Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meteor & Edge/GPRS activation mess

• 29-01-2008 2:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭

Has anyone had success in getting Meteor to activate GPRS for them? I am pulling my hair out at this stage!

I have called them at least four times. I have an iPhone. On this latest call (today) I just told them I had a Nokia N70 to save confusion. So they send me out a text saying you will soon receive meteor wap and mms settings (after asking the girl if this was GPRS settings and not wap), about 10 minutes later another text saying that my phone is now set up to use meteor services?

The edge/gprs still isnt working. I have the correct settings (isp.mymeteor.ie, username my and password isp) - but curiously the "E" symbol beside the meteor logo has disappeared...

I told the rep that I also have an iPhone and she said she will have to get onto tech support and will ring me back within 24 hours with the settings for that (I'm not holding my breath).

I specifically said I wanted access to their ISP internet, which is GPRS.

Can anyone help to get this sorted?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,182 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Elessar wrote: »
    Has anyone had success in getting Meteor to activate GPRS for them? I am pulling my hair out at this stage!

I have called them at least four times. I have an iPhone. On this latest call (today) I just told them I had a Nokia N70 to save confusion. So they send me out a text saying you will soon receive meteor wap and mms settings (after asking the girl if this was GPRS settings and not wap), about 10 minutes later another text saying that my phone is now set up to use meteor services?

The edge/gprs still isnt working. I have the correct settings (isp.mymeteor.ie, username my and password isp) - but curiously the "E" symbol beside the meteor logo has disappeared...

I told the rep that I also have an iPhone and she said she will have to get onto tech support and will ring me back within 24 hours with the settings for that (I'm not holding my breath).

Haha yup. I had the same problem.. It's crazy that you have to ring up to get gprs active on your account. Try saying that you brought in into a meteor shop and that the rep verified the settings, that way you wont get the settings sent out again for the umpeenth time. Tell them that the rep said you have all you need and you just need meteor to provision gprs (edge is the same. once provisioned for gprs, you are also for edge) on your account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Elessar wrote: »

there are more settings than just the apn, user name and password. if you told them you have an n70, they would have sent out the configuration for the n70 which wouldn't have worked. They probably don’t have settings for the iphone

the fact that the E is missing just means you're not currently in edge coverage.

They have two APNs, wap.mymeteor.ie and isp.mymeteor.ie, both of which are GPRS. Tell them you want the ISP APN activated. If they don’t know what you’re talking about, tell them to pass it on to the technical team who will know.

You’ll have to put the settings on your phone manually if they don’t have a configuration text for the iphone. Here are the settings as they’d appear on a nokia:

connection name:Meteor WEB
    data bearer: packet data
    APN:isp.mymeteor.ie
    username:my
    prompt password:no
    password:isp
    authentication:normal
    homepage:http://wap.mymeteor.ie
    network type:IPv4
    phone IP address:automatic
    name servers (DNS): automatic
    proxy address:none
    proxy port:0

you’ll have to find somewhere in the settings to enter all of that information. some of them might be written differently, for example packet data is called PS data on a sony ericsson and on some phones, instead of saying automatic IP you put in 0.0.0.0. but all of the information needs to be put somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

iPhone just has APN, username and password. They are isp.mymeteor.ie, my and isp. Pm me your mobile if you have issues and I'll sort it.

chrislad wrote: »
    iPhone just has APN, username and password. They are isp.mymeteor.ie, my and isp. Pm me your mobile if you have issues and I'll sort it.

that's very odd. can it detect the rest of the info or something?

ISP settings normally only need the APN and username/password. The rest is automatic. Has been on every XDA that I've configured anyways.

chrislad wrote: »
    ISP settings normally only need the APN and username/password. The rest is automatic. Has been on every XDA that I've configured anyways.
    Well you learn something new every day. Does that work for the wap apn? Since it needs the proxy info

It doesn't work for WAP/GPRS, just the ISP one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭lkman

Is there anyone in Dublin city centre (D1, D3 areas) that has managed to get Edge (ISP access) using Meteor? For that matter, does your iPhone show the E (Edge) icon, at all, while in the above mentioned areas??

I did at one point have the E icon while at home (D1), but that didn't hang around long, and I haven't seen it since (tested on 2 iPhones - UK & US, both 1.1.2, US since upgraded to 1.1.3, all unlocked/jailbroken/activated, no *sim).

As far as I know Meteor have enabled ISP access for me, however this has yet to be confirmed until I get Edge coverage. I have also tested in the Blanchardstown area, and anywhere in between while stuck in traffic!! But no E icon.

If I don't get this working, then I think I'll be saying bye bye to Meteor after having been with them since day one. I've been looking for an excuse since the CS sucks!

