Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Physical selection for various worldwide Military units

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Pathfinder

eroo wrote: »
    Any evidence or just pure BS!?AFAIK,the ERU do not cross train w/ CO19(I may be corrected on this).Also,the SAS do not train every SFO w/ CO19..some teams will take part in ex's with SAS..just like ERU and ARW

SO19 has recently been renamed CO19.

Instructors were indeed sent over, it was in the press around 4 years ago.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I still think they're all nutters.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Flying

You did'nt answer our questions have you ever been in an army ?

Pathfinder, Have you ever served in any military? Even the RDF? You seem very erm..Waltish.

You type about na Fianóglach in a very condescending manner.

These "Facts" you state are from other websites and Hearsay.

You call the ERU "gung ho" They have shot very few people and are known to use way too much restraint.

Another point you made is "retrained" There is Alot of crosstraining between specialist units the Western World.

You say the Rangers see little action. (I am Paraphrasing). How do you know this? Is there no way that they could be doing stuff that we dont hear about.

Most people dont claim that the Rangers are the Best in the World. The General concensus is they are among the Best TRAINED in the world.

This could have been a good thread if it wasnt based on other Websites and just general Waltyness.

Whos consensus ?

How can a unit which has no training until recently in heliciopter repelling,no training in jungle warfare, desert warfare, artic and mountain warfare, performed badly at op back home, has limited access to equipment and which has never fought in a conflict be the best trained in the world ?

This is extreme arrogance.

The ERU were armed with highly inaccurate Uzis in one op in 91 they opened up on bankrobbers with combat shotguns and uzis, wounding 28 members of the public RTE said it was a successful operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Details of SAS selection are avalible, knowing how far a unit marches and how much kit it carrries etc does not compromise it.

Where did I say the ARW weren't SF ?

As I stated what sepertes the ARW from elite infantry is its C3.

The Parachute regiment has a long range Pathfinder units, sniper units, its soldiers are also trained in helicopter repelling,

The Parachute Regiment now forms the SPSG.....

No they not similar to the Paras in as much as the Paras are a vastly more experienced unit.

http://www.army.mod.uk/para/1bn.htm

On completion of your first 2 years in 2 or 3 PARA you may be selected for a tour with 1 PARA who form the Special Forces Support Group (SFSG). The SFSG provides specialist infantry support to Special Forces, such as the SAS, anywhere in the world. The basic skills required to serve in 1 PARA are those you will have gained in your training and during your time in 2 or 3 PARA. You will receive further training on additional weapons, communications equipment and specialist assault skills.

Yes,details of marches/distances do compromise selection.That is why the SAS no longer use the Brecon Beacons as much,if at all.

1 Para are indeed a Special Forces Support Group..they are not on the same level as ARW.Do you think ''an elite light infantry unit'' would train alongside Delta Force,SEALs,NZSAS,A-SAS etc?Or send just 50 men to an isolated location strife with conflict?
    You cannot compare ARW with Para's..yes there are similiarities between certain aspects of ARW and Para's..just like there are similiarities between certain aspects of SAS and Para's..but that does not mean they are on the same level.

Flying wrote: »
    You did'nt answer our questions have you ever been in an army ?

Ever heard of 3 Para ?

Pathfinder...you are the definition of a Walt

ARW didn't just start jungle warfare,rappeling etc in the last couple of years.

It wasn't 28 wounded,more like 4 or 5..ERU have come along way since then.

Lads,can someone open a window in here...the smell of bull**** is unbearable..

Yes,details of marches/distances do compromise selection.That is why the SAS no longer use the Brecon Beacons as much,if at all.

1 Para are indeed a Special Forces Support Group..they are not on the same level as ARW.Do you think ''an elite light infantry unit'' would train alongside Delta Force,SEALs,NZSAS,A-SAS etc?Or send just 50 men to an isolated location strife with conflict?
    You cannot compare ARW with Para's..yes there are similiarities between certain aspects of ARW and Para's..just like there are similiarities between certain aspects of SAS and Para's..but that does not mean they are on the same level.

