Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heroin

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

People
    I would prefer to leave this thread open.

However, I cannot have discussion on anything to do with medical advice, that covers the taking of legal or illegal drugs.
    It's a dangerous route to take and none of us are doctors in here.

Please refrain from that part of the discussion or I will have no alternative but to close the thread.
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Beruthiel,
    i have taken the liberty of deleteing as many posts as i cuolsd that detail the taking of methadone etc.

Is anyone spots any i havve missed please let me know.

As berutiel says, we cannot allow such information in the thread. But i would prefer this thread to stay open as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

Oh please dont close this thread... all we'll be left with is overweight women wondering why they aren't getting a date and men worrying about their jobs (and assorted navel gazing).

Leave Ricey and Board om alone. It's probably the only thread that might result in something useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 suzy5978

hi ricey,jus seen dis thread last week and hav been watchin ur progress.i would strongly recommend narcotics anonymous meetings to you.now im not by any means a member of d god squad or anything-far from it!i used every type of drug under the sun for 16 years.but heroin brought me to my knees.i ended up homelesss,with absolutley nothing in my life.it was a living hell.i nearly lost my arms and was blessed to come out of it alive.but the thing that saved me and gave me my life back was n.a.now i live in a lovely apartment,have a job and best of all i hav my family back in my life.it will take time for the trust to come back because ive caused alot of pain but im willing to work for that.n.a is the only thing that worked for me-clinics,treatment centres,moving away from everything-none of those worked for me.i wish u the best of luck in this,its goin to be a long slog but if you really want it and put your mind to it you can do it.the bst thing ur doin at the minute is talkin about it,at least your admittin you hav a problem.gud luck and godblss xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Just thought I'd post a link to the Recovery and addiction forum of Drugs-Forum.com.

It's a forum with a relatively neutral stance on drugs which has discussions on things from drug laws to advice about drugs to kicking an addiction, the forum for which I've linked to above. It has a lot of experienced drug users, including addicts and former addicts, who could possibly offer you some support and/or advice on methods of quitting. There's also a lot more leeway for the discussion of methadone and other drugs which help to ease withdrawal/cravings than this forum.

Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

ok first off sorry about the talk to phy on the thread.. wont happen again.

since im here to say this it looks like i have not take a overdose and am still alive heh and im feeling really good today. Just a pain that iv woke up again pure early, would have like to have slept till later but life must go on and im into my fourth day clean now so im three days clean thank god! Its been a struggle but im doin ok now me thinks...

hi and welcome to boards and thanks for your post suzy. ya the first thing im going to do is go to na next week just as soon as i stop the phy. I know how good na can be because iv been a member of aa for a good bit and it works wonders. fair play to ya for getting of of the stuff, just goes to show it can be done.

if anyone listens to newstalk, well there was a thing on it about drugs and that was me... and my parents were on it yesterday. Its podcasted on there website if anyone wants to listen. Im so upset right now after hearing my mother and father :/

I knew i was going on the radio but i never knew my parents were i taught they were just talking to the guy from newstalk. Suppose my head is so messed up i forgot to ask were they going to be on the radio too. Anyway they were and i got the podcast of it from yesterday and man im i so upsett at what iv been doing to them! To hear them cry on the air like that is such a slap in the face. I suppose i can feel good that im three days clean now and just keep going and never use again because i will take my own life if i do again.

Link to the show http://www.mediafire.com/?imwggxnvxqj

if anyone wants to have a listen. just three small mp3's in a rar/zip file.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

ricey wrote: »
    ok first off sorry about the talk to phy on the thread.. wont happen again.
    You could use PMs for advice on this if it's allowed but remember nobody here can or should give medical advice.
    if anyone listens to newstalk, well there was a thing on it about drugs and that was me... and my parents were on it yesterday. Its podcasted on there website if anyone wants to listen.
    Had a look but there are a fair few on their site. Could you post a link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭FingersCrossed

Link to the show http://www.mediafire.com/?imwggxnvxqj

if anyone wants to have a listen. just three small mp3's in a rar/zip file.

I can't get that link to work Ricey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭newstalk

You can find the interviews here.

http://newstalk.ie/newstalk/breakfast-show/index.html

Ricey, we'll talk later when your up and about.

I can't get that link to work Ricey.
    Worked for me.

Hey all.

Ya that link is fine figerscrossed, try again it should work k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Ricky Roma

** THIS IS NOT A PERSONAL DIG AT RICEY **

I just listened to this radio piece and read alot of the thread..The problem is with people who " feel sorry" for these scumbags ... THEY make the choice to start to use this crap ..Look at the impact these people have on their family and society in general .... Scumbags the lot of them .