Regards.

lkman wrote: »
    Is there anyone in Dublin city centre (D1, D3 areas) that has managed to get Edge (ISP access) using Meteor? For that matter, does your iPhone show the E (Edge) icon, at all, while in the above mentioned areas??

i saw an iphone with edge coverage in eddie rockets on o connell street the other day
    As far as I know Meteor have enabled ISP access for me, however this has yet to be confirmed until I get Edge coverage. I have also tested in the Blanchardstown area, and anywhere in between while stuck in traffic!! But no E icon.
    i'm not sure where you got the idea that you need to have edge coverage to use the isp settings. you don't. if it doesn't work with GPRS coverage it won't work in edge coverage either

what did you tell them you wanted when you called and what did they say?

what happens when you try to connect and did you try entering an address rather than just loading the home page?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭lkman

what did you tell them you wanted when you called and what did they say?

That's exactly my point about the crap customer service. Girl on the first call knew what I meant, but advised that I needed to speak to a technical specialist (i called on saturday) and to call back on the monday. I asked her did she have the abillity to enable it (ISP access) and she said she had but the tech guy could give me the details i needed - which I assumed I didn't as it's just apn, ua, pw...

I called back twice after and the CS agents didn't have a single clue what I was on about - putting me on hold for 15-30 mins. I just kept telling them to enable it and I'd do the rest - they kept yackin on about my PC settings, I just told them I have all that info and I just need them to enable.

I went to a store and they said they'd make a request to their business support team to get it enabled.

With nothing to go on either way - and after all that, i could only keep trying it, without success.

So if I don't see the E icon, I should still be able to connect (if i've been enabled)?
    what happens when you try to connect and did you try entering an address rather than just loading the home page?

I entered lots of addresses and just got the 'suffari can't open page. can't find server' msg.

I'm gonna give it one more try tommoro - I'll pop into a store and cancell my (bill pay) account if they can't enable it there an then. Then I'll head to an O2 store to switch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,137 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Does O2 even have properly rolled out EDGE?

EDGE has worked on my two EDGE capable phones on Meteor, one of which had to be configured by someone in the Meteor Store on Henry Street for me (sure I could have done it if they'd told me how, but was in the area)

So if I don't see the E icon, I should still be able to connect (if i've been enabled)?
    yes you should. i've connected on phones that don't have edge capability. isp.mymeteor.ie is a physical box in meteor hq and wap.mymeteor.ie is another one. until the signal from your phone gets into meteor hq it doesn't differentiate between which APN you're using. the way you're connected the network is irrelevant

I entered lots of addresses and just got the 'suffari can't open page. can't find server' msg.
    grand so. i had a problem where i could get any page except the meteor home page for some reason. it seems that's not your problem

something you should try:

put your sim into a nokia phone, then go to this address (on your computer)
    https://nokiags.wdsglobal.com/standard?siteLanguageId=118

follow the instructions and get the "Internet" settings, as opposed to GPRS or MMS. activate them on the phone and try to connect to the web. make sure not to just try the home page because of the problem i mentioned.

if it doesn't work, try entering the settings manually. if you don't know how to do it on the phone i can give you a run through

also, if you have access to a sim that you know has ISP access enabled on it, try that in the phone to make sure the settings are right.

after doing that you'll know for sure if its enabled on your account or a configuration setting on the iphone
    I'm gonna give it one more try tommoro - I'll pop into a store and cancell my (bill pay) account if they can't enable it there an then. Then I'll head to an O2 store to switch.
    that's very hasty tbh. and if you've had the contract for more than 14 days you'll have to pay off the line rental for your remaining months

there's no point going into a store. they'll just call the same people you're going to call and it'll be more awkward than if you called them yourself. call them up and say the following:

"I would like you to enable access to the isp access point (isp.mymeteor.ie) on my account."

if they don't know what you mean (and they won't), stop them before they get into anything about computer settings. tell them to pass the information on to the technical team (or raise a trouble ticket to use their lingo) who will know what you mean. refuse to talk about anything else.

if they ask you to call back yourself to talk to the technical team, refuse. i've enabled ISP access on about 20 accounts and every time the agent has passed it on to the technical team himself. that person was just passing the buck. that is all you need to do to get it enabled and don't let them convince you otherwise

btw, once you tell them to pass it on it might take a few days for them to do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

EDGE is just an enhanced form of GPRS, your iPhone will work on either GPRS or EDGE signals, GPRS is just slower. EDGE technology was largely skipped by most European operators as 3G is far superior in terms of data through put.

It's popular in the US as they've had a very badly delayed rollout of 3G services, so they're stuck with EDGE for the time being. Rolling out a smart phone like the iPhone without 3G in Europe is a bit like supplying a really high end PC that can only access the internet via a dial up modem though. It's laughable.

