, pro abortion) so those crazy people probably wouldnt like us anyway....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

[QUOTE=Anonymous_IRL;54999777This protest is NOT to be hijacked by Fur protestors, Peta members or Anti-Abortion groups, or any other group that has another agenda. [/SIZE]
    [/SIZE][/QUOTE]

So is pro-scientology of the cards then? Just to clarify. I like Tom Cruise.

I disagree. But I don't like Tom Cruise for being a scientologist. I dislike him for being a sh*t actor now.

Also Jason Lee is a scientologist. But I forgave him for that because of "My Name is Earl" .. pity about the Chipmunks though.

Bad move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

As much as i hate scientologists and you are entitled to protest or whatever. It just seems people like creating awarness about topics that are a little further down the chain than more important issues. Homelessness in Ireland, general poverty, the state of our medical services, rip of prices, and don't even get me started on worldly issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Eglinton

Maybe someone should create a website or chain mail to send on advertising your protest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

www.godhatesscientology.com ?

Hyuk hyuk.. made ya look!

As much as i hate scientologists and you are entitled to protest or whatever. It just seems people like creating awarness about topics that are a little further down the chain than more important issues. Homelessness in Ireland, general poverty, the state of our medical services, rip of prices, and don't even get me started on worldly issues.

I fundraised for years for the homeless, general poverty, cancer,eyesight,the deaf any many other things (not sure if im legaly aloud say what groups?)
    These are all VALID and GREAT causes that DO have protests made in their name and also fundraising organisations made for them AND taxes going towards helping the problems and creating solutions. If you want to help them in any way then you can pm me and I'll give you lots of great places to start from. but this cause is no less valid than any of those, and it doesnt get fundraisers or helped with taxes. (in fact on the taxes issue its quite the oppisite.

(sorry for any bad spelling)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Fools with money buy into cult. Fools soon have less money.

Isn't that just natural selection?

I have no problem with their ridiculous beliefs etc, that's freedom of speech.

It's more their church's (as an institution) assaults on my freedom of speech that I take issue with.

I think this is a great idea and just because something isn't a cause celebre doesn't make it any less worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Just to clear up a thing or two;

Firstly, to clarify (and to quote the second anonymous video on youtube); "Your religious beliefs are not wrong, like any others, and are yours to keep".

There is NO religious malice behind this protest, and the beliefs of scientologists should not come into it. This protest is about at what a high price these beliefs come at, both monetary and psychologically affecting - the general brainwashing techniques that Scientology employs, their practice of murder, corruption etc etc.

Secondly, if anyone wants to PM me with any questions on flyers, or even show their interest, please do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Tellox wrote: »
    Just to clear up a thing or two;

Firstly, to clarify (and to quote the second anonymous video on youtube); "Your religious beliefs are not wrong, like any others, and are yours to keep".

There is NO religious malice behind this protest, and the beliefs of scientologists should not come into it. This protest is about at what a high price these beliefs come at, both monetary and psychologically affecting - the general brainwashing techniques that Scientology employs, their practice of murder, corruption etc etc.

Secondly, if anyone wants to PM me with any questions on flyers, or even show their interest, please do.

Ah yes, the old cover your arse routine.

I'd call it the old "why in the name of christ do you care about religious beliefs" routine. I believe the jeans Im wearing are blue, but a colourblind man might be lead to believe they're grey. I could stand there telling him theyre blue all day but it wont make the slightest difference to him.

However, if this man was paying extortionate amounts of money to be colourblind (work with me here people), I'd probably try and convince him to stop that, since it's obviously not doing him much good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

Jesus, I watched that video somebody [Jill Valentine?] posted, scary stuff. How the feck could those guys infiltrate the US government?

I'd call it the old "why in the name of christ do you care about religious beliefs" routine. I believe the jeans Im wearing are blue, but a colourblind man might be lead to believe they're grey. I could stand there telling him theyre blue all day but it wont make the slightest difference to him.

However, if this man was paying extortionate amounts of money to be colourblind (work with me here people), I'd probably try and convince him to stop that, since it's obviously not doing him much good.

you'd have to convince him through rational debate tho.
    as he would just stay blind to your reason if you only used " colourful " words

Decided to read up on Scientology, also found this on the Tube. Wierdos.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPol_m8wm8Y&feature=related

CCCP^ wrote: »
    Decided to read up on Scientology, also found this on the Tube. Wierdos.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPol_m8wm8Y&feature=related

What are your crimes CCCP^:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Collie D wrote: »
    Was just thinking the same. After we've protested against the Scientology crowd I vote we hit the nearest synagogue

An interesting idea, however it has to be examined in more detail.
    because of this whole ww2 guilt thing a synagogue would be the last place you would go, You should also avoid any Muslim religion. Target all the others and then circle in on the mosque's and the synagoge's removing religion once and for all. But that wont happen.

Religion will fade in time. This is about cos and for some people its about helping others, by preventing cos from gaining as many new members and alerting people to the true nature of the orginisation.