It may not have been aimed at Ricey, but was uncalled for and not helpful.

Though i will let it stand as an example of the attitude people face when trying to overcome such addiction.

I am warning you now and infracting you for it though.

Ricky Roma wrote: »
    ...some stuff...
    The real scumbags are the dealers and their employers. Do you not think they should be blamed at all?

Dealers , I agree should be shunned by society !!! 100% agree...But lads , letrs get real here...I am currently listening to the radio piece , and these parents are going through hell cause of this lads lifestyle choice...IT SICKENS ME

Ricky Roma sound like a bit of a fag to me!!

Listen to my words this is not a personal dig at YOU

Been addicted to any drug is a disease ok. I will always say hands down its my fault in the first place for using the drug and i am a alcoholic and was really drunk at the time so thats what made me use. If i was not a alcoholic i would have NEVER used this drug but i did and it took control of my life and now im looking for help, support and a way out. The comment you have made that we are all scumbags is just one of the worst things anyone could say to me right now or to any recoving addict! I dont know what your life is like but i bet its perfect? id say you have not one problem and your mad about yourself just my two cents. No but seriously its not nice saying what you did and granted its your ignorance about addiction that makes you think like this but before you post something so stupid again go off and think about it ok.

Listen ricky roma, i normally dont give two warnings. Ricey, boardsOM and suzy5978 are either fighting against their addiction or have overcome it.

The thre here is a look at what they have to face. Accept it and leave your personal predjudicial comments out of it.. in fact read the whole thread and it may improve your understanding

I respect ANYONE trying to sort their lives out ..What you cant seem to accept , IS THE FACT that they choose this lifestyle , with out considering the impact on themselves , loved ones etc ..... Also you cant seem to accept that not everyone thinks like you do ...... But does that make them wrong for having an opinion...

Well Done Ricey / Suzy...... I can see from the thread the torment u are enduring .... I hope listening to your parents heart ache gives you the strength to get clean of this EVIL Drug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Hi Ricey, I heard your parents on the radio yesterday.

Upsetting.

I heard you this morning.

Upsetting.

I hope you beat this shít and get your life back on track.

Did newstalk get in touch with you because of this thread by the way?

Great if they did tbh.

Dealers , I agree should be shunned by society !!! 100% agree...But lads , letrs get real here...I am currently listening to the radio piece , and these parents are going through hell cause of this lads lifestyle choice...IT SICKENS ME

Look there my parents and i know first hand what happens in my home. I can tell you now i never once in my life ment to hurt my parents.. i cant help the way i have gotten. Ok i could have turned out like you and been prefect n all but i didnt since i was young iv had serious problems with drugs for whatever reason and now i have come to a stage in my life were im hooked on prob one of the worst things anyone could ever be hooked on. I didnt wake up one morning and say im going to become a addict and hurt my parents so much they have to go on national radio crying. If it sickenns you to hear my mother and father like that il tell you now it hurts me more then you will ever know.

ricky roma: banned 1 week. Arguing with mod in thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

THEY make the choice to start to use this crap
    Not every drug user chooses to start a habit. Some are introduced as young teenagers and others fall into habits, whether starting on legal substances or graduating from lesser illegal drugs.

newstalk wrote: »

No luck, got to listen to John Waters talking rubbish as usual, but the are no other links on that page.

I've tried the other link several times, and downloaded all sorts of cr*p to try to get it, but no..

As Ricey said, Ricky Roma, your life must be perfect. Kick a dog when he's down, why don't you.

Ricey, I can't hear the podcasts, so I can't comment. But the pain your in from listening to your parents will add to your determination to kick this addiction.

Your doing great, keep fighting.

lol Marksie but i suppose he had a point too but it is something that just pisses me off that there are so so many people out there that just look at someone that are addicted to whatever it may be as scumbags, thats not why i made this thread in the first place, to be called a scumbag. If he had listened to the radio show in full he would have seen that the presenter said i was a normal person from a nice area and just got messed up in drugs.

For me the scumbags are the dealers, getting there few bob as my dad says lol
    look at the damage they do just for that few bob he said it straight out and thats the way it really is. Its a sad world we live in.

Hi folks.. try sorting the links out via PM ok :)

lol Marksie but i suppose he had a point too but it is something that just pisses me off that there are so so many people out there that just look at someone that are addicted to whatever it may be as scumbags, thats not why i made this thread in the first place, to be called a scumbag. If he had listened to the radio show in full he would have seen that the presenter said i was a normal person from a nice area and just got messed up in drugs.