The Parachute Regiment are a more experienced and better trained unit, fact.

They also have far more experience of SF ops fact.

The difference is they do not have a CRW/C3 role, as the ARW do. But they do play an active role in SF operations.

"on 25 August, "A" Company of 1 PARA was deployed to Dakar, Senegal on 5 September, then onto Freetown. Five RIR soldiers had been released on 30 August but after the rebels carried out mock executions, "A Company and the Special Air Service, supported by two Army Air Corps helicopters, launched a rescue attempt (Operation Barras) on 10 September, successfully releasing the soldiers and capturing many rebels, including their leader, Foday Kallay. As well as recovering the two Land Rovers that the soldiers of the RIR were ambushed in while patrolling."

Pathfinder...you are the definition of a Walt

And you saw action with......................

Well,how the hell am I supposed to know who you are?

You seem to have some sort of resentment towards ARW..care to give us a reason?

ARW didn't just start jungle warfare,rappeling etc in the last couple of years.

It wasn't 28 wounded,more like 4 or 5..ERU have come along way since then.

Lads,can someone open a window in here...the smell of bull**** is unbearable..

Where were the choppers for repelling then ?

Well,how the hell am I supposed to know who you are?

You seem to have some sort of resentment towards ARW..care to give us a reason?

Don't ask questions if you don't want answers.

I have nothing against the ARW, but find it a pish take when people put a unit with no combat experience alongside the SAS and Delta force and claim its "the best trained in the world" and claim its "on another level" from the Parachute Regiment.

Pathfinder wrote: »
    Where were the choppers for repelling then ?

Alouette's?

Btw,judging from your various rubbish threads,basically saying the Para's/BA are the best unit/army in the world,it is obvious you can't except otherwise.Yes the Para's/BA are highly experienced but that gives you no right to demean other units/armies.

Seeing as you reffered to one poster in another thread as a little 'Celtic yobo',you come across as a tad bit anti-Irish.However I could be horribly wrong..care to explain?

Alouette's?

Btw,judging from your various rubbish threads,basically saying the Para's/BA are the best unit/army in the world,it is obvious you can't except otherwise.Yes the Para's/BA are highly experienced but that gives you no right to demean other units/armies.

Seeing as you reffered to one poster in another thread as a little 'Celtic yobo',you come across as a tad bit anti-Irish.However I could be horribly wrong..care to explain?

Alouettes only carry around 4 people and are not designed for repelling.

Where are the transport aircraft for ARW Para drops ?

No one has demeaned any other units, just the claim the ARW are the "best trained unit in the world"....your claim.

I am Irish.

Fair enough,you aren't anti-Irish anyway!:D

I didn't say they were the best trained in the world..I don't get into these ''who is best'' games,simply because none of us have any experience in SF units..

I just don't see the point in coming on and going on about how great Para's are..

ARW use the Casa's or train abroad AFAIK

Pathfinder I was in the British Army and I do indeed know for a fact you were not in 3 Para or any unit, you again are a Walt.

This should be moved to the Walter section

u claimed you were in 3 Para on another thread, what company, years and name some NCOs.

If I dont post anymore its because my pc has had something done by the mod so I cant post quickly.

If its any consolation to the ARW "the best force trained force in the world....those in the UK land forces who have heard of you regard you as amateurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Irish_Army01

u claimed you were in 3 Para on another thread, what company, years and name some NCOs.

If I dont post anymore its because my pc has had something done by the mod so I cant post quickly.

If its any consolation to the ARW "the best force trained force in the world....those in the UK land forces who have heard of you regard you as amateurs.

Numpty!

There is no way all Rangers have gone to the US, to be HALO trained, as Para Pathfinders are.

It costs too much money, further you don't have the tools to jump HALO or rappel as a unit.

The pics posted are a UN mission not jungle warfare training.

Nor can you be specialists in all thats claimed. Where do you train in arctic and mountain warfare etc ?

Nor that Rangers are specialists in all skills claimed, Rangers dont serve long enough

In reality you are an elite light infantry unit, with soft selection for a CRW unit, with a CRW capabilty, with a glossy web page, whos selection is not that of the Paras or Royal marines.

And who historically ballsed up ops against the PIRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

Since leaving service I have worked as a civvie with many other civvies who are Ex SF, Brits, Yanks, South Africans, Aussies, etc.

The one common denominator amongst all these guys, who I have also shared many holidays with when on leave etc, is that you keep your head down.

Mouthing off doesn't happen.

Anyone at the serious end wouldn't be on a forum laying it out IMHO.

There is no way all Rangers have gone to the US, to be HALO trained, as Para Pathfinders are.

It costs too much money, further you don't have the tools to jump HALO or rappel as a unit.

The pics posted are a UN mission not jungle warfare training.

Nor can you be specialists in all thats claimed. Where do you train in arctic and mountain warfare etc ?

Nor that Rangers are specialists in all skills claimed, Rangers dont serve long enough

In reality you are an elite light infantry unit, with soft selection for a CRW unit, with a CRW capabilty, with a glossy web page, whos selection is not that of the Paras or Royal marines.

And who historically ballsed up ops against the PIRA.

Your full of Crap , go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

i know for a fact this isnt the case from someone who has been in both the royal marines and the ARW...

pathfinder your making a fool of yourself, you have no idea about the ARW selection, you looking at the tests and judging on them alone, lets see you do a 45 min 10k halfway through a selection course...

and you say between tests and PT's time is spent cleaning rifles and eating meals etc.....well i can tell you from first hand experience that the selection course wearing a helmet, CEFO and a daysack fully packed and a rifle run up and back from every meal and constantly get lashed out of it in the gym in the middle of their "personal" time.

pathfinder you may just be the most ignorant person ive ever seen for someone sitting behind a computer screen with no clue whatsoever about ARW selection and refusing to state their own credentials.

basically to sum it up,you are a TROLL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Alouettes only carry around 4 people and are not designed for repelling.

Where are the transport aircraft for ARW Para drops ?

No one has demeaned any other units, just the claim the ARW are the "best trained unit in the world"....your claim.

I am Irish.

eroo didnt say they are the Best trained in the World.

I said they are "ONE of the best TRAINED in the world" I know a few. Related to one (former) and a friend of my Dads trains in a specialist area. You have very little Idea what you are on about. The way you spout on I actually thought you were about 17/18.

Grow up. The Lads do get some fantastic training. Even if they dont get to use their skills much it is better to have the skills and not need them than to need them and not have them.

king-stew wrote: »
    i know for a fact this isnt the case from someone who has been in both the royal marines and the ARW...

pathfinder your making a fool of yourself, you have no idea about the ARW selection, you looking at the tests and judging on them alone, lets see you do a 45 min 10k halfway through a selection course...

and you say between tests and PT's time is spent cleaning rifles and eating meals etc.....well i can tell you from first hand experience that the selection course wearing a helmet, CEFO and a daysack fully packed and a rifle run up and back from every meal and constantly get lashed out of it in the gym in the middle of their "personal" time.

pathfinder you may just be the most ignorant person ive ever seen for someone sitting behind a computer screen with no clue whatsoever about ARW selection and refusing to state their own credentials.

basically to sum it up,you are a TROLL!

This is more arrogant bollox, RM commmando selection is 6 months, its the longest selection the world.

They do a 12 miler with 102lbs of kit and run a 30 mile Yomp over Dartmoor with 32 lbs of kit.

