Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Morbid M5 Story

• 29-01-2008 8:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭

Saw this on PH, apologies if it's already been posted...bizarre story, prompts a debate?

Story

News report

• Registered Users Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

spoilt rich kid, if he had to work, scrounge, save, for 3 years to afford a decent car, his own insurance and tax, im sure hed be thinking twice.
    hed be thinking trice if he had to fix it himself.

I know kids with altezzas and type R integras and civics, daddy paid for them, these kids are 18 going on 19 and have been in court and have points(over 4) for dangerous driving.
    the lads who work for the cars treat them different as they know how much it took to get it.

i blame the parents, who give a 18 year old a 400 bhp beast of a car???
    and a escalade and two other bimmers??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Another classic case of the power and inexperience cocktail with a few sprinkles of cockiness. The lads' age is probably fairly irrelevant, he just didn't have the skill to drive such a car at the height of it's potential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Goodness that's just crazy - you'd think (no offence) if he had money to spare, and wanted to get the most out of his car - he'd get racer lessons or something. Instead of thinking he could do it himself. I've not even been driving a year and if I had something of that power I would want some instruction before toying about. And I know I wouldn't have the skills to control it.
    It's an awful pity he didn't heed the advice given to him on the forum.
    A crusher couldn't have done a better job on that car than he did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭dmck2886

How will his parents live with themselfs, he never should have being driving a car with so much power with so little driving experience

• Registered Users Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭maidhc

The lads' age is probably fairly irrelevant, he just didn't have the skill to drive such a car at the height of it's potential.

Age does matter. I know I did things when I was 17 and 18 I wouldn't do now... and im only 25.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Gatster

I think his age definitely mattered, you are much more likely to have an 'attitude' at that age, and I think this was reflected in his posts on the forum he was on the night he crashed.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Someone remind me why exactly do BMW make M5's?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭greglo23

i feel sorry for the parents of the 4 other guys who were killed in the crash.

what idiot parent would allow their 18 year old to drive a 500 hp car in the first place. they may as well have bought a grave for him too when buying the M5.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭Ta me anseo

The lads' age is probably fairly irrelevant, he just didn't have the skill to drive such a car at the height of it's potential.

Don't get me wrong I'm not saying that you think you could have managed it yourself, but I must say that's a pretty dangerous attitude to have. This young lad went off the end of runway at God knows what speed and launched himself into a tree. He didn't lose control. He simply grossly misjudged the length of tarmac ahead of him. To imply that someone with a higher level of 'skill' would have got away with it is pretty silly really. Any of us could drive pretty much anything at any speed in a reasonably straight line.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Someone remind me why exactly do BMW make M5's?
    eh? Why do we have the veyron with twice the M5's power?
    There is a market for them and in fairness owners are given training before buying (new).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭MarkN

Absolute madness giving any 18 year old an M5. Sad story and all but his parents have a lot to explain.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Sorry folks, I might have left myself open to a bit of misinterpretation here.

I'm 33, an experienced driver ( + 1 million kilometers ), haven't had any serious accidents and I do by all means like to drive at good clip.I believe in appropiate speed in appropiate conditions and that does not mean the advertised speedlimit, faster in some places and conditions, slower in others. But I know one thing absolutly for sure. I am not a rallye driver nor racing driver. I do not have the driving skills required to take a BMW M5 or whatever equivalent to the top of it's potential and expect to be on top of my game whether that's on the road or on a runway or on a racetrack. Having said that I have had instances where I could have kicked myself up the arse for loosing concentration or doing something that was with hindsight not the most intelligent option.But you learn from your experience.If you start on the other hand doing stuff you can't handle your learning experience might meet an abrupt end whether you're 18, 33, or 65 doesn't matter. I will admit that your perception of risk will vary with age but still... .

• Registered Users Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭MarkN

kbannon wrote: »
    eh? Why do we have the veyron with twice the M5's power?
    There is a market for them and in fairness owners are given training before buying (new).

Is that with a new M5 you get training? I do remember hearing about something like 10 new M5s being registered in '06 and 3 were written off that year. I may have the numbers wrong but it was a fairly high mortality rate for the M5 whatever it was!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Apparently you get training with the M5 and M6 (and possibly also with the new M3).
    However, many people got normal driver training to go on the roads...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Young men will always endup dead, its in our nature, thats why they are used as cannon fodder, they believe they are immortal. Most of the deaths I see are kids in 1 liter type cars {corsas polos} that are going to fast around corners , lose control and stop suddenly (tree)or they are ejected from the vehicle.