For me the scumbags are the dealers, getting there few bob as my dad says lol
    look at the damage they do just for that few bob he said it straight out and thats the way it really is. Its a sad world we live in.

I agree Ricey. But i would like to let his comments stand as an example of what predjudice you do face.

The mods here know what the thread was for. But it is useful for people reading it as well as it *may* help someone who may be thinking of dabbling.

Keep up the fight

will do marksie. the fight must go on and fek the bad comments it dont worry me too much
    as everyone has there own opinion on things.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Ricey, you just keep trying to straighten yourself out - it doesn't matter what anyone else thinks.
    And remember, nobody's perfect - we all have flaws. Yours are just more visible at the moment.
    You'll get there ricey - I know you will :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

Hi Ricey
    First of all don't mind ricky roma or whatever he is called - I'm sure it annoyed the sh*t out of you but he's not worth wasting your time thinking about him.

I heard your parents yesterday morning but I missed you this morning. I'll try to listen to it later. What your dad said about the people who sell heroin do it for the sake of money how disgusting is that??!

Listen, obviously you are upset by hearing how much your parents have suffered throughout this - try to let that be a motivator rather than something that drags you down. You are lucky in that you still have a family that are willing to help you and who clearly love you so much. The heartache they feel now CAN NOT be the way the feel for the rest of their lives - you have to come back to them. Imagine when you are clean you're dad will start going out again and every day will seem like a present to them.

Come on pet, rise up in yourself - you have hundreds of ppl all over the country who are hoping and praying for you..try to let that seep in to you, lay yourself open to it. We are all behind you. Imagine when you are clean the hope that this thread will give others in your situation.

Have faith in yourself sweetheart - you CAN do it.

Today has seemd like i have done more in one day then i have in a year! Honestly. Iv been out getting a clutch sorted for the car, i brought my dog to the vet & got him washed. All things i have been putting off for so long because all i wanted was gear. Im GOING to do it this time and i am going to give my parents and myself the life we all want. Its been a hard time for my family but we will pull through, we are all very close and get on really well even do the interview might seem like we dont. I think my parents are so bad over this is because im not a bad person at all i just got messed up with drugs and it was like as if there nice caring son was taken away from them by heroin. Il do right by them and il prove to everyone out there that this can be done even do its seems so hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 The Hulkster

Hi , just a quick observation ... Well done to Ricey , Ill say a prayer you make it through ... But I read the whole thread , and that Roma dude had a point........Lets support the good decisions ( IE get clean ) But in turn we MUST highlight bad /selfish decisions

Lets have a balance here

Ricey..... Ill be hoping to see a positive outcome in all of this for you

God bless

Yes he had a point that its a bad life choice to make but calling me or a addict a scumbag is not making any point!! Not all addicts are scumbags. Go to a AA or NA meeting and you will see all walks of life there. People with nothing and people with everything. Top of the rage cars and not so good cars heh. My point is addiction knows no boundries and can affect anyone not just scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 The Hulkster

Glad to see you accept another persons point...

Best of luck the recovery mate ....

God bless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Kurumba

Hey Ricey,

Just wanted to let you know you have another person here rooting for you. Have been following this thread and i have to say fair play to you. You sound brave and determined and as long as that keeps up you'll win the battle against the gear.
    Won't be easy but you know you have so many people people behind you wishing you all the best so hang in there. It can only get better says you!

Who knows, one day in the not too distant future you could become a drug counciller and help others who are going through the same thing.
    You sound like a down to earth, caring, family guy who got on the wrong path in life but your taking the right steps to get back on the right one.

Best of luck Ricey!
    Jess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭LimerickCity

Ricey,

You have opened my eyes lad. I have lived in the city for the past 32 years and have never realised the problem in the city is so bad.

I listened to your interview on newstalk and as regards cannabis, glue, nail varnish ect. I have done it all.

Never in my life have i seen heroin and never have i seen anyone taking it. I expect to see some strung out junkies on the street (like you see on the tv) but i am badly mistaken.

My prayers are with you lad and i hope to god that you find the strength to get over this and put it all behind you. Family is everything and thank god you have the support of your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Limey

will do marksie. the fight must go on and fek the bad comments it dont worry me too much
    as everyone has there own opinion on things.

Ricey, all the best from another Limerick man, never done that evil stuff thank god and my heart goes out to you and your parents, you could be me, I have the best parents in the world and they sound like the people they are.

The only way I can think of an addiction like that (in my own mind) Just imagine there is a box of pills that will get you rocking but you know they are bad but they are so good they can take you out of the bad buzz you are in and turn it around (or so you think) I suppose you think feck that, does a bear sh.ite in the woods?

Try to think of it this way, you loved the highs but the only way you can stop feeling so bad is to turn away from it forever, others tried and failed? So what, you just HAVE to get into the frame of mind all the time that you are stronger than them, I know i maybe simplifying it but you have to sicken yourself from that stuff, everyone is on your side, think of the money the scumbags are making from your addiction, they think we are all fools, they don't even take drugs, least not the main players, trust me I know them.

Make them suffer by not letting them control you, they think he'll be back, don't do it man, let them ruin other lives, they don't know where you've come from and they can't control your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Harpy

hey ricey,
    the interview was very interesting..Being from limerick i never realised there was such a big problem with heroin in limerick.. personally i've never came into contact with it at any stage, and i suppose when you don't see it for yourself you don't realise there actually is a problem..

I would also just like to say your parents seem like two very strong people who love you very much, the way they've stuck by you.i greatly admire their strength..
    Also they made a very good point about the lenient sentence drug dealers are getting a suspended sentence is a joke for dealing heroin..

good luck and keep trying..

actually one quick question if you can answer it for me im just curious these scumbag dealers.do many of them actually take herion themselves??or do they just deal and make other peoples lives hell while they sit back with all their money..

Hey all another day down :)

On my 5th day now without and gear and feeling great :D
    the sun is out and i just feel like im stating my new life!

Everyone is so happy in my house but there are worries too i suppose because i dont think anyone else could handle going through all of this again you know. Im not going to let that happen im going to stay clean no matter what it takes, if it kills me im going to stay clean. Starting my group terapy with aljeff again 2m so thats great and next week im going to start going to NA & AA meetings. Things are looking good :)

@Harpy & @LimerickCity

I cant believe first off that Harpy cant see the massive problem Limerick has at the moment with heroin, Its all over the place! There are so so many people dealing it now its unreal.. and ya some of the people selling heroin are addicts themselfs and i kinda feel sorry for them too because they are selling it just to feed there own habits that without selling the stuff they would never be able to afford. Its the guys in the big jeeps and bmw's that i ****£en hate!!! they sell this dirt make money and dont give a $hit about the hurt that it is causing people. All they care about is money.

You would be very suprised who is on heroin now in Limerick its gotten so bad (my opinion) at this stage and its getting worse. Places like aljeff and Sláinte are up the walls with the amount of addicts they have to deal with. There is so many now that if it keeps going the way it is there is no way they wil be abel to manage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

hey Ricey,

how are things going in Day 5? it is a beautiful day out so get your ass up to the park and chill out for the day. it will help you feel some normality. and filling your day with things like fixing your car and washing the dog is great because you feel like you have accomplished something for the day and you know by going backwards you will be ruining that. so keep on the positive buzz. the worst is over on the physcial side so now its time to start rebuilding the mental side.

i havent been posting the last few days but i have been reading over the posts. i think its easier to detach yourself from the problem if you arent thinking about it all the time. it makes it easier to pretend there actually is no problem if you arent forced to deal with it. and by posting so much i was kind of forced to think about things a bit too much so i needed a bit of a break (reality bites). also its easier to justify it to yourself when there are no solutions on hand so when you have nice thoughtful people posting solutions and some of them make sense and are actually viable, it can be difficult becuase then you cant make excuses to youself anymore.

i read Ricky Roma's post. he may have had a point about bad choices, but the 'scumbags' comments were completey unneccessary. just becuase you make a bad choice in life and take something you shouldnt, that doesnt make you a scumbag. i have been called a lot of things by friends and family since i have been in this situatiion, but i have never been called a scumbag or anything similiar. and by the sounds of Ricey on the radio yesterday and from getting to know him through this thread and PM's, he is not a scumbag either. i think that was a terrible genralisation to make. in fact the reason i first posted here in this thread was becuase reading through Ricey's posts i could see he wasnt your standard 'junky'. he is an intelligent young lad who made a bad choice, and that bad choice has cost him dearly. and i posted becuase i am in a similiar situation, i have a good professional career, apart from taking drugs i keep on the right side of the law, i went to college, i come from a good area and from a very respectbale middle class family, i had a good upbringing where i wanted for nothing. but i started taking drugs at a very young age, and that was my choice so i am not looking to blame anyone. it was a bad choice that has lived with me since, but at that age you had no idea that little decisions like that could actually effect the rest of your life. and this thread, to me anyway, shows that it isnt just the cliche 'scumbags' in their 'scumbag' areas that are affected by drug addiction anymore. it has changed gear (no pun intended) and has moved into other areas of life. i thought this was more of a wake up call to people that it isnt just the 'how r ya missus' fellas with hunched backs and a limp falling down thomas street that are affected anymore. but that the guy or girl from D4, or stepaside, or malahide sitting at the desk beside you in your job at the bank might be the one with a problem.

