Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gambling Problem

• 02-02-2008 11:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭

Ok lads I don't want to whinge but what's the average hits ye guys take in Gambling. Well today i'm ashamed to say I lost 220 Eur. Had 70eur on at 70 min plus that Spurs would win 1/2. 40Eur that Ireland would win by margin 11-20 2/1. 60 Eur Kerry10/11 and Ivory Coast2/5. 50 Eur Real Madrid 4/6 and Atl Mad 2/5.

This is only a bief outline of my loses to date. Before this I had terrible week 300Eur fall.

Problem I ask or just lousy choices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭Barlow07

63587614 wrote: »
    Ok lads I don't want to whinge but what's the average hits ye guys take in Gambling. Well today i'm ashamed to say I lost 220 Eur. Had 70eur on at 70 min plus that Spurs would win 1/2. 40Eur that Ireland would win by margin 11-20 2/1. 60 Eur Kerry10/11 and Ivory Coast2/5. 50 Eur Real Madrid 4/6 and Atl Mad 2/5.

This is only a bief outline of my loses to date. Before this I had terrible week 300Eur fall.

I would say problem if its a regular pattern of betting each week. I may go down myself like today pick about 6/7 football teams to win and throw €10 on it. If i was you i cut back on the large bets, yes you get a buzz if you win but will all those bets you would be lucky to break even after your loss of €300, it does seem as if you may start to get a problem so id seek some help now or as i said cut back betting big stakes.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭cson

If its affecting other aspects of your life - family, not being able to pay bills, not being able to socialise etc I'd direct you towards Gamblers Annoynmous.

Otherwise; Take a week off, don't go near a PC or a bookies for a week and try to avoid even thinking about betting. When this week is up come back with a clear mind. Decide what area's you're strong at and stick to them. Only bet a percentage of your bank everytime, say 3% for a regular bet and 5% for a big one. Start taking records of your bets too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭raheny red

I'd agree with the above. I wouldn't see it as a prob unless this was happening on a regular occurrence. Answer these questions Here

And whatever you do don't go chasing your loses tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭johnnysmurfman

I think it's the effect that it has on your life that determines if you have a problem or not. I know a guy who makes a regular income from gambling and I would have no hesitation in saying that he has a serious gambling problem as he is almost completely incapable of directing his mind towards non-gambling/poker activities. You can lose 500 euro a week and not have a gambling problem, or you can win 500 a week and have a problem, it's a mental thing, not a financial thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭akindoc

First of all, it's all relative so some people could be losing 4-5 figure sums while others will consider 50 euro a huge loss.

Secondly, you need DISCIPLINE DISCIPLINE DISCIPLINE if you want to be successful and one other very important characteristic... PATIENCE.

Its only a problem if you can't control the amount you are losing IMO.

I have no problem with the money I am making :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

it's a shocking amount of money to throw away in a week

you need to cut back, unless of course you've money to burn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Benazir Bhutto

How many weeks has this being going on for ?..... if it's the case that its just the last 2 weeks , then theres no problem , probably just not your week !

when i started , i would chase my loss and possibily accumilate a bigger loss in pursuit of "breaking even". i was blindly backing favourites , thinking that was the way to go.

for a start , give up the accumlators , this is the biggest pitfall, combining the bookie's "edge" over a number of selections.
    give up winning margins, corresct scores , first-goalscorer etc.... all the markets the bookie heavily promotes are the same markets the public lose on the most.

I eventually concluded that making money on the bookie's was much more difficult . it takes time and study.

Over the last few years i am doing very well , have found a few regular markets that i can trade with a decent profit.

if i dont see exceptional odds , i dont bet on anything - simple as.

Please PM me if you need any advice or any help i can give you !

If you're a bit tight for cash at the moment then the best advice is to stay away until you got something to spare !

• Registered Users Posts: 10,519 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I'm probably just repeating what was said above.

This all depends on your financial situation and betting mind.

If your rich with money to burn and have no interest in winning at gambling but just enjoying the buzz and can afford to lose that amount each week then there's no problem.

If your on an average wage and want to at least try to break even gambling and this type of loss is repeated regularly each week then that's a problem which is made worse if your losing more than you are comfortable with and which affects your life in other areas.

I don't know if you've kept records of all your bets and if you havn't you should start. These records can be vital in letting you know the simple truth. Am i winning or losing and by how much? From this information you can work out for yourself if you have a problem or are doing just fine.

If these records reveal you are losing steadily on average each week then depending on what you are comfortable with losing you might consider reducing your bets or giving up the game. However if they show that sometimes you lose 220 and other times you win the same amount and you are in around even or better still winning then you can pot these recent loses down as a blip or a natural streak. Winning and losing streaks are a certainty in betting.

Judging by your post you are partially worried about your betting of late. Like someone said before you might find it benefical to take a break from betting. When you feel it's a good time to start up again maybe have smaller bets and keep a record of them.

Looking at the bets you've revealed to us there's nothing majorly wrong with them. You do seem to favour odds-on shots which can sometimes be a bad idea. I notice a couple of doubles you've done also again including popular teams at short prices. Nothing wrong with your Ireland bet.

If you start chasing these loses (win or lose) and can't stop for a period of time then there is no harm in having a look at these guys:

http://www.gamblersanonymous.ie/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Gamblers Anonymous offers the following questions to anyone who may have a gambling problem. These questions are provided to help the individual decide if he or she is a compulsive gambler and wants to stop gambling.

TWENTY QUESTIONS
    Did you ever lose time from work or school due to gambling?
    Has gambling ever made your home life unhappy?
    Did gambling affect your reputation?
    Have you ever felt remorse after gambling?
    Did you ever gamble to get money with which to pay debts or otherwise solve financial difficulties?
    Did gambling cause a decrease in your ambition or efficiency?
    After losing did you feel you must return as soon as possible and win back your losses?
    After a win did you have a strong urge to return and win more?
    Did you often gamble until your last dollar was gone?
    Did you ever borrow to finance your gambling?
    Have you ever sold anything to finance gambling?
    Were you reluctant to use "gambling money" for normal expenditures?
    Did gambling make you careless of the welfare of yourself or your family?
    Did you ever gamble longer than you had planned?
    Have you ever gambled to escape worry, trouble, boredom or loneliness?
    Have you ever committed, or considered committing, an illegal act to finance gambling?
    Did gambling cause you to have difficulty in sleeping?
    Do arguments, disappointments or frustrations create within you an urge to gamble?
    Did you ever have an urge to celebrate any good fortune by a few hours of gambling?
    Have you ever considered self destruction or suicide as a result of your gambling?

Most compulsive gamblers will answer yes to at least seven of these questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭hotspur

If you are genuinely concerned that you may have a gambling problem then you can PM me if you wish and I can chat to you about the nature of it and point you in the right direction. There are plenty of online resources for it now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Often been in similiar situations mate.
    The thing about gambling is, if you cant afford to lose it then dont bet it.
    Its gambling after all not investing.
    If you feel you are becomming addicted, put €40 or €50 into an online
    account at the start of the week and when its gone then dont bet until the start of
    the next week. You will find yourself doing a lot of €2 - €5 bets.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭hotspur

IrishMike wrote: »
    If you feel you are becomming addicted, put €40 or €50 into an onlineaccount at the start of the week and when its gone then dont bet until the start of

I guess this is what you get when you ask a gambling forum for help with problem gambling - a gambling system :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

IrishMike wrote: »
    Often been in similiar situations mate.
    The thing about gambling is, if you cant afford to lose it then dont bet it.
    Its gambling after all not investing.
    If you feel you are becomming addicted, put €40 or €50 into an online
    account at the start of the week and when its gone then dont bet until the start of

oh lord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭63587614

Thanx lads for the quick reply. Ya I think what I can take overall is that I will be giving the gambling a rest for a while. Recoup my losses and put my energy into buying myself a car. So need to save.

I must say I'll miss the craic. Love spending time at it however I was gettin very close to the dangerous side almost losing weeks wage. Tough when you get paid monthly, find yourself reaching for credit card a lot more. That lad Eddie Hobbs would have me for dinner.

Here's to a good Cheltenham everybody!!! Going save for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,467 ✭✭✭✭cson

Thanx lads for the quick reply. Ya I think what I can take overall is that I will be giving the gambling a rest for a while. Recoup my losses and put my energy into buying myself a car. So need to save.

I must say I'll miss the craic. Love spending time at it however I was gettin very close to the dangerous side almost losing weeks wage. Tough when you get paid monthly, find yourself reaching for credit card a lot more. That lad Eddie Hobbs would have me for dinner.

Definitely that would be a cause for concern.
    Here's to a good Cheltenham everybody!!! Going save for it.

Good idea. Take time out, read up about Cheltenham and size up a strategy for it. You'll enjoy it more if you put a little effort into your bets rather than just sticking a flippant €50 here and there. Much more satisfaction imo if you properly research a market. Its easy to get detailed info on Cheltenham too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

oh lord.

I didnt mean it as a gambling system, i meant it as a way to reduce the amount the guy gambled.
    Its extremely extremely hard to stop cold turkey, its a lot easier to set a limit and ween yourself off it slowly, trust me i know.
    Sorry if the advice was misguided