It would be interesting to see the statistics for deaths in young male drivers and the engine size of the vehicle.

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭Phoole

Wot I'd do for a car like that!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 65,405 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Terrible tragedy. It happened on the air strip where John Travolta flies his airplanes. It was his dad's car, not his. Before anyone goes off on one demanding the dad should be jailed for letting the boy drive his high performance car, think about what it must be like for him to live with himself...
    there were yaw marks at the end of the runway, indicating that the car turned sideways before launching over an embankment. It then sailed through the air about 200 feet before slamming into a large tree.

They believe it traveled over the 80- to 85-foot embankment at the end of the airstrip and struck the tree about 15 feet above the ground. The car broke into two pieces upon impact.

Three of victims were ejected. Two were partially ejected

Traumadoc wrote: »
    lose control and stop suddenly (tree)or they are ejected from the vehicle

I didn't see your post until I posted mine just there. Just goes to show. 1l 50BHP or 5l 500BHP. Results are the same

• Registered Users Posts: 51,243 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Generally we think we are better drivers than we actually are in reality, statistics show us that everyday, no matter what age we are or what we drive. It's not about age but rather experience. How many drivers of any given age have experience of driving a car with 500bhp under the bonnet?

An inexperienced driver behind the wheel of a 500bhp car is like having a loaded gun.

The point really is that it doesn't matter what car one drives. All cars are like loaded guns!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

MarkN wrote: »
    Absolute madness giving any 18 year old an M5. Sad story and all but his parents have a lot to explain.
    I know a chap who was 17 when his parents bought him a brand new m3 and also he is aloud to drive the parents m5.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

bazz26 wrote: »
    Generally we think we are better drivers than we actually are in reality, statistics show us that everyday, no matter what age we are or what we drive. It's not about age but rather experience. How many drivers of any given age have experience of driving a car with 500bhp under the bonnet?

An inexperienced driver behind the wheel of a 500bhp car is like having a loaded gun.

It's fairly irrelevant what car he was driving. He made the news because it was 500hp. If he'd done the same thing in a 100hp car, the same no of people could have been killed, but far less coverage/outcry. We only have to think of those multiple accidents we've had in this country - and donegal springs to mind, unfortunately - where there were modest cars involved.

It's important that the car is not the focus of attention, otherwise, technically, we shouldn't have any cars capable of breaking the speed limit. so even a Smart Car would be outlawed...........this same ratchet situation has occurred in motorcycling, which I do a lot of, and there is no evidence of power restrictions influencing accident statistics - witness, France. Appalling safety record, yet all their machines have been capped at 100bhp for years.
    Stupidity, you see, can overcome any engineering obstacle...........:rolleyes:

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

In fairness he tried it out where you'd think is a good safe location. An airstrip. However he didn't think out the braking distances and he run offs. Also doing it 5 up was bad idea too. Lack of judgement rather than skill is the issue really.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Plug wrote: »
    I know a chap who was 17 when his parents bought him a brand new m3 and also he is aloud to drive the parents m5.

That's an extreme case. I know of builders buying and insuring their 18yr olds on Scoobies and Evos - but an M3!?!?

Forgive me for being a snob but is this type of thing the preserve of the nouveau riche? Putting young lads in cars like that shows a drastic lack of intelligence. When I was that age even the richest kids were lucky if helped to buy an old Golf or Escort...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Fair play to the guy for taking it to an airstrip to do his performance runs but jebus was he not prepared. At that speed you can't judge how quickly the end of the runway is coming - you have to put down markers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Gatster

The other incredibly stupid thing about this (although he'd have been caught/crashed into a plane otherwise) is that it was night, so I'd imagine he had absolutely no idea where the end of the runway was, and at that speed in the dark, little chance of doing anything about it if he did.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭richie_rvf

I'm a member of the M5Borad and have been reading about this for a while now.

Terrible tragedy - the families must be devastated.

It now appears that there was alcohol involved, 3am on a runway........

I also do not think this would have happened if he were driving a 100bhp car, they have calculated that the car would have been travelling in excess of 170mph, the car travelled over 200 feet in the air before hitting a tree 15 feet off the ground.

They never stood a chance.

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Poor old Josh - perhaps he should be given a Darwin award.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭OTK