Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charging VAT when Goods are supplied with a service

• 01-02-2008 10:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Hi, I am a carpenter and recently became a self employed. I'm trying to determine how I charge VAT properly. I understand that if the total cost of goods supplied is greater than 2/3's of the job then I charge 21% of the total job. For example say Materials = €1000 and labour = €400 then total = €1400 Plus VAT @ 21% = €1694. So I pass on €294 to revenue.
    How does this work where the materials do not account for 2/3's of the job? E.G. Say Materials = €500 and Labour = €500. Is it correct to simply charge 13.5% to my customer which would bring the total to €1135 and pass the €135 to the VAT man. What happens to the difference between the 21% paid for the materials and the 13.5% I actually paid to the TAX Man?

Please someone enlighten me!

- T

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭RoryW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

troyh wrote: »
    What happens to the difference between the 21% paid for the materials and the 13.5% I actually paid to the TAX Man?

Please someone enlighten me!

- T

It goes into your pocket, so dont complain or shout about it too loud ok. Only messing.

I personally think its an incentive for construction workers. But the taxman still gets his cut.

For example.

Buy materials with a Vat rate of 21% and Charge 13.5% on the services rendered.

So in real basic terms, you buy materials for 100e plus 21% vat = 121e