And just to be clear, Protest is considered fail if;
    A) Someone gets violent
    B) Gardaí are called in to move us along
    (lots of reasons this could happen, especially blocking pedestrian traffic).
    C) People get disorganised and start wandering around aimlessly.

No... Well not no. But i dont understand a few things, well 1 thing actually.

Who decided these rules? There is only one that i have a question about.
    B. I dont like this at all...

Several times in my life i have been in town, and my movements and the public transport have been interrupted. Buses get delayed and traffic can be extreme during protests/marches.
    I have complained to this government but i didn't even get a response. I see things this very simple way.

If someone has a problem with something (lets say abortion) they protest/march whatever in town and they effect me, you and our city. Transport slows down its very ****ing annoying. But they don't get arrested or moved along for ****ing with my day and effecting my movements.

I don't think we should set out to effect the flow of traffic however if the gardai use that as an excuse tell them "No" and then explain why and use a comparison like the one i outlined above. Our goal is no less important than the no abortion stuff.
    Asbad wrote: »
    You should be prepared for that one in particular, Especially if there is less than 10/5 of ye. Im betting some **** garda will tell you to move along, even if you are abiding the law and conducting the protest in a peaceful manor, he will still threaten you with "Da boys will be comin down wit da Van"

I suggest dictaphones, bring them and record whenever a cos or a gardai comes at you, record what they say encase it is illegal or threatening, or even just slander... you can sue for that so to those of you who cant control your tongue i suggest you don't involve yourself because as you know cos are big into law suits.
    Look, i think this crowd is a bunch of wackos just as much of the next person but in this day and age people/suckers have the right to believe in their chosen faith/cult/business.

Hell i dont agree with any facet of the Muslim religion but you dont see me dressed in some gimpish costume waving a banner around outside Mosques.

To me they're just like any other minority group struggling for acceptance and survival.
    Unless they become a threat to me or my family, then they dont bother nor concern me.

I still think it was wrong for Jonah to hurt Martha and Tasha like that though.

What about that quote?

All that is required for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing. If your a good person who is only going to take action to defend your own interests. Im not attacking you or anything im just making the point that if everyone in this country who "looked out for themselves" just forgot all that bollox and focused on key goals like removal of cos, crime and people who are a drain on society's recources.
    Because its a minority "church"

Because we are all part, or know people who are part of its community

What about a church who:
    1. Facilitated widespread child abuse
    2. Lives in a palace in the center of rome
    3. Preaches about helping the poor, while amassing vasts amounts of priceless art
    4. Elects its leader in a secret ceremony with the result being announced by smoke signals
    5. Denounced contraception to swell its numbers.

Its so so easy to find serious faults in every "church". The only thing that makes the catholic church not a dark secret society is the fact that its so popular!

Naive/innocent people are easy targets for all churches and with all powerful churches comes injustices (remember the magdaline laundaries?).

What about the society of Opus dei? They're pretty much secret, but you guys arent worried about them.

I really think people are becoming paranoid about scientology. I don't agree with their teachings, But I want to live in a DEMOCRACY where I can believe what ever the hell I want, give my money to whatever church I want and not feel intimidated/persecuted!

The catholic church is a problem but we should focus one obstacle at a time.
    Also i don't really consider any nation that does not put the needs of law abiding citizens first to be a democratic nation.
    This is a protest by members and Anonymous and anybody who wish to be associated to protest against the church of Scientology's actions.

This protest is NOT to be hijacked by Fur protestors, Peta members or Anti-Abortion groups, or any other group that has another agenda. Anonymous is a cruel group anyway, we are pro-fur and pro-abortion (not just pro choice, pro abortion) so those crazy people probably wouldnt like us anyway....

Well i suppose pro abortion would keep the population down. I would defiantly be pro choice, im also a big fan of china way of limiting the amount of children. This just makes sense when you consider the rapid increase of our planets population. no to mention what it will be once we get around to getting peace and some element of civilisation into 3rd world - war ravaged countries. One global conflicts decrease the population will skyrocket as modern medical tech reaches less fortunate countries, which i am all for ofcoarse. I know we are discussing cos but what you have said is correct, for us to be able to increase our population unhindered by law we would need either something insane like living off world or covering our planet in massive structures that are extremely tall where a large population would live (as seen on discovery channel :) )

But getting off topic i just felt i had to comment on that because its something almost every single person would disagree with but it is a very interesting issue, overpopulation will be a massive obstacle for us to overcome as a species. But i like the idea of starting by removing bad/criminal emements from our society.

daauneal wrote: »
    What are your crimes CCCP^:p

Lol, I've been saying this to my flatmate all day. GO SCIENTOLOGY!!!!111

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

There is a church of scientology in Copenhagen. Will there be a protest there too? Might go for a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

User45701 wrote: »
    I don't think we should set out to effect the flow of traffic however if the gardai use that as an excuse tell them "No" and then explain why and use a comparison like the one i outlined above. Our goal is no less important than the no abortion stuff.
    Good luck with that. I'm pretty sure that protests are allowed to walk the streets and cause disruption because they have requested to walk the streets on that day.