The rangers on their official website claiming nothing like that.

so what if its the longest?? what does that prove?

sure the last 12 days of selection is all on the ground, all the lads do is tab all over the place with 100+ lbs of kit constantly

they obviously dont feel the need to claim everything they do, considering thats not what its all about!

is there something in the water over in england that makes their lads more capable than our own lads over here???

if you think my previous post is arrogant i assume youve spoke to a RM commando whole pissed through ARW selection???

its easy to read a selection course from a screen pal, a mile isnt long on paper....

so what if its the longest?? what does that prove?

sure the last 12 days of selection is all on the ground, all the lads do is tab all over the place with 100+ lbs of kit constantly

they obviously dont feel the need to claim everything they do, considering thats not what its all about!

is there something in the water over in england that makes their lads more capable than our own lads over here???

if you think my previous post is arrogant i assume youve spoke to a RM commando whole pissed through ARW selection???

its easy to read a selection course from a screen pal, a mile isnt long on paper....

.......The difference on this thread is I post facts, others like yourself make them up.

It states on the ARW website one test involves a group route march (between 26-30 miles some claim) with a medium load.

Thats very different then what RM Commando selection involves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 headzilla

Your a typical example of someone with no firsthand knowledge of what your talking about, your part of the Wikipedia generation, Analysing training information listed on the internet is unrealistic, it can not get across the personal effort and endurance that is required of the people who go for the various selection courses! Who are you to say which is harder, it all depends on the individual! you in another thread tried to talk down my impression of the Foreign Legion of who i have seen firsthand, then you spew crap about them having petty theft problems.
    ****e talker comes to mind

headzilla wrote: »
    Your a typical example of someone with no firsthand knowledge of what your talking about, your part of the Wikipedia generation, Analysing training information listed on the internet is unrealistic, it can not get across the personal effort and endurance that is required of the people who go for the various selection courses! Who are you to say which is harder, it all depends on the individual! you in another thread tried to talk down my impression of the Foreign Legion of who i have seen firsthand, then you spew crap about them having petty theft problems.
    ****e talker comes to mind

I have passed P company and am an ex PT instructor in the Parachute Regiment.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055227872

I suppose the ARW do the trainasium as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Since you have shown us no proof and have been shown to BS around here you are unlikely to be believed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 headzilla

And that entitles you to ****e talk about other militaries, your comments on the Foreign Legion were ridiculous, Im saying no more because your obviously not absorbing any of this!

headzilla wrote: »
    And that entitles you to ****e talk about other militaries, your comments on the Foreign Legion were ridiculous, Im saying no more because your obviously not absorbing any of this!

..................Challenge my comments on that thread, instead of running away and sniping.

I have passed P company and am an ex PT instructor in the Parachute Regiment

Ah, that explains everything then.

As I said, a bunch of nutters. Why fight hard, when you can fight smart?

:P

NTM

This is more arrogant bollox, RM commmando selection is 6 months, its the longest selection the world.

They do a 12 miler with 102lbs of kit and run a 30 mile Yomp over Dartmoor with 32 lbs of kit.

The rangers on their official website claiming nothing like that.

Why is it bollox? because you said so? I suppose the SAS/SBS give every detail about service on theirs?

Why is it so hard to believe. I posted photos of the ARW in Belize Jungle training(with the British Army/how ironic) all carrying SA80's, repelling from a Helo, HALO/HAHO Parachuting and various other photos and you still don't get it?

nuff said.

Ah, that explains everything then.

As I said, a bunch of nutters. Why fight hard, when you can fight smart?

:P

NTM

What about if the kit for you to fight smart has been destroyed ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0iy1DvEytgo&feature=related

Tumbledown where the Scots Guards fought with bayonets, for the first time since Korea.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yE7uDG8tyaI&feature=related

full of rubbish OP, i dont believe you for a second, if you did what you say then surely you would have an adult outlook on what each unit does and if one looks easier than another to you then thats your own opinion, you say you post facts but your just copying & pasting info from websites, that info isnt fact at all.

ive been on a selection course so i have first hand knowledge of how tough it is and i most certainly know that the majority of the goings-on are not posted on some webpage! i trained for my selection course with an ex RM and we spoke all about their course during our training but he, unlike you, had the common sense to respect both courses for what they are!

nobody here is claiming that ARW selection is harder or tougher than any other course or vice-versa, their simply trying to make you see that they cant be compared to each other in terms of how difficult they are and especially in accordance with the information on some wesite, official or not!

people who have done this sort of thing first hand understand the unwritten rule to not go around mouthing off, its called the grey man, hence we can all clearly see that your either a kid posting crap or if you are what you say, then you have some serious attitude problems!