regarding the radio show yesterday, i downloaded it and got to listen to the beginning of it but i still have part 2 and 3 to get through which i will do tonight. but well done on doing it Ricey. it would have been very easy to say no and simply think its not your problem anymore so let someone esle deal with it. but you stepped up to the task so well done. your folks sound like nice people. i wich i had gotten to hear their full show the day before.

oh, before i forget, i want to apologise to the Mods, and to anyone else that was offended, about the methadone discussion. it did go into a bit too much detail and it was out of order so that wont happen again. so for that i sincerily apologise.

all the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Hi ricey.

I heard you again on Newstalk this morning. Well done.

Keep it up buddy.

Day 5 Ricey - well done! :)

Sunny day, your clean, enjoy it!

Good to see Board om back too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭JackieO

Hi Ricey

Well done. Following boards every day to keep up with your progress.

You might remember a few weeks ago, I posted that I had given up the cigarettes. Have had a number of lapses in the meantime and am this week practically back on the damn things. Going away for the weekend, with a few smokers in the group so I know its pointless even trying before then. But roll on Monday.

When I read all your posts and the torment you have gone through and the effort it has taken you to get this far, I am truely ashamed of not even being able to stay of the smokes. I will be keeping you in mind when i give it another go on Monday.

Best of luck for the next 5 days clean! You sound more determined than ever. We're all so proud of you! Keep it up.

Thanks lads good to see peolpe still following this thread :)

Had another good day today got loads done and still its only half three :D

Iv done this, got this far because of the methadone i got on the street! Now im not giving medical advise at all but in my opinion there should be someplace addicts like
    me can go to detox using methadone. I had to get it off the street like ffs thats just sad been honest. The goverment has to get up off there a$$ and do something about this you know. Im not the only young person out there right now that is addicted to ths drug. There are so so many that i know personaly so there must be a hell of a lot more. We need proper support and treatment for addicts that really want to get clean. 99% of the treatment centers in Ireland will only take you once your clean from all drugs and will take a urine sample before they accept you in there. Now i think thats a load of crap!!! Its too hard to just get clean in the first place so there is going to have to be something done so addicts can detox supervised by doctors or some professional that knows what they are doing. The goverment cant expect people to just detox on there own because its just too hard! Some people reading this might think oh stfu and cop on you scumbag junkie but all i have to say to that person is il pry for you and i hope you are anyone in your life never has to deal with what i am going through and what god knows how many more are going through right now this min.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭bp

Well done Ricey - you and FingersCrossed are doing so well, and you are completely right, there needs to be a proper support structure put in place in support the brave people like yourselfs who are trying to do this alone (without medical help).

Its great that you are doing what you're doing - everyone here (even if they have negative comments) is rooting for you - you give hope and inspiration to others and their families......keep posting and keeping us in:oformed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Fauldy Banny

Keep it going mate. We're all rooting for ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Limey

Ricey

I'm sure alot of people could get inspiration from you too in person. I'm sure more "normal" takers could relate to someone from your background, what I mean by normal, you don't fit the sterotype, "I did it because of my upbringing" etc, you had a great upbringing and you could show casual drugtakers how it can all end up, I'm sure you could have a career helping others, now the first step is staying off the stuff man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Good man ricey, one more day done - you'll be able to stop counting soon. Proud of ya, man.

Sup all :)

6 Days w00t :D

Everything just seems to be falling into place! Got a few people annoying me but thats just life and have came back down to earth bout all the credit card and bank bills i gotta pay... wish i could just not pay hehe but i gotta oh well. Drugs minster said he would meet me lol i think thats MAD heh no point me meeting him they should know what they need to do to help addicts not me!

All in all life is good today. Got my car back and im beamin heh love it vroooooooooom .
    Had group therapy today too, started back doing that. Liked it a lot got to feel like i was well on the road back to recovery.

Thnaks again for all the support its been great, 20.000+ clicks like heh thats
    mad.

Excellent Ricey. Congratulations. Keep it going. :)