But, to get back on topic:

The problem is that meteor have not provisioned your account for proper internet access i.e. the ISP settings that posters have mentioned above.

If your account has no ISP access, you can only really browse WAP sites.

Also, beware of meteor's GPRS/EDGE data charges and ensure that you're on an appropriate rate. The cost of using the data services without one of these packages applied can be ridiculously expensive. i.e. consider remortgaging your house!

Solair wrote: »
    EDGE is just an enhanced form of GPRS, your iPhone will work on either GPRS or EDGE signals, GPRS is just slower. EDGE technology was largely skipped by most European operators as 3G is far superior in terms of data through put.!

this is true. edge is just a software update from gprs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I had the same problem on my N95. The ISP access point does not work however, if you select (or in your case change the settings) to the meteor WAP access point you should be in business. I get great speed EDGE on my N95 no problem now.

gpf101 wrote: »
    I had the same problem on my N95. The ISP access point does not work however, if you select (or in your case change the settings) to the meteor WAP access point you should be in business. I get great speed EDGE on my N95 no problem now.

the isp apn is 1/4 of the price

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭fi

Can i say i ahve exactly the same problem and i was wondering if this girl got it sorted?

Meteor have no clue, clueless!

i have rung them and they have said my ISP is enabled.

in settings, network, and edge i set this to teh isp.mymeteor.ie with username my and password isp....

edge still doesnt work, but now my questions is if i get edge to work, will this enable me to send MMS, have otehr iphone users been able to send pictures adn receive them?

can i send pictures like i did on my nokia phone, or do i ahve to send thru this edge, and how do you then pay for it is it billed on your phone bill?

i get my emails and stuff thru my wifi at home but have had no access other then wifi to see if other thigns are working!!!

but i have no E icon displayed, can anyone PLEASE help me

thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭Elessar

What girl?

I have gotten it to work. I don't know if it was the call and the texts I got or when I asked them to enable it via the "contact us" form on the website, but it was working a few hours after that. I think you have to shut the phone down for a while or something for it to take effect?

iPhone cant send or receive MMS, except by email.

Oh and Meteors GPRS is hella expensive! 1mb=€5

fi wrote: »
    Can i say i ahve exactly the same problem and i was wondering if this girl got it sorted?

Meteor have no clue, clueless!

i have rung them and they have said my ISP is enabled.

in settings, network, and edge i set this to teh isp.mymeteor.ie with username my and password isp....

edge still doesnt work, but now my questions is if i get edge to work, will this enable me to send MMS, have otehr iphone users been able to send pictures adn receive them?

can i send pictures like i did on my nokia phone, or do i ahve to send thru this edge, and how do you then pay for it is it billed on your phone bill?

i get my emails and stuff thru my wifi at home but have had no access other then wifi to see if other thigns are working!!!

but i have no E icon displayed, can anyone PLEASE help me

thanks in advance

as far as i know, the iphone can't send mms. i'm 99% sure it couldn't when it first came out and i haven't heard of that changing.

but even if it could send mms, getting EDGE to work would not do that. EDGE is just a type of coverage. its the same as GPRS but a bit faster. it makes absolutely no difference to the end user except they might notice a better speed. anything that works on edge will also work on gprs and vice versa

on your old nokia phone your mms would have been sent through gprs or edge if your phone had edge. you paid 20c to send mms's on your old nokia and assuming mms works on the iphone, you will continue to pay 20c

i recommend you do the same thing i recommended above:

1. find a nokia phone

2. put the internet settings on the phone (from the link i posted above)

3. try to go on the internet with your sim in (try to go to www.google.com, not just the meteor home page)

if it doesn't work, then your account isn't set up for ISP access and you need to call them and ask them to get the technical team to enable ISP access on your account

those instructions are to get the internet working on your account. mms is something completely separate and doesn't need ISP access enabled to use it. mms is sent to mms.mymeteor.ie, not isp.mymeteor.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭fi

thank you, you have cleared up a lot for me there....
    so the iphone cannot send MMS, well this is all i was looking for as i can do without getting mail or browsing!!

I rather jump on to something via wifi, i understand that....!! :)

so i need not worry about edge then.

thank you so much.
    do you know why MMS will not work with iphones?
    oh and yes the isp is set up and enabled/

fi wrote: »
    do you know why MMS will not work with iphones?

they just didn't set it up that way for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

okay, lads, not doing new thread about this, but i need some help. I got samsubg Tocco for misses and trying to connect to internet, i putted in these settings:

ISP GPRS
    Profile Name: Meteor ISP
    Connection Type: GPRS
    APN: isp.mymeteor.ie
    Username: my
    Password: isp
    IP and DNS are supplied on connection.

And no luck with internet at all... Any tips? As i had no trouble connecting mine phone to GPRS (WM6) with O2, and meteor is just breaking mine head...