I am,

I am claming AWR selection is not as hard as Pcoy/Parachute regiment selection or the Royal Marines commando course.

Never mind SAS selection, or selection of the Royal Marines Arctic and Mountain warfare cadre specia forces, Parachute Regiment Pathfinders etc.

and im claiming that girl guides selection is harder than SAS selection....

luckily there are some people out there with the cop on to see your full of hot air!

PS, congrats on passing both selection courses, you must be a very fit fella!

The ARW were called the most modest SF unit in the world,I believe that was said by a NZ commander.

Pathfinder,you are the type person that gives the British Armed Forces a bad name..you are a trolling WALT..the worst!

The ARW were called the most modest SF unit in the world,I believe that was said by a NZ commander.

Pathfinder,you are the type person that gives the British Armed Forces a bad name..you are a trolling WALT..the worst!

Really, show me where the SAS or any other UK SF units pose for these type of pics ?

If you claim they do post them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RywsGjluJFQ&NR=1

attachment.php?attachmentid=50756&stc=1&d=1202133000

attachment.php?attachmentid=50757&stc=1&d=1202133006

attachment.php?attachmentid=50758&stc=1&d=1202133010

could i interest you in any more?

Really, show me where the SAS or any other UK SF units pose for these type of pics ?

Mate,your an idiot..the SAS are the worst of all for publicity ****.Just look at Eddie Stone and the bbc shows 'SAS Survival Secrets','Jungle Are You Tough Enough' etc etc.Although these were ex-SAS,it just goes to show the image the SAS have..and they have done nothing to counter it..

Also,EVERY SF unit has these sort of pics,it is called PR!At least former Rangers don't go around making TV shows or writing books..type SAS Survival Secrets into youtube and see the BS ex-SAS come up with.

Btw,you say the ARW 'ballsed up' a number of op's against PIRA...where is your evidence or are you secretly high up in the Department of Defense?:rolleyes:

pathfinder this just proves you run your mouth without even thinking first!
    you really havent a clue, bless.

LMAO..

BTW I dont go into detail with Walters about what I did as would the regulars here who know what they are talking about...You must love C&S

Oh and another note, any SF is good as they are the creme of whatever army they are in, weither it be the legion or the arw.

Stop posting as your looking more and more like a muppet.

attachment.php?attachmentid=50756&stc=1&d=1202133000

attachment.php?attachmentid=50757&stc=1&d=1202133006

attachment.php?attachmentid=50758&stc=1&d=1202133010

could i interest you in any more?

......................All ex SAS...............Not serving members, done for a tv programme.

pathfinder this just proves you run your mouth without even thinking first!
    you really havent a clue, bless.

Ex SAS members, pics of current members and ops are classified.

Flying wrote: »
    LMAO..

BTW I dont go into detail with Walters about what I did as would the regulars here who know what they are talking about...You must love C&S

You claim to be ex 3 Para, I asked you what years, what company and name some NCOs......You cant.

I was in junior Para depot, before becoming a JNCO.

What about if the kit for you to fight smart has been destroyed ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0iy1DvEytgo&feature=related

Odd. I don't remember the Blues and Royals complaining that their trip across the Falklands was particularly difficult, uncomfortable, or unpleasant.

NTM

You claim to be ex 3 Para, I asked you what years, what company and name some NCOs......You cant.

I was in junior Para depot, before becoming a JNCO.

Most likely when you were a child.

Junior Leaders I think is what your refering too.

Also you think anyone here is going to tell you what Unit they were in, who their CO was, the CSM, the Pln SGT, what years they were operational.

Your a walter, I served for 6 years there, and nearly 8 years here, now what are ya 14 or 15...

God Someone ban this bumbling trolling fool, also have a read of the charter before you go spouting.